Sandusky / Bayshore KOA

2311 Cleveland Road

Sandusky, OH 44870

Reserve: 800-562-2486

Info: 419-625-1495

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Jul 20, 2013
Jul 20, 2013
The pool was overcrowded with kids from a neighboring apartment complex and mobile home park. The Wi-Fi service was totally inadequate!
Jul 20, 2013
there is nothing Monday through Friday for the kids to do besides swim r lot was a muddy mess with big rUtsand our fire pit was so close to both campers it was scary!for the price we paid we can stay at a Jellystone and have all kinds of activities in a very nice padded lot with green grass we were very disappointed for the cOst
Jul 20, 2013
Jul 20, 2013
Sound of trains and smell of pig farm were not appealing, but it was very close to Cedar Point which was what we wanted. The maintenance man was very rude when my daughter accidentally walked in the bathroom while he was cleaning. It was very hot out so maybe he was in a bad mood. Everyone in the office seemed relatively pleasant.
Jul 20, 2013
Very accommodating staff, friendly. Nice park. Wll be back again, hopefully for longer!
Jul 20, 2013
Only stayed overnight,so cannot rate amenities. Staff attentive and polite, store well stocked and facilities clean. I would utilize site again.
Jul 20, 2013
Very nice campground. Very clean. Employees were friendly. Our issue was that the WiFi never worked properly which was a problem because my husband teaches online classes. We chose this KOA partly because of the free WiFi. We kept going to the desk to tell them it was not working, they kept resetting it, it kept going out. Frustrating.
Jul 20, 2013
The check-in was messed up- we were originally assigned an already occupied site by a new associate. The co-manager dealt with the problem quickly- and we had a great stay!
Jul 19, 2013
Cabin was clean, but located next to train track and could smell deisel all week long. Pool was heated and was set at 80 degrees or higher, too hot for the 90 degree weather. Kids activities were closed except for one night. It was convenient to Cedar point, but there is nothing else to do in Sandusky. Bring everything you need for cabins, no towels and very little kitchen supplies.
Jul 19, 2013
I have stayed at other Koas that are great but this one was a parking lot and a dump. So dirty and disgusting. Gross. Showers were nasty, floors filthy, empty toilet paper and paper towels. Really disappointing.
Jul 19, 2013
The only complaint is the beds are not the most comfortable mattress. But we love the campground as a whole. The cabins are very clean and homey. The pool swings bikes and trails for the whole family is awesome. Everyone that works there is very friendly and helpful. Thank you and we will see you next year sandusky koa
Jul 19, 2013
had us packed in like sardines..no where to set up toss games for kids.train horn out of control.bathroom filthy while employees sat at desk and screwed around.just plain nasty
Jul 19, 2013
I loved our stay at the Sandusky KOA. It is a shame more people do not stay at the Bay Area...I know it is non-electric but is beautiful and quiet there.
Jul 19, 2013
Very nice kampground. Crew was very busy cleaning up after rain storms but still was very friendly and helpfull.
Jul 19, 2013
Always have a fun time at this KOA.
Jul 19, 2013
Campground sites are very small for large campers. No place for the kids to play next to your camper. Sites are not leveled. Bathrooms not clean. Staff was very friendly.
Jul 18, 2013
Jul 18, 2013
Over crowded, loud and cramped sites. It was messy and dirty. Not impressed for a Presidents Award winner!
Jul 18, 2013
Our campsite was very muddy. It needed a load of gravel to soak up the water.
Jul 18, 2013
IT WAS A GREAT TIME SANDUSKY OHIO, I'll be back...
Jul 18, 2013
Love the camp grounds and also great employes
Jul 18, 2013
Jul 18, 2013
I had to put air in my bike tires and replace chain several times while riding. Bike rental dude was apathetic to his job. More than half the staff had long faces and never smiled. That is very hard on caregivers of children who need a little support from those around them during an outing. The gem mining was a joke. Really? And your camping store was not a camping store - it was a camping closet
Jul 18, 2013
Muddy, crowded and disgusting
Jul 18, 2013
We got to the campground and all the staff were wonderful and very nice! However we spent half an hour waiting for people to move cars that were parked in our site . the campground itself was very tight and cars were often parked in spots that made it very difficult to maneuver a car through let alone a travel trailer.
Jul 17, 2013
This is our 8th time (or thereabouts) camping here. Besides being close to Cedar Point, they are friendly, helpful, have great facilities and are worthy of our repeat business. One of the only KOA's that go out of their way to ASK for what they should improve.
Jul 17, 2013
I felt that the mobile home we stayed in could of been a little more nicer as it was the patio window was broke and the screen was torn to door entrance and one of our family members had to have the air fixed, no curtains in the kitchen window.
Jul 17, 2013
We were given a site where we would have been sleeping on top of next site's fire pit. Had to switch. No warning of train noise which kept us up the entire night due to train whistle every 15-30 minutes. Had to ask for list of restaurants; why not in packet?
Jul 17, 2013
We had a great time and really enjoyed our stay
Jul 17, 2013
Although we know that they can't control the rain, hey can control drainage and they just don't have any. It rained the week before we arrived and it rained the 5 days we stayed there.The whole camp ground was flooded and our site was just mud. Everyone was friendly and I imagine the camp ground is nice when it's dry but didn't get to enjoy our trip.
Jul 16, 2013
The problem I had with my experience at KOA was your billing system. I made a deposit on 3 units and should've had a small balance. Instead your system only showed me making the deposit on each. My deposits we credited to another customers account with the same last name. I was lucky to have my computer with me to verify the withdrawals from my checking account. Also, lack of trash bags.
Jul 16, 2013
We had excessive flooding and mud on our stay. We understand there had been alot of rain but drainage, leveling of sites to promote drainage and more ground cover at sites are drastically needed. Areas for playing that the website made look good were not available due to water conditions.
Jul 16, 2013
It was the worst KOA I have ever been to. The wrong information was given to us when we reserved our cabin. It rained some of the time we were there, therefor, we were evidently in a low spot because every time we stepped out of our cabin we were ankle deep in water.DO NOT STAY HERE. They do not care. Do not waste your money.No more room to vent!!
Jul 16, 2013
campsites too small, retention ponds a joke. the camground was flooded the entire time, I had no where to park my car but in a huge pool of water and wear flip flops to get in and out. entire sections of campsites were totally unusable, however they continued to place people in them. pool too small for size of campground, felt more like a public bath tub. sufficient showers and laundry nice,
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
There are a couple of problems the noise from the train's is terrible, the sewer connection is far from the water and electric hookup and you must have at least 20' of sewer hose, but is close to Cedar Point Park which is a great thing.
Jul 15, 2013
It is a great site but if it rains there you will be under water . It wood have been better with more staff to run the jumping pillow for the kids
Jul 15, 2013
The lack of drainage in the campgrounds led to flooding in almost every campsite. We were told to find our own camp site if ours was flooded. We had to find the last campsite that was mud instead of a puddle. While we understand that KOA cannot control the weather, we wish that they would have reassigned us to a new site before we arrived in the dark.
Jul 14, 2013
Jul 13, 2013
Despite the torential down pours every day which resulted in flooding, we had fun. The staff here are extremely nice & the facilities were cleaned every day. No one can predict Mother Nature. Staff & campers made the best of a bad weather situation.
Jul 13, 2013
The mud was HORRIBLE! I understand it was rainy, but in all my years of camping, I have never seen mud this bad. We had to go out and buy rubber boots just to walk around our campsite. Also, night two of our 3 night stay, the people behind us were smoking pot and shouting obscenities at all hours of the night. Other than that, I thought the campground was nice, and the staff was friendly.
Jul 13, 2013
Jul 13, 2013
Jul 12, 2013
cabin could have been cleaner
Jul 12, 2013
Jul 12, 2013
Very muddy had standing water at our front step and someone in our group actually fell on the step and when they were told nothing was said also to have a fire you HAVE TO buy there wood which was flat and smoked more than it actually burnt,only good thing about this place was it was a short distance to cedar point not please wll not be back
Jul 11, 2013
Jul 11, 2013
Jul 11, 2013
I enjoyed my stay at KOA. It rained for the entire stay but we made the best of a weather situation. The staff was extremely helpful with questions and suggestions of what to do to fill our time there. I have no reservations about recommending Bayshore KOA.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.