Louisville South KOA

2433 Highway 44 East

Shepherdsville, KY 40165

Reserve: 800-562-1880

Info: 502-543-2041

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15
  16. 16
  17. 17

RV Reviews

May 26, 2015
I have always loved staying at this KOA but this stay was very disappointing. The pool looked more like a pond, mini golf is in desperate need for repair, bathrooms stayed in terrible condition and ownership did not accommodate for all the issues
May 26, 2015
Camp sites are nice, and the grounds could be mowed. The pool wasn't open for the opening of summer as it was suppose to be. All in all. It was ok
May 26, 2015
May 26, 2015
Next time the pool is not usable for the weekend you should call or email your guests an let them know! Especially the official start of summer! Also please get your wifi fixed.. And the jumping pillow! Thanks for the free ice cream though.
May 26, 2015
We stayed here Memorial Day wknd. & had 4 sites which included 10 kids who were very disappointed that the pool was "broken". Why in the world would you wait until a couple of days before a huge holiday weekend to make sure the pool was working properly! Then to top that off the jumping pillow deflated & was unusable & the tractor needed to pull the wagon for the hayride broke down! NEVER again!
May 26, 2015
The camping facilities were great, clean and well kept. However, we could not connect to the WiFi using our phones, computers, etc. The modem is tool small for the number of users needing to get access. Recommend installing a commercial size modem to handle the load.
May 26, 2015
Pool was closed the entire holiday weekend, bouncy pillow broke on the 2nd day of our stay, bathroom floors were ALWAYS wet and slippery, light over bathroom entrance went out and was not fixed, ran out of T.P at 10pm Sun. night and was still out at 6am Mon. Site was cramped and fire pit sat atop an uneven, sloped batch of tree roots.
May 26, 2015
Everyone was very helpful and nice, we will definatley stay here again, this was our first outing out with our motor home and it was great!!!!
May 26, 2015
No internet the whole weekend. Also looked like the pool was not open.
May 26, 2015
I called them the week before the stay to see if their pool would be open and they said yes. When I arrived it was closed and the pool was green. Very small sites and dirty. Even though I paid for two nights I left after the first night.
May 26, 2015
The WiFi is rubbish
May 26, 2015
Pool wasn't open and website said it would be and they didn't offer a discount. We had to pay to go to a public pool.
May 25, 2015
The camp site was great. However, the bath house was a mess every time I went in there. Toilets stopped up and overflowing. My husband said the same for the men. For seniors who do not participate in most park activities, (mostly for the children)I believe the camp fee is too high.I would recommend this campground for those who have children and those not on fixed income.
May 25, 2015
Great place with nice facilities. Love having the laundry and dog park so convenient. Staff is nice and helpful!
May 25, 2015
Grounds were pretty. sites very small & inadequate when at capacity. no tp in restroom 2 of 3 trips. 1 bathroom is not enough for this many campers. pool not open for mem day weekend. could have stayed somewhere else for half this price.
May 24, 2015
This is a very nice park. It was clean and the staff were friendly. So many options for the kids. We will be back again and again.
May 23, 2015
our site needed a lot more gravel. we had a lot of rain and the area was pretty messy.
May 23, 2015
Very friendly helpful clean campground great nature trail however pool was supposed to be open and wasn't
May 23, 2015
Needed some maintenance. Site needed mowed and there were leaves remaining from last fall all over. Internet was slow, nearly non-existent. Campground location was good, near food, fuel, and shopping. Based on reviews of the North KOA I recommend this place for staying in Louisville.
May 23, 2015
this is one of the favorite camping sites that we stay at
May 21, 2015
mildly over priced for a very mediocre campground.
May 21, 2015
Bad internet. Weeds at site.
May 20, 2015
Just an over-nighter but campground seemed to be very nice, friendly staff. Second stay.
May 20, 2015
on this trip went through louisville both ways. this KOA was FAR superior to our stay at the KOA louisville north. KOA south has lots of open grass area. spot 316 was a little unusual since our water/electrical were actually a step down on the site next to us.
May 18, 2015
It was fine. Cable and all hook ups were fine. Site was nice. A tree was next to us as well as a picnic table. Staff was friendly.
May 18, 2015
Our site still had leaves from last year laying on the ground. There were ruts in the gravel from rain running across the site. It was dirty and narrow and the landscape timbers have tilted and moved until they are a hazard to step on or over. At any other campground it was a thirty dollar site but at KOA it was fifty. You guys need to do some work to bring site 215 up to par.
May 18, 2015
small but nice off-leash area for dogs. Nice kids playground with a sort of in-ground trampoline. Looked like fun!
May 18, 2015
Tight spaces and very close to other campers.
May 18, 2015
poorly maintained for what you get very expensive I would avoid both koas in Louisville
May 17, 2015
Airplanes flying over all night. Could not get any sleep three nights out of four.
May 17, 2015
We always enjoy staying at the Louisville South KOA. It is clean, people are friendly, and the grounds are nice.
May 17, 2015
Stayed here a number of times. VERY nice folks and sites are very nice. Internal roads could be a little better but not a big issues.
May 15, 2015
Had a good stay. Nice people.
May 14, 2015
The spot that we stayed at was horrible. When we pulled our awing out it touched to camper that was parked in front of us.We couldnt even stay where our camper was due to no place to set and the neighbor sewer was right there.I called to find out how many people could stay a lady told me 6 as long as the camper could sleep them.We get there and they charge us.We only had 5 people.KOA is all money
May 14, 2015
Everyone was friendly and the facilities were very clean. My family and I had a wonderful time.
May 12, 2015
I enjoyed my self but taking a tractor and a drag thu the campground and stiring up the dust on everyone was uncalled for. I call the office and complained and they did stop. to save my life I don't know what they were thinking.
May 12, 2015
Very un level sites, to much dirt. Sites need to be upgraded with gravel especially for the price that is charged.
May 11, 2015
Don't ask about your charges, someone will come over the counter on that question!!!
May 11, 2015
Had a very nice weekend with the grandkids
May 11, 2015
This campground was very expensive. The campsites were to close. We were right on top of each other.
May 11, 2015
It has been two years since I stayed at this KOA and I was unhappy at the condition of the campground area. It hadn't rain for several days and the rock area around the camp became very dusty due to an employee was dragging a blade around the area causing large amount of dust to blow everywhere and you couldn't set outside for long. Also the area of rock cliff has grown up in weeds, tv boxes cover
May 11, 2015
Amazing. The staff was so friendly and helpful! Bathrooms were nice. It was a wonderful time. We will be back!
May 11, 2015
The bathrooms were always dirty and out of toilet paper and paper towels.
May 10, 2015
Expensive for what is there. But very pretty
May 09, 2015
Our camp site was very small & cramped compared to the others our neighbors cite was set up so his door face our door
May 08, 2015
Clean and quiet. Staff was courteous. Wi-fi was terrible. Prices for Derby week were outrageous.
May 08, 2015
Very accommodating It was Derby week-end and very full, but still relatively quite. I thought the cost per night was a little high, but understood the reason...
May 08, 2015
Very nice campground. Very friendly and helpful staff.
May 07, 2015
My reservations were made in January and I asked for 2 site with full hook up. When we got to our site no sewer. Spoke to the manager who seemed to care less. After visiting with other campers we found that 4 other sites reserved full hook up and also did not get them. It seems to me that this KOA reserved whatever was available to get the Derby crowd in and once we were there we were stuck.
May 07, 2015
We had originally gone to the Louisville Metro KOA by mistake, and upon arriving at the South, we were delighted that the atmosphere was much more natural and calming
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15
  16. 16
  17. 17

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.