Sandusky / Bayshore KOA

Open May 6 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-2486

Info: 419-625-1495

Email

2311 Cleveland Road

Sandusky, OH 44870

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Sep 26, 2016
Very friendly, clean and roomy! Loved the site we stayed in and was super close to CP! Will be staying here again :) thank you!
Sep 26, 2016
Clean bathrooms. Well kept campground
Sep 26, 2016
Sep 23, 2016
Campsite was okay. Weather was nice. The trains that ran by the KOA were very loud and ran by at least 7 or 8 times throughout the night. Maybe an RV/Trailer effectively mutes the noise, but I would not recommend this KOA for tent camping.
Sep 20, 2016
Clean & friendly, especially perfect if you are going to Cedar Point 2 minutes away!
Sep 19, 2016
Sep 19, 2016
So close to Cedar Point; save a ton of money and get to enjoy a weekend of camping!
Sep 14, 2016
Stayed 3 nights, to go to cedar point. Convenient location, fine campground. Would be nicer if there were more trees in campground/around sites, but other than that it was great!
Sep 13, 2016
Sep 12, 2016
Sep 12, 2016
We stayed one night after attending Cedar Point. It was a perfect location. Staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Campground was well maintained and showers/bathrooms were clean. I will definitely recommend KOA and will be staying there again.
Sep 08, 2016
I knew it was biker weekend, but when I made my reservation I requested a bay site to be away from the activity. However, when I arrived I was put in a busy site with no trees, no shade, little kids yelling and mom yelling, etc. They should have told me the Bay sites where not available so I could have planned accordingly. I paid for 3 nights but due to this I left. No sleep-
Sep 08, 2016
Only real issue is the close proximity to a noisy rail yard that's busy all night
Sep 07, 2016
We didn't have a great time because there was a biker rally going on and it was noisy all night and the campsites feel like they are on top of each other. One great thing was the showers had good hot water.
Sep 07, 2016
Lots of fun
Sep 06, 2016
The resort was very clean and had lots of trees. The lots are smaller than what I am used to at other campgrounds that I have stayed at. It was hard to get my sleeping tent, my car and dining tent on the same lot. The staff were very friendly and outgoing. Big negative was that there are trains that run through there all hours of the night. Will not stay there again.
Sep 06, 2016
My family had a great time. Campsite was nice.
Sep 06, 2016
Sep 06, 2016
Tent sites are very close together. Both nights we had rather noisy neighbors blaring inappropriate music for my 5 year old. Other than that we had a good stay and the kids loved the play area.
Sep 06, 2016
Our stay started great. However during our 3 day stay we encountered some issues. We had neighbors who arrived late at night...at about quiet time and they were anything but quiet. They disturbed us greatly and woke our children,security did not come around and correct this issue and the noise continued into the middle of the night,not quieting down til around 3 or 4 am. Swearing was also an issue
Sep 06, 2016
RR tracks run right next to the campgrounds and trains ran all night, every night. Very cramped areas and rules are not enforced. Music from other campers played until well after midnight.
Sep 06, 2016
Hundreds of tent sites jammed together with no privacy at all. More like a music festival than a KOA. It was a holiday weekend but it was so crowded with a ton of flies. They should warn people when they have a large portion of the campsite rented out to a BIKER RALLY. Not the typical KOA experience and that's not a good thing.
Sep 06, 2016
Really pleasant stay. Would have liked for the bathrooms to have been cleaned a little later then 10 AM. Seemed rather busy at that time and check out is at noon. Quite time was good except for the people next to us who partied all night. Overall we were happy with our stay.
Sep 06, 2016
The sites are small, pool was dirty, and the price is not worth the stay. Will not be staying again.
Sep 06, 2016
bonito lugar
Sep 06, 2016
Our experience at Bayshore was excellent! The whole family had a great time, there was a ton for the kids to do, the grounds were clean, and the staff was great! We are already planning our next trip and can't wait to go back!
Sep 06, 2016
I don't recommend labor day weekend as there is a motorcycle convention rally that will keep you up at night in a tent, just an unlucky chance. Only one pool was open? Lots of bees at our site and were stung. Bathrooms just ok, the actual grounds were ok. We could also hear gunfire all hours of the night in the distance. Didn't feel very safe with that. Wouldn't return to this campground.
Sep 06, 2016
we have been here often but the wedding that was ongoing made it feel like it wasn't really camping at all. Couldn't even hear the sounds of nature because the bands were so loud and into the night while we tried sleeping
Sep 05, 2016
Staff was great, sites were great, clean and peaceful. Love this place will definitely be comi g back.
Sep 05, 2016
Though easy access to points of interest the train is only a block away and multiple trains interchange every 5 minutes starting around 9 pm horns blasting so there is no sleep or very little all night. There is no notice regarding this either on the web or from the staff
Sep 05, 2016
It's clean and friendly place. One negative side, it's too many street lights. It needs to tone down to feel more camping, not feeling like a "city".
Sep 04, 2016
Sep 01, 2016
Perfect place to stay while at Cedar Point. May flies were terrible in the bathrooms however. And apparently the "quiet after 10" does not apply, there were people hooting and yelling and partying way past 3 in the morning that we could hear half way across the campground. I had older kids with me, but I pitty the parents with the younger ones.
Sep 01, 2016
Didn't realize how close to the railroad we were sleeping and yellow jacket bees were pestering us all morning...both challenging for tent campers.
Sep 01, 2016
We found the campground very clean and the Rustic Cabin our daughter used exceptionally clean. We so appreciate the staff agreeing to let us stay a little past check-out time to make up for the fact we did not get to any of the activities since we had so much trouble putting up our tent and stove not working. At least we were able to let our granddaughters enjoy the pool before we checked out.
Aug 30, 2016
It was a nice place. Would come back. Would like to come back when the other(I think adult) pool will be open. Was kind of bummed we couldn't get our money back from leaving a night early. But kind of understand at the same time.
Aug 30, 2016
We left a day early because our campsite was completely destroyed by a storm. Our tent and pop up tent were both damaged beyond repair. Although an employee was going around on a golf cart, they didn't even stop to see if we were OK.
Aug 30, 2016
Bathrooms were kept nice, there were cool play areas for kids and people were mostly respectful of eachother. The people diagonal to us were blasting awful old country rock songs at 7:15am during quiet hours and wouldn't turn it down.
Aug 30, 2016
Good overall
Aug 29, 2016
No warning at all of an extremely busy railroad line right across the street with trains running all night approx. every 30 min. keeping people up all night long.
Aug 26, 2016
Train traffic at all hours was terrible. I don't understand why they needed to sound horns at length and often.
Aug 26, 2016
Had a great time!!! We would visit again even if we weren't going to Cedar Point!!!
Aug 25, 2016
only issue we had was the train. other then that it was great!
Aug 24, 2016
The amenities were great - pool, bounce pillow, Snack shack selling delicious and reasonably priced homemade breakfast. Restrooms and showers were clean. Lots were on the small side and ours was near a smelly dumpster. Our last night and group of very noisy neighbors arrived and kept us up until 2am, despite being asked Twice to respect the quiet hours. Great location next to Cedar Point!
Aug 23, 2016
Overall, campground is good. Staff is very nice. Sites are on the small side. Constant trains very annoying. Did have fun during our stay and would consider going there again.
Aug 22, 2016
There are major drawbacks with this campground. The first is that it is located close to a major train thoroughfare. Loud freight trains run all night long every 15 minutes. Sleep was impossible. Second, there were bugs everywhere. Finally, the light from the nearby bathrooms gave off way too much light at night. I ended up sleeping in my car. It was a horrible experience.
Aug 22, 2016
This was the first time we had stayed here. I was super impressed with all the amenities that was offered. Two swimming pools, the pedal cars (10$/hr), the stocked pond( there is ALOT of bigger fish and plenty of smaller ones, and they also offer free Wi-Fi throughout the camp ground. One key thing I noticed was their level of security, when concerning children
Aug 21, 2016
Very friendly staff. We are not used to staying at a KOA. Usually we are at a State park. A KOA is rather crowded for us and noisy. Couldn't hear crickets over the music people were playing next to us and the train going by every hour. Campsite was clean and so were the bathrooms.
Aug 21, 2016
My son was bitten by a spider inside the campground which made us drive back to Pittsburgh early to deal with it so we paid for our 2nd night but didnt stay over due to what happened. I lost the money that I paid for it. We had to cut our vacation short & he was upset. We go to Cedar Point every year & I was hoping that a refund for the 2nd night b/c we left due to the spider bite.
Aug 19, 2016
Grouchy staff.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy