Horse Cave KOA

KOA AVE

Horse Cave, KY 42749

Reserve: 800-562-2809

Info: 270-786-2819

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Apr 08, 2013
Restroom facilities were very clean at all times! My children loved the miniature ponies and donkeys too!
Apr 08, 2013
Loud animals everywhere!! Chickens and roosters and donkey waking us us at 6am!!! Chickens were all over our campsite. We had 2 sites and they put is on either side of the main sewer return even though there was no one else down on that part. The sewer was malfunctioning and kept alarming and no one came to fix it. The camp store was closed in the middle of the day for hours for "cleaning"
Apr 08, 2013
The cabin was nice, yet a little chilly even with both heaters on. Our kids loved the playground. And the roaming chickens cracked us up.
Apr 08, 2013
The cabins were very close to the highway so it made it very difficult to sleep with all the traffic noise throughout the night. The cabin itself was very nice and the campground was very clean.
Apr 08, 2013
Pleasant staff, clean grounds and good services. Site wasn't very level.
Apr 08, 2013
Apr 06, 2013
Apr 06, 2013
Apr 05, 2013
Apr 01, 2013
You should install toilet paper holders in the bathrooms of the Kottages. Also another suggestion would be to put more hooks or pegs in the kottages.
Mar 31, 2013
There were 2 young men showering and joking around that were clearly not staying here. They were making jokes at me while I was showering and I was very uncomfortable. One was drinking a can of beer. The doors to the bathroom should be locked and only available to guests. A toilet had feces smeared on the front. A toilet in the women's restroom has been "out of order" since 2010.
Mar 28, 2013
Nice clean bathrooms and friendly staff. Kinda close to highway noise, but not too bad if your near the office. Campground did not have propane to refill our tanks, had to go o another campground to refuel, it was cold during our stay.
Mar 19, 2013
Had an amazing time, will be back with children!
Mar 19, 2013
It was nice to have the new pull thrus but the one we were on could stand to be more level. With the attached car to our RV, we had to pull forward so far that our septic hose would barely reach and we were really out of level.
Mar 18, 2013
Mar 17, 2013
Mar 11, 2013
I would have rated higher but no cable and internet was "spotty".
Mar 10, 2013
Campground was very well maintained! Only reason I give it 4 stars is because it was no fun being awakened before 6 am by roosters and 2 very large, VERY loud turkeys!!
Jan 18, 2013
Jan 15, 2013
we arrived late and left early, so we didn't have time to enjoy the campground. The cabin was clean and comfortable. the gravel roads washed out in places
Jan 07, 2013
Jan 01, 2013
Whom ever constructed the sites was drunk or incompetent. The site was so out of level that I could not level the coach. This KOA is only suitable for towed RVs and not motor homes.
Dec 31, 2012
The staff was friendly and helpful! The facilities were clean and in good repair.
Dec 14, 2012
Cabin was dirty. Ceiling fan was thick with dirt. Dead bugs in the window sills. Mouse trap/poison station near sink. I was told that linens were not provided, so I went through a lot of effort to pack everything, then linens were provided. Made reservation to bring dogs with us, then got a cabin with a 'No Dogs' sign on the door. Could hear highway traffic. Not a pleasant "cabin in the woods"
Dec 10, 2012
Just spent 1 nite there on our way to FL.
Nov 27, 2012
Check-in was fast and easy. The staff was friendly. The cabin however was dirty and shower did not properly operate. This must be an older cabin that has not been taken care of well. Past experience with KOA Kamping Cabins have been great, not so at Horse Cave KOA. I do not recomend staying at this KOA unless they begin to maintain the cabins.
Nov 19, 2012
Nov 17, 2012
Not a great location. Seems to be pretty much a truckers exit with Adult entertainment in TOO CLOSE PROXIMITY.
Nov 12, 2012
Charged for a "premium" site which was literally uphill (no way to get level). Talked to office; manager was to email us and give us a credit. Have not heard a word. Very, very dissatisfied. Would never go there again.
Nov 09, 2012
Might be better in the summer. There were 3 rvs there. We had to curve around a tree.
Nov 09, 2012
site too angled to allow leveling. keep chickens away from campers.
Nov 04, 2012
It was nice and we enjoyed our stay. We just became members in October and are looking forward to staying at the KOA's across the country for years to come. we like having a bonfire to relax in front of our camper kabins at all the locations after our long drives on our driving vacations.
Nov 04, 2012
gggrrreeeaattt
Nov 02, 2012
Oct 30, 2012
Much happier with new front doors and heat/air. Would love if you all could fix the fouton so it doesn't slide off when sitted on. Maybe add a few necessities i.e. can opener, large spoon, dish soap. Things that are easily forgotten. Love the changes. We stay there a lot. My son loves the farm animals. The chickens came right up to the cabin. He loved it.
Oct 28, 2012
The proximity to the highway resulted in excessive highway noise that made even sleeping impossible.
Oct 24, 2012
This camp ground was very close to the highway and was extremely loud both day and night. Also, 2 out of 3 toilets were out of order in the women's bathroom and the one that worked had no toilet paper.
Oct 23, 2012
Nice cabins! Didn't like the rooster! Beautiful scenery. Great location to see Kentucky Down Under. Nice campfire site. Liked golfing for free, was alot of fun. Coin washer and dryers would be nice and a few more items in camp store, like milk. Also, with the fire wood it would be nice to get some newspaper & pieces of cardboard to start the fire. I loved the saved pop tabs and recycling cans!
Oct 22, 2012
Great location and our son loved the animals. Cabin was very cozy. Could have been a little cleaner...ceiling fans covered in dust and we had to pick up a few trash items left by previous guests.
Oct 21, 2012
No tv or cable
Oct 21, 2012
The site was a drive-thru with easy access and level. The price seems appropriate for the season.
Oct 21, 2012
pull thru site had so much slope it was dangerous to raise the trailer high enough to unhitch.
Oct 20, 2012
Bathrooms and laundry need upgrading.
Oct 20, 2012
Oct 14, 2012
This place is amazing! It really allows you to escape from all of your troubles.
Oct 10, 2012
I booked our site over the phone and was told that we would be given a site number when we arrived. When we showed up (at check-in time)we had to wait over an hour beause no-one was in the office, or on site. When the girl finally showed up she looked like she had just climbed out of bed and was not very friendly. The campground was okay, but the start to our trip really hurt our opinion.
Oct 10, 2012
Internet was not available as a result of a storm but there was no television available as the owners have not provided cable and this site has no over air reception as a result of the mountainous terrain. Also extremely difficult to level your RV in the 50 amp sites as a they have a steep grade.
Oct 09, 2012
Oct 08, 2012
Oct 07, 2012
WE were a "late" arrival. There were no sign-in envelopes at the kiosk. The following morning we had no trouble getting everything cleared up at the front desk. We were told the wind had blown the informatioin away during a rain storm the night before. Quiet, shady camp area. Very clean and tidy!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.