Horse Cave KOA

KOA AVE

Horse Cave, KY 42749

Reserve: 800-562-2809

Info: 270-786-2819

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Sep 19, 2013
the most level campsite I have had in 10 yearrs of rving! very peacefull for a place so close to I65. the downside is no open eating places anywhere near.
Sep 18, 2013
All the staff were extremely helpful, and my wife and I had a great time visiting! Thanks for keeping the pool open while the weather was still hot. We plan on returning in the near future for another visit, thanks again!
Sep 18, 2013
This is a 5 star campground except for the giant flood lights. I asked for a dark site and got one where I was able to reed a magazine at night easily. We like the dark and nowhere in this campground was it at all dark. That said the grounds were clean and well maintained the sites were well laid out.
Sep 18, 2013
nice some road noise but who cares it is extremely convenient
Sep 17, 2013
Every campground site that the four couples we were with was very difficult to "level up". My "auto leveling" would not / could not level up our Montana 35RL. Mowing caused dust and noise when trying to relax. One of the least cared for KOA's we have been to in the last 12 years.
Sep 17, 2013
There is no cable TV and antenna reception is non-existent. Wi-Fi was iffy.
Sep 16, 2013
A lot of highway noise, camp store closed early with no notice. I have stayed at 3 different KOA's and this was the least appealng.
Sep 15, 2013
When we checked in to this KOA on Sep 10 it was hot, humid and in the 90s. We would have loved to swim in the pool but it was green. We stayed for 3 nights, it was in the 90s and the pool wasn't taken care of. The 50 AMP spots should be leveled. Thanks for the lending DVD library. Also in the 50 AMP site area our internet service was very poor. We enjoyed the petting farm with all the animals
Sep 15, 2013
Sep 14, 2013
Sep 14, 2013
Sep 13, 2013
Very nice stay. Very easy access from interstate. We stayed overnight only. Very happy to find KOA because we were very tired.
Sep 12, 2013
Beautiful setting; mature trees and rolling farmland. 2 downsides: noisy highway nearby, and too lit up at night.
Sep 12, 2013
Loved the scenery
Sep 09, 2013
Really enjoyed it and will return in the future.
Sep 08, 2013
Hi: The location is good and beautiful, But, They are not as friendly as the other KOA. The swimming pool was dirty and green. Come on, it is summer! and no cable TV only in the cabin. My family did not enjoy it staying there. They need to work on they place and people skills because the location and nature is nice. Thanks
Sep 05, 2013
Sep 04, 2013
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Clean restroom facilities. The swimming pool was nice, but algae in the water.
Sep 03, 2013
I had a very nice stay. I wish the campsite (58) was a little more level and concrete or asphalt instead of rock. I love how roomy the campsites are down that row. Excellent Campground, care keepers are very friendly and excellent hosts.
Sep 03, 2013
Dirty pool, kids running out of control everywhere. 50 amp level site of by 10". Park generally in disrepair!
Sep 01, 2013
beautiful cabin - loved the chickens and the turkey
Aug 31, 2013
Strange way to park . Cools not put awning and chaos out. It was in a convent spot
Aug 29, 2013
No RV sites with trees. Laundry did not have any working washers and it wasn't very clean.
Aug 29, 2013
Aug 27, 2013
Aug 27, 2013
Location is convenient for those wanting to visit area attractions. It is very close to the highway exit. We stayed in a cabin which had a bedroom, kitchen and bathroom. Accommodations were clean and adequate, at times could hear traffic on highway. Staff was very friendly. Enjoyed our brief stay.
Aug 26, 2013
Site was what we thought was going to be a pull thru and it ended up being a site that you pull off parallel right beside the main driveway. We were unable to eat outside due to a cat that would not stay off our table. We woke up to 4 chickens, a rooster and a turkey on our site and table. Laundry had 2 washers that worked. The water in the pool was so cloudy that you couldn't see underneath
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 25, 2013
Aug 24, 2013
We had a pleasant stay at this KOA. I wish my spot (84)had been a little more level, front to back. I couldn't get the front of my fifth wheel low enough to completely level it. Best firewood that I have ever gotten at a KOA, I think.
Aug 22, 2013
We loved our stay at this KOA camp site, although the cabins were really too small for a family of 4, unless the kids were 10 & under, even then, a little tight. But...Great job maintaining the grounds and cabins, enjoyed the fishing, pool and miniature golf. Close proximity to lots of fun things to do; we did the zip lines, repelling, and the Mammoth Cave. Bill, from Nevada.
Aug 20, 2013
Great staff. Nice location
Aug 19, 2013
The facilities were clean, hot water in showers, laundry available. When we had a problem with the size of our tent site, they let us switch to a bigger one with no charge. Only reason I didn't give 5 stars, I thought the per night price on a tent site was a little high. It may not be to some people.
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 18, 2013
Aug 17, 2013
Staff very friendly and helpful. Military discount was appreciated.
Aug 15, 2013
Aug 13, 2013
The extra activities like swimming, mini golf, playground, etc and the staff were excellent. However there was a light that kept flashing on and off every 30 seconds that lit up my campground and half of the rest of the sites. I woke up around 1am and could not fall back asleep. We decided to leave the KOA at 5 in the morning because we both could not get back to sleep from that light.
Aug 12, 2013
Beautiful campground! Love the lake and the animal area. They keep it very clean. My only complaint is the laundry room is very out-dated. 4 washers, only 1 worked and 2 dryers only 1 worked. We will camp here again.
Aug 12, 2013
Trash left in every fire pit from previous guest. No place at playground to sit and watch kids. Pool dirty. Mini golf hasn't been maintained for 20+ years. Staff not the friendliest, not rude, just not friendly. At other koa's we see workers consistently cleaning/maintaining campground throughout the week, not this one.
Aug 11, 2013
While the traffic noise from nearby Highway 65 was expected and tolerable, we found Horse Cave KOA in need of attention. We were particularly disappointed in the laundry facility, which had 1 of 4 operable washing machines and 1 of 2 working (heated) dryers. On a positive note, it is centrally located to many area sites, making it a convenient stop.
Aug 06, 2013
The lady that checked us in was super nice and very helpful. The two remotes for the TV were confusing to a couple of seniors like us and she was very patient and helpful showing us how to use them.Thank you!
Aug 05, 2013
Seemed the Koa was under staffed Pool was not safe to swim in for the first few days of our week there. 2 of the 4 washing machines are out of order & not clean womens washroom had a a toilet out of order & the hand drier was broken so owners swtiched to paper had a problem with the stand up pipe for sewer it was too tall should have been ground level it took 3 days to fix that got a $12 refund :)
Aug 05, 2013
Everything in the camp was great. We like the staf and next time we will come only to the camps of KOA. Thank you for your investments in the camps.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
GPS location address sent us on a wild goose chase 10 miles into the back country Not a road to drag a 36 foot fifth down in the dark single lane to KOA address and it was just a bush lot Finally found it at 9:30 pm we had called ahead to book so no worries ( so I thought) not even a site listed where they wanted us to pull in as the office was closed so we just picked a empty one Never again
Aug 04, 2013
Great stay, nice folks, this koa is central to alot of the attractions
Aug 03, 2013
This is not up to KOA standards.We left early lost out 9000 points that we were using for a discount night. Pool was drained when arrived on Monday and was getting refilled.Could not swim till Wed.No activites were plannned.Women's restroom by the time we left only had one working toilet. Hardly any tp or paper towels on hand, Electric hand dryer never worked. Showers had hard time getting to work
Aug 03, 2013
The condition of the pool water was only fair...too green and cloudy. Other than that, the stay was very nice.
Aug 03, 2013
Easy to access, sites are spacious, very well maintained grounds are a great place to take a morning stroll. Tiering of sites leads a non crowded feeling and very quiet.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.