Horse Cave KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-2809

Info: 270-786-2819

Email

KOA AVE

489 Flint Ridge Road

Horse Cave, KY 42749

Get Directions

Camper Rating 3.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Nov 28, 2016
Great location for proximity to caves, lake Cumberland,Louisville & TN. Bathrooms are poorly designed and poorly maintained. Even in "low season," one toilet is not sufficient. Sites do not account for drainage, parking, or efficient use of water/electric.
Nov 14, 2016
Our stay was nice. We enjoyed the playground for the kids! The reason though, that we won't stay at this one again is that the bathroom location is WAY too far from the campsites. Taking your three year old to the bathroom in the middle of the night is bad only made worse by the fact that you have to walk several hundred yards to the get there.
Nov 07, 2016
Very clean and conveniently located. Tent sites are a good distance from the bathrooms.
Oct 31, 2016
This campground was nice and clean and the staff was friendly. For tent camping it was a little noisy and too light with the truck stop across the road. They had a connected farm which kept everybody amused with all of the farm animals .
Oct 31, 2016
Extremely clean and well cared for. Lots of things to do for the kids.
Oct 24, 2016
I didnt like how it was on the highway. Other then that it was very nice.
Oct 15, 2016
Awesome staff. Extremely clean bathroom. Free amenities such as mini golf, playground, dog park, and coffee in the morning!
Oct 09, 2016
Loved the camp grounds. We had a cabin so even though it rained the whole week-end we had a nice porch to sit on.
Oct 07, 2016
they were accommodating I guess they didnt have half the features listed on the website I bought a bundle of wood that was greener than green with KNOTS in it! I tried 3 seperate kindlings and 2 hours to get the logs to ignite and instead they just charred. absolutely frustrating I paid cash for the logs and asked for my money back the next morning and i was told that was possible. di
Oct 04, 2016
Great facilities and clean bathrooms. Kids enjoyed the upgrades to the playground since our last stay 2 years ago!
Sep 19, 2016
Great activities for the kids--jumping pillow, farm animals, playground, etc. It is a bit noisy from the interstate. I don't know how to change that except plant some more trees. Our tent site was not level and very evident when it rained. The picnic table at our site was past sitting on because it was broken. The staff were helpful. They let us leave our tent up to dry past check out t
Sep 06, 2016
This was our family's first camping trip and we loved it. My kids would've been completely happy spending the entire weekend at the campground. Nice, clean facilities. My only knock is that, due to the proximity of I-65, the highway noise is quite noticeable at night.
Aug 27, 2016
Truck noise from expressway made it impossible to sleep. Electrial hookup for site was not appropriate for a tent.
Aug 15, 2016
Way too close to the highway!
Aug 14, 2016
Tent sites were shaded and grassy, very nice. We even saw a deer.
Aug 10, 2016
Small campground. Only one set of facilities leads to a long walk, but they were nicely cleaned. Not much nearby for food/entertainment.
Aug 09, 2016
Nice campground. Really close to I-65. Campground does have WiFi, but it doesn't extend very far from the office building.
Aug 05, 2016
Nice camp , clean , wifi only at office
Aug 04, 2016
It is a nice campground, with a very friendly staff. We will stay there again, if ever in the area.
Jul 31, 2016
Loved the quiet campground. Could use more tent water electric sites. The people were very friendly! Will stay again for sure!
Jul 31, 2016
Beautiful facilities, lots of fun activities for kids and friendly staff. Best campground I've ever visited!
Jul 28, 2016
Bathrooms were super dirty. One shower did not work at all and lines for shower were so long at night. Ran out of paper towels for drying hands. Pool was super cloudy too.
Jul 27, 2016
ALWAYS A PLEASURE TO CAMP HERE. WELL MAINTAINED GROUNDS, CLEAN RESTROOMS AND FRIENDLY STAFF. AMENITIES ARE A PLUS FOR KIDS.
Jul 26, 2016
Had a lot to offer except the pool was not very clean. Restrooms and showers clean and kept up. Delivered wood right to our campsite. Picked our trash up at campsite as well. Very accomdating.
Jul 25, 2016
We enjoyed our stay! It was a relaxing and quiet environment. The kids loved the jumping pillow and playground. The bathrooms were really clean. Our only complaint was the pool because the water was cloudy and too warm.
Jul 25, 2016
The staff was very friendly our tent site was small but cozy, staff was very friendly. There were some huge cat fish in the pond. The only downfalls are Wi-Fi doesn't come in in most areas of the park also it is a little close to the expressway. And pool was cloudy. But in all we had a great time the playground was great putt putt was fun. My boys love the jumpy. And petting farm was so cool
Jul 24, 2016
I would not recommend this camp for tent campers. The tent sites are as far from the one bathroom as possible. The tiny electric sites had 50 amp outlets for some reason nd were on a steep angle. The pool was very cloudy and the internet did not work though I was there three nights. RV sites seemed much better but if you are tenting it, go somewhere else. The staff was great though.
Jul 19, 2016
nice campground
Jul 17, 2016
The staff was exceptional, campgrounds are a bit small and our water didn't work. The proximity to I65 was a bit noisy and took away some of the nature aspect, but still a worthwhile stay. Enjoyed the amenities very much!
Jul 12, 2016
The site in which I stayed in with elevated yet there was no grass covering Kama that night there were tremendous storms running through Kentucky and the site instantly turned into mud thick mud. Also there was a trench that had run through this elevated campsite from running water. Finally the Wi-Fi signal is so weak in the campground that I had trouble pulling up basic web pages
Jul 12, 2016
Jul 11, 2016
The price was right and the staff were extremely helpful. Considering that the Mammoth Cave area is rife with tourist traps other than the caves we wanted to see, we appreciated the value for money and the privacy of the tent camping area.
Jul 09, 2016
Everything was good. No complaints.
Jul 07, 2016
Jul 03, 2016
Great facilities, especially if you have little ones. Only downside was that we wanted a tent site with electric and when we reserved online it said their were none but no one ever checked into those sites.
Jun 29, 2016
Well maintained, friendly staff.
Jun 29, 2016
Few things around the campground need to be addressed. The sign on the bill board needs to be redone. Logo sign needs to be replaced. Mini golf area needs to either be torn done or fixed up. Advertising in the directories is false and misleading. Also, bank where you fix needs to be repaired. There is a hole that people can fall into and get hurt. I almost did. Other than that, nice area.
Jun 27, 2016
We stayed on site T20, which was big and nice, and shady. It easily for our 9 person tent. The firewood delivery service was awesome! (Could you do ice too?) There was no close-by water access which was an issue in 90-degree heat. The bathhouse was clean-ish, but ran out of supplies more than once during our 2 night stay. The pool was dirty - jumped in to cool off, but didn't stay.
Jun 19, 2016
Very noisy alone a highway. Pool was dirty. Dangerous open fan to blow up the jumping pillow. Just 2 toilets and no urinal. It can be a nice place but needs an overhaul. O and speed limit is 4.5 mph!!! while the local grew flies low with the golf carts!!!
Jun 16, 2016
Jun 13, 2016
Staff was super friendly! Lots to do that's fun for kids. Down sides: The water pressure and temperature control in the showers was terrible. Located off an exit with Very run down buildings and adult store down the street. Located right next to the expressway & you hear the traffic & horns honking. It wasn't horrible, but I will drive further to stay somewhere else next time.
Jun 13, 2016
Had my Scout troop here for a weekend. Nice tent sites, plenty of shade. Very nice and clean rest rooms and showers. Helpful, friendly staff. Right next to the freeway but after a while you pretty much tune out the noise. Thanks!
Jun 09, 2016
Jun 06, 2016
the staff was nice the park was clean but really need to update that putt putt
May 31, 2016
Very clean facility and close to the interstate. Stay there Memorial weekend when they were very busy the place was clean and beautiful. I did have to take cold showers but that's what I expect when the place is full with people. If you don't like cold showers when a campsite is full please stay in a hotel. I would give it 5 stars but it's really not that big of a camp site which is okay with me.
May 31, 2016
Stayed 3 nights in a tent on tent site. Flood light pointed right at tent site. Campground too close to freeway hard to sleep at night due to freeway noise maybe better in camper. No warm water for showers. I won't even use the word hot just was hoping for warm. The grounds themselves were in good shape and staff was courteous. I think if you were in a camper it would be better.
May 31, 2016
It was Memorial Day weekend and was busy but the showers were freezing and there was no hot water on Saturday-Monday morning! But it was an awesome campsite with great campsites and great stuff like the pool and easy access to Mammoth Cave! Very likely to stay again!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am so sorry for no hot water. I have placed my order for bigger hot water tanks. So if you come back you will have hot water.
Apr 04, 2016
Thanks for opening up the tent sites for us. Much Appreciated.
Feb 16, 2016
The stay was great. The staff was very nice and we had a great time.
Oct 26, 2015
Very clean restrooms, enjoyed the animals, great view from the camping sites on the west side of the KOA. Loved our visit!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy