Horse Cave KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-2809

Info: 270-786-2819

Email

KOA AVE

489 Flint Ridge Road

Horse Cave, KY 42749

Get Directions

Camper Rating 3.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 24, 2016
Loved the cabin, but would have been nice to have a second roll of toilet paper on hand. Also the camp personnel wouldn't go back to the office and get me a sheet for the futon because she had already locked up on June 21. on June 22 the store was closed at 7:55 (instead of 8pm) and we were unable to purchase drinks.
Jun 22, 2016
The campground was nice however the swimming pool was absolutely nasty. The water was cloudy ans the bottom was just filthy. I don't expect a crystal clear pool when we go camping but at least a clean pool.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am Sorry for this, our pool pump went out and has been replaced.
Jun 21, 2016
Very close to interstate; very noisy. Pull through sites were way too close to main driveway. No cable and no TV stations were available. WIFI did not work. Miniature golf course not well maintained at all. Will not stay here again.
Jun 21, 2016
The lower pull thru sites are right on the noisy interstate and provide no shade. Never again.
Jun 20, 2016
Had a great trip! Kids loved fishing in your pond. My son caught 15 huge catfish in 3 days!
Jun 20, 2016
This was okay for a one night visit. The pool was very cloudy so it felt a bit dirty to me. We used an RV so I didn't check out the bathrooms. The deck by the pond is a complete hazard. There is a broken board and rusty nails exposed. It's an accident waiting to happen.
Jun 20, 2016
Loved staying at this KOA. The only problem I had was that the cabin didn't stay cool during the day. So, I would only recommend this to anyone during cooler weather. Tetras was awsome! She informed us of fun activities to do as a family, a great BBQ places. That we still talk about. :)

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for your feedback. We will check the air unit out to see if there is an issue with it. Glad our staff was able to help you with the local attraction information so your family could have fun in Cave Country.
Jun 20, 2016
Campground was very nice, and clean. The pool needed some TLC but other than that it was great. It would be nice to have more food drink options inside of the office.
Jun 20, 2016
Everything was neat and clean, well maintained
Jun 20, 2016
Run down facilities, extreme highway noise, nice playground was the best thing about this KOA.
Jun 20, 2016
Friendly staff. Close to freeway good for intermediate stop. Our campsite was dirty...leftover lemons and junk from previous camper.
Jun 19, 2016
We enjoyed a three night stay at this KOA. Our site could have been more level but I would trade a perfectly level site for the beautiful view we had of trees. Interstate is a bit noisy nearby but we couldn't see it from our site and once we started our campfire we didn't pay much attention to the traffic noise.
Jun 19, 2016
Very noisy alone a highway. Pool was dirty. Dangerous open fan to blow up the jumping pillow. Just 2 toilets and no urinal. It can be a nice place but needs an overhaul. O and speed limit is 4.5 mph!!! while the local grew flies low with the golf carts!!!
Jun 17, 2016
Bathrooms very clean, smelled nice, very convenient
Jun 17, 2016
Clean, but the basketball court and mini golf were run down and there were no poo bags in the dog park dispenser for both days. Interesting property with the donkeys, horses, roosters, etc.
Jun 17, 2016
Ground was not as level for walking from one place to another within the park.
Jun 17, 2016
Jun 16, 2016
Good stay, except for dumping station-- location on wrong side of RV which make dumping difficult since Rv is pointing up hill and may roll back if not carefull. Leaving dump area only one lane. Should have two lane to avoid meeting on coming traffic.
Jun 16, 2016
Jun 16, 2016
The site was beautiful & well kept but very noisy being right off the freeway which I understand makes it very suitable for an overnight stay. Campers always need wifi to make future plans, we could not use this amenity unless we were right outside the office. Making it very inconvenient. So we are very glad this was just an overnight stop to get off the road.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am sorry as for the interstate noise that is out of our control. The internet is working poorly due to we switched to a new company an the old company has tore up a line an comeing Monday it will be fix, so maybe on your next trip stop an give us a shot to see the new repairs done.
Jun 14, 2016
the campground was very nice. Great level lots.
Jun 13, 2016
Great place to stay,very clean shower room and bathrooms.The only drawback is the noise of the highway but not a big deal.
Jun 13, 2016
Wonderful place, very clean and well taken care of. Overall very happy and will visit again. Lots for kids to do. Only thing that was bad was the WIFI said you didn't need password and listed the WIFI that you could use but my computer never found the avalible WIFI the only ones found were for the cabins and they did require password that I did not have.
Jun 13, 2016
Enjoyed our stay. Liked how the sites were placed. It will be great when the wifi is working thru out the sites and may get cable. Over all great and staff is very friendly and caring.
Jun 13, 2016
Staff was super friendly! Lots to do that's fun for kids. Down sides: The water pressure and temperature control in the showers was terrible. Located off an exit with Very run down buildings and adult store down the street. Located right next to the expressway & you hear the traffic & horns honking. It wasn't horrible, but I will drive further to stay somewhere else next time.
Jun 13, 2016
Had my Scout troop here for a weekend. Nice tent sites, plenty of shade. Very nice and clean rest rooms and showers. Helpful, friendly staff. Right next to the freeway but after a while you pretty much tune out the noise. Thanks!
Jun 13, 2016
Booked online a spot with plenty of shade....so it said . Got there and the lot I was to get had a waterline brake...that was fine because the shade was nowhere close so they sent me to another lot and there wasn't a tree anywhere near.I wound up cramming my 30 ft trailer in a 23 ft lot and enjoyed the rest of the stay.
Jun 12, 2016
Good place to stay, not to happy behind awaken by roosters at 4:30 in the morning.
Jun 11, 2016
Had a nice time. Need to have cable for the TV other than that it was great.
Jun 11, 2016
Asked for shade but put into the middle of stone parking lot. Did get a reassignment though. All out of worms so could not fish. WiFi not working. Highway noise deafening. Had to buy ear plugs to get to sleep. Truck Jake braking all night long. Otherwise campground well kept
Jun 09, 2016
Jun 09, 2016
Extremely disappointing in the wifi. We owned a campground for 30 years...90 % of our sites were wifi accessable. Wish KOA would find a server that actuall supplied wifi service!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We value your feed back. The reason we had no wifi during your stay is Comcast is installing the new wifi an was having problems doing so .
Jun 08, 2016
Overall, we had a nice stay because the staff was wonderful and very helpful. However, the bathrooms were nasty. My 7 year soon, who licks the bottom of his shoe & sniffs his underwear, wouldn't go in without a fight. This was disappointing.
Jun 06, 2016
Our stay was nice just a few concerns. The highway was extremely loud in the back cabin room and being woken up by roosters is not ideal. Also it says the deluxe cabins are linens furnished, but they do not furnish pillows or blankets for those who sleep on the futon. Honestly other than those things everything was beautiful and well taken care. We would come back now that we know what to expect.
Jun 06, 2016
the staff was nice the park was clean but really need to update that putt putt
Jun 04, 2016
This campground is by far the best place to stay. The staff goes above and beyond to make you feel at home. The facilities are exceptionally clean. We have been camping at this facility for the past 11 years. Jason and Sonya are the greatest host. All the staff is fantastic. We love our Horse Cave Campground!!!!!
Jun 04, 2016
Been camping there since2005 it's a great campground and good people running it
Jun 01, 2016
I feel as if the bathrooms were never kept up cleanliness wise compared to other KOA campgrounds Iand state campgrounds, which are much cheaper, I have stayed at and I know that can also be blamed on the campers as well but I was disappointed. The pool was nice and the close proximity to Mammoth Cave National Park.
Jun 01, 2016
Its a nice campground. But a couple things would make it a little better. The ladies restroom was out of toilet paper and paper towels several times and the shower door lock is broke on the middle shower. The drains are really slow in the shower so you stand in a lot of nasty water when you shower. Our site was pretty muddy but we have had a lot of rain so I'm sure that can't be helped.
May 31, 2016
My sister and I have been camping since we were children, and our parents took us many, many times to the Horse Cave KOA. The Gedda family knows how to treat campers with dignity and respect. It's a spotless campground and with a family friendly atmosphere, and I'd rate this at one of the absolute best campgrounds in America. Keep doing what you are doing!! My sister and I LOVE it there!!
May 31, 2016
We stayed at the Horse Cave Koa over Memorial Day weekend 2016. We had a great time. The campground is a great place to visit with your children. The playground area, bounce pillow, farm, and pool are all great amenities for kids. The campground is close to many attractions in the area. The staff was friendly. my only complaint is the bathroom. It needs cleaned more often.
May 31, 2016
May 31, 2016
May 31, 2016
Very clean facility and close to the interstate. Stay there Memorial weekend when they were very busy the place was clean and beautiful. I did have to take cold showers but that's what I expect when the place is full with people. If you don't like cold showers when a campsite is full please stay in a hotel. I would give it 5 stars but it's really not that big of a camp site which is okay with me.
May 31, 2016
Stayed 3 nights in a tent on tent site. Flood light pointed right at tent site. Campground too close to freeway hard to sleep at night due to freeway noise maybe better in camper. No warm water for showers. I won't even use the word hot just was hoping for warm. The grounds themselves were in good shape and staff was courteous. I think if you were in a camper it would be better.
May 31, 2016
Cabin we stayed in was great ! Campground was clean all around. Need a grill at the cabin location to be able to cook food since we cannot cook inside the cabin. Campground had issues with water pressure all weekend, could not take a proper shower until the last morning. Fix those 2 things and this place would be picture perfect.
May 31, 2016
It was Memorial Day weekend and was busy but the showers were freezing and there was no hot water on Saturday-Monday morning! But it was an awesome campsite with great campsites and great stuff like the pool and easy access to Mammoth Cave! Very likely to stay again!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am so sorry for no hot water. I have placed my order for bigger hot water tanks. So if you come back you will have hot water.
May 31, 2016
The dog park was GREAT!! We were at one of the newer sites that over looked the pasture and it was a GREAT view!! The bathrooms were clean, my only complaint was the height of the water faucets ... other than that we had a GREAT stay!!
May 29, 2016
We arrived to a park under construction, mud, bulldozers, backhoes, mud, freshly spread gravel, leveling jacks sunk even with pads, mud even before rain. We were not warned about construction so we could choose to reserve elsewhere. Camp store not even stocked. Signage literally falling down. Staff not available at check in. Left a day early. Road noise from I-40 very loud.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you arrived while this was all going on. Our website says we are under construction.We are located off I-65 not I-40
May 23, 2016
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals