Horse Cave KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-2809

Info: 270-786-2819

Email

KOA AVE

489 Flint Ridge Road

Horse Cave, KY 42749

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 4:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 3.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Apr 24, 2017
WIFI was terrible! We were right by the office and still could not receive it. No cable and no local stations. Staff was friendly and campground was clean.
Apr 23, 2017
Stayed for 3 nights. Consistently clean facilities beautiful grounds.
Apr 21, 2017
Electrical did not work. Reported it and hooked to next site. They said they would not rent that smite sine we were using the electrical. After we were all set up the rented the site and made us move. They also had a horse in deplorable conditions with no food or water. It looked like it was starving. Please inspect this facility for animal neglect and poor business practices.
Apr 17, 2017
The campground was clean and nice, only complaint I have is the highway (which I knew going in so not marking down for that) and our campsite was 83 and is on the side of a hill so not much flat ground at all and the playground is 20 feet in front of it so not much peace and quiet.
Apr 17, 2017
We stayed over the Easter weekend. Campground was mostly empty, which was a bit surprising. Facilities seemed nice. Spot was level and easy to get into. Sewage dump awkward with drain on wrong side. Staff seemed nice but didn't see them much.
Apr 16, 2017
Friendly staff, excellent bathrooms, very clean. Jumping pillow fun, stocked pond and bait on site. Only drawbacks were very small sites close together and the close proximity to interstate (which we were aware of beforehand). Cool dog agility course.
Apr 15, 2017
Beautiful terraced sites, spacious and well maintained. Would definitely stop again, only negative is the truck stop across the higway...needed to keep the fan on to drown out the noise of trucks coming and going all night.
Apr 12, 2017
It would be nice if styrofoam coffee cups were placed in the cabin with the coffee maker, however office staff was nice and gave us some
Apr 12, 2017
Very nice campground, good location easy on, easy off I69, close to Mammoth Cave, but absolutely NO TV. No cable, and we had antenna TV for about 1/2 hour, then it was gone forever.
Apr 10, 2017
Clean campground and facilities.
Apr 09, 2017
Just I bit to loud for my liking! Highway 65 is within ear shot!
Apr 07, 2017
It was a great last minute stop. Close to the caves.
Apr 06, 2017
Although it was a smaller campground it was so quiet and the scenery was beautiful.
Apr 06, 2017
Staff was very nice and accommodating but sites were so far from level we were unable to unhook our 5th wheel on the 1st site and barely able on the second site.
Apr 04, 2017
The bathrooms were very bad. There was only one working toilet in each bathroom part of the time. The floors were dirty in both mens and womens bathrooms, even though most of our stay(three nights) there was a mop bucket of water sitting outside the bathroom doors. The hand dryers did not work in either bathroom and there were no paper towels until I mentioned it to the office twice.
Apr 04, 2017
Nice place, but You have to pay $45.00. Even with your Koa discount.
Apr 02, 2017
We were late and worried about getting our cabin still, but they posted a map and our cabin number on the bulletin board which was very helpful. Cabins were also very nice for the price. Had a great time.
Mar 31, 2017
Needs cable
Mar 31, 2017
This is a great place to stay for easy access on and off the highway. It is also close to area attractions. We were there during the off season so full amenities weren't up and runnng so I can't comment on those. If you like to use wifi while traveling this is not the place for you. They say they have wifi but we couldn't get it at our site. The only tv service we could get was kentucky pbs.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am sorry you could not connect to WIFI. We are aware the service we have sucks (LOL) We do have a newer service coming in soon.
Mar 30, 2017
Good campground in a nice area.
Mar 29, 2017
Other than a couple whasps in our bathroom and the shower curtain not keeping the water in the shower it was a good stay.
Mar 28, 2017
Beautiful campground. Wifi not the best but they are aware of this , they have a better wifi company coming in . had a great time will book agsin in the future.
Mar 27, 2017
Easy access to Interstate. Great for kids, too
Mar 27, 2017
Mar 26, 2017
I was a little weary about this KOA after reading some of the reviews. I gotta say upon arriving I was very impressed. This KOA was very pretty an well maintained. I am glad I over looked the reviews because I don't know where there getting that this is a run down place. I am coming back an bringing my grandchildren with me. I advise people to over look some of the reviews an try this place out.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am glad you decided to check us out. We will be glad to see you return with your grandkids. We offer a lot of stuff to do in our peek season.
Mar 23, 2017
Run down, too much highway noise, poor Wifi, no cable, no over the air TV channels.
Mar 22, 2017
Recent 20% price increase was too much. Camping book said 2016 prices was between $32-$40 a night. New rate is $50.Sewer hookup ran uphill 40 feet

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am unaware of this camping book your talking about please give me more info so I can check into this. If your talking about the directory our prices are not listed in that book. HAVE A GREAT DAY.
Mar 18, 2017
cabin was awesome. host was very nice and animals were cool.
Mar 11, 2017
Large area to run our dog. interesting extras. Only drawback was freeway noise and terraced hills.
Mar 05, 2017
Mar 04, 2017
Feb 27, 2017
Feb 26, 2017
Hate the extra charge for my kids, playground falling apart, NO other campers was ominous, putt-putt is a joke, and jumping pillow was closed every day. Won't be back.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am sorry you feel this way, The jumping pillow is closed for the winter an the Putt-Putt is being redone. As for the playground I would like to know what is falling apart. Thanks HCkOA
Feb 25, 2017
The Wi-Fi wouldn't work. Way too noisy. Besides the freeway noise there was the rooster that wouldn't shut up. We will never stay there again. On a good note the lady in the front office was friendly and apologetic for the Wi-Fi not working.
Feb 17, 2017
Great place to stop on your way south
Feb 16, 2017
Feb 15, 2017
It's a nice short stay campground. Right off expressway and close to Mammoth State Park.
Feb 15, 2017
Amazingly friendly staff!! Clean and well kept facilities. There was also an awesome kitty. Loved the trip. Kitty made me feel welcome. I will stay again.
Feb 14, 2017
Feb 07, 2017
It was clean and the people running it were very nice.
Jan 23, 2017
The cabin we were originally in had a leak, but they moved us to a nicer one for the same price. Bathrooms are very clean and a mostly well-kept campground.
Dec 24, 2016
The campground was beautiful and so clean!!! The staff was welcoming and very helpful. The hookups were great and site was a nice size. We stayed for an overnight, in a 5th wheel 12/23/2016. I would love to stay here again when the trees are full and everything is blooming. Very, very nice!!!
Dec 23, 2016
Nice, clean facility. Friendly staff.
Dec 13, 2016
where we had a site was at least 100 yards down hill from the showers and office, no trail or lights for the first part of climb . Went down to the lower 20s at night we could not use water at site, would have been nice if attendant had offered us a place closer to office, even though we still would not have used water being closer would have meant being able to use bathroom.
Dec 10, 2016
Site was good, although a bit steep. The campground was very difficult to find. We came in after dark and for whatever reason our gps took us past the campground entrance and the main sign for the campground was not lighted and the only sign by the Road was very small and difficult to see. I had to turn around twice and it turned into an ordeal before we finally got in.
Dec 08, 2016
The check in was fast,easy and friendly. The site was great. The park was clean.
Dec 01, 2016
Very nice!
Nov 30, 2016
Very freindly, convienent to National Park, sites clean and level. Only complaint was the noise from the Interstate, which was also our view from the camper.
Nov 30, 2016
Nov 28, 2016
Great location for proximity to caves, lake Cumberland,Louisville & TN. Bathrooms are poorly designed and poorly maintained. Even in "low season," one toilet is not sufficient. Sites do not account for drainage, parking, or efficient use of water/electric.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals

Camp for $10 on May 13!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps