Hayward KOA

11544 North US Highway 63

Hayward, WI 54843

Reserve: 800-562-7631

Info: 715-634-2331

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 12, 2013
we happened to stay on pirates weekend a few years ago and we thought that the treasure hunt for candy where everyone could participate and receive a "prize" was more fair. It seemed to us that the scavenger and treasure hunts were geared to the older children...Maybe in the future you could have a hunt for the younger crowd and a more difficult hunt for
Aug 12, 2013
It certainly is a good place for families as there is so much for them to do
Aug 12, 2013
Very kid friendly, lots for a family with young kids to do. They had to close the pool our first night there so they allowed us to play mini golf and use the jump pillow for free also did the dj for a hour and a half so that was nice. Jumping pillow should be free to registered guest. All the extras add up. Not enough showers and water was never warm enough. Sites were very close together.
Aug 12, 2013
A beautiful, well-kept campground staffed by friendly people. Very busy and a great location for kids!
Aug 12, 2013
Our only complaint about our stay at the Hayward KOA was that the adjoining waterslide was closed. Staff told us that the lifeguard had quit unexpectedly, but it was closed the entire weekend...surely they don't only have one certified lifeguard on the payroll?
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 10, 2013
Our stay this year was good. The year before - not so good due to drunken obnoxious neighbors and no enforcement of quiet hours for 4 nights in a row. In fact the only notice of quiet hours seems to be on a sign at the end of one of the rows. It wasn't in the printed documentation. We were in a tent and there was no way to block out the noise that they made for hours at night.
Aug 09, 2013
I was visiting my family from sunny Florida and unfortunetely did not bring the sun with me. It was cloudy and raining for most of our stay. Our accommodations however, exceeded our expectations. We stayed in two side by side deluxe cabins and were very pleased. All in all, besides wanting more sun, we had a wonderful time together.
Aug 09, 2013
We were there and they had an electrical problem and had to close the pool, but instead of telling everyone to just go away they fired up the music and had a dj night that wasn't planned all the kids had a great time with that and forgot about the pool closure. That was not needed to be done by them but that is how they always treat the campers there. Always family first. Hayward koa is top notch
Aug 09, 2013
Aug 09, 2013
Campsites to close together. Couldn't sleep, up ALL night listening to the campers on 2 sides of me talking. Had to hear 1 of them swearing & arguing w/other campers cause he didn't want to shut up. Ladies working the waterslide were very nice & seemed to truely enjoy what they did. Music in the woman's bathroom could be turned down for the night. Took my 6yr old to bathrm at 12.30,music blasting
Aug 08, 2013
Aug 08, 2013
My family and I were disappointed that there were no activities scheduled for kids and no more hay rides, movies or breakfest. We understand that there is new ownership and things have been cut. This was a disappointment as our kids loved these things. Also the staff seemed not as organized and not as "Family" focused.
Aug 08, 2013
Good as usual, but missed the hayrides for the grandkids and the Red Pine Kitchen M-F.
Aug 08, 2013
Campground was right on a busy highway. Lots of road noise & dangerous for small kids. Sites were absolutely tiny, right on top of each other no privacy. Just 1 bathroom within walking distance & only had 1 sink! Road not paved, made biking tough for kids just learning. Pool and slide had no options for kids under 5 or 3' tall. We left early after just 1 night. Terrible. Stay at a nice state park.
Aug 08, 2013
We felt like the facilities were clean and well kept. The campground, however is poorly placed....by the highway. It was very loud, all day and all night long. I felt like we were nickeled and dimed to death with all the additional fees for kids activities, on top of our already high camping fee. please include those activities with the cost of camping.
Aug 08, 2013
we stay at least one weekend each year. This year it was during Chocolate Weekend. The kids had a great time. The grounds and facilities were clean and well kept. The staff was very friendly (again). The TeePees are a net addition and option for future stays. Thanks
Aug 08, 2013
My kids and I just loved this place. There are lots of activities, no bugs, clean facilities, and a friendly and attentive staff.
Aug 07, 2013
Love the KOA at Hayward. Lots to do, friendly, helpful staff, and clean campground! It's been our annual vacation destination for years.
Aug 07, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
There are definite changes since last year. Things are not as clean. The water slide was closed due to lack of staffing for 1 whole day and a part of another day. The workers are not as professional as in past years. The young teen workers were observed leaving the campground, spending time talking with each other, talking and texting on their phones, etc. when it seemed they should be working
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
It was an EXCEPTIONAL place when Arnie and Linda owned it. They hired retirees who showed they cared about the kids. Now the owners aren't as diligent and have teens and other adults working. I expressed that a campsite was playing music much too loudly and no one did a thing. It stayed loud all weekend! There was no toilet paper in one stall-though there are 2 large dispensers. No one checked it
Aug 06, 2013
Very good stay during the week. We left early due to chaos of the weekend. There was a fight and bad language, also beer bottles smashed on the ground. This fight was between other campers and our children heard and saw it all. Need better security. We will come back, but only on the week days. The water slide lady Louie is awesome
Aug 06, 2013
I was disappointed at the way that my son and daughter were treated at check in as we called ahead to make sure that they could have dogs in the kabins and at checkin were told that the new owners did not want to have dogs in the kabins. This should be stated on their website or their employees should not tell guests that dogs are allowed if they are not. We love this KOA but probably not return
Aug 06, 2013
Expect total silence in the entire campground after 11 PM. Do not expect to have a fire at your campsite even if you are quiet. It seems as if quiet means total silence. Also, expect to pay for some amenities.
Aug 06, 2013
Freezing cold pool, 1st night stay airmattress on sleeper sofa had hole in it. Husband hardly slept. Had to refill mattress atleast 5 times after we found 1 hole and taped it. Next morning staff was friendly and replaced mattress.
Aug 06, 2013
Love the KOA. Sad a lot of the staff left this year. They made our trip. Prices are also getting pretty spendy.
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
We stayed in a teepee and it was a great experience ! This was my first time at a KOA and we will be back for sure! Staff members were also very friendly and pleasant :)
Aug 06, 2013
I would recommend this campsite to people who like a lot of loud activities. Music and movies were played at a volume between 7pm and 10:30pm that no camper could miss. Bring earplugs if you would like to sleep before 11:00PM. Camp during the week if you would like a quieter stay. Positives; great playground, pool, and water slide for the kids, very friendly, helpful staff. Clean facilities.
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
Very accommodating. Very peaceful during quiet hours. Our site was a bite small for our rig. Because the fire ring seemed so close to everything, we didn't use it.
Aug 06, 2013
Our family had so much fun tons to do on Saturdays.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
This is our 15th year in a row staying in a Kabin at the Hayward KOA. The kids talk about it all year round as it's a positive tradition. The KOA is always clean and the staff is friendly. The activities are fun and the kids feel safe. All-in-all, a great experience and value.
Aug 05, 2013
There's not enough characters to express how poorly my family was treated upon staying here. I've been coming to this KOA for 10 years. This is by far the worst year. There was more garbage & dog feces on the grounds than I have ever seen before. We were spoken to very rudely & the staff was disrespectful to the guests. Unfortunately we will have to be back next year, but hope for new owner/mngmt!
Aug 05, 2013
We had a great stay in the Hayward KOA with our daughter and two of our grandchildren (13 and 7). We make the annual trek to the North Woods for a bike race in Grand View. The grand kids always look forward to this weekend trip and enjoy the kid friendly place this KOA excels at...never hear "I am bored" comments from the kids!!!
Aug 05, 2013
Very family friendly!! Feel very safe staying there. Staff very helpful and kind!!
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
This KOA has the nicest employees; it was packed w/ tons of fun for all! We can't wait to return. Very clean, lots to do. They know fun! Thank you all!
Aug 05, 2013
The Bathrooms were VERY dirty, we had a group all around our site that had a party all weekend till all hours at night, we called the management with very little effort in taking care of it. The pool smelled like urine. Our feet were always dirty, where did the grass go? The one thing I liked, there was very little bugs. Tubing was more like walking in most area's. This family wont be back.
Aug 05, 2013
The amenities were all wonderful, although we were adults traveling with no children. Our only complaint is that the sites were too close together, leaving no room to park and have a fire at night. We have an almost 40' fifth wheel with slide-outs on both sides and, even though we had a pull thru site, we had no space to park the truck except over the fire pit! Bathroom facilities closed 1 night.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Not much space between sites. Crowded. Nice attractions and good staff
Aug 04, 2013
does not seem as organized as previous years with activities etc. Hayride use to be daily @ 4:00 sharp. You no longer have it every day & one day it was at 7:00. Makes it harder to plan if you are trying to get the little ones on it.
Aug 04, 2013
We had a great time. Really friendly, helpful people worked there.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.