Sandusky / Bayshore KOA

Open May 6 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-2486

Info: 419-625-1495

Email

2311 Cleveland Road

Sandusky, OH 44870

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 18, 2016
We stayed in a park model cabin. Pool was great. Jump Pillow was a blast. Accommodations were clean. Train is a minor nuisance but no different than living in the suburbs or city. Our boys enjoyed the stay and so did we. Very convenient to Cedar Point park. Already have two other families making plans to go the Park and stay here this season. Thank you for a great memory.
Jul 18, 2016
we had a blast. your staff is great. Thank you
Jul 18, 2016
Had a great stay in the rustic cabin. Other than the girl serving ice cream flirting with my husband it was great
Jul 18, 2016
Jul 18, 2016
Very clean campground with helpful and friendly staff. Would definitely consider coming back, however, was very disappointed in how the noise/quiet hour policy was handled. Both nights music was played very loudly, long past 11pm and it took requests from fellow campers to have the music turned down/off. Other than that, we really enjoyed our stay.
Jul 18, 2016
Jul 18, 2016
We enjoyed this campground. There were alot of activities for the kids. Clean bathrooms. I was amazed. The only thing I wish is the camping spots were a little more spaced out. I was too close to my neighbor. The area of the campground is near shopping I'd you need anything. Not far from hospital. Very convenient. I am planning on coming again. Thank you for your hospitality.....
Jul 18, 2016
Jul 18, 2016
Jul 18, 2016
Older campground with small camp site for the new larger RVs. Parking for tow vehicle was an issue. Many activities with mostly seasonal, tent, and park models. Hard to get into and out of the RV sites with cars parked along roads.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are addressing those spacing issues at the end of this season, I am sorry for the bad stay. Please try us again next season to see our new set up. GM
Jul 18, 2016
We were extremely disappointed in this KOA. We camp a lot at state and national parks and have never had as bad an experience as we had this past weekend. The mosquitos were absolutely horrible due to the stagnant water next to the campsite. Our biggest complaint was quiet hours not being enforced. On Saturday night, there was loud music and people yelling and singing until 5am. Unacceptable!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have a protected wet lands right behind us and we sit on the lake, unfortunately you will have bugs, its nature. During the weekend you stayed we had our Bay section rented out for a music festival...sorry you had a bad experience. GM
Jul 18, 2016
Didn't know anything about the trains. Wow were we surprised when we got there. We stayed in site #198. They come every hour & shake the ground. We lost a lot of sleep & will find another campground next time we make this trip.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Unfortunatly we are located by a train track, we have no control of the train so we do appoligize.We do however have a whole other side of the campground that may be better for you if you decide to stay again. GM
Jul 17, 2016
I loved every second of our vacation! The staff was amazing!
Jul 17, 2016
Kampground was just fine. The things we didn't like were out of their control. The loud fast trains going by all the time, the bright lights from the dealership next to them, and the seagulls were loud and annoying. But the camp was good so I'd probably stay again if vacationing in that area.
Jul 17, 2016
We enjoyed the camp very much...I thought the pull thru sites were very nice included a patio but we're on the smaller side
Jul 17, 2016
Another great trip! Campground was clean and staff is extremely friendly. So many activities available. Will be back many more times!
Jul 17, 2016
We had small ants all over kitchen. Office gave ant traps they eventually went away but. We only ate cereal and granola there didn't want to make any food . Wi-Fi not very good but it's a very clean campground. Showers were very clean.we have stayed there for 20 years and still never rented a hotel.
Jul 17, 2016
Was definitely a very nice stay. Convenient location and accommodating. We will be back.
Jul 17, 2016
From the receptionist to the maintenance people, everyone was warm, welcoming, and helpful.
Jul 17, 2016
Lots to do in the area! Kelleys island, Put n bay! Cedar point, friendly& clean camp:)
Jul 17, 2016
It's location to Cedar point is great. It's clean with a friendly staff but they pack you in like sardines, but all the planes, trains, and aut onions take away from it feeling like camping.
Jul 17, 2016
We were placed in a campsite right beside a group of guys in their early twenties. They were SO loud. Way past the alleged "quiet time". Screaming, drunk, swearing, throwing up. The campsites are extremely small, so it was like they were right outside of our tent. This went on until about 4:00 in the morning. They received multiple complaints about this group. They should have been kicked out.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Yes we know all about those gentlemen..our security was dealing with them all night. We did call local PD but since they were under the influence they could not kick them out because they have been drinking. Sorry for the bad experience. GM
Jul 16, 2016
Our cabin was not clean inside. There was an empty gatorade bottle under the bunk beds. The door would not lock unless we picked up on the door. We didn't know that until the next morning when we coudn't get it to lock.It wasn't even locked all night.The restrooms needed to be mopped. It was muddy when I went in at night and was still muddy when I went there the next morning.
Jul 16, 2016
It was a safe place to stay. Someone sould check bath room doors. My boys were traped in the bathroom for at lease an 1/2 hour, at lease it was a good place for them during the storm.
Jul 16, 2016
My family and friends really enjoyed our stay and very pleased with the campground staff.
Jul 16, 2016
Jul 16, 2016
Jul 15, 2016
Everything was great except the mattress in the cabin we rented was flat and not comfortable at all.
Jul 15, 2016
More urban than what we generally like, but okay
Jul 15, 2016
Terrific people. The office/store staff were so very nice. Would travel again over 3 hours to stay at this KOA. JOP, Cincinnati, OH
Jul 15, 2016
Facilities are not as good in the rear area than they are at the office side.
Jul 15, 2016
Worst kept, smallest camp site I have ever seen. I had thought KOA meant quality, but apparently not as such. I had been better off setting up a tent on a busy over pass, because I would have gotten more respect and privacy. What a ripoff!
Jul 15, 2016
Campground was clean and in a location close to many attractions. However the location also means that it is very noisy at night with freight trains going by at all hours.
Jul 15, 2016
We were up all night due to the train tracks directly next to our campsite. We had no idea it would be like that. There also was zero shade at our campsite and no trees. We were expecting more of a natural feel of a campsite. The place was very clean and bathrooms were great. But we were so disappointed in the campsite. I won't be recommending this site. Wish we would have stayed somewhere else.
Jul 14, 2016
I really enjoy staying at this KOA campground. I appreciated the extension to our stay. Ten days went by too fast. I hope to be back before the summer is over. I enjoy visiting with the staff in the store. I love the weekend breakfast! And I also love visiting with other campers. Thanks again for a great time.
Jul 14, 2016
The proximity to Cedar Point is fantastic. The cleanliness of the washrooms were very good. The rest of the park is adequate: sites are crammed together (even on weekdays they didn't have sites spread out - why?! There was certainly space!), and it was certainly not wise to build a KOA beside an extremely busy railway track.
Jul 14, 2016
Had a wonderful time. Very clean and staff is very cordial! We will be back! Thankyou for your hard work!
Jul 14, 2016
Thank you to all at the KOA in Sandusky. My grandkids had so much fun over the 4th of July weekend.
Jul 14, 2016
Scenic area with lots to do at the campsite and close to many activities in Sandusky. Be aware of the closeness to the railroad track. Would come again.
Jul 14, 2016
There was dog hair and balled up human hair through out the cabin, could have been cleaned a little better, the park is a great place.
Jul 14, 2016
The KOA cabins are perfect for a weekend getaway. They are clean, cute and comfy. Showers/bathrooms are always spotless. I have been coming here for over 19 years it's the best KOA I have ever stayed at!
Jul 14, 2016
As always everyone was cheerful and helpful. I was walking with firewood to my campsite and a young man in a cart volunteered to drop it off at my campsite. Very nice since it was heavy.
Jul 14, 2016
This KOA is in a good location and has a great staff! We had a very clean cabin, and our daughter had the best time ever between swimming, the on sight activities, and getting ice cream from the general store. We will defiantly make this a regular place to go for summer time fun! I would highly suggest this place for anyone's summer to do list! You will not be disappointed!
Jul 13, 2016
We just love it. We have been coming for 5 years now and so glad to see that they are upgrading and giving things a face lift.. Great people great time..
Jul 13, 2016
The pool and activities were fine but our cabin was filthy
Jul 13, 2016
Great stay! Fun campground no matter what your age. Friendly staff. Wish I could have stayed longer. Will definitely be back.
Jul 13, 2016
The reason this KOA didn't get a perfect score is due to the cleanliness of the park model. I read reviews & this was a complaint,I just figure maybe they were clean freaks & I wouldn't be as picky. No, the floors turned everybody's feet black in no time. I wiped down the fridge inside & out. All blinds were so dusty. No blind in bathroom,had to hang a towel. Front desk workers were the best.
Jul 13, 2016
Great job. only 1 problem with shower facilities near tent area #322 and #323.all else was great experience for entire family.810-964-6957
Jul 13, 2016
We really liked the campground and our cabin. The kids love the pool and the jumping pillow and playground. The only issue we had was the floors in the cabin were disgusting and seems like they have never been mopped. A couple nights there was a major gas smell that we couldn't figure out what it was and we called the emergency line but no response. We were in R269. All n all we did enjoy our stay
Jul 13, 2016
Large well maintained and less than 5 minutes from CP. Short season and awesome location means higher prices. Arrived at 9:30 pm and they were still open. Security greeted us and showed us to the office. Very good experience.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy