Sandusky / Bayshore KOA

2311 Cleveland Road

Sandusky, OH 44870

Reserve: 800-562-2486

Info: 419-625-1495

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

Tent Reviews

Aug 25, 2014
Besides the train at night. We had an excellent time during our stay. We will definitely stay again!
Aug 25, 2014
Site was decent. Bathroom could have been cleaner. It was out of paper towels 2x during our stay.
Aug 25, 2014
Except for the loud camaraderie of the campers next to us on both nights at 3am, it was pretty good. Facilities were clean. Staff were nice.
Aug 24, 2014
We had a great time! The campground was clean and well kept and the staff was very nice and helpful! Will be visiting again!
Aug 24, 2014
was nothing like we were told over the phone. its downtown middle of a trailer park and apartments. smells horiable! trains every 15 minutes! and they were not friendly at all! will never go back!
Aug 22, 2014
My boyfriend and I along with another couple came for the weekend everything was just the way we planned even something like fire wood we forgot but KOA had some we could buy gotta love fires :) we had a blast at camp site and cedar point being so close will come back soon!
Aug 22, 2014
Reasonably priced. Well-manicured tent-sites. 5-minute drive to Cedar Point Park. Slept poorly due to very active railroad 1/2 mile from Kampground. Not good for tenters.
Aug 20, 2014
Great
Aug 19, 2014
I would recommend telling people about the train tracks on the booking website.
Aug 19, 2014
This campground is great for the kids! They offered some great things for the kids, as well as apool and train rides, ice cream and Movie nights. However, the noise on this campground is palpable. There is a train that runs through the campground almost every hour through the night. There are cars flashing lights and going through the campground up until 1am. Summer is packed so plan accordingly.
Aug 19, 2014
Site was in the full sun no shade at all. People in site behind us partied ALL night got no sleep and security did nothing til 5am. Worst camping trip in 30yrs!
Aug 18, 2014
I had a great stay here, and they made it easy for me to check in after hours. The only warning I have for others is that there are trains running near the campground throughout the night, and they can be loud.
Aug 18, 2014
Super close to cedar point and clean camp sites.
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 16, 2014
Excellent grounds,facilities, activities and very clean. Location to cedar point was perfect we will be back for sure!
Aug 14, 2014
What a great and friendly staff ! Thx for the wonderful hospitality !
Aug 13, 2014
Loved the stay just wish there was more shade or ways to rent canopies while visiting
Aug 13, 2014
The staff was awesome and extremely accommodating, the site was clean and well taken care of, and the location was exactly what were looking for. It was a really amazing vacation!
Aug 13, 2014
The train made it difficult to sleep - along with the late night arrivals. Even though there is a quiet time after 11 pm nothing was done about rowdy guests up until extremely late hours (4am) and profane language - even when night security was told!
Aug 13, 2014
We've stayed 3 difference times at Bayshore KOA, and we will go back.. It's a great campground, with plenty to do..pool, playground and plenty of adult activities. Tucked away on the bay, feels like you really are getting away but there's plenty of things outside of campground being it's located right in Sandusky!! We camp on primitive camp sites, but may be upgrading in future to a camper. Enjoy
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
We already are planning our trip back to Sandusky KOA for next year! But we are staying a week next time! We had no idea just how many activities were right at the campground. We are so glad we found you!
Aug 12, 2014
Bathrooms were clean, so was the pool. Shuffleboard, basketball, air pillow were all great. I like the bike rental and the tv room was nice when it rained. Probably need to finish upgrading the picnic tables, ours was pretty wobbally
Aug 11, 2014
We very much enjoyed our stay at this camp ground. The staff was great to us. We checked in as a thunderstorm was hitting the area. The staff noticed we were tenting and gave us an upgrade to a cabin. That event alone has made us want to return and will in the future.
Aug 11, 2014
Good atmosphere, great stay.
Aug 11, 2014
Campground and restrooms were very clean. Had a great stay.
Aug 10, 2014
Wish they enforced quite time better. Wanted to sleep at 1 am and people a few sites down had music playing. Other than that place is nice and we'll kept. Very close to cedar point!
Aug 07, 2014
train would go by every 15 to 20 min. kept us up all night. that was the only problem we had with this koa.
Aug 06, 2014
We will always turn our Cedar Point getaway into a camping trip as well. Both summers have been amazing! Great way to wrap up summer vacation...camping AND Cedar Point!
Aug 06, 2014
The service was good. Checked in easily and everybody was plenty helpful. The rating comes from two things however. First, the rules aren't enforced. Our neighbors were loud at 2:30AM as well as other nights people still playing basketball at 12AM despite quiet time starting at 11. The other is the trains. Not entirely the fault of KOA but nearly makes it impossible to get any sleep at all.
Aug 06, 2014
Great activities for the young family. Clean facilities. Perfect for train enthusiasts. Plant trees for more privacy.
Aug 05, 2014
Very busy train tracks very close to campground - horns every 30 min or so all night long each night of our stay. Mine and Jumping pillow not open when posted. No attendant at jumping pillow.
Aug 05, 2014
having a train go past every 20-30 minutes blowing its air horn makes for a VERY unpleasant night of sleep. I would not recommend staying anywhere near the train.
Aug 05, 2014
The campground offers plenty of activities, a snack shop serving food, and is a good value for the price paid.
Aug 05, 2014
Aug 05, 2014
Aug 05, 2014
Always friendly staff, located close to the park. Fair prices and clean site.
Aug 04, 2014
Our This Was OuR First Experience In A Camp Ground That Wasn't In The Wilderness. Liked The Conveniences, But It Was An Adjustment To The Experience.
Aug 04, 2014
Ppl were loud till about 2:30 am Lots of confusion regarding pet policy and tents.
Aug 04, 2014
I did not like that the tent sites were almost right on top of each other. You can't get any privacy to yourself because you're so close to the person next to you. There isn't much to do for children. They have a couple things but the koa in port Huron has much more to do to keep the kids occupied and having fun.
Aug 04, 2014
Kids love it friendly staff
Aug 01, 2014
The place is nice. Great Location to access Cedar Point and Kalahari. The Train that goes by about 400 yards away every 20 minutes,, has to honk its horn. Maybe if I had a big RV it wouldn't have been so bad, but I was in a pop up tent camper. It kept us up.
Jul 30, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
We loved it
Jul 29, 2014
Had a very nice time. Very clean restrooms and lots of bathhouses. Wonderful warm pool. Kids had lots of fun at "Christmas in July" festivities.
Jul 28, 2014
Kids playing, Rv backing up right beside us, car racing all at 1 pm. Then a fire alarm after that.
Jul 28, 2014
Very clean showers & friendly staff.
Jul 28, 2014
Staff was great easy going pool nice but a little small needs more washing machine next time need a shaded Area the I be back trains no problem.
Jul 28, 2014
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.