Rapid City / Black Hills KOA

Open April 15 - October 15

Reserve: 800-562-8504

Info: 605-348-2111

Email

3010 East Highway 44

Rapid City, SD 57703

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Jun 19, 2017
Jun 18, 2017
Jun 17, 2017
Our cabin was clean and comfortable, with plenty of room outside for the kids to run around. We all enjoyed the heated pool and hot tub. It was super relaxing! The camp store had lots of cute things and pretty decent prices on souvenirs. The restrooms and showers were very clean, and we had plenty of hot water for our showers. On our last morning, we enjoyed the delicious pancake breakfast!
Jun 17, 2017
Everything great, thanks!
Jun 12, 2017
Our family had an amazing time!! Loved the cabin. It had everything we needed to make a home away from home, bathroom with shower, sink, toilet, kitchen with sink, cooktop, microwave, and fridge, a nice big deck, BQ grill, fire ring, and picnic table. Very clean!! The kids loved the pool, and 2 playgrounds!! Great place to stay, can't wait to come back!!!
Jun 11, 2017
Staff was very friendly and facilities were nice and clean. Didn't care for the noise from the car races just down the road on Friday night.
Jun 10, 2017
Great staff, clean cabins, great laundry facilities, bathrooms and showers. Pool was nice too.
Jun 08, 2017
Stayed here on a trip to Black Hills. Nice campground! Location is good. Wifi does not work very well. Breakfast is available for a fee. Would stay here again if in the area but have noticed other nicer campgrounds in the area after multiple trips to the area.
Jun 08, 2017
Nice play areas for kids, pool was relaxing, cabins were perfect for our needs.
Jun 08, 2017
Not great, but good thanks
Jun 08, 2017
Jun 07, 2017
Absolutely loved the pool and cleanliness of the KOA, hated the fact that our site was up against apartment buildings. Not exactly what we have come to expect from KOA.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

So sorry we are unable to help with the location. We were one of the first KOA's ever built 53 years ago. We were in the country but the city has built up around us. Glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay.
Jun 06, 2017
It's a lovely campground with lots of amenities. Our cabin was nice and comfortable. The only thing I missed was Shade. The cabin was directly in the sun and it was hot. I would definitely stay there again.
Jun 02, 2017
We loved this cabin set up. This trip is our first time using KOAs. We started in Maine and headed west. Now heading south. Looking forward to our next KOA
May 30, 2017
Great service. Bathrooms are excellent! Loved it
May 30, 2017
i think this was the best koa we have ever stayed at! we have stayed at 15 different koas.
May 19, 2017
1 mile from the Black Hills raceway so VERY loud
May 17, 2017
May 16, 2017
We stayed in a camp cabin. It, the wash house, and grounds were clean and well kept. For us it was just overnight. The grounds are lined with lilacs which were in full bloom. Pretty to see and smell. The people were friendly and helpful. They have a nice gift shop/store.
May 16, 2017
The KOA itself and the staff were extemely pleasant. The dogs running around off leash and the children yelling at the park at 7am were not.
Apr 29, 2017
Oct 25, 2016
Oct 19, 2016
Deluxe cabin #1 was absolutely immaculate and had amenities that we have not encountered at any other KOA. The remotes had been sanitized, all soap dispensers were full, blinds and furniture were quality etc. The manager was exceptionally helpful, considerate and kind. She should be the model for all KOA staff! Great KOA in a great location!
Oct 17, 2016
Conveniently located to local sites, entertainment and restaurants along with having very clean facilities and cabins I would give this KOA an excellent rating.
Oct 12, 2016
The cabin, bathrooms, and campgrounds were clean and in good repair. Staff were friendly and knowledgeable. The pancake breakfast was fun and economical! Definitely will be back!
Oct 11, 2016
We had an issue with mice in kk1....
Oct 10, 2016
Friendly staff, easy late night arrival, lots of fun things to do, wonderful shower house!
Oct 10, 2016
It was our first time at a KOA and it was a wonderful experience! The staff was very friendly, the grounds & our cabin were well kept, and the bathrooms/showers were very clean! It was pet friendly-our golden retriever loved it! We would highly recommend KOA!
Oct 10, 2016
A friendly staff, clean facilities and beautiful weather! Can't get anything better than that.
Oct 06, 2016
Overall good good staff clean restrooms.
Oct 05, 2016
I stayed my 3rd time in 2 months. I was very satisfied with everything. I enjoyed the pancake breakfast 2 mornings in a row. The campground is great! Always a great place to stay when visiting my son at SDSM&T, Thanks!
Oct 04, 2016
Friendly service. Good location for getting to the East side of Custer State Park. End of the year problems with the Deluxe Kabin we stayed in but very nice Home away from Home. Kamping Kabins have become our camping tradition - don't have to sleep on the ground and have a roof over our heads. Thanks KOA!!!
Oct 03, 2016
Thank you for all your friendly and helpful staff. We had a grandkids camping and they had such a great time. We will recommend and be back next year.. Can not say enough to how friendly ALL were to us. THANK YOU.. Jeff and Deanie
Oct 01, 2016
This KOA is a great place to stay while it's cabins are designed smaller than other KOAs it is located convenientlly close to downtown Rapid City and close to Mount Rushmore and other great locations. It's staff is among the friendliest I've experienced in a KOA. And the pancake man is a phenomenal addition to the great service! I highly recommend this KOA to anyone staying in Rapid City
Sep 29, 2016
Sep 27, 2016
Super dog friendly.Cabin got mixed up a bit, but it was all good in the long run.Very nice staff and good fellow campers.Dog friendly was a huge plus.Buiscuts and gravy were stellar.
Sep 23, 2016
Sep 23, 2016
Friendly staff and very clean facilities. Also conveniently located for activities in the black hills and a Starbucks nearby
Sep 19, 2016
This was my first time at this campground. I stayed in a Deluxe Cabin as I am not an experienced camper. It was a great experience!
Sep 18, 2016
The crew at Rapid City were outstanding because they were able to correct my mistake when I booked a deluxe cabin. Since there were 6 of us traveling together in 1 car, we wanted cabins with towels and bedding, but I booked a cabin that didn't provide any. This KOA crew rallied and found us towels and bedding. I can not say enough good things about how they helped us out!!
Sep 15, 2016
Sep 15, 2016
The staff was polite and attentive. The individuals working in the kitchen were amazing. We rented 2 cabins since we had a large group. Not impressed with rustic cabins. Not kept well and cleaned as expected. However, happy with deluxe cabins. They were well kept and clean.
Sep 14, 2016
Stayed here many times. Very nice facility, and great staff. Love the hot tub after a long day of riding the hills.
Sep 13, 2016
Very clean and everyone was friendly. Thanks!
Sep 12, 2016
Large campground,not to far from a lot of family things to do,although had we known there was a dirt track close by might have stayed longer.Clean and groomed.The cabin had a.c. and a fan to move the air,nice.price of firewood for the bundle,very bad.Went to lowes.
Sep 10, 2016
The worst internet connection of all the KOA's we've been in. To get reception, we had to go up to the laundry so we could access the internet - the signal rarely reached our Kamping Kabin. Other than that, this is a very nice facility
Sep 08, 2016
Sep 07, 2016
The air conditioner was loud, intermittently disturbing sleep and quiet.
Sep 06, 2016
Sep 06, 2016
Very clean facility. Great staff. Appreciated the store being open until 10:00pm
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award