Rapid City KOA

Open April 15 - October 15

Reserve: 800-562-8504

Info: 605-348-2111

Email

3010 East Highway 44

Rapid City, SD 57703

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jul 20, 2016
This KOA was very popular. It is a good base camp for sight seeing. The showers were clean. We did hear race cars since it is near the Black Hills Speedway. The noise isn't bad and is over by 11 pm. Since we could hear it we decided to go watch! It was a lot of fun. Also the pool gets very crowded. Free wifi was a pain. You have to go to a site, login, and wait for an email. Never could connect.
Jul 20, 2016
Jul 20, 2016
The property was beautiful and the staff was wonderful!!! I will go back again
Jul 20, 2016
2 days everything was fine
Jul 20, 2016
Normally, we have a good stay. However, because I call for a reservation late, we ended up with a crappy space. The internet in that part of the park is so bad that dial-up is almost better.
Jul 20, 2016
All KOAs need to improve their WIFI yours included
Jul 19, 2016
great place to stay close to the black hill sites easy to get to off I 90. Kids loved the pool and play ground
Jul 19, 2016
Jul 19, 2016
Clean facilities, friendly staff. A bit too pricey.
Jul 19, 2016
very nice
Jul 19, 2016
I understand the area has thunderstorms that roll through the area but sitting in a camp site full of water and mud is not fun. I believe they could develop the sites for better run off that would make it more enjoyable for the campers. Also the water pressure was very bad. On a positive note, the showers were nice and staff was very friendly.
Jul 19, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay - I was really impressed by how clean the bathrooms, shower and pool areas were! My only issue was one employee in the store had terrible customer service... she was not at all friendly or helpful! Other than that one person, everything was excellent!
Jul 19, 2016
The customer service was very good.
Jul 19, 2016
Just stayed one night to see Mt Rushmore & Chief Crazy Horse. Lovely park! Would stay again.
Jul 18, 2016
Convenient location, good showers & laundry facilities, friendly employees.
Jul 18, 2016
Wonderful campground! Clean pool, restrooms and campsite! Very friendly and helpful employees!
Jul 18, 2016
We had an issue with our tow unit and the ladies at the front were unhelpful. They were like too bad nothing we can do and if you are not gone, then we will have your unit towed off. There was no offers or suggestions of help at all. If you dislike your job that bad time for a career change. We will not be back.
Jul 18, 2016
Staff was friendly and helpful. Great place to stay.
Jul 18, 2016
The campground was great. WQell kept up. the only problem was the WiFi. After 1/2 hour figuring out how to get it to work on my lap top it reminded me of a dial up connection. I think that would have been faster though. I never could figure out how to get it to work on my Iphones.
Jul 18, 2016
easy access, clean park and facilities, and friendly staff from office to gounds people. loved the breakfast and the nightly activities
Jul 18, 2016
Friendly staff, nice pool, campsites good size, and nice to have a fire ring. Would add a couple of toilets to men's room though.
Jul 18, 2016
A great clean place to stay with very friendly staff. Clean showers and washrooms were tops - they mean a lot to the 'road travellers'! Great central location to all local and nearby attractions let us stay a day longer than planned, and enjoyed many of those attractions!
Jul 18, 2016
I only have one complaint. The park was very nice, clean and well kept, except for the section we stayed in! With the rain we got it was a clay/mud mess, everywhere!! Needs rock or gravel!
Jul 17, 2016
Our family stayed for 7 days and used the KOA as our home while we visited the sites. It was amazing! So nice to have somewhere safe and fun to come "home" to after a long day. And the pancake breakfast was an awesome start to our days. Everyone was friendly and helpful, two thumbs up!!
Jul 17, 2016
Very clean and people were very friendly. Breakfast was wonderful and all the people loved the kids. We were out for the day and it started to rain and the camp crew came through our site and covered our fire wood and flipped out chairs so they would not be wet when we got back.
Jul 17, 2016
Right next to a major highway is NO place for any campground. Also, having to rent and pay extra for a fire pit ($5) and $6.50 for a small bundle of wood is RIDICULOUS !

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry for the confusion on the campground. All of our sites have a fire ring and a picnic table. Our firewood is $5.50 per bundle.
Jul 16, 2016
Extremely nice, well run campground - one of the best we've ever been to and we highly recommend it.
Jul 16, 2016
Disappointed we made our reservations the same time our friends did and when we got there we did not have cable we were there for 4 days. Our friends had it I didn't know you had to specify that if you asked for full hookups that apparently it didn't mean cable. Unhappy about that. Staff didn't really seem to care.
Jul 16, 2016
Sites petits (feu du voisin très près de la roulotte) mais fonctionnels. Tables avec abris très jolies et utiles. Toilettes et douches propres.
Jul 16, 2016
Staff = awesome Pancakes = awesome
Jul 15, 2016
GREAT CAMPGROUND AND STAFF. Only disappointment was that we had the two smallest back in campsites. Our 3 tents almost didn't fit between the two and the other ones all seemed twice as big. And they new our size before we got there. But overall a great campground!
Jul 15, 2016
A beautiful setting and very clean
Jul 15, 2016
Great location, friendly staff,clean restrooms. Enjoyed the breakfast & som-ores.
Jul 14, 2016
Jul 14, 2016
Loved this KOA. Clean and well kept. They had many personal touches such as watermelon one evening and s'mores the next. The general store prices are a little high, but not horrible for the convenience. Our space had a wooden shade that went over the picnic table for shade, which kept us from putting out our awning. Pool was clean and they have a shallow pool for kiddies, too!
Jul 14, 2016
It was okay better this time the host and hostess were more friendly
Jul 13, 2016
The manager was very rude and told us she didn't care we weren't happy. She said this in front of her staff- really sets a professional example right?! We won't use KOA any more. We are fulltimers
Jul 13, 2016
Sunday July 10th temps reached 100 degrees. We had 30 amp site for our 42 ft motorhome.Husband went to office to ask if we could run our generator just until about sundown as it was 85 degrees in motorhome as 30 amp would only run one air conditioner. The person working in office was snotty. What does it hurt to use our generator for maybe 3 hrs. UNHAPPY WITH THE WAY WE WERE TREATED BY EMPLOYEE
Jul 13, 2016
Great starting point for visiting surrounding points of interest. Friendly staff. Don't trust your gps the signage is good and will get you there.
Jul 13, 2016
The breakfast was great, the pool is really nice and the staff were friendly. We were disappointed there is no cable, the wi-fi is terrible, and the hot tub was luke warm.
Jul 12, 2016
Too many children without supervision - most of the KOA's we stayed at - adult supervision at all times for children under 14 years old. The campground is in a perfect place to get to see things and easy on/off access for the expressways.
Jul 12, 2016
The people are very friendly. Our granddaughters loved the swimming pool. We were disappointed by the lack of trees. A little more room between campers would be nice.
Jul 12, 2016
Nice campground. Quiet,clean,nice pool & really good pancake breakfast !!
Jul 12, 2016
Wifi didn't work!
Jul 11, 2016
Nice campground, staff was average friendly compared to other KOA's. Our disappointment with this KOA was that they gave us a half flooded RV site that another RV'er that had already set-up on went to the office and complained and they moved them. SO instead of not using this site or making the other people stay, they gave it to us. It was a muddy disaster, until 1.5 days later it finally dried.
Jul 11, 2016
Love the campground and the people. The breakfast crew is fantastic!! We will be back and will recommend to anyone we know going to the area.
Jul 11, 2016
The staff was friendly and helpful, the grounds were clean,and they have a wonderful little breakfast, at a small price, for campers each AM, but if you have a tent and want to experience a campfire, this is not the place to do it, the tents were so close, if we had started a campfire it would have started our neighbors' tent and ours on fire. There was just barely a few feet between tents.
Jul 11, 2016
Very friendly staff and wonderful facility!
Jul 11, 2016
So much fun! The pool temperature was absolutely amazing. The campground was clean and the staff was very friendly. Thank you for a great weekend!
Jul 11, 2016
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award