Rapid City KOA

3010 East Highway 44

Rapid City, SD 57703

Reserve: 800-562-8504

Info: 605-348-2111

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2

Tent Reviews

Jul 25, 2015
It was in a good location - close to attractions, grocery shopping, etc. Our site was nice and shady, but there were many sites without much shade. The bathrooms were often in need of cleaning. The staff was nice and helpful. We loved the pancake breakfast and the men making the pancakes made efforts to make them special for our son, which we really appreciated!
Jul 25, 2015
A lot of tents in a little place. But it was quite and clean.
Jul 24, 2015
Great stay. Clean and friendly.
Jul 24, 2015
We had a great time and the staff was very responsive and friendly. The facility was very clean. We chose this KOA because it was right in the middle of everything we wanted to do while in the Black Hills and the location really served us well. The only reason I gave a four star rating is for something the KOA really has no control over. There is definitely some general traffic noise.
Jul 23, 2015
Jul 23, 2015
Nice campsite, breakfast was ok. But great location, close to downtown, pretty view over Rapid City from the tentsites!
Jul 23, 2015
Loved the pancake breakfast and smores party.
Jul 21, 2015
Jul 21, 2015
The staff was wonderful and the facilities were always very clean. The pool and hot tub were always in great condition and the water temperatures for both were perfect. My husband and I definitely stay here next time we visit. :)
Jul 21, 2015
Jul 19, 2015
Friendly & helpful staff, in spite of very heavy client load; clean facilities; grounds well kept up. A pleasure.
Jul 13, 2015
The facilities were well laid out and above average. Teh location was nice on top of the hill! Very clean and the staff was quite friendly! Loved it!
Jul 13, 2015
Friendly and helpful staff. Very clean and well maintained. Only negative is the nearby road noise. Would stay there again as it is close to Rapid City
Jul 13, 2015
Great KOA
Jul 12, 2015
It was nice! Too many tent areas with no shade what so ever so during the day just way too hot to be in the tent (so ask for a shady tent location at check in). Breakfast was WONDERFUL and the facilities were clean - water pressure was perfect. We would stay again!
Jul 10, 2015
Extremely nice employees, I felt at home and my kids loved breakfast!!
Jul 09, 2015
We were next to the basketball court the balls were hitting our tent our truck and while we were eating balls were flying on our table. We ended up leaving the next day because of these things.
Jul 08, 2015
It was an ok place to stay. We had reserved an electric site and got checked in just to go to the site and someone was in it. They were able to give us another site close to the pool:) There is not a clear path to the bath house and we had people walking through our site to get to the bathroom. It was a little annoying. Pool was fun and Breakfast was good and reasonable.
Jul 08, 2015
Very clean, beautiful grounds with the most helpful staff I have ever seen. Wish I could stay longer!
Jul 07, 2015
Jul 06, 2015
The campground alittle urban ,but location was great. The 1st night I think there is a race track somewhere because all we heard was racing cars until about midnight. Don't go on 4th of July weekend unless you don't have a problem with the noise. We enjoyed seeing fireworks from our camp, but lighting fireworks all night. It didn't seem like the no fireworks on camp ground was inforced,one landed
Jul 06, 2015
This is a great place.
Jul 03, 2015
sad lack of trees for shade. Very noisy as so close to the highway
Jul 01, 2015
We had a great stay, a wonderful campsite and loved the friendly staff. The only strange thing was that the campground is truly right in the city. That was a little weird. But still a wonderful experience. Thank you to all staff members!!!
Jun 29, 2015
We enjoyed our stay, there were so many things to do at the camp ground. Clean showers and restroom! :)
Jun 26, 2015
Nice location close to downtown Rapid City area.
Jun 25, 2015
I travel by motorcycle and stay in a tent. The weather got rough, the tent sites are sand Pitts that won't hold a tent stake in the slightest wind. They are also right next to a playground so it's loud, and kids are running through your site all day and night. Quet hours were not enforced. Tried to get a refund due to weather but was refused. Would not recommend it if you are tent camping.
Jun 24, 2015
Both nights we camped in our new tent. On the 2nd night, our tent poles broke completely in half, which was due to the powerful winds/t-storm. We were located right on top of a hill and we did not get a good night's rest either. The 2nd night we ended up buying a cheap motel room just to get some rest. We were not happy campers.
Jun 22, 2015
Always a great stay. Friendly people and very accommodating. Will return and stay again.
Jun 13, 2015
Our stay at the Rapid City KOA was pleasant. The staff was great. Very clean facilities. We enjoyed the pancake breakfast. We tent camped overnight as we passed through. The campground is located close enough to Rapid City to drive into town to enjoy dinner. This is a nice place to stay.
Jun 06, 2015
Jun 01, 2015
Pleasantly surprised! The facilities are very well maintained. The showers and toilets were clean. The pancake breakfast was good and all the staff were very helpful and friendly.
Oct 14, 2014
Sep 03, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
First time at a KOA and I must say we had a good time. We would most likely stay again.
Aug 21, 2014
Thirty four dollars plus another two for my dog is way too pricey for a simple tent site.
Aug 21, 2014
Aug 20, 2014
Great park.
Aug 18, 2014
Staff friendly, wifi connection extremely poor at least my experience.
Aug 16, 2014
Aug 16, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Always enjoy my stay with you. Plan on returning in 2015 for a weeks visit. Very clean campground and everyone is so pleasant and helpful.
Aug 11, 2014
Small campground, needs larger bathroom/ shower house. No trees. Had to pay fee to meet the limit of 3 night stay for reservation online. Came down to a total of $62.20 per night for a tent, no water, no electric spot. Good for last minute stop.
Aug 10, 2014
Aug 09, 2014
Aug 08, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
Aug 06, 2014
It is a very nice campground. We were tent camping. Only complaint is sites are too close together. No privacy in the camping area.
Aug 05, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
The stay was wonderful, the employees were very respectful, very helpful, and very cheerful! It was my first time staying at a KOA and I really enjoyed the experience. It definitely has made me think about staying at them in the future. I really like the facilities, they were very clean and locked up today. Overall I would rate my satisfaction has a 10 out of 10.
  1. 1
  2. 2

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.