Horse Cave KOA

KOA AVE

Horse Cave, KY 42749

Reserve: 800-562-2809

Info: 270-786-2819

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Cabin Reviews

Jul 21, 2014
Great friendly staff. Had no problem upgrading our tent site to a Lodge after it started raining on day 2. Really enjoyed our stay.
Jul 15, 2014
Clean, quiet and comfortable cabins. Great 3 night stay for just the two of us.
Jul 13, 2014
Cabin was clean and we'll maintained. Loved the farm animals that were nearby, too!
Jul 12, 2014
Spiderwebs all over the cabin. Severely stained futon mattress. Mattress on bed was saggy and covered with "pills" (like an old sweater). There was no mattress cover and I found stains when I pulled the sheets as instructed. Pillows were old and lumpy. Had to ask for the porch light bulb to be replaced. Never able to connect to WIFI. Rebecca was very nice and tried to be helpful though.
Jul 11, 2014
Jul 06, 2014
Nice space between campsites. Very friendly staff. Would have given 5 stars, but there were lots of cobwebs in my cabin (near the ceiling...I only noticed because of my height). Other than the cobwebs was fairly clean.
Jul 02, 2014
Clean, clean cabin! And the air conditioning made the stay bearable! No doubt we would stay there again. We only wish we had water more conveniently located for camp cooking needs.
Jul 01, 2014
restrooms are close to the cabins and tent areas. but there is the gravel factor on the road.
Jul 01, 2014
This was the second year we have stayed at the Horse Cave Campground. The cabins are nice, my boys (5 & 3) enjoyed playing on the playground and in the pool. The campground is located right off the highway which makes it very convenient. The only draw back to that is that you can hear the highway traffic, but it's not that big of a deal. We hope to be back again next year!
Jun 30, 2014
We had a blast. The cabins were clean and much nicer than we expected. We will return
Jun 27, 2014
Jun 26, 2014
Jun 24, 2014
Jun 19, 2014
We stayed in a one-room cabin. The location within the park was perfect...close to the bath house and very little road noise.Cabin was clean and air conditioned. Great stop for our family and would stay there again.
Jun 03, 2014
The staff was very helpful and friendly!
Jun 01, 2014
May 30, 2014
We have stayed here every memorial day for the past 3 years and can't wait to come back next year!
May 27, 2014
A little traffic noise from the Interstate but nothing that was overwhelming. We enjoyed the cabin and was surprised of how well they've been maintained and cleaned. The kids enjoyed the animals and pool grounds. We will definitely be back . The staff was nothing but excellent. This is our first experience with KOA and was pleasantly surprised. See you next Memorial Day weekend
May 27, 2014
the workers there were great and very friendly they were very helpful!!
May 24, 2014
Great staff; lovely location; easy access from interstate; clean bathrooms.
May 19, 2014
beautiful campgrounds
May 14, 2014
We stay here quite often but this time there was an issue with the t.v. which was eventually resolved. Then i asked for more wood and the staff lady who had a broken foot said the wood was wet and that there was no one to help her and that I could get it myself. I did and found dry wood in the pile. Overall, things were o.k. but seemed like the poor girl didn't have any help.
May 06, 2014
The stay was great. The animals are fun. I think it would be nice if the roosters stayed in the barn at night so they weren't right outside our window every morning between 5:50 and 5:58 waking us up. Other than that we had a really great time.
Apr 17, 2014
Apr 14, 2014
The cabin did not have enough lighting. The overhead light had 3 flame style bulbs of 15 watts each. It was to dark to read or crochet in the evening.
Apr 07, 2014
Delux cabin size was comfortable, but not very clean or efficient for our stay. We found many cobwebs and dead bugs in corners and windowsills and the cabin smelled stronly of smoke. The futton cushion kept sliding off it's frame even while we were sitting on it. Also, the walls needed more hooks and shelves to hang towels and toiletries, especially in the bathroom.
Mar 31, 2014
Garbage around cabin prior to entering it at 4:00 pm. Something gross on the ceiling of the bedroom.... black stuff. Crack window by the futon with a cracked stick. (Didn't feel safe knowing that the stick is the lock for the window AND it was a broken stick.) Dirty floors that showed on our white socks. Filthy coffee pot. Cob webs above refrigerator. Cute cabin minus the negatives above.
Nov 23, 2013
Great country atmosphere. Love all the animals. Cabins are cute and homey. Great place to relax and unwind after a hard day at work!
Nov 12, 2013
The cabin was very nice (as all KOAs) my issue was there was no dishes, no coffee maker, etc. I know when I made the reservations it said to bring linen, but when I've stayed at KOAs before the coffee maker and dishes, etc were supplied. So I was a little disappointed. Also the road was a little close for me. The staff was wonderful and the cabin was clean.
Oct 27, 2013
Sep 18, 2013
All the staff were extremely helpful, and my wife and I had a great time visiting! Thanks for keeping the pool open while the weather was still hot. We plan on returning in the near future for another visit, thanks again!
Sep 01, 2013
beautiful cabin - loved the chickens and the turkey
Aug 29, 2013
Aug 27, 2013
Aug 27, 2013
Location is convenient for those wanting to visit area attractions. It is very close to the highway exit. We stayed in a cabin which had a bedroom, kitchen and bathroom. Accommodations were clean and adequate, at times could hear traffic on highway. Staff was very friendly. Enjoyed our brief stay.
Aug 22, 2013
We loved our stay at this KOA camp site, although the cabins were really too small for a family of 4, unless the kids were 10 & under, even then, a little tight. But...Great job maintaining the grounds and cabins, enjoyed the fishing, pool and miniature golf. Close proximity to lots of fun things to do; we did the zip lines, repelling, and the Mammoth Cave. Bill, from Nevada.
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 17, 2013
Staff very friendly and helpful. Military discount was appreciated.
Aug 06, 2013
The lady that checked us in was super nice and very helpful. The two remotes for the TV were confusing to a couple of seniors like us and she was very patient and helpful showing us how to use them.Thank you!
Aug 01, 2013
This was our least pleasant KOA experience. No one escorted us to our Kabin. The pool is in disrepair. The freeway is but a stone's throw away. The place was practically deserted when we were there at the end of July, and had a lonely and depressing vibe about it. If not for the proximity to local attractions, I wouldn't give it any stars at all. I would not recommend this KOA to anyone.
Jul 26, 2013
The facilities were very nice. But it was understaffed. However, I would not recommend staying in a Kabin. Our Kabin was right near the barn. The (4) roosters woke us up all the time. If the roosters were not there, I would rate this KOA higher.
Jul 24, 2013
The staff was really nice & helpful. But, there were issues with our cabin. The futon had large holes on both side. One side had a rag stuffed in it. The staff replaced it. The shower was scalding hot. The plate behind the control was wrong. To get a somewhat tolerable temperature, you had to put the control on 'hot'. 'Cold' was scalding. Mouse droppings in the drawers & the floor was not sw
Jul 19, 2013
Had a great time- loved the chickens wandering around
Jul 19, 2013
clean cabin great place, loved the animal`s
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
We enjoyed our stay. We stayed in a cabin. The cabin floor could have been cleaner and a new white cover for the futon due to it being stained up. The campground was clean and peaceful besides the highway noise which did not bother us. The playground was nice. I would like to suggest that it would be nice to have benches at the playground for parents to sit on. We will be back.
Jul 15, 2013
Nice staff. Clean cabin. Our kids liked the swimmingpool, mini golf and the animals. Store has nothing. Noise of highway wasn't too bad.
Jul 12, 2013
We had a very nice stay, very easy to get to different attractions. Our 8 month old son loved the pool, just wish there would have been no smoking allowed!
Jul 11, 2013
Jul 07, 2013
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.