Lake Tahoe KOA

Open April 1 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-3477

Info: 530-577-3693


760 North Highway 50

South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 748 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Sep 23, 2015
Disappointed that large tent group moved into site next to our tent late at night (up to 2:00 a.m.) when there were at least 8 open sites in the area but not side by side. So unpleasant that we moved out of the site to a different campground after the first night even though we had paid for 2 nights.
Sep 21, 2015
We're glad we were there for card member appreciation weekend & got Saturday free, since we were not able to stay at the campground that night. There are no bear boxes there, and the bear came into our campsite and was not intimidated at all when we made lots of noise, banged pots, whistled,& honked the car horn. Campground did not offer to give us any sort of refund.
Sep 18, 2015
Arrived after dark by bicycle; campground very helpful in getting set up and getting food
Sep 09, 2015
Sep 09, 2015
I've stayed at a few KOA's and this KOA is hands down the cleanest,most well organized campground I've ever stayed. The folks that run it are super nice and helpful.I would recommend it to anybody to stay here!Great place,we'll be back!


Okay, seriously, THANK YOU! We really do try hard to make it great for everyone. And by the way ... we love you too!
Sep 08, 2015
great staff! poor washing facilities.
Aug 29, 2015
Everyone was nice and helpful and they had nice Clean Restrooms and showers and the pool was very nice...
Aug 27, 2015
We loved our stayed. Hosts are the best they make you feel really comfortable really nice people!!!!!!!!!


Awww, shucks... thanks a bunch, we really love having nice folks like you stay with us! :)
Aug 24, 2015
The staff was very welcoming helpful and the sites themselves were clean nice and confortable
Aug 23, 2015
Close to the lake,had clean showers and restrooms. Love the fortune cookies with bible verses in it. Wasn't fond of the hwy 50 traffic noise and the fine dust at the campsite, but would stay here again.
Aug 20, 2015
Coke machines don't function properly. I had to check in late and later I discovered that I was charged more than the posted rate. WAY OVERPRICED.


We have plenty of sodas in our well stocked store, we would have happily helped you inside. Our rates are posted; they can be confusing because different sites are different prices. We wish stuff didn't cost so much too!
Aug 18, 2015
The location was fabulous. The campsite was on a slope, our pitch was very near the mainroad so noisy at night, it was basically a dustbowl, and the wifi was dreadful. But the showers and bathrooms were clean and good and the bbq on Saturday night was great.
Aug 18, 2015
Pretty good place, highly recommended for tent camp 👍👍
Aug 17, 2015
It was VERY quite and clean. Good price. We'll be staying here again for sure.
Aug 17, 2015
Family friendly. Staff was kind and helpful. Easy to find KOA
Aug 17, 2015
Aug 16, 2015
It would be great to have food storage boxes nearby every tent site.
Aug 15, 2015
Very clean, nice showers & facilities. However the campsites were extremely small & difficult to get into. My site was supposed to fit 12 people. I barely got 2 - 4 man tents, 4 people & 2 vehicles into the site, with 4 -wheel drive trucks to back in & out of the site. To close to neighbors for any privacy at all.
Aug 15, 2015
Very clean, hot showers and quiet. The tent camping area is dusty, besides that, nice place
Aug 14, 2015
Aug 12, 2015
I pass some wonderful time with my family I will be back soon
Aug 11, 2015
Aug 11, 2015
Thank you for the great service. Tom is a really nice guy. We came all the way from Germany and we are glad to have spent our vaccation at your campground.
Aug 10, 2015
Aug 10, 2015
You all were so kind!
Aug 10, 2015
Very loud due to hwy right next to camp ground. The pool is heavily chlorinated making it unpleasant to swim. This is the first KOA we have stayed in where we are charged for wifi. The sites are small and packed in tight together. The male staff we interacted with were friendly, heard several complaints about rude female staff. Bathrooms were clean and had hot water.


Sorry you had an unpleasant experience. We do our best to make everyone's stay great.
Aug 09, 2015
This was my first stay at a KOA campground and was disappointed with the set up of the grounds. All the campsites were crammed together so that your tent(s) are feet away from your neighbors tent and campfire. The campgrounds are located between 2 major roads that you can hear all night. The staff was not overly friendly. However the prices at their store are reasonable and the showers are great!


Glad you liked our showers and store! It's difficult to make everyone happy during July and August when so many people are out on vacation. Try camping off season, it's totally great!
Aug 08, 2015
We received a warm welcome upon arrival. Our campsite was wonderful. Clean bathroom & nice hot showers. Loved that there was a small store & pool.Only drawback was that we could hear the trucks on nearby highway. Otherwise, this campground & staff exceeded my expectations.Would stay again.


Thanks so much for your kind comments! When we get lots of snow, the creek noise covers the highway noise. Pray for rain!
Aug 05, 2015
Excellent responsive staff! Beautiful campsite!


Thank you very much! Happy Kamping!
Aug 04, 2015
super friendly staff from the start. next time we will request a campsite not so close to the shower and restroom as it there was a lot of foot traffic. great fire pit! super fantastic location to all the great sites in Lake Tahoe. we will stay here again!
Aug 04, 2015
campsites were not level, too small, we stayed by one that said 'beside creek' more like beside bolders to the creek


True, we have cozy campsites near Echo Creek. Due to the California Drought, sometimes we call it "Essence of Creek." Pray for rain!
Aug 02, 2015
Only compliant was the Wifi never worked
Jul 31, 2015
People now a days don't know what real camping is and complain about facilities. Go camp in the woods where u have to dig a hole and go to the bathroom. This place was great! Bathrooms, showers, power, wifi, friendly staff. Will stay again!


Thanks, you are too kind... we appreciate your appreciation!
Jul 28, 2015
Very warm welcome on arrival, close to South Lake Tahoe. Sites very close together
Jul 27, 2015
Campsites are extremely small
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
Nice clean property. The showers were unpredictable, while you are showering it will change from normal temperature to scalding hot th freezing cold than back to normal temp within minutes. Lake Tahoe souvenir shirts are reasonably priced!


Thanks for your nice comment. Usually our customers say our showers are great, but on very busy weekends showers can be overburdened.
Jul 26, 2015
Awesome staff. Very friendly and helpful. The Camp sites are a little too close.
Jul 26, 2015
The people that work here are incredibly nice and very helpful. The store has everything you could possibly need. The location is second to none. The only thing that kept this from being a 10 and 5 stars was the weak WiFi. Believe me I know I'm nitpicking, but hey I paid If you are like me, a dad with limited camping experience and limited time, this place is a BLESSING!


Thanks! We are a bit 'nitpicky' ourselves and really try hard to make our camper's experience the best it can be. Wish everyone could see the work that goes into installing Wifi in a forest; it's pretty in-tent-s!
Jul 20, 2015
We love koa lake tahoe! Its always so clean, especially the bathrooms! The kids always have a fun time!
Jul 20, 2015
Nice KOA and good people there.
Jul 20, 2015
Workers of KOA Kampground South Lake Tahoe were rude and very demanding. While my wife was in the women's restroom breast pumping, worker with the injured arm propped open the restroom door and demanded that it stayed open. Complete invasion of privacy and that is not ok considering a restroom is supposed to be a place of complete privacy. Camp grounds are too close together.


Restroom cleaning hours are posted on the door of each restroom, and we try to stay to these times for the convenience of all our campers.
Jul 15, 2015
nice place, clean & friendly, but too expensive
Jul 14, 2015
During our stay at KOA, we stayed for three nights. The first night was a Saturday night and the campground was completely full. By the last night we were the only tent left in the campground. We had a huge ant problem. Three different types of ants, and the biggest one was a monster size. These ants would attack our dog, and we ended up getting a campsite closer to the lake because of this.


Unfortunately, ants are unavoidable outdoors. Western Exterminator routinely visits our park to keep them away as much as possible, and the guys keep a bag of Spetracide Ant Shield Insect Killer granules on the golf cart for campers who report a problem. We love dogs, hope yours is okay!
Jul 13, 2015
Hosts were great and most helpful. Hesitation on recommending campsite would be how cramped and packed-in all the sites are. Fortunately we were switched to a site that was great but I think it was the best at the location.
Jul 09, 2015
Jul 06, 2015
Friendly staff and clean bathroom !
Jul 03, 2015
too close to the Hwy 50, very noisy. camp sites are very small and close to each other for the price u pay. and very dusty, but pool is nice, not big enough.
Jul 01, 2015
Le prix cher pour un emplacement tente.
Jun 30, 2015
Very nice stay and very clean bathrooms. Hot showers were great. Only negative is that it gets quite dusty.

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.

Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals