Horse Cave KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-2809

Info: 270-786-2819



Horse Cave, KY 42749

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am


Check-in: 4:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 3.5 out of 5

Based on 893 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Apr 14, 2015
Very close to the highway and noisy. Could see the highway from our site. Cabin was nice
Apr 14, 2015
Men's room/showers could use updating or a family bathroom put in. No outside sink area or kitchen type area for tent campers. Over all, I enjoyed my stay.
Apr 13, 2015
Campground sites and restrooms were clean and the staff was very nice.
Apr 13, 2015
Staff was friendly and helpful. Campground was clean. Kids loved playground and basketball goal. Just wished there were walking trails close by.
Apr 13, 2015
We visited on April 9th. So before peak season. The good, right off the highway, close to all attractions, nice little farm inside the grounds with donkeys, chickens, and turkeys, nice scenery, laid back staff, never got bothered. The bad, too close to highway, need noise barriers, lights in the park are way too bright, felt like daylight sitting around the fire, did not the typical KOA services
Apr 13, 2015
We had a wonderful stay at the Horse Cave KOA. The cabin was clean, and there is so much to do around the area. We will definitely be returning!
Apr 13, 2015
Staff friendly. Campground clean. Wish they had provided some things in cabin like utensils, plates, bowls, and hairdryer.
Apr 13, 2015
This campground is always a great place to stay. It is never too crowded, there is a nice stocked pond with large catfish, and the sites are well maintained. The only reason I didn't rate it a 5 star was because it is so close to the interstate.
Apr 11, 2015
Nice cabin, could use more hooks or shelves for storage. Could hear road noise, wifi didn't work. We stayed 2 nights with 2 kids, we had to request bedding for the futon and a coffee pot. Bench on porch was damaged, was mad about "no cooking in cabin" sign, that is why I book KOA with kitchen instead of hotel!
Apr 11, 2015
The full hook up pull through sites are problematic when it comes to leveling up. Also lots of traffic noise from nearby highway. Love the farm animals!
Apr 10, 2015
Very limited items to purchase in the store. Putt Putt course very run down. Cabin was nice, but shower needs door so it doesn't spray out into the toilet area. Window curtains by the main futon did not stay up on window. No directions/information in the cabin on how to use the T.V. Limited knowledge of info. for basic questions on the area from the staff. Not enough towels.
Apr 09, 2015
View was disappointingly of the highway & you hear trucks but spent most time visiting nearby attractions. Staff was nice but failed to tell us mattress protectors were removed prior to our arrival due to varnishing inside of cabin & they didn't have time to put new ones on before we got there. Gross!! Forgot cell phone charger in cabin, requested it be mailed at my expense, never got it back.
Apr 08, 2015
Staff was very friendly. I would rate it 5 stars, but the sites were not level. They sloped up enough, that a large RV cannot get level.
Apr 08, 2015
Very clean and friendly staff. The only thing that I didn't care for was the the campground is right off the freeway so at night that's what I listened too. But I would stay here again!
Apr 06, 2015
Apr 06, 2015
Apr 05, 2015
Nice campground lots of stuff for little kids to do. Clean bath house. Kinda close to the highway so expect a little roar from that, easy access to sites. Kids liked the farm animals at the lower sites, you'll here the rooster in the morning, and see some turkeys strutting around their yard. All Fun.
Apr 03, 2015
We stayed in a deluxe cabin. Cabin was cute. The down side was the noise. Noise from the interstate and farm animals. Gaps along floor you could actually see outside. The fridge must have been on Fritz it bearly kept thing cold. Down side is after 5pm office was closed and you were on your own.
Apr 02, 2015
Smooth, late arrival. Clean bathrooms. Hot showers. Enjoyed our brief stay.
Apr 01, 2015
Water running from another campsite after a broken pipe. Took 3 hours for someone to come turn it off
Mar 31, 2015
We stayed Friday night through Monday morning. The facilities were in nice shape but the bathrooms were not resupplied and the office was closed on sunday so we did not have access to the "free" mini golf or other amenities. The location was nice, being close to several attractions.
Mar 31, 2015
We had a great time camping at koa. it was easy to find. great hospitality from the workers in the office. firewood was delivered to us for our campfire. we had a great time all around. very enjoyable place to camp. will defiantly be visiting again soon.
Mar 28, 2015
We arrived late in the evening (11:00pm) in an RV. Your location was very convenient. Unfortunately, we could not set up in our assigned full hookup site, because it was too unleveled. We moved to an open water/electric site, hoping no one would come in after us. It seems fair to give campers a warning about the issue as they are making reservations. We would have only paid for water/electric.
Mar 28, 2015
Bathrooms need attention, cold water in showers, no pressure in showers, really small showers! Friendly at desk.
Mar 27, 2015
Mar 23, 2015
The pull newer thru sites are not very level.
Mar 04, 2015
first of march cold and just an overnight stay but I'm sure in camping season it would be great plenty of things to do. would be nice to have cable.
Feb 21, 2015
Weather caused us to leave a day early. We could not get in touch with the office to see if we could get a refund or credit for the night. No one answered the phone no voicemail tried calling 4 times.
Jan 25, 2015
Jan 20, 2015
Dec 29, 2014
It was a shame that it was so rainy during our stay. Even with the rain, our site was not overly wet.
Dec 05, 2014
The campground was clean and organized, and the person in the office I dealt with was very helpful.
Dec 04, 2014
Nov 25, 2014
The people at the office were super friendly from the minute I walked in until check out time. I loved the animals on the grounds and the cabin was wonderful. Loved being able to cook breakfast on the firepit and have such a great environment!!
Nov 24, 2014
Nov 20, 2014
Nov 12, 2014
Nov 06, 2014
Would have appreciated guidance into our site. Site was not well maintained.
Nov 03, 2014
Kinda hard to say a lot. Dead part of the season, and we were only there for one night. We did enjoy our stay, the cabin was ready for us when we got there and we enjoyed a camp fire.
Nov 01, 2014
Owners great. Grounds clean and a pleasant place to stay
Oct 29, 2014
Love the setting - beautiful! And we love the animals too!
Oct 28, 2014
Friendly staff, quiet campground even though near interstate. Lovely wooded area.
Oct 27, 2014
Oct 27, 2014
Great time, quiet campground (other than the interstate)I would recommend it and stay again.
Oct 24, 2014
Clean and friendly. Good for an overnight stay while traveling. Very slum looking entrance before entering koa.
Oct 23, 2014
Oct 23, 2014
The site we were given for our 36ft MH was so out of level that we had the rear wheels off the ground 4" and still not level. Water pressure went to a dribble at 10PM and never came back. The free WIFI would connect to their network but we had no internet service, I had spent so long trying to level the MH that when I discovered no WIFI the office was closed.
Oct 21, 2014
Very nice
Oct 21, 2014
Had a great visit in October with grandkids and great grandkids they loved the playground, we will be back.
Oct 21, 2014
wifi didn't work. to noisy and camped on a unlevel site. only stayed one night out of two as there was no tv stations or cable. didn't get any money back just a credit to stay again. No thanks

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.

Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals