Horse Cave KOA

KOA AVE

Horse Cave, KY 42749

Reserve: 800-562-2809

Info: 270-786-2819

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 03, 2013
The condition of the pool water was only fair...too green and cloudy. Other than that, the stay was very nice.
Aug 03, 2013
Easy to access, sites are spacious, very well maintained grounds are a great place to take a morning stroll. Tiering of sites leads a non crowded feeling and very quiet.
Aug 01, 2013
This was our least pleasant KOA experience. No one escorted us to our Kabin. The pool is in disrepair. The freeway is but a stone's throw away. The place was practically deserted when we were there at the end of July, and had a lonely and depressing vibe about it. If not for the proximity to local attractions, I wouldn't give it any stars at all. I would not recommend this KOA to anyone.
Jul 30, 2013
Facilities were clean and staff great but WAY TOO CLOSE TO THE INTERSTATE!
Jul 30, 2013
All 50 Amp sites are on the side of a hill. had to put 6in ramps under rear wheels and 12in blocks under right jacks. tried to cancel second night was denied
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
The campground and restrooms were clean. We had a nice back in full hook up site. The area was well maintained. The pool was green. That was disappointing, but the kids swam in it anyway. The area and seating around the pool was nice. Playground was great for the kids. The staff was friendly. All in all for the money it wasn't a bad place to stay.
Jul 29, 2013
Beautiful location. Had the basics. But, tent sites were small and sloped. We had a light pole shining down on our site the entire night-very bright. Noisy with highway and nearby farm animals. One shower wouldn't regulate water temp and bathrooms weren't too clean. Run down and not maintained mini golf. No trash dumpster.
Jul 29, 2013
No issues other than interstate nose. Good people!
Jul 28, 2013
Friendly and helpful stay. Loved the activities they had there for the children. Negative would be the noisy interstate..
Jul 28, 2013
Jul 27, 2013
This is mostly an unremarkable KOA. The pool appears to be shared with the hotel off of the street in front of it, you will hear highway road noise as it's just a few hundred yards from the expressway, and the sites are average. It's clean and well maintained though. We stayed just to have easy access to Mammoth Caves. You could do worse.
Jul 27, 2013
Very friendly staff, bathrooms clean. Pool not as clean. Miniature golf course needs work, clubs should be replaced. Overall appearance and individual sites neat and clean, well maintained. Invest in new washing machines! Dryers are fine.
Jul 27, 2013
Loved this KOA, staff was very nice and helpfull, very clean, our kids enjoyed all the attractions, very closed to a lot of them, thanks!
Jul 26, 2013
The facilities were very nice. But it was understaffed. However, I would not recommend staying in a Kabin. Our Kabin was right near the barn. The (4) roosters woke us up all the time. If the roosters were not there, I would rate this KOA higher.
Jul 26, 2013
Worst KOA we have stayed at. Dirty pool and bathrooms. Bathrooms out of order. Very disappointed...especially with pool since it was very hot during our stay. We expect a lot more from a KOA than from other campgrounds...this one does not meet those standards.
Jul 26, 2013
friendly people with comfortable camp sites with electric and wifi; kept the family up to date on my trip, what could be better?
Jul 24, 2013
The staff was really nice & helpful. But, there were issues with our cabin. The futon had large holes on both side. One side had a rag stuffed in it. The staff replaced it. The shower was scalding hot. The plate behind the control was wrong. To get a somewhat tolerable temperature, you had to put the control on 'hot'. 'Cold' was scalding. Mouse droppings in the drawers & the floor was not sw
Jul 24, 2013
you need a bigger sign at the entrance just off the freeway.
Jul 23, 2013
Jul 23, 2013
Was very clean and well maintained. The staff was attentive and friendly. Fun activities for the whole family. The kids loved the friendly deer that walked through being petted.
Jul 23, 2013
It was a nice campground! Sadly our pull through site was hardly a camping site. We were basically on the roadway camping. Did not enjoy the campsite at all but did love the farm environment and animals were awesome, mini golf was great, bathroom was clean, pool was great! Other then the campsite itself the campground was great! Would stay again with a better site!
Jul 23, 2013
Very clean. The Jellystone had a much larger offering for the kids and might stay there in the future.
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
The little ranch behind us with ponies, donkeys, pigs, chickens, rabbits and ducks was a lot of fun for the kids. We did have a large mud hole on our site and all the other sites in that row that could have been graveled and been much cleaner.
Jul 22, 2013
Very friendly, clean well maintained, easy in and out.
Jul 20, 2013
Jul 19, 2013
Had a great time- loved the chickens wandering around
Jul 19, 2013
The sites close to the interstate were very unlevel. We did not have enough wood with us to level our new trailer. We could not get enough signal strenth to access the internet. We were very disappointed at this KOA.
Jul 19, 2013
clean cabin great place, loved the animal`s
Jul 18, 2013
Had a great time. I love all the trees and farm animals. It was a perfect place to stay to go caving. Thanks!
Jul 17, 2013
This is the 4th time we have stayed here. Each time has been a great experience. We enjoy coming to the Cave area, but don't want to be where all the traffic is. The staff is great, the facilities are clean, and most of all we truly enjoy staying here.
Jul 17, 2013
Very nice office staff. However, there was quite a bit of garbage in the treeline behind us.
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
Loved it, the staff was very pleasant and helpful on anything we needed. Thank you.
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
We enjoyed our stay. We stayed in a cabin. The cabin floor could have been cleaner and a new white cover for the futon due to it being stained up. The campground was clean and peaceful besides the highway noise which did not bother us. The playground was nice. I would like to suggest that it would be nice to have benches at the playground for parents to sit on. We will be back.
Jul 15, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
This was our first stay. Overall we really liked the campground. We booked a 30amp back-in space which were all level, had good space between campsites and nice mature trees to shade the summer sun. The "farm" onsite was fun to go and visit the animals. The pond, pool, playground, bathrooms were all nice. Only issue was highway noise but I wouldn't let it keep you away. Great place!
Jul 15, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
Nice staff. Clean cabin. Our kids liked the swimmingpool, mini golf and the animals. Store has nothing. Noise of highway wasn't too bad.
Jul 15, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
Liked the campground and the activities...my kids really enjoyed the patting farm. Only concern is the lack of signage when getting off the freeway showing where the KOA is located.
Jul 14, 2013
we requested a pull thru full hook up, the site we were in was not great. I think they had just had sewer put, in the ground around the campsite was torn up and there was red clay everywhere. our campsite was also next to a smelly sewer pump and they have a mini farm on the campgrounds, the chickens and roosters roamed around the campsite, annoying. Easy access to the highway but that is all.
Jul 13, 2013
Jul 13, 2013
Great, thanks. There was a bit of trash at the site when we got there. We left it clean.
Jul 12, 2013
It was a very noisy campground. We could hear the traffic from I-65 all night. It would have been helpful to have an escort to our campsite as it was confusing reading the numbers on the posts.
Jul 12, 2013
We had a very nice stay, very easy to get to different attractions. Our 8 month old son loved the pool, just wish there would have been no smoking allowed!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.