Sandusky / Bayshore KOA

Open May 1 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-2486

Info: 419-625-1495

Email

2 East Shoreway Drive

Sandusky, OH 44870

Get Directions

Accommodations, ALL LODGING

Check-in: 4:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Aug 20, 2017
Aug 20, 2017
We had a very nice time at your campground. There were things for the grand kids to do. Employees were very nice..
Aug 19, 2017
Was a great place as we were on a concrete pad. Needs a few minor repairs. Not all sites would be good if ir rained.
Aug 19, 2017
The TRAIN.... hahaha. Place seemed to have everything. Except hot tub. It was nice stay. Plenty big rv park. Employees were nice.
Aug 19, 2017
Location is perfect for cedar point. Only complaint would be the restroom/showers by late afternoon are very wet and dirty because of the pool being right there.
Aug 19, 2017
nice place. Flat sites, Suggest they get CNN on the cable though....MSNBC was of bad color, but present.
Aug 19, 2017
Very disappointing, premium pricing for a very sub par campground.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you had a bad stay and missed out on all we have to offer. Activities program, Jump Pillow, Gem Mine, Pedal Cart Rentals, Basket ball, Volley Ball, Ice Cream Social, Family Movie Night. We try to offer a lot of amenities for types of family's. Sorry you missed out on all the fun. GM
Aug 19, 2017
The place is just kind of run down. Pool safety gates were broken and open all the time. Desk people not friendly. Loud train runs frequently next to the property- all night long! I was absolutely astonished how much you charged for a bundle of firewood- with no deals for buying multiples. We've stayed at KOA's lots of times and this one just wasn't what we would expect from the KOA brand.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you had a bad experience with us.The pool gates are being addressed due to the amount of use both pools are getting. Unfortunately we do not have any control over the trains so for that we are sorry. Sorry you feel our wood is over priced but we try and supply a good quality product. Once again we are sorry for the bad experience. GM
Aug 18, 2017
Our family had a great time. Lots of things for the kids to enjoy. Nice and friendly staff. We were near the seasonal campers who were did a great job to make us feel welcome. One thing I would suggest is for someone to lead you to your sights. We did see a few people struggle with getting into some of the sites and a guide would have been a great help.
Aug 18, 2017
The park is nice, staff is friendly. The sites are extremely tight, we actually had to be moved because original spot they put us in, there was no way we were fitting in( 40 ft Class A) They were very friendly and moved us without hesitation. It is a nice stop over place, if going to cedar point but wouldn't stay longer than a couple of days. The Wifi is non-exsistent and no dog park.
Aug 18, 2017
This is a large campground with many amenities. Unfortunately, the kids' activities that were scheduled didn't happen on one day because they were short staffed. The site was narrow and a bit tight with our slide out - it was right up against the neighbor's patio. Still, the sites were tidy and nicely prepped for new campers. The bathhouse was clean. It is conveniently located to Cedar Point.
Aug 18, 2017
Campground was clean and staff was helpful. Pull Through site are long and narrow. We felt like we were in a parking lot. Our visit was scheduled for 5 nights we only stayed four and had 3 different neighbors. They supply a nice plastic picnic tables however, our table was broken on top and hazardous The bay view had nice wooden seats to hang out , view was small due to over growth on lake .

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you had a bad experience with us.We do have a bigger section with more space but it was not available during the time you stayed with us. We have campers stay 1 or up to 10 day with us so it is not uncommon for campers to come and go on a site throughout the week.We sorry for the table if it was as bad as you were saying we could of switched you out if the front office was notified. GM
Aug 17, 2017
We really liked the staff, ease of parking our trailer, the location that was close to many points of interest. Trailer spot was roomy but we wish we could have been in a location that had some shade. Otherwise, the campground had lots of amenities for families, even though we were a couple of just 2 people. We will recommend your KOA to family & friends.
Aug 17, 2017
Aug 16, 2017
Everyone was very friendly, we were there 4 yrs. ago and they have updated since, patio pavers and new swimming pool. On the weekends its very busy and i think they should clean the restrooms twice a day instead of once a day. Over all a great experience, we are looking forward to next year.
Aug 16, 2017
We stayed one night, pools were clean and it was nice to have an adult pool, over age 14.
Aug 15, 2017
The stay was very enjoyable. Love the location. Was not thrilled with the campsite I chose; will choose one near the park trailers next time.
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
They could not get wifi to work, cable tv wire had been cut, spaces are really cramped.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry for the WIFI problem, we are looking into what the issue was. The cable line was not cut, that was the old line, the new line is on the back of the electrical box, We have the location of the cable box on the site map. We are adding new sites that have more space at the end of the season. Sorry you had a bad experience with us. GM
Aug 15, 2017
The gentlemen at the gate were very friendly and nice. The girl at check-in wanted to be anywhere but there. Our lot, 103, was so small that it couldn't be enjoyable. The next lots dump was literally outside our door and the small lot was so unlevel that I had to use leveling blocks on our chairs. Trains blowing their horns and some kind of truck pulling competition sounded like we were there. :(

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you had a bad stay with us. We do have bigger sites but they may have not been available during your stay.We unfortunately do not have any control over the train so we do apologize for that. Also our town had our annual fair, rodeo and tractor pull that weekend. Once again we are sorry for the bad experience. GM
Aug 15, 2017
Extremely disappointed. This campground didn't meet the standards of a KOA. Really narrow pads on extremely narrow lots. Very little privacy. The neighbors were loud when they came back to their site at midnight. Don't even get me started on the trains that rolled through. There were more than one per hour (I lost count at 14), each blowing its whistle about a half dozen times. We barely slept.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We do have a bigger section with more space but they may have not been available during your stay. Cedar Point does not close till late so we do get a few campers returning. Unfortunately we do not have any control over the trains so we do apologize for the bad experience. GM
Aug 14, 2017
Should update camp site map, as site 74 has changed since 2017 (it's smaller). They now use part of this site for golf cart parking by the pool.
Aug 14, 2017
We have been to this campground three times, twice this year and are coming back in October. We enjoy the campground itself as it's clean, family friendly, has helpful staff and a good atmosphere. We also enjoy the close proximity to Cedar Point which is a big plus for pass holders like our family.
Aug 14, 2017
This is our third time at this campground. Even though it was crowded due to people visiting the amusement park, everything is always clean, to include the showers and restrooms. The areas around your campers are cement, therefore no dirt. I like this.
Aug 14, 2017
Full service sites need work on asphalt and are a little tight for a unit as big as ours (41ft)
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
Very curteous staff. Very convenient location, and the park was clean and maintained. Nice place, we enjoyed our stay very much.
Aug 14, 2017
Nice campgrounds, more shade on some of the sites would be nice. A lot of activities for kids to do.
Aug 14, 2017
Staff was fantastic! And the kids play area and crafts were very good. The only thing I wished is that my site had been shaded and a little wider (105). Other than that we had a nice stay, actually stayed one extra night.
Aug 14, 2017
it was good
Aug 14, 2017
The bay view/outlook spot is beautiful - two huge, clean pools. Very nice campground overall ... close to Cedar Point and all attractions. Easy to find, friendly staff!
Aug 14, 2017
We had a great time place was clean Real close to the park
Aug 14, 2017
If the campground had been full, the narrow sites would have been terrible. The sites really are much too small for any comfort. Asked de from that, the campground is great.
Aug 14, 2017
Nice friendly people, great facilities. Lots are a little small and the train is very frequent during the night. Turning on the A/C helped the noise level so we were able to sleep. I feel sorry for the tent campers.
Aug 14, 2017
The reason I gave this place a one star is because of the unsupervised children yelling, dribbling basketballs at 1:30AM, barking dogs, unleashed dogs, loud music. Evidently there is no security to enforce the rules. This place advertises WiFi - big joke. First time I am giving a KOA such a bad rating... I will never be back...

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you had such a bad experience. During the weekday we are not so busy and our security is a little lighter. Its very unusual for the campground to be that active at night during the weekday. I will address the concerns with our security staff. Sorry you had a problem with the free wifi we offer, we did have a few problems during the week so we do apologize for that. GM
Aug 14, 2017
It was like staying in a parking lot. Online booking said there were no back in sites available yet there were tons free. We feel like we over paid for a crappy campground.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Unfortunately if you are booking online some sites may not be available, if you were interested in a back in site you could of asked us to switch or to see if we had any openings. Sorry you feel like we are a crappy campground, we try hard to keep our campground clean and safe for all types of camping. GM
Aug 13, 2017
Easy to check in and out. Nice staff. Clean bathrooms. Lots of activities to get into around the camp grounds.
Aug 13, 2017
There is a horrible smell occasionally, that is from an asphalt processing plant but not the campsites fault⦠if you're going to stay at Cedar point, this is the best place to stay in my opinion
Aug 13, 2017
Very run down campground. Sites are horrible. Nice staff

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Very sorry you feel that strongly about our campground. We work hard to keep our campground clean and family friendly. Our sites in some locations may be tight but we have plenty of sites that are nice and have plenty of space. Sorry for the bad experience.
Aug 12, 2017
Aug 12, 2017
Aug 12, 2017
Aug 12, 2017
Very nice staff, worked with me on our location and time I was there. Very nice, quiet campground. Always someone was around.
Aug 12, 2017
Was great! Clean, quiet, plenty of activities for the kids, the staff was friendly, and it was close to everything.
Aug 12, 2017
This a great to stay and very reasonable
Aug 11, 2017
Aug 10, 2017
We only stayed for one night but thought your facility was very nice.
Aug 10, 2017
Very convenient to Cedar Point. Plenty of activities to keep the kids busy. Spots are too close together. Our slide almost touched the people next door sitting at their table.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you had a bad experience. We appreciate the feedback and have future plans to add more sites with more space. GM
Aug 09, 2017
All staff & seasonal guests were very friendly. There were plenty of activities for the kids to do. The sites were a but close but not uncomfortable considering it's proximity to a large amusement park. Our permanent fire ring was too close for comfort but the staff was accommadating and provided a temporary one. Bathrooms in our area of the campground were nice & clean. We would come back.
Aug 09, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals