Hot Springs / Black Hills KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-0803

Info: 605-745-6449

Email

27585 SD Highway 79

Hot Springs, SD 57747

Get Directions

All Sites

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

May 25, 2017
Was nice stay campground was well taken care of and the people were helpful and friendly,
May 22, 2017
Nice people, beautiful setting. The only complaint we had was the noise from the highway. Having to listen to heavy trucks using their jake brakes all night long really detracted from the beautiful setting.
May 21, 2017
I,VE ALWAYS ENJOYED MY MANY STAYS AT THIS KOA OVER SEVERAL YEARS. IT IS A BEUTIFUL PACE TO STAY AND HOPE TO CONTINUE FOR MANY MORE
May 19, 2017
Great rates and campgrounds. Hosts are second to none. Thanks for everything
May 19, 2017
The bathrooms and campsite were clean and orderly. However, there was quite a lot of road noise from a nearby highway and the site was on a heck of a slope. I had to use ALL of my levelers to bring the front of my camper up.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for letting us know. We are always available to assist with leveling, bring you our levelers, or move you to a different site if necessary.
May 17, 2017
The best hosts Todd and Suzanne that my wife I've come across in our seven years of traveling and staying at KOA's.by far the best Quelway we've stayed at and in our opinion one of the best in the nation. We will miss our ho by far the best Quelway we stayed at and in our opinion one of the best in the nation. We will miss our house we will miss our host and the lovely experience at thief KOA.
May 16, 2017
Nice wooded sites. It was nice that this KOA supplied leveling pads to level rv's. All staff were super nice and they even had a free pancake breakfast in honor of Mother's Day. Too bad we came before the pool opened, it looked like a lot of fun.
May 16, 2017
The staff was very friendly and the campground was clean and in a very nice setting. My only complaint was that the water pressure was very low. we had to turn on our internal water pump to take a shower. Otherwise it was great.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you very much! Sorry about the water pressure. We found the issue the next day and got it resolved!
May 15, 2017
Had a great time. Clean, friendly. Wish the pool would have been open but it was early.
May 15, 2017
Very good stay we had for a week. Felt like home. Would stay again.
May 13, 2017
May 08, 2017
The cabins were clean and so were the bathrooms. We ended up having to upgrade from tent site to cabin due to weather and the staff was friendly and helpful in that process. Super responsive maintenance people as well. Would definitely recommend and stay here again!
May 07, 2017
Very friendly and helpful new owners. I am sure they run the camp properly.
May 07, 2017
May 07, 2017
Nice People. Okey place
May 06, 2017
Great Camp, outstanding owners who could ask for anything more👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻
May 05, 2017
Todd and Suzy are the best koa owners ever!! Great campground!!
May 03, 2017
Very friendly and helpful people. Grounds are very well kept. Most KOA are more like a travel stop. This one is more like a destination.
Apr 30, 2017
Todd and his wife are great! They were very helpful to us when we visited in late April and experienced a late spring snow storm allowing us to store our RV while we wait to move it to our new home in Hot Springs. Cannot say enough good things about them and their KOA! Highest marks and thanks to them both.
Apr 25, 2017
We've stayed here svrl times over the yrs but first time we've stayed in a cabin. The new owners were wonderful! The camp in general is very awesome and the bathrooms are SO clean!The cabin was very clean, had an a/c unit and a heater/fireplace (fake but kinda cool, and ceiling fan. We did not want to leave! One thing, if staying longer bring supplemental cushioning for bed! Good, just not enough.
Apr 24, 2017
We spent 2 nights in a deluxe cabin which was beautiful and a great value...likely because it was spring. The hosts were above and beyond friendly and accomadating. The site had lots of trees so a good buffer from the highway. I'm sure there would of been more to offer had we stayed in the summer. But overall great location for all the sites in the surrounding area. We loved the wind caves!
Apr 24, 2017
FANTASTIC
Apr 24, 2017
took about 80% of the stress of camping away!! I stress a lot so that's like 110% for a normal person.
Apr 24, 2017
It was a nice quiet campground. The hosts were very friendly.
Apr 24, 2017
Loved staying among the trees. Excellent washroom facilities.Delivered pizza enjoyed. Friendly staff.
Apr 23, 2017
It was great, Todd was very corteous, and helpful.
Apr 23, 2017
Thanks great time for this vacation
Apr 23, 2017
The site which we stayed is not flat so much.
Apr 22, 2017
Nice and clean. The hostess was very nice and informative.
Apr 21, 2017
The staff were very friendly and nice. The facilities were clean.
Apr 17, 2017
This is a really nice KOA, very friendly and clean and great location!!
Apr 17, 2017
We stayed one night in early April. Our site was level and had plenty of parking space. Nice people and nice location.
Apr 17, 2017
Apr 13, 2017
Clean place, lots of room, bathroom and toilet area is outstanding, Todd was very accommodating and I would recommend this site to anyone before gets too busy
Apr 11, 2017
GREAT PLACE TO STAY
Apr 10, 2017
The owners were incredibly helpful and hospitable to our family of 7. They went out of their way to let us shower in an unused cabin, helped plan our trip to the national monuments, we admired how hard working they were in seeing to it that the grounds and facilities were clean. Our stay exceeded our expectations. We would absolutely go out of our way to stay again if in South Dakota again!!!
Apr 10, 2017
We really enjoyed this campground. Only complaints are hearing cars on highway all night while we were trying to enjoy a peaceful fire and the sites are VERY close together. This is only the second campground we have ever been to, so maybe that's normal, but we felt like we didn't have much room to ourselves. Todd and Suzanne are such a sweet couple!
Apr 03, 2017
The host and hostess were wonderful. I had a great time!
Mar 31, 2017
Todd and Suzzanne are two of the nicest people I've ever met! They were extremely accommodating and went out of their way to make me feel at home even though I was 900 miles away from it! The campground is clean and cool to explore!
Mar 29, 2017
Mar 29, 2017
Great hosts and well-maintaned site! Will definitely be back.
Mar 24, 2017
Mar 11, 2017
Great location, exceptionally helpful staff and great site
Jan 28, 2017
Dec 26, 2016
We had a wonderful time. The owner were great. Helpful to all our needs. We would stay there again. Inspires us to want to be a KOA owner as well. Thank you for the wonderful experience.
Dec 15, 2016
Dusty but lots of trees. Enjoyed the quiet in October. Very nice staff.
Dec 03, 2016
The area is very pretty and the camp is well maintained, however, I'm pretty disappointed that there was no mention of the bathrooms being closed for the winter anywhere on the website; diminishing the convenience factor of staying at a KOA camp.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Hi! Please see the bright blue message here: http://koa.com/campgrounds/hot-springs/. It's been there since Nov 1. I'm so sorry you didn't see it. We do post notices on the office door and at the night registration box. I'm so sorry for the inconvenience. We post our cell numbers too for any needs.
Nov 28, 2016
We checked their website and liked what we saw not knowing that the showers were closed. We saw no attendant in the 2 nights we were there.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Hi! From Nov 1, the website said that we would be closing bathrooms on 11/17. Since the 17th it has said that the bathrooms are closed. We were offsite during your visit but had an onsite resident watching the campground for us. We also post our cell number on the door. We do regret not seeing you!!
Nov 18, 2016
Nov 17, 2016
The staff was very friendly and helpful. We loved the cabin. It's really gave us that rustic feeling. Little bit of dead flies on the tables and your typical spiders crawling around. But that's camping, right. We will stay there again, in fact we are coming back in December. Being at a KOA makes me want to own a site, and I'm being serious. I love the environment.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals