Hixton / Alma Center KOA

N9657 State Road 95

Alma Center, WI 54611

Reserve: 800-562-2680

Info: 715-964-2508

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 03, 2015
The pool is way too warm. I didnt care for the bathrooms being down a hill. After 2 days my knees were killing me. Besides those 2 things everything was great.
Aug 03, 2015
We had an excellent stay. Just too short.
Aug 01, 2015
Very friendly staff and beautiful flower beds throughout the grounds.
Jul 29, 2015
I Like this close to Bike trails in black river falls should tell others about the 4 miles trail in black river falls thank you RUSSELL BOUCHER
Jul 29, 2015
If u want peple up until after 12 with talking & loud music this is it!The peple next 2us were not pked in a frt bk rotation when we came out of our camper we were on top of our neibor's picnic tab & chars Our table was at the other end of the strip of grass.We were 6' from our neibor on the other side who hung towels 4 prvicy, kids at the pool unsupervised doing cannonball jumps!
Jul 29, 2015
Beautiful, but sites too close together.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to submit your survey! Some of our sites are smaller than others and we apologize your needs were not met in your area. Have a great day!
Jul 29, 2015
Owners were very nice. Campground is quite old and very cramped.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry that you were disappointed in your stay. We have owned the campground for the last 28 years and continue to improve the grounds the best we can. Again we are sorry you were not satisfied. Safe travels!
Jul 28, 2015
Very beautiful, well cared for campground. Staff extremely helpful and friendly. The only issue I noticed was that pool (great size and heated) needed some maintenance and cleaning to make it sparkle. Would definitely stay there again
Jul 28, 2015
Very beautiful location, great staff and lots of activities. Already booked my return trip

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to submit your survey! Thank you for your kind words. They are much appreciated. Have a great day!
Jul 27, 2015
A good place to stay. would come back again
Jul 27, 2015
My family and I have been going to KOA ever since we were little kids and looove it everytime we come! The owners and workers are always so very nice. Love the bathrooms, (always clean!) the heated pool, and the jumping pillow! My cousins and neices love it also! Thanks KOA for all you do, you are truely appreciated!!!
Jul 27, 2015
Bathrooms were the cleanest I have ever seen at a campgrounds. Fresh flowers in bathrooms. WOW!! Things for the kids to do. All was good.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to submit your survey! Thank you for your kind words. They are much appreciated. Have a great day!
Jul 27, 2015
A perfect weekend for camping at our favorite KOA!! We had a larger group than usual and everybody had a fantastic time. We did miss Jim and his witty conversations and visit to our campsite but is feeling under the weather. Get well soon Jim! You are in our thoughts and hope for a speedy recovery. Hope to see you when we come up again. Take care! And for the rest of the KOA employees 2 thumbs up

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to submit your survey! Thank you for your kind words. They are much appreciated. Hopefully he will be out and about before you know it! Have a great day!
Jul 27, 2015
It was a nice campground, but it would have been nicer if the pool was a bit bigger and more activities for water fun.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry that you were unsatisfied with your stay with us. We try to have a variety of activities for kids such as the pool, jumping pillow, playground, volleyball nets, basketball hoop, crafts, as well as assorted footballs soccer balls, and horseshoe pits. We are sorry you were unsatisfied.
Jul 26, 2015
A very clean campground. Impressed with the cleanliness of with the restrooms and showers. The owners and workers were very friendly. Just 1 complaint.... No shade near our cabin. We will camp there again, but maybe next time in a tent.
Jul 25, 2015
Very helpful & pleasant lady checked me in/out- beautiful campground !
Jul 24, 2015
We enjoyed our stay and will come again. Thank you for trimming the trees to protect our RV. Bathrooms were very clean.
Jul 24, 2015
We love it there. Very freindly people and helpful.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to submit your survey! Thank you for your kind words. They are much appreciated. Have a great day!
Jul 23, 2015
Jul 21, 2015
Very clean with fresh flowers in the restrooms. Awesome things for my kids to do from the 3 year old to the 13 year old.
Jul 20, 2015
Only disappointment was quiet yime started a bit early for a weekend. Our family doesn't get together often and we were enjoying catching up. 1130 might have been a bit better for iur family.
Jul 20, 2015
Everything was wonderful at this KOA. It is very clean and pleasant and our stay was great. The staff is also very friendly.
Jul 20, 2015
Very clean campground. They had FRESH cut flowers in the bathroom which was the cleanest bathroom I've seen at a campground. Very nice staff and the campsites were well tended.
Jul 20, 2015
We loved the location and the staff was so friendly and helpful. The bathrooms were super clean. Thanks so much!!!
Jul 20, 2015
Pool temp was too warm-90 degrees outside and water was just as warm or warmer than air temp, not refreshing at all. Fishing pond was not accessible due to tall weeds around it. Campsites very close together. Website wording is misleading- "Weekend ice cream social, FREE wagon ride and pancake breakfast. Pancake breakfast is not free. Jumping pillow free but they charge $3/kid/nite= not free

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry you were disappointed. A great many campgrounds do charge for children, plus they charge extra for the jumping pillow. I don't believe we ever indicated our pancake breakfast or ice cream social were free. Many have told us they are a bargain. Sorry we did not meet your expectations.
Jul 19, 2015
Jul 19, 2015
We stayed at 4 other campgrounds prior to staying there and your KOA was by far the best one we have ever stayed at. Thanks for a great and enjoyable visit. Doug & Linda.
Jul 19, 2015
It is always a pleasure to visit this extremely clean and friendly campground. Our stay was just too short. I would recommend this particular campground to all families and those looking for a place to rest right off I-94. Thank you so much for making our stay so eventful!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to submit your survey! Thank you for your kind words. They are much appreciated. Have a great day! We are glad you choose to stay with us!
Jul 17, 2015
Very friendly people nice tent spots.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to submit your survey! Thank you for your kind words. They are much appreciated. Have a great day!
Jul 16, 2015
We were greeted after hours by Nathan who quickly checked us in and guided us to our site. We have a 5th wheel and were able to easily pull thru our site and not have to unhook. We just needed a place to stop for the night and came in late. Nathan was very helpful. The campground is well laid out and with lots of trees. Didn't have time to check out the amenities of the campground but what w
Jul 15, 2015
Very Clean and the staff was very heplful and friendly
Jul 15, 2015
I was very disappointed with the communication. I was charged one rate on the phone and then had to pay way more than I was told when I got there. Some staff didn't even wave when waved to. Beautiful place, but kind of spendy to sleep in a tent!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry that you were disappointed in your stay with us. The reason that the rate was different than what you were quoted is because you wanted a tent site with water and electric where you were quoted for a dry tent sight. All of our staff is extremely friendly and may have missed seeing you.
Jul 14, 2015
The campgrounds were beautiful and the staff were absolutely some of the friendliest people. I was extremely disappointed with the lack of handicapped accessibility. They did have a handicapped shower but that was it. It was difficult to get to the pool or even the changing areas. No easy access to any building. Wasn't told about events or extra costs of events.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We will work on making things more acceptable. Thank you for responding to our survey.
Jul 13, 2015
Great time, Clean,

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to submit your survey! Thank you for your kind words. They are much appreciated. Have a great day!
Jul 11, 2015
Wonderful KOA for a multi-day visit! We have been here multiple times over several years. Bathrooms and other facilities are always very clean and well maintained. Pool is heated & Jumping pillow is a hoot. Antique stores and BRF state park is nearby. We'll be going back for the maiden voyage of our new 5th wheel soon!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to submit your survey! Thank you for your kind words. They are much appreciated. Have a great day!
Jul 11, 2015
Great secluded primitive tent site in a very quiet location. Bathroom and showers were excellent. I'll be using this KOA again when heading between home and Canada.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to submit your survey! Thank you for your kind words. They are much appreciated. Have a great day! We hope to see you again.
Jul 10, 2015
Very clean and friendly campground. Staff make you feel like family.
Jul 10, 2015
The staff was very professional and helpful. The campground was very clean and well maintained. I will stay here again if I am in the area.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to submit your survey! Thank you for your kind words. They are much appreciated. Have a great day! We try to keep things clean thanks for noticing.
Jul 09, 2015
Great place for tent camping. Nice new bathroom facilities. Will stay there next year!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to submit your survey! See you next year! ave a great day!
Jul 08, 2015
Jul 08, 2015
peaceful

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to submit your survey! Thank you for your kind words. They are much appreciated. Have a great day!
Jul 07, 2015
The campground is very clean and well maintained. The amenities are appreciated. We enjoyed another family camping weekend!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to submit your survey! Thank you for your kind words. They are much appreciated. Have a great day!
Jul 07, 2015
This is a clean, well-run, family-orientated campground. No child should be bored with all the possibilities and activities available to them. The natural beauty of this area is enhanced by the numerous flower beds the owners have planted. It is lovely. One small suggestion; the small KOA sign coming from the west either needs an arrow or mileage added. It was a bit confusing. Thanks.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to submit your survey! Thank you for your kind words. They are much appreciated. Have a great day! We added the arrow to the sign...thank you for the suggestion!
Jul 07, 2015
Beautiful campground. Nice area to explore.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to submit your survey! Thank you for your kind words. They are much appreciated. Have a great day!
Jul 07, 2015
Move basketball hoop or put net/fence behind it and dont let cars park too close. Sites a little too close to each other ...wifi not good.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

we apologize that you were disappointed in your stay. We apologize that people may have parked too close to the basketball hoop and we would have asked them to move if we would have been notified. Safe travels.
Jul 07, 2015
KOA Hixton is an extremely friendly accommodating campground. It is a pleasure staying there. Owner Donna is exceptionally making our stay a good one. And Judy too the craft time is amazing. Very impressed. Wagon ride.....a nice long scenic ride. Have stayed there the last 3 summers now

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to submit your survey! Thank you for your kind words. They are much appreciated. Have a great day!
Jul 06, 2015
Jul 06, 2015
Jul 06, 2015
Very clean cabins and bathrooms. Lot's of great activities for kids including fishing pond, pool, bounce pad, playground, and peddle carts.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to submit your survey! Thank you for your kind words. They are much appreciated. Have a great day!
Jul 06, 2015
Grounds are beautiful, people are extremely friendly, but the site we were in had almost no area for ourselves. Had the smallest spot in the campground (2B). Would have made a big difference to be in a different spot. Overall, it's a beautiful park and great activities for all ages!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

we are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. The main part of our campground is designed to have facing yards. Some love it and some hate it. In the future we do have sites with individual yards upon request. Thank you for your comments and have safe travels.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.