Rapid City KOA

Open April 15 - October 15

Reserve: 800-562-8504

Info: 605-348-2111


3010 East Highway 44

Rapid City, SD 57703

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Oct 17, 2016
It's always a pleasure staying in Rapid City pancakes in the morning friendly staff it's a great combination
Sep 30, 2016
Great facilities and helpful staff.. central location to all the local attractions
Sep 21, 2016
Our tent site was incredibly small. Hardly room to put up s tent. The adjoining site's fire ring was 5 feet from our vehicle. Ridiculous for $32.50. Never again!
Sep 20, 2016
Wonderful staff and very clean place. Very understanding when we had to leave a day early. Only thing I'd change is that the sites are very close together.
Sep 20, 2016
Very clean, nice facilities. Only downside is the road noise.
Sep 06, 2016
Very Friendly staff. Clean showers, nice amenities. Tent sites were extremely small and cramped. I wish the sites were a bit bigger as we could barely fit our six person tent on it without being wall to wall with our neighbors but overall good experience.
Sep 06, 2016
Camp sites were on top of each other,very well kept but not my idea of camping when you can almost touch the unit next to you.
Aug 29, 2016
First KOA we have ever stayed at and it was wonderful! Better than I could have imaged!
Aug 28, 2016
Friendly, Clean
Aug 22, 2016
This is a great kampground. Clean, and fairly roomie. The only downfall is how loud it is with the tragic roaring below, and the occasional barking from the kennel just about a half mile away. The place is great, but it is just so loud.
Aug 17, 2016
Other than it being busy, this was a great KOA. Very friendly staff, great programs, the locations was nice and sites were clean.
Aug 16, 2016
We had a great stay at the Rapid City KOA, everyone was nice, the bathrooms and showers were clean and well kept. Just wish there were more trees for some shade. It was great having meals provided for purchase during the rally. Thank you to the people cooking and the pancake/barbecue chef.
Aug 16, 2016
Aug 15, 2016
My wife and I tent camp. Our assigned site was on an exposed dirt hill. The campground was cramped. I do not recommend this campground for anyone.
Aug 15, 2016
The check in was easy, the bathrooms were clean and no security code to remember. Nice pool, grounds were clean and kept up
Aug 14, 2016
Enjoyed staying at your camp grounds. Showers were clean. Bathrooms were maintained several times throughout the day. Staff was courteous and friendly. The coffee in the store was very good. Great experience with you. Thanks for making our bike week a pleasurable experience.
Aug 14, 2016
Very clean and quiet campground, even for the week of Sturgis rally. Clean facilities and friendly staff.
Aug 12, 2016
I love the way the staff is so friendly and helpful. They take great care to make our stay is comfortable and clean. Thanks Karla and you crew!
Aug 08, 2016
Best people, great tent sites, clean facilities, lots of options.
Aug 08, 2016
Everyone was friendly and everything is clean and well maintained!
Aug 07, 2016
Aug 06, 2016
It was hot windy and we had no shade. You can't help the weather but a few more trees in your tenting sites would have been great. We went to Walmart to cool off.
Aug 05, 2016
People need to understand if your not a biker then you probably would not appreciate the noise that a large number of them make For instance how would you like to wake up to your neighbor starting his bike with his Pipes facing your tent he is the kind that has no respect for others These bikes far exceed the safe noise levels weither they are approved by your state DMV or not you are still harm
Aug 02, 2016
We were looking forward to camping near the Black Hills, but found this campground to be in the suburban development area of Rapid City. It felt more like a parking lot with tents than a campground. Our kids did have fun at the pool, but we would recommend warming up the hot tub, as it was not very warm (and far from a hot tub). The restrooms and shower facilities were pretty good.
Jul 30, 2016
Quiet not enforced at all, midnight kids running past tent screaming. Pool nice, hot tub working and hot, showers clean, overall a good place. Not the Ritz or for a light sleeper but worth the price for the ammenities.
Jul 27, 2016
Jul 26, 2016
The campsites were very close together, but everyone around us was quiet and respectful. The bathrooms and showers were clean and well kept. The location was convenient and the office was incredibly helpful in the check-in and check-out process. Everyone was very nice!
Jul 25, 2016
Fantastic and friendly staff. Great breakfast! Lovely time.
Jul 25, 2016
We enjoyed two nights at RC. They had a lovely covering over our picnic table that gave us shade for most of the day, a real blessing when tenting. Staff were friendly, pool area was great, restrooms and laundry were clean and spacious and store well stocked. RC is a great home base for viewing the Badlands and Wall's Drugs.
Jul 20, 2016
Aucune intimité. Pas d'abri du soleil.
Jul 20, 2016
This KOA campground is beautiful and so clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. We brought a group with special needs, and the staff was able to meet all of them! Breakfast was amazing every morning, and the community garden was a welcomed surprise. From the giant chess set, to swimming, to great shower and laundry facilities, you have it all! Thanks for an awesome stay. :)
Jul 19, 2016
Beautiful campground with a lot of space and beautiful little cabins. Could have more outlets for tents.
Jul 19, 2016
The staff are always wonderful and the nightly events are a great perk to this campground. Before my stay I requested a campsite with trees for shade. When we got there the woman told us she didn't have any. There are a couple but we did not get one of them. It was very hot in the morning because we had no shade. Next time we will be staying at the shaded Happy Holiday campground.
Jul 18, 2016
The camping spot that we had was the WORST spot in the area. We had no firepit, even though it appeared every other spot had one. It was hard compressed dirt, heavily laden with rocks. It was probably the hardest soil I have ever camped on. We were right next to the registration office, and it was constantly noisy, never a quiet moment. I would never go back, in fact, we abandoned the spot.
Jul 17, 2016
it was nice
Jul 16, 2016
Jul 16, 2016
Over all very good. RV and cabins are great. Bteakfast is awesome. It's the tent facilities that are lacking and thus only 3 stars.
Jul 13, 2016
The location and facilities were better than my rating indicates. Problem was clientele. Met some wonderful camping neighbors, others we were afraid of because of suspected drugs and racism (racist graffiti appeared in bathroom overnight.)
Jul 13, 2016
We got in late and we were up early. Staff was pleasant, camp site was nice, bathrooms were clean, showers were hot. I'd stay here again! Next time..... please, a lot less wind would be nice. Haha! Cheers!
Jul 12, 2016
Tent sites are a bit close together, but the pancake breakfast in the morning was just what we needed!
Jul 12, 2016
Bathrooms were filthy, wifi only worked part time and not at all in the evening. Very disappointed in this kamp especially being so close to a city
Jul 09, 2016
Jul 07, 2016
This was our first time camping at a KOA and we were pleasantly surprised. We loved it and will seek these out more often...the all you can eat pancake breakfast was the truth!😊
Jul 06, 2016
We liked our stay. Everyone that worked there was friendly and ready to help. The only thing we didn't like was, the hot tub was cold. You could feel the water coming into the hot tub was cold
Jul 06, 2016
Kids had a great time, loved the all you can eat breakfast. Very helpful!
Jul 06, 2016
Pancake breakfast was a pleasant surprise!! Even fed our pup!! Delish!
Jul 02, 2016
Jun 30, 2016
Very noisy and the campsites were too close together. Otherwise very clean and very nice staff.
Jun 28, 2016
This KOA is just far enough away from any major roads to avoid any traffic noise. Nice and quiet, but easily accessible. The kids enjoyed the pool. The dryers have a 10 minute cost which was awesome to dry shower towels prior to packing up.
Jun 28, 2016
Very nice place & very friendly

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.

Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award