Sandusky / Bayshore KOA

2311 Cleveland Road

Sandusky, OH 44870

Reserve: 800-562-2486

Info: 419-625-1495

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

Tent Reviews

Jul 26, 2015
It was a pretty busy weekend when we stayed this year as opposed to last year we had a fairly open site to the rest of the campground. Only complaint I have is how close and loud the train tracks are to the campground. Had to be a train at least every 20 minutes throughout the night. Other than that, it is a beautiful campground with spacious tent sites and a friendly staff.
Jul 24, 2015
Nothing was said about the trains running pass about every half hour!!!
Jul 24, 2015
Great campground, very close to Cedar Point.
Jul 23, 2015
This is a very nice campground and the facility was in great condition but no one I mean no one should stay here due to the train that travels through the campground all night long. And I mean all night long and honks the horn. It was a very miserable night for all.
Jul 23, 2015
Very clean. Close to ceader point. Will definitely stay again next time I go to ceader point!
Jul 21, 2015
Jul 21, 2015
For the most part it was nice. Friendly staff, clean nice capground, etc. Only bad part was the one maintenance guy who was cleaning the firepits Sunday morning kept harrassing my girlfriend . we ended up checking out and leaving a day early because of it
Jul 20, 2015
Trop bruyant, pas de respect sur le volume de la musique des voisins : pas de patrouille, et ce, sans parler du train qui passe sans arrêt : jamais je ne retournerai à cet endroit. De plus, terrain totalement boueux....
Jul 20, 2015
Only thing: please enforce your quiet time. Few people needed a reminder of common courtesy.
Jul 20, 2015
The stay was comfortable and great. The store was well stocked and had everything we forgot. They seemed to have a problem with the ATM but the staff were very apologetic and reassured us they were in the process of fixing it.
Jul 19, 2015
It was a very nice place. A lot of things to do for the kids, which gave us adults plenty of quiet time.
Jul 18, 2015
Our stay at KOA was great. When we checked in out tent site was flooded and the staff accommodated our needs and let us choose a site that was dry. The bathrooms were nice and clean. We did hear trains through out the night but they didn't really disturb our sleep. We had three small children with us and they had a blast fishing in the catch and release pond and riding their bikes on the trail.
Jul 18, 2015
We've stayed at numerous KOA's. This is by far the largest one. While I appreciate the security, they don't do much about enforcing quiet hours. The drunks fighting from 730pm until 2am was pleasant. When they were not fighting, they were playing music.
Jul 17, 2015
The campground was very clean, we moved sites on our 2nd day, because we found a site that was higher & had gravel & grass, so there was less mud.
Jul 13, 2015
The staff was courteous and friendly. The train that goes by every 20 minutes was not mentioned, the women's bathrooms-all but one door don't lock, the flooded lots were a bummer, and some girls from the neighboring attached community were out to cause trouble. Thankfully, the staff upped the security rounds until they were found and escorted home.
Jul 13, 2015
the lot was full of mud
Jul 13, 2015
Very disappointed. It seemed to me that folks used this KOA as a party place. 24-hour security didn't include enforcing quiet rules. I got little sleep and was concerned for my safety and that of some other campers nearby.
Jul 13, 2015
Very fun stay. Had nice site even though they have had a lot of rain and some are muddy. Nice people. Nice pool. Clean bathrooms.
Jul 12, 2015
We love to stay at KOA. This last stay, however, was disappointing because of some people across the street from us. Thankfully the situation was handled in a very timely fashion. Can't wait to stay again.
Jul 12, 2015
With all the rain the campground was understandably flooded in areas, but the staff did a great job making our stay enjoyable. The only issue we had during our stay with with other campers violating quiet hours and that was only on Friday night. Thank you Sandusky KOA, every stay with you has been great.
Jul 11, 2015
I've always enjoyed camping and the July fourth weekend sitting at the campground watching fireworks from all directions was just what the doctor ordered
Jul 10, 2015
Jul 10, 2015
Beautiful campground with nice facilities, except for the train line that is active. Large cargo Trains pass through, sounding like thunder and honking their horn. Very annoying and made for horrid sleeping. Will never return.
Jul 09, 2015
Had a great stay. The only thing that could have been improved was that I would have preferred having one of the other open campsites that were the same type as mine a little further from the main road and all the RVs. There were only 2 of these sites being used and about a dozen that were open. I would recommend putting tent campers in the further away and therefore quieter spots first and fillin
Jul 09, 2015
The staff was very friendly and helpful.Always making sure all needs were met.Camping with my daughter, we felt very safe and st home here!! Thank you for everything!!
Jul 09, 2015
Jul 09, 2015
Clean, safe, peaceful. This us our favorite KOA! Very friendly people.
Jul 08, 2015
Nice staff and camoground.. Would recommend more attention to the bathrooms on such a busy weekend
Jul 08, 2015
Don't listen to the complaints about the train. It really isn't that loud at all. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful, campgrounds were very clean and well kept. PERFECT location for Cedar Point. Will stay here again next trip to Cedar Point!
Jul 08, 2015
Jul 07, 2015
We had a great time there I love it. I love that the bathroom is always clean everyone is very nice there thank you
Jul 06, 2015
Jul 06, 2015
Fun!
Jul 06, 2015
Very nice amenities, the kids stayed busy, my wife and I relaxed. I can't wait to come back.
Jul 06, 2015
Didn't enforce campers to keep their music down...it was blaring from a few different sites...and some of it was in another language and the other was inappropriate for children's ears...always loved it there before was kinda'disappointed this time...even had a fellow camper recognize me at Cedar Point, she asked me how I liked it and had the same complaint as me about the music.
Jul 06, 2015
our family had a great time. We have been camping here for over 5 years now
Jul 06, 2015
Small campsites, unfriendly neighbours, very expensive wood.
Jul 06, 2015
Went for 2 nights just to go to Cedar Point for 4th of July. I'd probably do it again if I had too.. but the bathrooms were disgusting.. (feces were on the ground for rest of our first day and then a lot of our second).. couldn't even bring ourselves to shower. Lots were practically on top of eachother and very confusing, also had a different rate then what previously told when making reservation.
Jul 06, 2015
I love this campground very clean and friendly and always has HOT showers, the only place I'll stay in sandusky!
Jul 06, 2015
It started with lumpy ground at our site. There was no good place to pitch the tent. We tried to get a different site and we were told we could not move. Then our neighbors behind us were up all night with music and drinking. No one came around to enforce the quiet time rules. They were up all night using harsh profanity and we could not sleep and we had our 2 year old with us that heard everythin
Jul 06, 2015
We had awesome time. Swimming,crafts, bike riding. I feel so safe at this KOA very friendly staff. Thank you for the memories with my grandkids.
Jul 06, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay at KOA Bayshore in Sandusky ... they only complaint we had is there was a large family that brought their 2 month old baby and it woke up crying every hour or two both nights we were there... their site was directly behind ours and we could hear the baby loud and clear. If wouldnt have too big of an issue if they would have attended to the baby right away but they didnt
Jul 06, 2015
Campground was clean. A lot of activites for kids, although activities were not done according to the scheduke so we missed a lot of them. Neighbors were all very loud and rude. Sites are too close together. No privacy. N bathroom hardly ever had toilet paper or paper towels all wkend.
Jul 06, 2015
Campground workers didn't know their own policy. Rules not enforced. Everyone is right on top of each other if busy.
Jul 06, 2015
Your employees are very friendly and helpful! This was our second stay and we will be back again.
Jul 06, 2015
Camping sites were too close together. Quiet hours were not enforced. Restrooms were dirty. This KOA is one of the worst I've stayed at. The only nice thing was the staff at the front desk.
Jul 05, 2015
The only thing you need to do is upgrade the basketball courts. They are in deplorable condition. I've been coming there for 14 years and I have never seen any upgrades. The basketball courts are an important part of family friendly camping....
Jul 02, 2015
This KOA was very nice! Bathrooms were clean,they had lots to do for the kids. The only negative I have is that a train track is right outside of camp grounds and goes by all night long..
Jul 02, 2015
Great stay, as always.
Jul 02, 2015
We loved our stay there. The pool area and playground were great. All the staff were helpful and nice. This is going to be our regular camp when he go.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.