Horse Cave KOA

KOA AVE

Horse Cave, KY 42749

Reserve: 800-562-2809

Info: 270-786-2819

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2

Tent Reviews

Aug 31, 2015
Very nice
Aug 30, 2015
Very close to the freeway, kinda noisy at night. Tent sites are very small and unlevel. Great for rv's or campers tho. Very clean & not many bugs- probably for the chickens roaming around. The chickens are awesome! Would stay there again, even in a tent !
Aug 25, 2015
Nice place. Good facilities. Only tent camped 1 night and did not use the pool so have limited input.
Aug 16, 2015
Great place for a family to camp.
Aug 11, 2015
The first site that we were assigned to was way too small, and butted up to a hill. We ended up at a better site w/out electric, wasn't a big deal. The pool was clean, laundry was nice, bathrooms were clean & cool. The surrounding area didn't seem the best, a lot of police activity. We left a night early due to storm.
Aug 11, 2015
The office was closed at 8 pm. I thought this was an early hour at which to close the office. There were no urinals in the men's restroom. I thought this was odd.
Aug 09, 2015
The campground is mostly on gravel and we had to try many sites before we could get our tent pegs into the ground. And it's right next to the freeway so we heard the semi trucks all night. Pool was very nice.
Aug 05, 2015
Like the stay. Was not crazy about the site we were given the streetlight shined in our tent all night. Was a little shocked to find chicken in our site every morning, kind of hard to cook around. Other than that everything was fine.
Aug 04, 2015
Excellent visit! Yes the road noise was a bit loud at times, but not enough to disrupt our trip. The facility was very clean and folks were friendly. My only complaint is that the electric/water TENT sites are very small. But we still had a great time and will definitely go back!
Jul 27, 2015
We had a great time will stay here again and it's right off the highway
Jul 23, 2015
Jul 21, 2015
We had a great time there and felt the whole camp was very family friendly! There was a lot for the kids to do that made it extra special.
Jul 18, 2015
Tent sites are difficult for big tents. Looks like they are working on upgrading camp site. They still have more work that needs to be done
Jul 14, 2015
The stay was great when it didn't rain but had a great time.
Jul 13, 2015
Overall, not too bad. Tent sites with hookups were small and not very level. Campground was clean and maintained. It's close to the interstate so you get to listen to road noise all night. They also have farm animals that make noise (rooster and donkey). Probably not the best for tent camping but looked nice for trailers and RV's.
Jul 13, 2015
For the most part, this was a great experience for our family. The pool, however, was extremely cloudy. We couldn't see our legs. We tried it out for a little while, hoping it wasn't too bad. (We did smell chlorine.) Walking around in the pool, we felt leaves and sticks on the floor. For the most part however, our stay was enjoyable.
Jul 01, 2015
The staff are very friendly and helpful. The tent lots are hilly and extremely rocky, make sure you remember to bring a tarp to sent your tent on! My kids enjoyed playing with the animals and the playground area. The pool is nice. There weren't any activities of any kind though, which I generally enjoy. There is only 1 set of bathrooms at the entrance, so I highly recommend bringing a bike!
Jun 30, 2015
Staff were very helpful and accommodating. Facility was clean. I would recommend this to my family and friends.
Jun 15, 2015
Poorly kept.no table or fire bit there when we arrived. The grass wasn't cut so had weeds up to mid calf. Bathroom poorly designed. Flooded whole bathroom when we took one shower.
May 30, 2015
The tent area was in the furthest part of the camp and away from bathrooms. Only 2 stalls and one of the showers leaked so bad a person could take a shower without turning it on. Half of the electricity was not working.
May 27, 2015
everyone was very kind and it's also cozy camping site but the bathroom was small and always occupied with the crowd people. I couldn't take a shower during my stay so came back earlier.
May 26, 2015
May 26, 2015
Great location, nice hill. If it's crowded the hot water is scares.
May 11, 2015
Campground was nice but noise from interstate was loud.
Mar 31, 2015
We had a great time camping at koa. it was easy to find. great hospitality from the workers in the office. firewood was delivered to us for our campfire. we had a great time all around. very enjoyable place to camp. will defiantly be visiting again soon.
Sep 03, 2014
I was forced to stay 3 nights because of the labor day weekend...and camp ground never got full or completely booked! What a scam!
Sep 03, 2014
Very nice and extremely clean facility. Staff were very pleasant. Enjoyed our stay and will stay again.
Sep 02, 2014
Really enjoyed ourselves!
Sep 02, 2014
Staff was not very visible. Had to go hunt them done if you needed something. Mens restrooms need to be updated. The tent site we had did not have a flat spot for us to place our tents.
Aug 05, 2014
It's a great campground with really nice, helpful people, but it's so close to the expressway that you can hear the traffic all night long.
Aug 05, 2014
Very pleasant stay. Clean campground. Friendly staff. Yes it is a couple hundred yards from the highway but even in a tent that wasn't bad.
Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Great location. Friendly staff. Bathrooms are clean.Firewood is delivered to your campsite. Cons: Mini golf course needs repair.The pool ladder is missing a step making it hard to get out of the deep end. Store closes at 8.
Jul 23, 2014
Loved it. No issues whatsoever.
Jul 20, 2014
was a clean campground.. but for tents with water and electric it was not the best... all of these tent sites were on gravel with a little grass...we couldn't even pound the stakes in the ground
Jul 20, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
We have 2 little girls. It was family friendly. The site wasn't very private. We bent up several tent stakes in the HARD gravel/dirt ground. We DID hear I65. Our fans helped. We shared our electricity with neighboring sites. One had NO power and the other had a 220 plug for a tent site! After driving around the area, it is one of the better campgrounds w/extra amenities. Friendly staff. Clean.
Jul 10, 2014
Had a nice stay but bathrooms didn't stay stocked very well and weren't cleaned to good
Jul 03, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
We tent camped. The camping area, listed as grass, was basically a little grass growing on rock making it extremely difficult to drive a tent stake into the ground. Some of the dryers were not working in the laundry room. Consequently, we did not to laundry because of the wait. Pool and showers were clean and well kept.
Jul 01, 2014
Excellent staff and clean facilities. One suggestion would be to repair the road that is along the tent sites on the west side of the campground. This was our second time staying here and we will visit again!
Jun 28, 2014
The staff was very helpful! We had an issue with our reservations and they went out of their way to make it right! Definitely will be back again.
Jun 26, 2014
We really enjoyed our time here. We have 3 young kids and it was our first time tent camping with the family, I was nervous! But it was an easy place to be, the pool and bathrooms were convenient and clean. We had a nice shady spot and the kids were able to safely run around. They really liked the farm and petting the horses! Easy access to our adventures at the caves & Dino World!
Jun 17, 2014
This KOA was very nice, the pool was clean, and the staff were helpful. I read reports about the highway being so close, but for us, even in a tent, the noise never bothered. It was a very quiet, peaceful setting with great views and lots of trees. Our boys enjoyed the fishing pond, mini-golf, and the pool. I appreciated the hot showers with a dry area, bench, and hooks to hang things.
Jun 16, 2014
Overall liked the property, but didn't appreciate the check in when the girl told us we booked water OR electric, but not both. Made me feel stupid in front of the other people in the lobby.
May 29, 2014
May 28, 2014
The staff at the Horse Cave KOA was extremely attentive and quick to respond to our every request. They were knowledgeable about the area and very helpful with directions. Over all this was one of my favorite camping trips. Thank you Horse Cave KOA!
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
Very nice campground with a lot of amentities. Some sites seemed a little small. Located next to a lot of activities as well. Staff was very nice and did daily trash pick up!
May 27, 2014
We had a wonderful time at this clean, beautiful KOA. The tents sites could have been a little closer to the restrooms but we still enjoyed our stay.
May 27, 2014
The staff was great. Lots of road noise. The roads in the campground are unpaved and dusty, since you camp right in the road it is a problem. The bathhouse was dirty and in need of repair. It is very small and cramped. There are other campgrounds closer to Mammoth and if we ever go back we will probably try somewhere else.
  1. 1
  2. 2

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.