Louisville South KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-1880

Info: 502-543-2041

Email

2433 Highway 44 East

Shepherdsville, KY 40165

Get Directions

Camper Rating 3.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 02, 2015
The location of the campground was really convenient for what activities we had planned for the weekend. Customer Service was awesome and real helpful. The only down fall was that they had to close the pool over the weekend for repairs and our kids were looking forward to swimming over the weekend.
Jun 02, 2015
This was not a good place to stop. The pool wasn't open. The hot tub wasn't available. The jump pillow was deflated. The mini golf wasn't available either. These were some of the main reasons that we stopped at a KOA. We were traveling with our 11 year old daughter. She was very disappointed. If I had seen the review before we booked the reservations we would have kept going. Will not return.
Jun 01, 2015
Our site was muddy need to buy a little gravel!!
May 31, 2015
We were disappointed in our stay this time because the pool wasn't open. Had a pump we were told that had been down for 2 weeks. We had brought our grandson down to swim and play on play ground.
May 31, 2015
We were not informed until we got there that the pool was not open & has green water. We were not told of the new $10 charge they placed on our bill for reserving our site to be near another family, which we've always done before & were not charged. We had to go to public pool & spend even more $ just to be able to swim over the hot weekend. This was the worst experience we have had there!
May 29, 2015
Pool was not working and I believe it was not working for a very long time but since it was a holiday weekend they did not tell anyone. Also the wifi was sketchy, worked sometimes and not other times. It is adjacent to houses therefore does not feel like camping.
May 29, 2015
Staff was friendly & helpful. However the campground was in need of some attention. Site were too tight: difficult to level: poorly drained: with little gravel & practically no grass. Overpriced with undiscounted rates near $60.
May 29, 2015
We were very disappointed in this KOA this year. The pool was broken, jumping pillow broken, tractor broken and no discounts! We had 9 kids who were extremely upset and bored without these amenities that we were expecting!
May 29, 2015
Need to change their directory listing - the tour is what attracted us but they no longer do it. Staff was nice, helpful, site small but clean, did not see anything to warrant fee ($10 more than 2 other KOAs visited this trip).
May 28, 2015
My family and I patronage the KOA frequently with our friends. This was the first holiday weekend of the year and unfortunately the pool was out of service. Twice when I went into the bathroom; there was no toilet paper. My husband also said the men's restroom ran out of toilet paper as well. Additionally; we were unable to use the wifi. I am assuming there was too many individuals to accomodat
May 28, 2015
We have camped here for several years and the last two years the campground has slowly worsened. The pool was not open on Memorial Day, the jump pill went flat, the fishing pond was half drained, and the front desk staff was robotic. This place once was and still could be a jewel rather than average. We may camp there again only because of location there is no other special reason anymore.
May 28, 2015
Enjoyable and friendly staff to help.
May 28, 2015
I usually dont complain but Koa is one of the more expensive places to camp but it is worth it for the pool. We were told the pool would be open memorial weekend and it wasnt. No apologies were given like it was simply no big deal. People do not watch their children here at all and no one says anything. Children as small as 2 running around unsupervised.
May 28, 2015
It was nice except very muddy in our site. Overall quiet
May 27, 2015
Noisy. Someone bounced a basketball each night from 11 pm til 2 am during the supposedly quiet hours. Very annoying
May 27, 2015
Pool was not working and that's the only reason we book in the first place. someone busted the big bouncey that the kids play on the language of some of the kids was so bad we could not even let ours play on the play ground
May 27, 2015
thanks
May 26, 2015
It was very disappointing in discovering the pool was closed for entire weekend. I felt that customers should have been notified ahead of time and given option to go elsewhere or customers should at the very least been given a discount of some kind. Otherwise I love my KOA weekends and enjoy all that is offered
May 26, 2015
The pool was closed for Memorial Day weekend. Although KOA knew about the pool being closed, they did NOT inform anyone until you showed up to stay.
May 26, 2015
I have always loved staying at this KOA but this stay was very disappointing. The pool looked more like a pond, mini golf is in desperate need for repair, bathrooms stayed in terrible condition and ownership did not accommodate for all the issues
May 26, 2015
As always,the best.
May 26, 2015
Camp sites are nice, and the grounds could be mowed. The pool wasn't open for the opening of summer as it was suppose to be. All in all. It was ok
May 26, 2015
May 26, 2015
Next time the pool is not usable for the weekend you should call or email your guests an let them know! Especially the official start of summer! Also please get your wifi fixed.. And the jumping pillow! Thanks for the free ice cream though.
May 26, 2015
400 characters is not enough to express my disappointment & dissatisfied of my stay!
May 26, 2015
We stayed here Memorial Day wknd. & had 4 sites which included 10 kids who were very disappointed that the pool was "broken". Why in the world would you wait until a couple of days before a huge holiday weekend to make sure the pool was working properly! Then to top that off the jumping pillow deflated & was unusable & the tractor needed to pull the wagon for the hayride broke down! NEVER again!
May 26, 2015
The camping facilities were great, clean and well kept. However, we could not connect to the WiFi using our phones, computers, etc. The modem is tool small for the number of users needing to get access. Recommend installing a commercial size modem to handle the load.
May 26, 2015
Pool was closed the entire holiday weekend, bouncy pillow broke on the 2nd day of our stay, bathroom floors were ALWAYS wet and slippery, light over bathroom entrance went out and was not fixed, ran out of T.P at 10pm Sun. night and was still out at 6am Mon. Site was cramped and fire pit sat atop an uneven, sloped batch of tree roots.
May 26, 2015
Everyone was very helpful and nice, we will definatley stay here again, this was our first outing out with our motor home and it was great!!!!
May 26, 2015
No internet the whole weekend. Also looked like the pool was not open.
May 26, 2015
I called them the week before the stay to see if their pool would be open and they said yes. When I arrived it was closed and the pool was green. Very small sites and dirty. Even though I paid for two nights I left after the first night.
May 26, 2015
The WiFi is rubbish
May 26, 2015
Pool wasn't open and website said it would be and they didn't offer a discount. We had to pay to go to a public pool.
May 26, 2015
New cabin was very nice- the cutest cabin I have ever stayed in, however the campground itself could use alot of help. Ladies at the Front desk extremely rude. The website activities don't exist- ie. "limo golf cart tour"and bicycles dont even exist. Putt putt course is broken down disarray. hayride cancelled- tractor broken, etc. For my full review go to tripadvisor !
May 25, 2015
The camp site was great. However, the bath house was a mess every time I went in there. Toilets stopped up and overflowing. My husband said the same for the men. For seniors who do not participate in most park activities, (mostly for the children)I believe the camp fee is too high.I would recommend this campground for those who have children and those not on fixed income.
May 25, 2015
Great place with nice facilities. Love having the laundry and dog park so convenient. Staff is nice and helpful!
May 25, 2015
Grounds were pretty. sites very small & inadequate when at capacity. no tp in restroom 2 of 3 trips. 1 bathroom is not enough for this many campers. pool not open for mem day weekend. could have stayed somewhere else for half this price.
May 24, 2015
We come every year for the Derby.We always look forward to staying at the KOA. Thanks Terry
May 24, 2015
This is a very nice park. It was clean and the staff were friendly. So many options for the kids. We will be back again and again.
May 23, 2015
our site needed a lot more gravel. we had a lot of rain and the area was pretty messy.
May 23, 2015
Very friendly helpful clean campground great nature trail however pool was supposed to be open and wasn't
May 23, 2015
Needed some maintenance. Site needed mowed and there were leaves remaining from last fall all over. Internet was slow, nearly non-existent. Campground location was good, near food, fuel, and shopping. Based on reviews of the North KOA I recommend this place for staying in Louisville.
May 23, 2015
this is one of the favorite camping sites that we stay at
May 21, 2015
mildly over priced for a very mediocre campground.
May 21, 2015
Bad internet. Weeds at site.
May 20, 2015
Just an over-nighter but campground seemed to be very nice, friendly staff. Second stay.
May 20, 2015
on this trip went through louisville both ways. this KOA was FAR superior to our stay at the KOA louisville north. KOA south has lots of open grass area. spot 316 was a little unusual since our water/electrical were actually a step down on the site next to us.
May 18, 2015
It was fine. Cable and all hook ups were fine. Site was nice. A tree was next to us as well as a picnic table. Staff was friendly.
May 18, 2015
Our site still had leaves from last year laying on the ground. There were ruts in the gravel from rain running across the site. It was dirty and narrow and the landscape timbers have tilted and moved until they are a hazard to step on or over. At any other campground it was a thirty dollar site but at KOA it was fifty. You guys need to do some work to bring site 215 up to par.
May 18, 2015
It was a nice place, very quiet and relaxing. We just didn't like that it said we can check in at 3 and got there at ten after and still had to wait 30 min before we could get into the cabin...but it was a quiet decent place
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals

Camp for $10 on May 14!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps