Lake Tahoe KOA

760 North Highway 50

South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150

Reserve: 800-562-3477

Info: 530-577-3693

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2

Tent Reviews

Jul 17, 2014
Jul 03, 2014
tent spots way too close together. The guy next to us dogs could come over and beg for for food even while on a short leash
Jul 01, 2014
This KOA had helpful, friendly staff. It's the cleanest campground we've stayed at. When my teenage children comment on the cleanliness, that is a BIG compliment!
Jul 01, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Great grounds to really feel away from all the busy sites. Hot showers, clean bathrooms and helpful staff.
Jun 30, 2014
Perfect? Ok for big diesel pushers with concrete pavement expectations, not really. A great camping experience? As expected, absolutely! 1st time we stayed was RV this time tent by the creek. We will stay again, and again, and again.
Jun 26, 2014
Staff is extremely pleasant and helpful.
Jun 24, 2014
The campground is gorgeous and easy to reach. But what made the stay awesome was the incredible people. Everyone was helpful and friendly. Thank you. Well done!
Jun 23, 2014
Staff was very helpful!
Jun 19, 2014
Jun 09, 2014
We thought the campsites were too close together. But, other than that, we really enjoyed our stay. The staff were exceptionally wonderful!!!
Jun 09, 2014
Everything was clean and well-run. It didn't have all the amenities of other KOA's, but we were there for the hiking and wilderness and didn't need any of that (now that I have teenagers). We were in a tent and it was very quiet, even though there were other campers around us. Beautiful grounds. We will definitely return!
May 27, 2014
I enjoy my stay at KOA! The restrooms and showers were extremely clean compared to other campsites that I've been. The only downside was that it was really cold at night. I would definitely plan another trip back to this campsite.
May 27, 2014
Our stay was amazing! We had a tent and stayed in the best spot in the campground. We were right next to the river that passes by. It was beautiful. Lake Tahoe was just a couple miles down the street. And emerald bay is close by too! Beautiful bay. Everyone at KOA was extremely nice and friendly! Very easy to talk to everyone! Definitely going to go back! And also going to stay at more KOA Kamps!
May 27, 2014
We had a great time at KOA Lake Tahoe
May 19, 2014
This KOA was a little further from the main town than we expected. The hosts were great and allowed us to book a night by night basis as it was unexpectedly snowing and we were in a little camper and not really equipped for very chilly nights. But this was also in the off season. The laundry was quite pricey, a lot more than other koas we have been to. Bathrooms were kept clean and tidy.
Apr 25, 2014
Staff was very help full and friendly. The camp site was clean.
Sep 24, 2013
Great site, great host.
Sep 09, 2013
Washrooms clean, friendly staff, nice location in the trees.
Sep 03, 2013
Sites too close together and bathroom/ showers very small. We did enjoy the area where campers could do dishes and the staff was very friendly and helpful.
Aug 29, 2013
Amazing stay. Facilities best ever seen for a campground. Personnel, the friendliest you could find. Everything easy to locate. Our info was waiting for us when we arrived. VERY HELPFUL.
Aug 26, 2013
very convenient and my kids loved the heated pool
Aug 25, 2013
Friendly staff. Rustic environment in the mountains. Facilities were clean. Good location too, not too far away from South Lake, but not too close either.
Aug 25, 2013
Aug 20, 2013
coming from Reno, late in night had a little bit of problem to find the camp. It would be nice to have marked distances on your map how to find it (in the KOA yearly book) even if I reserved the two nights sopt for months in advance, I got probably the worst tenting spot in the kamp. I am not sure I will visit you gys again, sorry.
Aug 19, 2013
The Lake Tahoe KOA staff were extremely welcoming and friendly. The pool/store area were clean & organized. Everything on the site was well signed and easy to follow. The only concerned I saw was the bathrooms located by P-51 were not as clean as I would have liked. There were dirty footprints on the last shower stall for two days. Everything else was great at this KOA. Thank you.
Aug 19, 2013
Very Friendly staff. Clean and pool was warm! A little close to hwy 50 for us due to traffic noise, but conveniently located to beaches and town. Park was nice for our son and campsite was very nice.
Aug 15, 2013
The staff was very pleasent and helpful. I was very surprised by the warm and welcoming attitude by everyone I met.
Aug 13, 2013
We really loved our stay at your campground the people were really friendly and helpful. The only problem we found with our stay was that there was no hot water at the wash station, and a hot tub would have been nice, for the price.
Aug 12, 2013
We got there' after dark and we were registered and ready. The biggest problem I saw was once we were there we were packed in like sardines. We I opened the car door I could touch the next camp's tent and the camp on the other side was the same. In the bathroom stalls I couldn't hardly move and I am not a big person. We left as soon as we were awake the next day.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 11, 2013
We love the place and definitely will return. The facility is clean and a great staffs. Our only complaint was the noise on the highway, but beside that a great stay.
Aug 10, 2013
having made it clear that i was a single party of 1, i was assigned a tent camping site directly next to a family of 5 instead of one of the 5+ other sites that would've been more private. additionally, it was not made clear that wifi was not free. moreover, this crowded KOA cost me $45 for one night tent camping ($15 more than average) and i was beaten over the head with jesus' love. coffee-$1
Aug 07, 2013
Definitely a wilderness feeling! Helpful staff. Would use this KOA again on another visit.
Aug 05, 2013
Pricey for strictly tent camping, but it's generally worth it: great location, friendly staff, and clean bathroom facilities.
Aug 05, 2013
Nice setting in the pine forest for non-hookup sites. Very friendly and helpful staff. Need to post more rules in brochure. Some folks in large site above used the slope into our site for a bathroom overnight. Noticed a couple of sites way too close to pool area and busy path to store and bath house. Non-hookup sites seemed a lot nicer.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
We all have a great time specialty the kids,the big rock was a 10+ kids loved it,
Aug 05, 2013
Our tent site had very little level ground. The only place our tent fit was on a slope. The fire pit was about 2 feet deep and had rocks that forced you to sit 4-5 feet away from the fire. Once lit, it was so low and we were so far away that you could barely feel any heat from the fire. Considering the higher prices of KOA compared to other campgrounds in the area, I expected more
Aug 05, 2013
Great staff. Clean and quiet facility. Loved it all!
Aug 03, 2013
Nice staff but the worst KOA I have ever stayed at. Double the price of a gravel pit tent spot, no grass, double price on a bundle of undried wood, 3 dollars for spotty Internet which is always free at other KOAs and any private campground, motel or hotel. Shame on the people who run this place! Never again!
Jul 30, 2013
We are a family of three and this was our first camping trip. We had such a great time at the So Lake Tahoe KOA! The campground was clean, quiet and family friendly. The office had everything you might need if you happened to forget something at home. We purchased wood, used the pool, laundry facility and even their microwave to heat up some chili. :) Beautiful, convenient & friendly!
Jul 29, 2013
the staffs helpful from the front desk and the staffs on the field. the campsite close to each other ( not so much privacy ). bathroom clean. overall, love the place
Jul 27, 2013
The campground was extremely beautiful, but if I want someone's religion shoved down my throat in a public place, I'll go to church. Awful.
Jul 23, 2013
We called & booked at the last minute. Therefore, our site was not optimal which was along a loud, busy road. Otherwise, staff was friendly & very helpful. The campsite and facilities were clean. The showers had plenty of hot water. We all enjoyed our stay & would return again booking way in advance for better site. Thank you.
Jul 22, 2013
Loved the site with the stream nearby... it was just a very small space and not very secluded...
Jul 22, 2013
Staff was great but campground was more like camping in a crowded parking lot and very run down. Not my idea of camping in mountains. I don't think i will ever stay at another koa in my life time...one of the worste camp grounds i have been to in terms of visual appearance and no space between sites.
Jul 09, 2013
Our stay with South Lake Tahoe KOA was outstanding. The campground was clean, employees were friendly, bathrooms were clean and showers were clean and had plenty of hot water. I have already recommended this campground to 2 friends. Great Job!!!
Jul 07, 2013
Jul 07, 2013
Great Site.
  1. 1
  2. 2

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.