Horse Cave KOA

KOA AVE

Horse Cave, KY 42749

Reserve: 800-562-2809

Info: 270-786-2819

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2

Tent Reviews

Jul 23, 2014
Loved it. No issues whatsoever.
Jul 20, 2014
was a clean campground.. but for tents with water and electric it was not the best... all of these tent sites were on gravel with a little grass...we couldn't even pound the stakes in the ground
Jul 20, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
We have 2 little girls. It was family friendly. The site wasn't very private. We bent up several tent stakes in the HARD gravel/dirt ground. We DID hear I65. Our fans helped. We shared our electricity with neighboring sites. One had NO power and the other had a 220 plug for a tent site! After driving around the area, it is one of the better campgrounds w/extra amenities. Friendly staff. Clean.
Jul 10, 2014
Had a nice stay but bathrooms didn't stay stocked very well and weren't cleaned to good
Jul 03, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
We tent camped. The camping area, listed as grass, was basically a little grass growing on rock making it extremely difficult to drive a tent stake into the ground. Some of the dryers were not working in the laundry room. Consequently, we did not to laundry because of the wait. Pool and showers were clean and well kept.
Jul 01, 2014
Excellent staff and clean facilities. One suggestion would be to repair the road that is along the tent sites on the west side of the campground. This was our second time staying here and we will visit again!
Jun 28, 2014
The staff was very helpful! We had an issue with our reservations and they went out of their way to make it right! Definitely will be back again.
Jun 26, 2014
We really enjoyed our time here. We have 3 young kids and it was our first time tent camping with the family, I was nervous! But it was an easy place to be, the pool and bathrooms were convenient and clean. We had a nice shady spot and the kids were able to safely run around. They really liked the farm and petting the horses! Easy access to our adventures at the caves & Dino World!
Jun 17, 2014
This KOA was very nice, the pool was clean, and the staff were helpful. I read reports about the highway being so close, but for us, even in a tent, the noise never bothered. It was a very quiet, peaceful setting with great views and lots of trees. Our boys enjoyed the fishing pond, mini-golf, and the pool. I appreciated the hot showers with a dry area, bench, and hooks to hang things.
Jun 16, 2014
Overall liked the property, but didn't appreciate the check in when the girl told us we booked water OR electric, but not both. Made me feel stupid in front of the other people in the lobby.
May 29, 2014
May 28, 2014
The staff at the Horse Cave KOA was extremely attentive and quick to respond to our every request. They were knowledgeable about the area and very helpful with directions. Over all this was one of my favorite camping trips. Thank you Horse Cave KOA!
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
Very nice campground with a lot of amentities. Some sites seemed a little small. Located next to a lot of activities as well. Staff was very nice and did daily trash pick up!
May 27, 2014
We had a wonderful time at this clean, beautiful KOA. The tents sites could have been a little closer to the restrooms but we still enjoyed our stay.
May 27, 2014
The staff was great. Lots of road noise. The roads in the campground are unpaved and dusty, since you camp right in the road it is a problem. The bathhouse was dirty and in need of repair. It is very small and cramped. There are other campgrounds closer to Mammoth and if we ever go back we will probably try somewhere else.
Apr 30, 2014
We were here early in the year. April the pool is not open. Typical KOA bathroom and showers, not bad, just not noteworthy. Just okay
Oct 22, 2013
It was ok. Too close to the highway so traffic noise all night long was an issue and the electrical boxes need maintenance. But it was central to all the caves I came to see & was generally an enjoyable stay. The staff was really helpful with questions, etc.
Sep 04, 2013
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Clean restroom facilities. The swimming pool was nice, but algae in the water.
Aug 25, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
The facilities were clean, hot water in showers, laundry available. When we had a problem with the size of our tent site, they let us switch to a bigger one with no charge. Only reason I didn't give 5 stars, I thought the per night price on a tent site was a little high. It may not be to some people.
Aug 13, 2013
The extra activities like swimming, mini golf, playground, etc and the staff were excellent. However there was a light that kept flashing on and off every 30 seconds that lit up my campground and half of the rest of the sites. I woke up around 1am and could not fall back asleep. We decided to leave the KOA at 5 in the morning because we both could not get back to sleep from that light.
Jul 29, 2013
Beautiful location. Had the basics. But, tent sites were small and sloped. We had a light pole shining down on our site the entire night-very bright. Noisy with highway and nearby farm animals. One shower wouldn't regulate water temp and bathrooms weren't too clean. Run down and not maintained mini golf. No trash dumpster.
Jul 29, 2013
No issues other than interstate nose. Good people!
Jul 28, 2013
Jul 27, 2013
Very friendly staff, bathrooms clean. Pool not as clean. Miniature golf course needs work, clubs should be replaced. Overall appearance and individual sites neat and clean, well maintained. Invest in new washing machines! Dryers are fine.
Jul 17, 2013
Very nice office staff. However, there was quite a bit of garbage in the treeline behind us.
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 07, 2013
It would be okay if you have a camper. If you are staying in a tent go somewhere else. The spot was not large enough for our tent. The spot was at the bottom of a runoff for the rain. We asked for some straw & got dry sweep that was not very effective.
Jun 30, 2013
Everything was clean and well-maintained. Wonderful place to camp. We had a great time.
Jun 25, 2013
Jun 24, 2013
Jun 23, 2013
We have stayed in your camp before but not this year. We would drive by as your sites are very small for a 40 ft RV and tough to get in and out. We are 90% KOA campers
Jun 21, 2013
The staff was friendly. The tent site was grassy and flat. The facilities were clean, but the shower head didn't work very well. There was a lot of road noise throughout the night.
Jun 11, 2013
The tent area was rocky, uneven, not properly marked, parking was difficult. I didn't even stay, I paid but left. I know it was tent only, no hook-up but there should be a decent place to put your vehicle and tent.
May 31, 2013
We were at a tent site and were underwhelmed with the quality of the site. The sites were on the side of a hill and didn't provide a lot of space for tent, vehicle, camp equipment, etc. We were lucky that other tent sites weren't being utilized next to us, otherwise, we would have been very cramped and unhappy. There was only one bathroom facility which made it a long walk with our 3 kids.
May 28, 2013
Bathroom stayed dirty, toilet and hand dryer broken, no one attempting to fix, paper towels always out. Bathrooms too far from sites. See saws on playground too dangerous, noise from highway disturbing.
May 28, 2013
This is not a good camp ground. The facility is worn and old. Here are some examples. Both the mens and womes bath houses had toilets and showers that were out of oreder. The uranel in the mens rest room was boared up and not going to be repaired. The showers were warm at best, no warm water except at sinks. All of the camp sites were angled few were flat. The electric boxes were old and rusted an
May 27, 2013
Staff were wonderful
May 06, 2013
Sep 17, 2012
Everyone was very nice, the young lady who was on shift Saturday night was a sweet heart, and she introduced me and my girlfriend to Baby, the deer and that made our trip much more memorable! Thank you for the best experience camping this year!
Sep 12, 2012
Aug 27, 2012
We had a great time at the KOA at Horse Cave. The staff were friendly and helpful, our tent site had a beautiful view, and the facilities were clean and convenient. The location is easy to find and very close to Mammoth Cave.
Aug 27, 2012
ok
Aug 15, 2012
Aug 14, 2012
The kids (9, 8, 6, & 4 yrs) had plenty to do between chasing animals around, swimming, mini-putt and searching for edible plants. The bathrooms were clean, hand dryer was broken, but I don't expect a hand-dryer while camping anyway. Friendly, well-kept, nice view of the hills/farm at site T3!!
  1. 1
  2. 2

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.