Horse Cave KOA

KOA AVE

Horse Cave, KY 42749

Reserve: 800-562-2809

Info: 270-786-2819

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jan 15, 2013
we arrived late and left early, so we didn't have time to enjoy the campground. The cabin was clean and comfortable. the gravel roads washed out in places
Jan 07, 2013
Jan 01, 2013
Whom ever constructed the sites was drunk or incompetent. The site was so out of level that I could not level the coach. This KOA is only suitable for towed RVs and not motor homes.
Dec 31, 2012
The staff was friendly and helpful! The facilities were clean and in good repair.
Dec 14, 2012
Cabin was dirty. Ceiling fan was thick with dirt. Dead bugs in the window sills. Mouse trap/poison station near sink. I was told that linens were not provided, so I went through a lot of effort to pack everything, then linens were provided. Made reservation to bring dogs with us, then got a cabin with a 'No Dogs' sign on the door. Could hear highway traffic. Not a pleasant "cabin in the woods"
Dec 10, 2012
Just spent 1 nite there on our way to FL.
Nov 27, 2012
Check-in was fast and easy. The staff was friendly. The cabin however was dirty and shower did not properly operate. This must be an older cabin that has not been taken care of well. Past experience with KOA Kamping Cabins have been great, not so at Horse Cave KOA. I do not recomend staying at this KOA unless they begin to maintain the cabins.
Nov 19, 2012
Nov 17, 2012
Not a great location. Seems to be pretty much a truckers exit with Adult entertainment in TOO CLOSE PROXIMITY.
Nov 12, 2012
Charged for a "premium" site which was literally uphill (no way to get level). Talked to office; manager was to email us and give us a credit. Have not heard a word. Very, very dissatisfied. Would never go there again.
Nov 09, 2012
Might be better in the summer. There were 3 rvs there. We had to curve around a tree.
Nov 09, 2012
site too angled to allow leveling. keep chickens away from campers.
Nov 04, 2012
It was nice and we enjoyed our stay. We just became members in October and are looking forward to staying at the KOA's across the country for years to come. we like having a bonfire to relax in front of our camper kabins at all the locations after our long drives on our driving vacations.
Nov 04, 2012
gggrrreeeaattt
Nov 02, 2012
Oct 30, 2012
Much happier with new front doors and heat/air. Would love if you all could fix the fouton so it doesn't slide off when sitted on. Maybe add a few necessities i.e. can opener, large spoon, dish soap. Things that are easily forgotten. Love the changes. We stay there a lot. My son loves the farm animals. The chickens came right up to the cabin. He loved it.
Oct 28, 2012
The proximity to the highway resulted in excessive highway noise that made even sleeping impossible.
Oct 24, 2012
This camp ground was very close to the highway and was extremely loud both day and night. Also, 2 out of 3 toilets were out of order in the women's bathroom and the one that worked had no toilet paper.
Oct 23, 2012
Nice cabins! Didn't like the rooster! Beautiful scenery. Great location to see Kentucky Down Under. Nice campfire site. Liked golfing for free, was alot of fun. Coin washer and dryers would be nice and a few more items in camp store, like milk. Also, with the fire wood it would be nice to get some newspaper & pieces of cardboard to start the fire. I loved the saved pop tabs and recycling cans!
Oct 22, 2012
Great location and our son loved the animals. Cabin was very cozy. Could have been a little cleaner...ceiling fans covered in dust and we had to pick up a few trash items left by previous guests.
Oct 21, 2012
No tv or cable
Oct 21, 2012
The site was a drive-thru with easy access and level. The price seems appropriate for the season.
Oct 21, 2012
pull thru site had so much slope it was dangerous to raise the trailer high enough to unhitch.
Oct 20, 2012
Bathrooms and laundry need upgrading.
Oct 20, 2012
Oct 14, 2012
This place is amazing! It really allows you to escape from all of your troubles.
Oct 10, 2012
I booked our site over the phone and was told that we would be given a site number when we arrived. When we showed up (at check-in time)we had to wait over an hour beause no-one was in the office, or on site. When the girl finally showed up she looked like she had just climbed out of bed and was not very friendly. The campground was okay, but the start to our trip really hurt our opinion.
Oct 10, 2012
Internet was not available as a result of a storm but there was no television available as the owners have not provided cable and this site has no over air reception as a result of the mountainous terrain. Also extremely difficult to level your RV in the 50 amp sites as a they have a steep grade.
Oct 09, 2012
Oct 08, 2012
Oct 07, 2012
WE were a "late" arrival. There were no sign-in envelopes at the kiosk. The following morning we had no trouble getting everything cleared up at the front desk. We were told the wind had blown the informatioin away during a rain storm the night before. Quiet, shady camp area. Very clean and tidy!
Oct 06, 2012
Great place to stay when visiting Mammoth Cave. EAsy in, easy out.
Sep 27, 2012
When we arrived from Colorado, they had given away the pull thru spot I had reserved months in advance. Will avoid KOA in future.
Sep 27, 2012
Sep 27, 2012
Easy in and out of campsite
Sep 27, 2012
Sep 21, 2012
Sep 19, 2012
Stayed in a 5th wheel camper, site #64. Full shade, full hook-up. Site, showers, laundry facility, and the entire campground is clean as a whistle. Attended Heritage Festival in Horse Cave while I was here and had a wonderful time! September 2012.
Sep 19, 2012
koa rates are getting to high to be competitive. koa is now not my only consideration for camping.
Sep 19, 2012
Our stay was not what we expected. We missed being shown to our campsite and garbage pick up. The map of the sites were not as the KOA was laid out and it was confusing. Mosquitoes were very bad and a nut fell hitting one of us hard on the head.Each morning I had to pick up nuts daily. It was very loud from the road and the sewer and potable water hook up was right next to each other. Not good.
Sep 17, 2012
Although it rained during out stay, will come again.
Sep 17, 2012
Everyone was very nice, the young lady who was on shift Saturday night was a sweet heart, and she introduced me and my girlfriend to Baby, the deer and that made our trip much more memorable! Thank you for the best experience camping this year!
Sep 17, 2012
Sep 16, 2012
Staff and facility were great. Stayed in a cabin only thing lacking was a place to do dishes. Used laundry very efficient. Thanks!
Sep 16, 2012
Sep 15, 2012
The room was filthy when we got there. Cobwebs dirty shower dirty toilet stains on the mattress cover. If it was clean it would have been awesome.
Sep 14, 2012
it would be nice to have cable tv. a great location for camp ground
Sep 13, 2012
No 50 amp sites that will accomodate large motorhomes. All sites with 50amp are ok for 5th wheels and maybe travel trailers but due to slope not for large motorhomes. 30 amp site I ended up in was good.
Sep 12, 2012
Sep 11, 2012
I was disappointed at this KOA because of the un-level sites. It was difficult to park.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.