Hot Springs / Black Hills KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-0803

Info: 605-745-6449

Email

27585 SD Highway 79

Hot Springs, SD 57747

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Aug 13, 2017
Extremely accommodating. Loved our stay here!
Aug 12, 2017
Staff lady in the front office was very accommodating, bath rooms were always clean and impressed how nice they were. We loved how our camp site was so spacious and a little secluded. Only negative would be the cook that makes breakfast was not very friendly, seemed unhappy and just wanted to go smoke, and they need a sign in front of the cook that says go inside to order. We stood staring at
Aug 12, 2017
Aug 10, 2017
Aug 09, 2017
Aug 08, 2017
Nice campground however the only bathroom(at the main office) was a little too far from the tent sites where we were (north end) store could have carried a few more food items as well as block ice.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Hi! We do have block ice. Next time please let us know if there is something the store is missing. We are adding new bathrooms this winter. Thank you for staying with us!
Aug 06, 2017
Fantastic stay, helpful staff. Really enjoyed the Bunnies scattered around the site as free entertainment!
Aug 06, 2017
Very friendly folks. Clean facilities. Dog friendly!!! Could use recycling bins at the front of the property...so much recycling in garbage bins as people won't stop at the back of the property to drop off their recycling.
Aug 01, 2017
Jul 31, 2017
Awesome!
Jul 30, 2017
We tent camped 5 nights. KOA had clean bathrooms, tent pad was in shade, camp was full, and all visitors were respectful of quiet hours. A 2.5 hour drive to Badlands, but close to Custer State Park. Breakfast, coffee, pizzas available daily. Hosts and staff are fantastic! Add an hour to any advertised travel times in summer due to traffic in Hot Springs area. I would recommend this KOA.
Jul 29, 2017
Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Jul 25, 2017
There are better campgrounds in the black hills
Jul 25, 2017
People were super nice and helpful. Tent spaces were flat and clean. Water & electric a big plus! Kids loved the pool. Pizza was delivered to our space, so we weren't exactly "roughing" it. Only negative was that it is so far from the big attractions in the black hills. About an hour to any.
Jul 25, 2017
All KOA's I've been have been first rate. I don't understand why anyone would stay anywhere else.
Jul 23, 2017
Helpful staff helped us out in a jam, and found a place for us to camp on little notice. Clean bathrooms and good breakfast!
Jul 22, 2017
Great stay..friendly staff..even brought some boards to help us level our equiptment. Clean showers..only wish there were less mosquitos..but no fault of the KOA.
Jul 19, 2017
Todd,Suzanne,their children and their staff made me feel welcome as soon as I walked in. They went out of their way to help this newbie to camping feel comfortable. The bathrooms stayed clean during my stay and everything was in working order. There's a very nice pool and a playground for the kids. You have to have their pizza and their breakfast (chocolate chip pancakes!) Delicious!
Jul 12, 2017
Liked the shaded spot I had and it was pretty private.
Jul 07, 2017
Thanks for adding breakfast to your list of fun activities!
Jul 07, 2017
It was our first camping experience!. We liked it so much that we are going to do again quite soon!
Jul 05, 2017
The place is very nice and well positioned to visit mont Rushmore, Custer state park and Badlands. The owners are really attentive. The campground is very clean and quiet. The Swimming pool is pleasant to relax. i definitely command this KOA Kampground !!
Jul 05, 2017
I loved the atmosphere. Very hospitable. The breakfast were amazing at affordable prices. Thank you.
Jul 04, 2017
very friendly,even to bikers which we do not find very often. clean and well kept facilities.
Jul 03, 2017
Three star rating due to cold pool, noise from interstate, and other campers shining headlights and flashlights into our tent during quiet hours.
Jun 30, 2017
Beautiful facility. Nice folk.
Jun 29, 2017
This is a beautiful campsite, especially for tent camping.
Jun 26, 2017
Friendly people, clean bathrooms. Needs some structural work, trimming, leveling of tent sites w/o rock/pebble platforms so you can still sleep on the ground. Nice place.
Jun 22, 2017
Very nice and hospitable. Made out stay very easy.
Jun 19, 2017
This facility was clean and well kept up. Staff was very friendly.
Jun 19, 2017
Great stay, only complaint wifi never worked or the range was never adequate unless right next to main building

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I'm so sorry about that! I haven't heard to much about it so I didn't realize guests were having issues. We made changes from last year and thought it was working much better. We are working to improve it even more with new equipment and more bandwidth from the phone company. Thank you very much for staying with us!
Jun 18, 2017
nice site, good hosts, kids were happy
Jun 13, 2017
We had the whole tent area to ourselves for 3 nights. What a peaceful spot. All managers/staff were amazingly helpful. Thanks for a great time!
Jun 12, 2017
Wonderful experience. Very nice facility, amenities, and staff. Thanks for recommending Iron Mountain Road and The Garlands. They were awesome!!!
Jun 08, 2017
Great place, overall. The owners are terrific. Only complaint would be traffic noise (Jake brakes), but probably not much you can do about that.
Jun 06, 2017
Very friendly hosts, great amenities for families. Lots of highway noise all night and basic tent sites could be a little flatter, but otherwise great stay.
Jun 04, 2017
Beautiful location, but the electricity at our site was not working.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Hi! That's why we refunded the price you paid to have an electric site. :)
May 31, 2017
May 06, 2017
Great Camp, outstanding owners who could ask for anything more👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻
Apr 17, 2017
Apr 03, 2017
The host and hostess were wonderful. I had a great time!
Dec 03, 2016
The area is very pretty and the camp is well maintained, however, I'm pretty disappointed that there was no mention of the bathrooms being closed for the winter anywhere on the website; diminishing the convenience factor of staying at a KOA camp.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Hi! Please see the bright blue message here: http://koa.com/campgrounds/hot-springs/. It's been there since Nov 1. I'm so sorry you didn't see it. We do post notices on the office door and at the night registration box. I'm so sorry for the inconvenience. We post our cell numbers too for any needs.
Sep 22, 2016
The woman in the office was awesome, very friendly and helpful. The coffee was great and the bathrooms were "spotless". It was nice talking to her about scouting as well. Thank you!
Sep 21, 2016
Owner/hosts were friendly and very accommodating. Bathrooms and showers were exceptionally clean. Only complaint is that it is noisy from traffic. Probably not a problem for motor homes but for tents or tent trailers.
Sep 21, 2016
AWESOME little family owns and operates this Beautiful and Clean Camp!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you so much for the lovely compliment. You make us feel good!!! Thanks for staying with us!
Sep 09, 2016
What a clean pool! These folks put their heart and soul into this place!
Sep 09, 2016
The hosts were the best!!! So friendly and accommodating!
Sep 07, 2016
Everything i needed they had great friendly staff ill sure stay again
Sep 06, 2016
I was in an area next to the restrooms that worried me at first because of the potential noise that may have been associated. But instead it was very quiet and noise was not an issue. The staff was very nice the grounds were nice and I was so happy to have a great pace to stay.
Sep 02, 2016
Very clean and quiet. Nice people. Very nice setting. Would definetely recommend
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals