Lake Tahoe KOA

760 North Highway 50

South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150

Reserve: 800-562-3477

Info: 530-577-3693

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 19, 2013
Very disappointed with our stay here. For the amount of money we payed for the Chateau, the facilities were not kept hospitable. The fridge was not cold upon arrival and took hours to bring to temp which cost us a lot of food, the bbq didn't work, shower was terrible. The staff did the minimum to keep these facilities maintained. Very unsatisfied and will not be suggesting this location to anyone

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry for your troubles. Refrigerator was checked immediately & temp turned down with free ice for interim. BBQ worked fine, it's just finicky. We filled propane tank & helped you light it both days. Chicken was replaced by us for free. Our professional cleaning service has very high standards.
Aug 17, 2013
Enjoyed everything. Employees are friendly, and the facility is quite clean. Thanks for a great stay. One suggestion, spend a couple of bucks and properly hide the cape tv lines.
Aug 16, 2013
We had reservations that were made ahead of time and when we arrived they put us in a site that when we opened our slide it was about 5 feet from the roof of the mens restroom. This should never be set as a site. Everyone was walking through our site to get to the bathroom, soda machine and office. There were many other sites open but they refused to move us or refund the cost for the stay.
Aug 15, 2013
The staff was very pleasent and helpful. I was very surprised by the warm and welcoming attitude by everyone I met.
Aug 14, 2013
This place was wonderful! Clean and quiet. Friendly staff. Close to everything but just far enough away from the crowds. We will definitely be going back.
Aug 14, 2013
It would be an added bonus if full internet service were inclusive.
Aug 13, 2013
We really loved our stay at your campground the people were really friendly and helpful. The only problem we found with our stay was that there was no hot water at the wash station, and a hot tub would have been nice, for the price.
Aug 12, 2013
There was one man with brown hair working in the reservations that was very rude also the prices in the store were out rages! $8 for a package of cheese slices! And we had to pay for wifi and it wouldn't work they said to go in the laundry room to use it. I will never go back there ! The camping spots were not marked out we had cars driving thru spots by us .
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
The campground is nice and well maintained-The staff is all terrific- The only drawback is the road noise from hwy 50
Aug 12, 2013
We got there' after dark and we were registered and ready. The biggest problem I saw was once we were there we were packed in like sardines. We I opened the car door I could touch the next camp's tent and the camp on the other side was the same. In the bathroom stalls I couldn't hardly move and I am not a big person. We left as soon as we were awake the next day.
Aug 12, 2013
Pro-We enjoyed this campground, it's location was nice, the pine trees made you feel like you were in the wilderness despite the loud traffic sounds from route 50. The pool and bathrooms were well kept and clean and being able to have a wood fire in the safe stone fire pits. Tom checked in to see if we needed anything and was very nice and helpful. Con-Lots of extra charges for kids and dogs.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 11, 2013
We love the place and definitely will return. The facility is clean and a great staffs. Our only complaint was the noise on the highway, but beside that a great stay.
Aug 11, 2013
We loved it and can't wait to come back
Aug 10, 2013
having made it clear that i was a single party of 1, i was assigned a tent camping site directly next to a family of 5 instead of one of the 5+ other sites that would've been more private. additionally, it was not made clear that wifi was not free. moreover, this crowded KOA cost me $45 for one night tent camping ($15 more than average) and i was beaten over the head with jesus' love. coffee-$1
Aug 08, 2013
Aug 08, 2013
Had a great relaxing time. The weather was awesome as well as the lake. Had a chance to see a bear though he stayed away from us and our campsite. Staff all very kind and helpful.
Aug 07, 2013
Definitely a wilderness feeling! Helpful staff. Would use this KOA again on another visit.
Aug 07, 2013
We stayed in the Chalet cabin. It was excellent. It was like we never left home. We were able to stay right next to our friends who rented the other cable located right behind each other. We would definately recommened this to our friends or family again.
Aug 07, 2013
It is in a beautiful area and loved that part but you pay way to much for what you get. Bathrooms were dirty, said they were cleaned for 8 to 9 and weren't.
Aug 06, 2013
We absolutely loved it!!
Aug 06, 2013
Our first time at this camp - next to highway 89 makes it very loud. Campsites are close making for very little privacy. We were next to the overflowing trash container, so we had extra noise of banging lids and the smell of garbage. Restrooms with showers were a luxury. The people working at the camp were very pleasant and helpful.
Aug 06, 2013
Staff was great. Site wasn't very nice. I was on site 24 and the camp site with no electric was using my site 24 box. I informed the staff that they were using my electric. the staff told me it was a shared site for electric, even though the site they were in was non electric on there brochure/map. they had all the plugs used up. so I pay for electric while the freebies used my electric.
Aug 06, 2013
Very disapointed with the camp host. I found a lost dog at 10:00PM and knocked on his door to ask for help to locate the owner. He came out the door yelling and screaming at me to go away because it was after hours and his private residence. He kept yelling at me and my 13 year old daughter saying call 911 or animal control cuz it wasnt his problem. What a jerk. He shouldnt be a camp host.
Aug 05, 2013
Pricey for strictly tent camping, but it's generally worth it: great location, friendly staff, and clean bathroom facilities.
Aug 05, 2013
Campground very good. But as usual its 10 ft. from the fwy with traffic noise. Pool was advertised but was barely larger than a bathtub.
Aug 05, 2013
Nice setting in the pine forest for non-hookup sites. Very friendly and helpful staff. Need to post more rules in brochure. Some folks in large site above used the slope into our site for a bathroom overnight. Noticed a couple of sites way too close to pool area and busy path to store and bath house. Non-hookup sites seemed a lot nicer.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
We all have a great time specialty the kids,the big rock was a 10+ kids loved it,
Aug 05, 2013
Lots of traffic noise from the hwy at night but tolerable pool needs to be hotter. loved the site but lots of guests and us needed to relax in hotter pool heat was not consistent and would blow out jets on timer or cycle. beautiful campground and sites awesome
Aug 05, 2013
Our tent site had very little level ground. The only place our tent fit was on a slope. The fire pit was about 2 feet deep and had rocks that forced you to sit 4-5 feet away from the fire. Once lit, it was so low and we were so far away that you could barely feel any heat from the fire. Considering the higher prices of KOA compared to other campgrounds in the area, I expected more
Aug 05, 2013
Great staff. Clean and quiet facility. Loved it all!
Aug 04, 2013
Aug 04, 2013
Aug 04, 2013
So great! Very helpful and accomading especially with a handicap person here. Thanks😃
Aug 04, 2013
The pool was nice and the site was acceptable. However, bathrooms were not clean and the religious brochures everywhere were way too much. I felt like I was at some religious camp. I've never experienced anything like it before at a KOA.
Aug 03, 2013
Enjoyed everything except the poor cell phone reception.
Aug 03, 2013
Great campground! Very nice and helpful staff!!!
Aug 03, 2013
Nice staff but the worst KOA I have ever stayed at. Double the price of a gravel pit tent spot, no grass, double price on a bundle of undried wood, 3 dollars for spotty Internet which is always free at other KOAs and any private campground, motel or hotel. Shame on the people who run this place! Never again!
Aug 02, 2013
This campground does not meet KOA standards as we know them. Much too close to freeway; campsites very difficult to get a small trailer into; roads very narrow and strewn with rocks; was overpriced. We paid for three nights but left after one.
Aug 02, 2013
We are always pleased with our stay at the Tahoe KOA. They have made some great improvements. We have stayed at many KOAs across the US and the staff here is one of the best; pleasant, helpful and efficient. We always recommend this KOA to friends.
Aug 01, 2013
Great staff. Nice campground.
Aug 01, 2013
Absolutely wonderful stay. The people are friendly and the environment stellar. The only concern is the traffic from the highway can be quite loud.
Jul 31, 2013
Very well kept and friendly staff! I'm coming back!
Jul 30, 2013
We are a family of three and this was our first camping trip. We had such a great time at the So Lake Tahoe KOA! The campground was clean, quiet and family friendly. The office had everything you might need if you happened to forget something at home. We purchased wood, used the pool, laundry facility and even their microwave to heat up some chili. :) Beautiful, convenient & friendly!
Jul 29, 2013
Very nice campground in the trees - except for the lodge and chalet area. We did not feel like we were camping as our outside area was paved with little tree coverage and right next to a house. And the fire put was very small. The lodge itself was very comfortable for family of 6. The tent and rv sites looked nice. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Jul 29, 2013
Very efficient and friendly staff.
Jul 29, 2013
We were assigned #13, which is the dump site for garbage throughout the park with caution tape running between the trees. No cable, and so slanted the fridge would not work. Hwy 50 right behind the site and truck brakes could be heard constantly. The neighboring camper decided the garbage dump was a good place to let their dogs relieve themselves. Over the top Christian campground.
Jul 29, 2013
This is a nice KOA but we feel totally overpriced so wouldn't stay again. For the price at least the internet should have been included. The one free hour we got was useless because it doesn't have enough bandwidth to connect to anything. If you don't mind the price then it is a nice park, very nice people and it looks like the pool was well used. We enjoyed our spot above the creek.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.