Lake Tahoe KOA

Open April 1 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-3477

Info: 530-577-3693

Email

760 North Highway 50

US Highway 50 @ Upper Truckee Road

South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 966 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Aug 23, 2016
One thing people should know before going to this KOA is that the camp sites are very small. So if you think you might prefer one of their larger sites, I suggest you do so. The staff here were incredibly helpful and went out of their way to help us out of a jam. Their thoughtfulness and consideration really amazed us.
Aug 23, 2016
With so many other things to do in the tahoe area the campground was sparse. The staff was great and very nice. Showers were a life saver.
Aug 22, 2016
NICE AREA AND STAFF PEOPLE. VERY GOOD SERVICE. HOWEVER, BEES BOTHERED US TOO MUCH.
Aug 21, 2016
Great place to stay. Night time Highway noise minor annoyance. Camp ground fills up on weekends
Aug 20, 2016
Lots of bees..lots
Aug 19, 2016
Staff was pleasant, pool was clean (but small) and perfect for my young kids. The campground is right on the highway and there was a lot of traffic noise, which is its biggest detractor.
Aug 18, 2016
This was our 2nd time to camp here. Love that the pool is actually heated & that this is a "dark skies" camp. Very peaceful!
Aug 15, 2016
Way to many bees and the staff didn't seem to care when I tried to explain the situation to them. Could not eat a single meal without having to sit in the smoke from a fire
Aug 10, 2016
While the bathrooms were clean and the pool quite inviting the actual tent site was small, rocky, and within feet of the neighboring campsite which did not make for a comfortable stay.
Aug 08, 2016
We enjoyed our stay, however there was a very loud group near our campsite that made the experience less than ideal.
Aug 08, 2016
I wasn't at the campground much but when I was it was very peaceful and pretty. :)
Aug 04, 2016
Very friendly clean place you can have your dogs
Aug 03, 2016
Twice I went to the bathroom and there was NO TP. One of the three bathroom stalls didn't lock. The sites are crammed in like sardines! There was also a bear in camp one night, possibly due to the OVERFLOWING dumpsters?! And we had frat boy neighbors who partied until 2am (not KOA's fault).
Aug 02, 2016
This Lake Tahoe KOA seemed to greatly favor those who stayed in a trailer of some sort over tent campers. Trash in the tent area overflowed, and therefore attracted bears. The bathroom in the tent area was a bit rundown and in need of repair compared to the larger/newer facility in the trailer area of the campground.
Aug 02, 2016
I didn't like my stay at this koa site. You guys said there's fishing. And there's not. No security. Didn't let us no that there was bears the night before so we can be aware of this. I asked and you guys said that no. The two nights that we stayed we had bears. Scary when you have children.it would be nice if you have some security. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone.
Aug 02, 2016
Clean bathrooms/showers. Friendly workers. Clean place except for a lot of wasps. other than that great experience.
Jul 31, 2016
The campground was beautiful and the service was great. Loved having easy access to showers and restrooms. The only issue was the bears that came into the campground in our last night. We were in a tent and when attempts to scare them off failed by other campers, we decided to leave early.
Jul 29, 2016
great clean place to stay
Jul 26, 2016
It was good just ran into some trouble with one of the koa members older man working at the store wasn't very nice. He was such a two face. But George in the other hand was very polite and sweet always checking up on everyone.
Jul 26, 2016
Jul 26, 2016
Horrible will not go back. Neither will any of my family.
Jul 26, 2016
Great location and everyone was very friendly. I will definitely camp here again.
Jul 25, 2016
Had a great time. Nice place and nice folks!!!
Jul 25, 2016
For as busy as this campground was the restrooms and showers were always clean and neat. we were very pleased with the location-our site was by the creek-and the staff very helpful and pleasant. thank you for a great weekend.
Jul 25, 2016
Great time!
Jul 21, 2016
Good campsite close to Lake Tahoe but far enough away to leave the hubbub behind. Nice, responsive management. The campsites are literally right on top of each other though, so be prepared to get to know your neighbors.
Jul 19, 2016
This KOA is conveniently located in South Lake Tahoe, making it easy to access all of the wonderful activities that the area has to offer. Our site was very shady. Restrooms and showers were kept very clean. Staff members were friendly and willing to offer tips and recommendations to make our trip memorable.
Jul 19, 2016
Staff was helpful and informative
Jul 16, 2016
very unsatisfied with satay all the way around. the owners dont care about there campers and pushed out the door many times. my wife and I was there on our honeymoon and she made my wife cry.m we avioded the store and owners for rest of five day stay. we wasted alot of money and will never be back again. or our family and friends. they are all disgusted with our stay as well.no more money to them.
Jul 16, 2016
We had a wonderful time, great fire pit, maybe next time well pick camp site p44 across the way more level spot.
Jul 15, 2016
They were very friendly and accommodating. I appreciated all of the inspirational Christian messages. We loved the campground and were so surprised to be able to get a spot on such short notice. The only drawback was the price as it was much pricier than other KOA's we have stayed at. We plan to visit Lake Tahoe next year again, but cannot afford it so we are looking into alternatives.
Jul 13, 2016
Service was good but the camp sites we're too close together. No privacy.
Jul 12, 2016
I had a large group, the KOA staff accommodated us to their best ability. We used the large group area allowing for plenty of room for our 5 tents, 2 tent trailers and 7 vehicles. The kids had fun at the park and meeting new people. The staff were really friendly and informative. They gave us locations of great beaches, hikes, and other attractions. The pool is small but very warm! Good location.
Jul 12, 2016
I feel we were over charge for our campsite, it was the size of a parking spot and I was charged $186 for two nights.
Jul 11, 2016
Staff were friendly and accommodating. Quiet and clean. The only thing I didn't like was our group site was literally right next to hwy 50, we ere only separated by a hill and some trees. They did inform us of this when booking and we accepted but the reality of the semi trucks rolling down the hwy in the middle of the night was very loud and scary. Kids loved the small river & clean showers.
Jul 11, 2016
Jul 10, 2016
The camp staff was sweet and helpful. Much appreciated.
Jul 10, 2016
Jul 08, 2016
Jul 08, 2016
My kids loved that we were next to the playground and it as clean and everyone was friendly.
Jul 06, 2016
Had an outstanding stay as usual. The campground was very full as one would expect for 4th of July weekend and the staff still did their best to complete any request we had. Special shout out to Gaylord for stopping by and helping us out this weekend. What a great staff!
Jul 01, 2016
Extremely clean property and friendly, helpful staff. Expensive, compared to other KOAs. Tent sites on road a bit noisy, but stream is calming. Convenient location: walk, drive to lakes, river, hiking, fishing (15 mins drive to Carson river, 5 mins to Saw Mill Pond for 14 yrs, under). Great burgers in town, bait and supplies at gas stations, KOA store well-stocked with food, gifts, supplies.
Jun 29, 2016
Friendly staff and a great location. I tent camped and had a stream behind my site that lulled me to sleep. My only gripe is that the "upgraded" WiFi did not work.
Jun 29, 2016
We booked last minute and really loved the KOA campsite in South Lake Tahoe. I will definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends. I was really impressed with how clean the bathroom facilities were! My only complaint is that we arrived late and there was another group in our campsite location. We ended up just moving to their location which was not as good but was not a huge problem.
Jun 28, 2016
The staff are very very friendly and made you feel at home!
Jun 25, 2016
Excellent
Jun 20, 2016
Loved the barbecue on sat! Needed more brats but that's ok!! Only complaint was the fact that our site was on top of the biggest ant hill. there was no escape from them kinda made things not so easy to do while we were combatting hordes of ants... However the bathrooms were clean and we really enjoyed our stay.
Jun 20, 2016
Jun 20, 2016
Staff was extremely friendly and helpful.
Jun 14, 2016
Very clean and well maintained camp. .
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals