Horse Cave KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-2809

Info: 270-786-2819

Email

KOA AVE

489 Flint Ridge Road

Horse Cave, KY 42749

Get Directions

Camper Rating 3.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 06, 2016
Our stay was nice just a few concerns. The highway was extremely loud in the back cabin room and being woken up by roosters is not ideal. Also it says the deluxe cabins are linens furnished, but they do not furnish pillows or blankets for those who sleep on the futon. Honestly other than those things everything was beautiful and well taken care. We would come back now that we know what to expect.
Jun 06, 2016
the staff was nice the park was clean but really need to update that putt putt
Jun 04, 2016
This campground is by far the best place to stay. The staff goes above and beyond to make you feel at home. The facilities are exceptionally clean. We have been camping at this facility for the past 11 years. Jason and Sonya are the greatest host. All the staff is fantastic. We love our Horse Cave Campground!!!!!
Jun 04, 2016
Been camping there since2005 it's a great campground and good people running it
Jun 01, 2016
I feel as if the bathrooms were never kept up cleanliness wise compared to other KOA campgrounds Iand state campgrounds, which are much cheaper, I have stayed at and I know that can also be blamed on the campers as well but I was disappointed. The pool was nice and the close proximity to Mammoth Cave National Park.
Jun 01, 2016
Its a nice campground. But a couple things would make it a little better. The ladies restroom was out of toilet paper and paper towels several times and the shower door lock is broke on the middle shower. The drains are really slow in the shower so you stand in a lot of nasty water when you shower. Our site was pretty muddy but we have had a lot of rain so I'm sure that can't be helped.
May 31, 2016
My sister and I have been camping since we were children, and our parents took us many, many times to the Horse Cave KOA. The Gedda family knows how to treat campers with dignity and respect. It's a spotless campground and with a family friendly atmosphere, and I'd rate this at one of the absolute best campgrounds in America. Keep doing what you are doing!! My sister and I LOVE it there!!
May 31, 2016
We stayed at the Horse Cave Koa over Memorial Day weekend 2016. We had a great time. The campground is a great place to visit with your children. The playground area, bounce pillow, farm, and pool are all great amenities for kids. The campground is close to many attractions in the area. The staff was friendly. my only complaint is the bathroom. It needs cleaned more often.
May 31, 2016
May 31, 2016
May 31, 2016
Very clean facility and close to the interstate. Stay there Memorial weekend when they were very busy the place was clean and beautiful. I did have to take cold showers but that's what I expect when the place is full with people. If you don't like cold showers when a campsite is full please stay in a hotel. I would give it 5 stars but it's really not that big of a camp site which is okay with me.
May 31, 2016
Stayed 3 nights in a tent on tent site. Flood light pointed right at tent site. Campground too close to freeway hard to sleep at night due to freeway noise maybe better in camper. No warm water for showers. I won't even use the word hot just was hoping for warm. The grounds themselves were in good shape and staff was courteous. I think if you were in a camper it would be better.
May 31, 2016
Cabin we stayed in was great ! Campground was clean all around. Need a grill at the cabin location to be able to cook food since we cannot cook inside the cabin. Campground had issues with water pressure all weekend, could not take a proper shower until the last morning. Fix those 2 things and this place would be picture perfect.
May 31, 2016
It was Memorial Day weekend and was busy but the showers were freezing and there was no hot water on Saturday-Monday morning! But it was an awesome campsite with great campsites and great stuff like the pool and easy access to Mammoth Cave! Very likely to stay again!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am so sorry for no hot water. I have placed my order for bigger hot water tanks. So if you come back you will have hot water.
May 31, 2016
The dog park was GREAT!! We were at one of the newer sites that over looked the pasture and it was a GREAT view!! The bathrooms were clean, my only complaint was the height of the water faucets ... other than that we had a GREAT stay!!
May 29, 2016
We arrived to a park under construction, mud, bulldozers, backhoes, mud, freshly spread gravel, leveling jacks sunk even with pads, mud even before rain. We were not warned about construction so we could choose to reserve elsewhere. Camp store not even stocked. Signage literally falling down. Staff not available at check in. Left a day early. Road noise from I-40 very loud.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you arrived while this was all going on. Our website says we are under construction.We are located off I-65 not I-40
May 23, 2016
May 22, 2016
Clean and well kept sites. Cabin we rented was great with everything we needed. Enjoyed our stay very much.
May 21, 2016
Nice people upon checking. RV spots are not very level. Even our levelers couldn't handle the uneven terrain.
May 18, 2016
Most of the sites were being rebuild. The 50 amp sites were level but close to a barn with a lot of animals like chickens and roosters running around loose. We parked in the 30 amp sites which were pretty unlevel. Getting there is a trick. DON'T use the street address as it takes you miles around on a mostly 1lane road through the forest. I didn't think I could get around some of theUse KOA Drive
May 17, 2016
My daughter and I had an awesome stay. Even though it was really close to the highway, we were able to block that out and have a relaxing time. Loved the cabin! I look forward to going back!
May 16, 2016
like the improvements making to camp still wish would install cable tv
May 16, 2016
Nice koa they are adding some new things. Other than the tv being messed up it was great
May 15, 2016
It was great. Our family tent camped and we enjoyed the quiet setting, the playground, and the resident cat.
May 14, 2016
Checked in late and the site had no elec. But during our 3 day stay they put 3 other campers on the same site. Also the farm animals was a little bit bothersome.
May 12, 2016
May 10, 2016
The interaction I had with the staff was polite and professional. HOWEVER, the fact that there are free range chickens and turkeys with access to my and other's picnic tables and camping area is totally unacceptable. Farm animals are great, when restricted to an area of the campground. What a zoo! No trash receptacles except at the entrance and no doggy bags in the pet area, only a full waste can.
May 09, 2016
The cabins were clean and accommodating. The playground was perfect for my daughter. We love KOA.
May 09, 2016
WHENEVER I GO ANYWHERE, THE FIRST THING I CHECK IS WHETHER THERE IS A KOA NEAR BY. ALWAYS EXCEED MY EXPECTATIONS!
May 09, 2016
Was not given a back in site as reserved. At check in was informed most of campground was under construction-was put in a pull through site with no shade of any kind, camp ground pictures show lots of trees, put put golf was in terrible shape, turkeys, ducks and chickens would scaveng for food, a couple times they dumped our garbage and made a mess. The noise from the interstate was terrible.
May 08, 2016
We would have liked to have been notified of all the construction going on.We were so close to the highway we couldnt sleep.The barnyard animals were fun at first but roosters crowing at 5:30 every morning was not what we had in mind for a relaxing vacation. And they pooped on everything.And the wyfi never worked. Sorry, we won't be back.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am sorry you visited us when we were under construction , we are working on removing the roosters. The highway we can not do anything about. As for wifi new steps have been taking for that to be resolved. I hope you come back an see the new update when finished.
May 08, 2016
After the improvements are made, (especially) wifi, my ratings would improve.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

working on WiFi .
May 06, 2016
Under construction. Site was really far from restrooms and next to the barn where we were awakened at 5am by the roosters.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am sorry you had been here when we were under construction, I know the roosters can be a bother. ( in some cases people do like them ) We are removing them . Hope you will come by an stay again an see the updated changes.
May 04, 2016
Convenient location to Mammouth Cave. Undergoing a massive re-do so a limited number of big sites. Due to be ready this summer. When this is done it will be a 5 star for sure. Great views, wonderful staff. Farm animals on grounds for kids to see. Local Italian restaurant will deliver best pizza we ever had!
May 04, 2016
Get rid of the roosters crowing at 4 am

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry for the noise. We thought they were taken away.
May 03, 2016
The cabin itself was okay. But the campground is run down, it's obvious no one take care of it.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are under remodel.
May 03, 2016
The sewers were backing up & no cable or air TV
May 02, 2016
Lovely check in woman at the site was so very kind and helpful. Just loved her!
May 02, 2016
Worst KOA experience ever. Poorly maintained A barn full of farm animals within 20 ft of rv sites made noise from 3:00 am throughout the night Highway noise added to the disturbance Electric box AND sewage were not working properly on the 1st site assigned. We moved to a 2nd site and had to hold sewage hose into another broken cap ring. Uneven gravel sites for rv parking

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry you feel this way we are remodeling at this time. As for interstate we can't do anything about this. Wish you had came in to the office an spoke to us about this. Have a GREAT DAY.
Apr 29, 2016
This campground is under going major renovation. Pull through sites were just resurfaced & leveled. We didn't have wi fi or cable tv, but it was a pleasant stay& good location for visiting Mammoth Cave.
Apr 27, 2016
Under construction and to many hills lots not close to level.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

we are working on the unlevel part with the remodel.
Apr 26, 2016
Apr 25, 2016
very poor condition

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

If I may ask why you say this? We are under remodel at this time.
Apr 24, 2016
Apr 23, 2016
We arrived late and left early the next morning, but what we saw of the camp ground was very nice. The staff were very nice and the facilities were very clean. The pond was very nice and relaxing. Thanks for a nice rest between stops.
Apr 23, 2016
The animals are really loud and woke us up very early. The site wasnt long enough so we had to disconnect the car.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are currently working on these sites. Sorry for the inconvenience. Please upon booking tell us you are in tow, if not you're put on a site that accommodates the length you give us.
Apr 22, 2016
Apr 21, 2016
Good

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

How could it say good an give us a thumbs down?
Apr 20, 2016
Facilities were clean and nice. My largest complaint was that they advertise Free Wi-Fi. While they do have it, the signal was so week you couldn't possibly use it to look up the slightest thing unless you went up to their store.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are currently working on getting a better wifi provider. Sorry for the inconvenience
Apr 20, 2016
The staff was very friendly, restroom clean, campsite ok, just pretty unlevel and was not able to use computer because of no WIFI. Still would probably stay there again.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

working on leveling the sites.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy