Horse Cave KOA

KOA AVE

Horse Cave, KY 42749

Reserve: 800-562-2809

Info: 270-786-2819

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Sep 08, 2013
Hi: The location is good and beautiful, But, They are not as friendly as the other KOA. The swimming pool was dirty and green. Come on, it is summer! and no cable TV only in the cabin. My family did not enjoy it staying there. They need to work on they place and people skills because the location and nature is nice. Thanks
Sep 05, 2013
Sep 04, 2013
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Clean restroom facilities. The swimming pool was nice, but algae in the water.
Sep 03, 2013
I had a very nice stay. I wish the campsite (58) was a little more level and concrete or asphalt instead of rock. I love how roomy the campsites are down that row. Excellent Campground, care keepers are very friendly and excellent hosts.
Sep 03, 2013
Dirty pool, kids running out of control everywhere. 50 amp level site of by 10". Park generally in disrepair!
Sep 01, 2013
beautiful cabin - loved the chickens and the turkey
Aug 31, 2013
Strange way to park . Cools not put awning and chaos out. It was in a convent spot
Aug 29, 2013
No RV sites with trees. Laundry did not have any working washers and it wasn't very clean.
Aug 29, 2013
Aug 27, 2013
Aug 27, 2013
Location is convenient for those wanting to visit area attractions. It is very close to the highway exit. We stayed in a cabin which had a bedroom, kitchen and bathroom. Accommodations were clean and adequate, at times could hear traffic on highway. Staff was very friendly. Enjoyed our brief stay.
Aug 26, 2013
Site was what we thought was going to be a pull thru and it ended up being a site that you pull off parallel right beside the main driveway. We were unable to eat outside due to a cat that would not stay off our table. We woke up to 4 chickens, a rooster and a turkey on our site and table. Laundry had 2 washers that worked. The water in the pool was so cloudy that you couldn't see underneath
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 25, 2013
Aug 24, 2013
We had a pleasant stay at this KOA. I wish my spot (84)had been a little more level, front to back. I couldn't get the front of my fifth wheel low enough to completely level it. Best firewood that I have ever gotten at a KOA, I think.
Aug 22, 2013
We loved our stay at this KOA camp site, although the cabins were really too small for a family of 4, unless the kids were 10 & under, even then, a little tight. But...Great job maintaining the grounds and cabins, enjoyed the fishing, pool and miniature golf. Close proximity to lots of fun things to do; we did the zip lines, repelling, and the Mammoth Cave. Bill, from Nevada.
Aug 20, 2013
Great staff. Nice location
Aug 19, 2013
The facilities were clean, hot water in showers, laundry available. When we had a problem with the size of our tent site, they let us switch to a bigger one with no charge. Only reason I didn't give 5 stars, I thought the per night price on a tent site was a little high. It may not be to some people.
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 18, 2013
Aug 17, 2013
Staff very friendly and helpful. Military discount was appreciated.
Aug 15, 2013
Aug 13, 2013
The extra activities like swimming, mini golf, playground, etc and the staff were excellent. However there was a light that kept flashing on and off every 30 seconds that lit up my campground and half of the rest of the sites. I woke up around 1am and could not fall back asleep. We decided to leave the KOA at 5 in the morning because we both could not get back to sleep from that light.
Aug 12, 2013
Beautiful campground! Love the lake and the animal area. They keep it very clean. My only complaint is the laundry room is very out-dated. 4 washers, only 1 worked and 2 dryers only 1 worked. We will camp here again.
Aug 12, 2013
Trash left in every fire pit from previous guest. No place at playground to sit and watch kids. Pool dirty. Mini golf hasn't been maintained for 20+ years. Staff not the friendliest, not rude, just not friendly. At other koa's we see workers consistently cleaning/maintaining campground throughout the week, not this one.
Aug 11, 2013
While the traffic noise from nearby Highway 65 was expected and tolerable, we found Horse Cave KOA in need of attention. We were particularly disappointed in the laundry facility, which had 1 of 4 operable washing machines and 1 of 2 working (heated) dryers. On a positive note, it is centrally located to many area sites, making it a convenient stop.
Aug 06, 2013
The lady that checked us in was super nice and very helpful. The two remotes for the TV were confusing to a couple of seniors like us and she was very patient and helpful showing us how to use them.Thank you!
Aug 05, 2013
Seemed the Koa was under staffed Pool was not safe to swim in for the first few days of our week there. 2 of the 4 washing machines are out of order & not clean womens washroom had a a toilet out of order & the hand drier was broken so owners swtiched to paper had a problem with the stand up pipe for sewer it was too tall should have been ground level it took 3 days to fix that got a $12 refund :)
Aug 05, 2013
Everything in the camp was great. We like the staf and next time we will come only to the camps of KOA. Thank you for your investments in the camps.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
GPS location address sent us on a wild goose chase 10 miles into the back country Not a road to drag a 36 foot fifth down in the dark single lane to KOA address and it was just a bush lot Finally found it at 9:30 pm we had called ahead to book so no worries ( so I thought) not even a site listed where they wanted us to pull in as the office was closed so we just picked a empty one Never again
Aug 04, 2013
Great stay, nice folks, this koa is central to alot of the attractions
Aug 03, 2013
This is not up to KOA standards.We left early lost out 9000 points that we were using for a discount night. Pool was drained when arrived on Monday and was getting refilled.Could not swim till Wed.No activites were plannned.Women's restroom by the time we left only had one working toilet. Hardly any tp or paper towels on hand, Electric hand dryer never worked. Showers had hard time getting to work
Aug 03, 2013
The condition of the pool water was only fair...too green and cloudy. Other than that, the stay was very nice.
Aug 03, 2013
Easy to access, sites are spacious, very well maintained grounds are a great place to take a morning stroll. Tiering of sites leads a non crowded feeling and very quiet.
Aug 01, 2013
This was our least pleasant KOA experience. No one escorted us to our Kabin. The pool is in disrepair. The freeway is but a stone's throw away. The place was practically deserted when we were there at the end of July, and had a lonely and depressing vibe about it. If not for the proximity to local attractions, I wouldn't give it any stars at all. I would not recommend this KOA to anyone.
Jul 30, 2013
Facilities were clean and staff great but WAY TOO CLOSE TO THE INTERSTATE!
Jul 30, 2013
All 50 Amp sites are on the side of a hill. had to put 6in ramps under rear wheels and 12in blocks under right jacks. tried to cancel second night was denied
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
The campground and restrooms were clean. We had a nice back in full hook up site. The area was well maintained. The pool was green. That was disappointing, but the kids swam in it anyway. The area and seating around the pool was nice. Playground was great for the kids. The staff was friendly. All in all for the money it wasn't a bad place to stay.
Jul 29, 2013
Beautiful location. Had the basics. But, tent sites were small and sloped. We had a light pole shining down on our site the entire night-very bright. Noisy with highway and nearby farm animals. One shower wouldn't regulate water temp and bathrooms weren't too clean. Run down and not maintained mini golf. No trash dumpster.
Jul 29, 2013
No issues other than interstate nose. Good people!
Jul 28, 2013
Friendly and helpful stay. Loved the activities they had there for the children. Negative would be the noisy interstate..
Jul 28, 2013
Jul 27, 2013
This is mostly an unremarkable KOA. The pool appears to be shared with the hotel off of the street in front of it, you will hear highway road noise as it's just a few hundred yards from the expressway, and the sites are average. It's clean and well maintained though. We stayed just to have easy access to Mammoth Caves. You could do worse.
Jul 27, 2013
Very friendly staff, bathrooms clean. Pool not as clean. Miniature golf course needs work, clubs should be replaced. Overall appearance and individual sites neat and clean, well maintained. Invest in new washing machines! Dryers are fine.
Jul 27, 2013
Loved this KOA, staff was very nice and helpfull, very clean, our kids enjoyed all the attractions, very closed to a lot of them, thanks!
Jul 26, 2013
The facilities were very nice. But it was understaffed. However, I would not recommend staying in a Kabin. Our Kabin was right near the barn. The (4) roosters woke us up all the time. If the roosters were not there, I would rate this KOA higher.
Jul 26, 2013
Worst KOA we have stayed at. Dirty pool and bathrooms. Bathrooms out of order. Very disappointed...especially with pool since it was very hot during our stay. We expect a lot more from a KOA than from other campgrounds...this one does not meet those standards.
Jul 26, 2013
friendly people with comfortable camp sites with electric and wifi; kept the family up to date on my trip, what could be better?

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.