Horse Cave KOA

KOA AVE

Horse Cave, KY 42749

Reserve: 800-562-2809

Info: 270-786-2819

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 27, 2013
The roads in the camp are very narrow. The 50 amp sites are terrible. They are not level. We could not level our unit no matter how many blocks we used without at least 1 wheel off the ground (which is not safe to do). The 30 amp sites were more level, but we could not run both air conditioners. The staff were very nice and moved us to a 30, but the camp in general is for suitable for big units
Jun 27, 2013
Great staff. Very helpful. Not a level site in the whole place.
Jun 26, 2013
The farm right behind our site wasnt on any picture representing this KOA Park. I am allergic to hay (I DID NOT choose to stay on a farm). The roosters chose to stand under our RV to wake us up EVERY morning at 4 AM as well as the donkey screamed a lot! Besides the farm not on the site map we had seen, the highway did not show as close as it was. The lack of trees, made the engine brakes audible.
Jun 26, 2013
Very upset. I planned on staying 3 nights with my family in a cabin. Roaches were every where, we could not stomach a night there. We packed up at dark and went to a hotel. The office at the koa was closed til the next morning. I was not reimbursed for the night we bugged out. I also had to pay more for a hotel. I could not get them on the phone to talk to a manager. Very disappointed.
Jun 25, 2013
Jun 24, 2013
Jun 24, 2013
We were put in a site along side the main camp road - we couldn't sit outside without eating dust everytime a car went by. Very poor layout. Dumpstation was also backwards. Had to leave to turn around and come back to get at it. Poor layout.
Jun 24, 2013
Jun 24, 2013
Jun 23, 2013
I wanted to pay cash and have the deposit taken off my credit card and office girl said she couldn't do it. Bathrooms broken and needed toilet paper.
Jun 23, 2013
Very nice campground, the staff was very freindly and helpful. We stayed in one of the full hookup pull thur sites and found that the site was not very level. Even with leveling blocks we could not get the camper level. This was the only thing we found to be a problem.
Jun 23, 2013
We have stayed in your camp before but not this year. We would drive by as your sites are very small for a 40 ft RV and tough to get in and out. We are 90% KOA campers
Jun 21, 2013
The staff was friendly. The tent site was grassy and flat. The facilities were clean, but the shower head didn't work very well. There was a lot of road noise throughout the night.
Jun 20, 2013
Nice facility, shady sites and a nice view. Staff very helpful. Restroom/shower facilities were spotless. Mapquest might get you lost; campground is right off the interstate at exit 58.
Jun 19, 2013
Jun 17, 2013
Jun 17, 2013
Get rid of the rooters. 5:15 is a but early to be woken up...
Jun 17, 2013
Good stay. Enjoyed the playground and farm animals. Two minor issues: there was a sign advertising kids stay free for Father's Day weekend but we were charged for our 2 kids; when I reserved online it said we were on the lower level yet that's not where we were placed. Lower level is closer to the playground for the kids. Clean park though, including shower house, and easy check-in/out.
Jun 17, 2013
We arrived at 8:10pm just as the pool was closing, BUMMER! Got to our cabin and were really happy with it, they even included some fire wood, we did have to get a light from the neighbors that were some cool about it. The beds were OK. The best was being woke up in the morning with the chickens and mules. Good Place, but get there early to enjoy the pool and putt-putt. We'll go again soon!
Jun 17, 2013
Jun 16, 2013
Pool was very cloudy,couldn't see feet & was told it's always like that. Camp ground had MANY roosters that start waking everyone around 4:30 a.m. I don't wake up that early for work, much less for vacation. The plus is that our deluxe cabin was clean.
Jun 16, 2013
The kids loved the farm animals + the deer that grazed in the mornings & evenings. We had a great time & plenty to do all day at the campground without sightseeing.
Jun 14, 2013
KOA was fine for an overnight stay as it is right next to the highway. Campground was clean and we enjoyed watching the farm animals.
Jun 12, 2013
FIRST CAMPSITE WASN'T GREAT BUT THEY WERE VERY FRIENDLY AND LET ME MOVE TO A NICE ONE. OWNERS AND STAFF ARE GREAT!
Jun 11, 2013
We loved it there!We really loved the Cabin that we stayed in. We have stayed @ other K.O.A. camp grounds before in the smaller cabins. No compairison!! We loved EVERYTHING about the cabins and the camp grounds. Right down to the animal farm with the white rabbits & the wild turkey & the PIG!!! The fishing pond and all else was great Too !! We will & have told others!!!! Larry & Sherry Shatzer
Jun 11, 2013
The tent area was rocky, uneven, not properly marked, parking was difficult. I didn't even stay, I paid but left. I know it was tent only, no hook-up but there should be a decent place to put your vehicle and tent.
Jun 10, 2013
We loved the cabin. But we had to leave unexpectedly. I was disappointed with the policy of no refund or at least a voucher for another stay. So other than that I was very happy with the campground. Loved the animals.
Jun 10, 2013
Campground was clean, restrooms were kept very clean as well. The staff was very polite and made the stay even better. It was a very good weekend.
Jun 09, 2013
Jun 09, 2013
Jun 09, 2013
The campground and cabin was very clean and well kept. We were surprised that the cabin bed already had linens on and made up on our arrival. The cost for the night was very reasonable.
Jun 09, 2013
We had 4 people in our group and there was only linens for 2 in our cabin. We thought linens were furnished. So our stay was not that great.
Jun 08, 2013
Not much there.The first spot was out in the open by a horse barn that smelled,picked our own that was better.The restroom and showers were clean and hot water.Not any campers but us.Needs make over.
Jun 07, 2013
Great staff and always have a pleasant stay while in KY.
Jun 07, 2013
Very clean with lots of shade
Jun 06, 2013
Jun 05, 2013
We come back definitely! Very, very nice place)))
Jun 04, 2013
staff seemed more interested in their texting than service. only KOA I have stayed where I was not lead to my site. Only KOA where I didn't have cable. Doubtful I will return to this particular KOA.
Jun 03, 2013
We were there just before school was out so things were no setup yet (e.g. the pool was empty) but the crews were working hard getting everything ready for the summer months. Park was clean. If practical, you might look into a shuttle service to take people to some of the attractions in the area.
Jun 02, 2013
Great family stay. Loved the little cabin, pool, playground, farm animals nearby, duck pond, friendly staff. The only thing I'd suggest is spraying your grounds for mosquitos. We, and our kids, got eaten up on the playground and at our cabin even with spray on....they were REALLY bad. Beyond that, we love this place. It was our 2nd stay and we'll be back again!
Jun 01, 2013
Second year we have had a family reunion there; plan to be there again next year. Great central location for family from OH, WV, TN, FL, AL, KY, AR.
May 31, 2013
We were at a tent site and were underwhelmed with the quality of the site. The sites were on the side of a hill and didn't provide a lot of space for tent, vehicle, camp equipment, etc. We were lucky that other tent sites weren't being utilized next to us, otherwise, we would have been very cramped and unhappy. There was only one bathroom facility which made it a long walk with our 3 kids.
May 31, 2013
Location was great, the Employees were fantastic and very helpful and the whole camp ground was very clean. Great place to stay if going to tour Mammoth Cave.
May 30, 2013
Very nice place to stay. Very friendly and helpful employees. Clean. Well taken care of. LOVED the farm animals! They were entertaining! Would come back when in the area again. Nice touch with picking up garage if you set it out at the edge of your site everyday. Thanks for a great experience!
May 28, 2013
It was a clean parks with nice bathrooms...The pool was a little small and the sites were crouded. They are trying to pack to much into such a small place...The site behind me had to park his truck within inches of my camper.
May 28, 2013
Great stay and perfect weather. Our only complaint was the feint hw noise. Other than that, a great location with wonderful staff that are always around the property taking care of it as well as guests.
May 28, 2013
Was disappointed that there was only one shower house. Had to take cold showers and wasn't happy about that. Only two bathroom stalls, since the third was out of order and the hand dryer was out of order also. Had to tell staff they needed tp in bathroom too. other than that our stay was pleasant.
May 28, 2013
They were super nice and the cabins were very clean and well maintained.
May 28, 2013
Cabins too close to freeway but other than that an excellent value.
May 28, 2013
Bathroom stayed dirty, toilet and hand dryer broken, no one attempting to fix, paper towels always out. Bathrooms too far from sites. See saws on playground too dangerous, noise from highway disturbing.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.