Louisville South KOA

2433 Highway 44 East

Shepherdsville, KY 40165

Reserve: 800-562-1880

Info: 502-543-2041

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 04, 2015
Stayed one night on our trip across country. We had a very lovely spot near bathrooms but also shaded and with a view of the trees. Enjoyed and would stay again. Highly recommend.
Jul 04, 2015
People in office were very nice but the roads in the park were not nice at all and the grass was very long the first two days and the pool was not working.
Jul 04, 2015
They did not tell us till we got there that there pool was closed even though it had been closed when we booked our site,there hot tub was green and gross. They charged more than what I was told but the Manger did make good on it after I complained. Also they park another rv so close to us we could bearly get out our door, sit at the table or have a fire. IT WAS HORRIBLE. I have camped all my life
Jul 03, 2015
we only stayed 1 night but it was very pleasant.
Jul 03, 2015
The staff was wonderful and very helpful. The camping spots were in good shape. However, we were disappointed in that the facilities were run down. There were broken windows that had been taped up and the laundry room needed updated badly, although the washers and dryers looked fairly new. The hot tub was disgusting. Tiles had fallen off and there were dead bugs in it.
Jul 02, 2015
Didn't know the pool was closed the hot tub appeared greenish sites were pretty close together will say bathrooms very clean park itself clean
Jul 02, 2015
Short but very pleased with the campground.
Jul 01, 2015
We only spent a single night this time but we were just as impressed as we were the last time we stayed. Clean, well managed with happy employees. Can't ask for more than that.
Jul 01, 2015
Jun 30, 2015
Grass was uncut, garden areas were overgrown and litter was plentiful. Pool was closed. Promised site was not given. Staff ran activities late or not at all.
Jun 30, 2015
Nice campground with clean bathrooms/showers. They are continuing to make nice improvements to the facilities and upgrading the pool.
Jun 30, 2015
spaces too small
Jun 30, 2015
Not up to koa standards. Parked in mud a river runs through our spot wi very poor if at all.
Jun 30, 2015
We requested to have a cabin close to my families camper. They told me when I put the reservation in that they would make a note. We were on opposite sides of the campground. There were 3 empty spots right in front of our cabin for our entire stay. The staff did not seem very helpful or concerned about our situation.
Jun 30, 2015
We should have been told when we were booking a reservation that the pool was broken. Instead when we arrived the next day in 97 heat there was a sign on the door - no cool swim after a long day driving. I shouldn't have to ask a HOLIDAY listing if everything is working, but rather they should have been honest and upfront about no pool. Won't be coming back there because of that.
Jun 30, 2015
Great location! It were right in between Louisville and Lincoln's Birthplace monument. Bathrooms were clean and the campground it self was kept neatly. We were only there one night and didn't spend much time but it is a place our family would return.
Jun 30, 2015
Behond the pool being shut down, we were not told of this at the time we made the resevation, which was only two days prior to us arriving. We did get 10% off our bill because of the pool. The restrooms were not clean and the hottub was dirty. Also the hottub temp. was so hot it made it really hard to be in it. 115* is to hot in the summer time. Also the area around the hottub was dirty.No interne
Jun 29, 2015
This was our second time at this KOA. As we did before, we enjoyed our stay. The staff is very friendly. The pool is being redone, so the kids were bummed, but there were plenty of other things to do.
Jun 29, 2015
The place is very clean. Staff was very friendly. We had no problems with this place! It is a bit pricey though. We were there in June of 2015 and the pool was closed. They were having work done on it. To me closing the pool in the middle of the busiest season was very wrong. The pool will be closed until the end of July, 2015. Not right!
Jun 29, 2015
Great Place!
Jun 29, 2015
They were most accommodating and told us everything up front about the camp grounds thanks for a good week!
Jun 29, 2015
The internet was a problem. We have jobs and needed to be able to connect and could not for the three days we were there. Although the staff was very nice, the campground needs gravel in the sites as it was very muddy. It was the end of June and the pool was not open.
Jun 27, 2015
Need more gravel in the spaces. The wifi is terrible. The campgrounds need to be aware how dependent we are on good wifi to stay in touch.
Jun 27, 2015
Small sites, all crowded together. RV pad not level. Website misleading -- We booked early June, 2015;stayed 6/25-6/27 but advertised pool had been closed "indefinitely" since Memorial Day. Staff friendly but rarely seen; regular maintenance lacking. Located directly under flight path of Louisville airport.
Jun 27, 2015
Staff was courteous however this is where the pros end. Worst, worn down KOA we have visited. If this is a corporate facility, someone needs to knock some heads back in Montana. Building is literally falling apart, rail ties on sites rotted, grass not cut, generally appearance is no maintenance being performed. I would not consider this a KOA Holiday CG. Not worth the cost at all.
Jun 27, 2015
Nice and friendly
Jun 25, 2015
A bit pricey but a very nice park like setting with trails and a fishing pond.
Jun 25, 2015
Your average KOA really. A place to park for the night. Lots of traffic to wade through south of Louisville.
Jun 24, 2015
Nice large sites with lots of shade trees. Pet friendly with good spaces for walking dogs. We only overnighted so didn't use many of the amenities like mini-golf.
Jun 23, 2015
Love the Koa campgrounds, the only complaint would be the new fire pits on the patio sites, to properly park on those sites and have sewage hookups and to be able to step from your rig onto the patio you almost step onto the fire pit. You can't use your canopy and have a fire it overhangs the fire pit.
Jun 23, 2015
Campsites are so close together, there is hardly any yard area per campsite.
Jun 23, 2015
Was very disappointed, after we arrived, that the pool was closed. Should have contacted us, or gave a discount. In my opinion.
Jun 23, 2015
Park states it has a fishing pond and pool along with other amenities. Fishing pond is over grown and filled weeds and moss. Pool was closed and we were not informed until we arrived. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Mini golf is in need of repair. Trails could use some trimming. Overall park was clean and camping spots were nice.
Jun 23, 2015
We enjoyed staying at Koa campground just had trouble with Rv. Wished the pool was opened. Loved the little dog park it was nice to take dog there. The staff was very friendly. We enjoyed our stay thanks
Jun 23, 2015
No pool, we were not told until we arrived & we registered a week ago. KOA gave us a 10% discount but that did not help the dissatisfaction of the pool,bathrooms not cleaned all weekend (poop on toilet seat, mud, hair on floor and smelled nasty), KK#4 leaky roof,cabins need maintenance and repair, when I asked for help I was told not my job and I am off at 9pm & it will have to wait till tomorrow
Jun 23, 2015
s
Jun 23, 2015
It was fine, the staff are very friendly.
Jun 23, 2015
Sorry to see the pool was down. My wife was upset with creepy crawlies in ladys shower room.
Jun 22, 2015
What a great time we all had at "Water Wars" this past weekend! Everyone came away soaked and laughing. Between the activities that were planned, water wars, and the playground, the grandkids were kept busy from sun up to sun down. Our work schedules only allow us to go camping once a month so we truly look forward to seeing our camping family at the Louisville South KOA!
Jun 22, 2015
Super programs for the kids. They hada blast. Very friendly and helpful staff. We had heavy rains overnight. Lots of mud puddles that could be filled with gravel to improve the ccampsites.
Jun 22, 2015
I could not have asked for a better camping experience than this one, except that I was never informed, either way, whether or not a cabin had become available for me after the time limit on my tent stay expired.You have my phone # and email address. Other than that, Thank you
Jun 22, 2015
We have been going there now for 3 years, our last 2 times have not been very good.. Last year Halloween was awful.. and this past weekend the pool was closed.. Prices are higher every time and the activities and less.. our kids have been disappointed the last two trips..
Jun 21, 2015
Good location, easy access for big rig, 50A. Tengo sux as always. Staff great.
Jun 21, 2015
Jun 21, 2015
Over priced for the condition of the campsite. Stayed at another KOA in Ky the same weekend for less money.
Jun 21, 2015
pool closed but not told until we arrived, very poor internet,
Jun 21, 2015
Very pleasant and professional staff, great service. Only stayed one night (in the rain) but we're sure we would have enjoyed a long stay.
Jun 21, 2015
The camp sites were muddy and so was the roadway in the camp. I was told that the tractor used to move gravel was broken. Grading and gravel should be done in the off season. The sites are very close and the showers are not well located for a campground of that size. I will not be staying at the KOA site again. A poor example for the KOA.
Jun 20, 2015
The staff was very helpful. Nice grounds with lots for the kids to do. Clean.
Jun 18, 2015
Cabin really nice and clean so was site, staff very friendy, had trouble getting to fill mens toilet paper and water did not work at our site. Little one had fun at park loved the jumpy thing.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.