Horse Cave KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-2809

Info: 270-786-2819

Email

KOA AVE

489 Flint Ridge Road

Horse Cave, KY 42749

Get Directions

Camper Rating 3.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Jun 27, 2016
We stayed on site T20, which was big and nice, and shady. It easily for our 9 person tent. The firewood delivery service was awesome! (Could you do ice too?) There was no close-by water access which was an issue in 90-degree heat. The bathhouse was clean-ish, but ran out of supplies more than once during our 2 night stay. The pool was dirty - jumped in to cool off, but didn't stay.
Jun 19, 2016
Very noisy alone a highway. Pool was dirty. Dangerous open fan to blow up the jumping pillow. Just 2 toilets and no urinal. It can be a nice place but needs an overhaul. O and speed limit is 4.5 mph!!! while the local grew flies low with the golf carts!!!
Jun 16, 2016
Jun 13, 2016
Staff was super friendly! Lots to do that's fun for kids. Down sides: The water pressure and temperature control in the showers was terrible. Located off an exit with Very run down buildings and adult store down the street. Located right next to the expressway & you hear the traffic & horns honking. It wasn't horrible, but I will drive further to stay somewhere else next time.
Jun 13, 2016
Had my Scout troop here for a weekend. Nice tent sites, plenty of shade. Very nice and clean rest rooms and showers. Helpful, friendly staff. Right next to the freeway but after a while you pretty much tune out the noise. Thanks!
Jun 09, 2016
Jun 06, 2016
the staff was nice the park was clean but really need to update that putt putt
May 31, 2016
Very clean facility and close to the interstate. Stay there Memorial weekend when they were very busy the place was clean and beautiful. I did have to take cold showers but that's what I expect when the place is full with people. If you don't like cold showers when a campsite is full please stay in a hotel. I would give it 5 stars but it's really not that big of a camp site which is okay with me.
May 31, 2016
Stayed 3 nights in a tent on tent site. Flood light pointed right at tent site. Campground too close to freeway hard to sleep at night due to freeway noise maybe better in camper. No warm water for showers. I won't even use the word hot just was hoping for warm. The grounds themselves were in good shape and staff was courteous. I think if you were in a camper it would be better.
May 31, 2016
It was Memorial Day weekend and was busy but the showers were freezing and there was no hot water on Saturday-Monday morning! But it was an awesome campsite with great campsites and great stuff like the pool and easy access to Mammoth Cave! Very likely to stay again!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am so sorry for no hot water. I have placed my order for bigger hot water tanks. So if you come back you will have hot water.
Apr 04, 2016
Thanks for opening up the tent sites for us. Much Appreciated.
Feb 16, 2016
The stay was great. The staff was very nice and we had a great time.
Oct 26, 2015
Very clean restrooms, enjoyed the animals, great view from the camping sites on the west side of the KOA. Loved our visit!
Oct 19, 2015
Sep 28, 2015
the place was clean, but very loud. there were cars driving to the back house all night long, every 30 minutes to hour. Very loud next to the highway.
Sep 09, 2015
Excellent campground
Sep 08, 2015
It was quiet and the statf was friendly. The bathrooms were very clean. The mini golf course could use some up keep. Other than that it was a great stay.
Aug 31, 2015
Very nice
Aug 30, 2015
Very close to the freeway, kinda noisy at night. Tent sites are very small and unlevel. Great for rv's or campers tho. Very clean & not many bugs- probably for the chickens roaming around. The chickens are awesome! Would stay there again, even in a tent !
Aug 25, 2015
Nice place. Good facilities. Only tent camped 1 night and did not use the pool so have limited input.
Aug 16, 2015
Great place for a family to camp.
Aug 11, 2015
The first site that we were assigned to was way too small, and butted up to a hill. We ended up at a better site w/out electric, wasn't a big deal. The pool was clean, laundry was nice, bathrooms were clean & cool. The surrounding area didn't seem the best, a lot of police activity. We left a night early due to storm.
Aug 11, 2015
The office was closed at 8 pm. I thought this was an early hour at which to close the office. There were no urinals in the men's restroom. I thought this was odd.
Aug 09, 2015
The campground is mostly on gravel and we had to try many sites before we could get our tent pegs into the ground. And it's right next to the freeway so we heard the semi trucks all night. Pool was very nice.
Aug 05, 2015
Like the stay. Was not crazy about the site we were given the streetlight shined in our tent all night. Was a little shocked to find chicken in our site every morning, kind of hard to cook around. Other than that everything was fine.
Aug 04, 2015
Excellent visit! Yes the road noise was a bit loud at times, but not enough to disrupt our trip. The facility was very clean and folks were friendly. My only complaint is that the electric/water TENT sites are very small. But we still had a great time and will definitely go back!
Jul 27, 2015
We had a great time will stay here again and it's right off the highway
Jul 23, 2015
Jul 21, 2015
We had a great time there and felt the whole camp was very family friendly! There was a lot for the kids to do that made it extra special.
Jul 18, 2015
Tent sites are difficult for big tents. Looks like they are working on upgrading camp site. They still have more work that needs to be done
Jul 14, 2015
The stay was great when it didn't rain but had a great time.
Jul 13, 2015
Overall, not too bad. Tent sites with hookups were small and not very level. Campground was clean and maintained. It's close to the interstate so you get to listen to road noise all night. They also have farm animals that make noise (rooster and donkey). Probably not the best for tent camping but looked nice for trailers and RV's.
Jul 13, 2015
For the most part, this was a great experience for our family. The pool, however, was extremely cloudy. We couldn't see our legs. We tried it out for a little while, hoping it wasn't too bad. (We did smell chlorine.) Walking around in the pool, we felt leaves and sticks on the floor. For the most part however, our stay was enjoyable.
Jul 01, 2015
The staff are very friendly and helpful. The tent lots are hilly and extremely rocky, make sure you remember to bring a tarp to sent your tent on! My kids enjoyed playing with the animals and the playground area. The pool is nice. There weren't any activities of any kind though, which I generally enjoy. There is only 1 set of bathrooms at the entrance, so I highly recommend bringing a bike!
Jun 30, 2015
Staff were very helpful and accommodating. Facility was clean. I would recommend this to my family and friends.
Jun 15, 2015
Poorly kept.no table or fire bit there when we arrived. The grass wasn't cut so had weeds up to mid calf. Bathroom poorly designed. Flooded whole bathroom when we took one shower.
May 30, 2015
The tent area was in the furthest part of the camp and away from bathrooms. Only 2 stalls and one of the showers leaked so bad a person could take a shower without turning it on. Half of the electricity was not working.
May 27, 2015
everyone was very kind and it's also cozy camping site but the bathroom was small and always occupied with the crowd people. I couldn't take a shower during my stay so came back earlier.
May 26, 2015
May 26, 2015
Great location, nice hill. If it's crowded the hot water is scares.
May 11, 2015
Campground was nice but noise from interstate was loud.
Mar 31, 2015
We had a great time camping at koa. it was easy to find. great hospitality from the workers in the office. firewood was delivered to us for our campfire. we had a great time all around. very enjoyable place to camp. will defiantly be visiting again soon.
Sep 03, 2014
I was forced to stay 3 nights because of the labor day weekend...and camp ground never got full or completely booked! What a scam!
Sep 03, 2014
Very nice and extremely clean facility. Staff were very pleasant. Enjoyed our stay and will stay again.
Sep 02, 2014
Really enjoyed ourselves!
Sep 02, 2014
Staff was not very visible. Had to go hunt them done if you needed something. Mens restrooms need to be updated. The tent site we had did not have a flat spot for us to place our tents.
Aug 05, 2014
It's a great campground with really nice, helpful people, but it's so close to the expressway that you can hear the traffic all night long.
Aug 05, 2014
Very pleasant stay. Clean campground. Friendly staff. Yes it is a couple hundred yards from the highway but even in a tent that wasn't bad.
Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Great location. Friendly staff. Bathrooms are clean.Firewood is delivered to your campsite. Cons: Mini golf course needs repair.The pool ladder is missing a step making it hard to get out of the deep end. Store closes at 8.
Jul 23, 2014
Loved it. No issues whatsoever.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals