Harrisonburg / Shenandoah Valley KOA

12480 Mountain Valley Road

Broadway, VA 22815

Reserve: 800-562-5406

Info: 540-896-8929

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Tent Reviews

Sep 23, 2013
Again, another great stay at your KOA. Thanks!
Sep 23, 2013
All staff was very friendly.
Sep 21, 2013
Had a wonderful time at your campground. the four days of peace and quiet were just what I needed.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are happy to be able to provide a place for you to find peace. You did look very happy and calm during your stay. Come back anytime!
Sep 09, 2013
The facilities were excellent. My only complaint is that there was not a good place to put our tent in our site. The site was covered in boulders and tree roots. Sleeping on the ground of a tent on top of tree roots and large rocks is NOT comfortable.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am really sorry about the roots and stones on your site. We could have moved you to another site had you requested. In the future, please do not hesitate to request a site that better fits your needs. The site you were on is on the list for renovation.
Sep 08, 2013
Sep 06, 2013
Very relaxing weekend
Sep 04, 2013
There was a barking dog that woke me up when it was still dark Saturday morning. The barking continued for what seemed like an hour or so. The campsites were VERY close together. There was very little privacy. We heard every conversation of the family next door and their two small children. Perhaps it would be a good idea to group similar guests together, so young children who rise early do

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

During holiday weekends we do fill every site on the campground and privacy can be at a premium when your neighbors speak loudly or have active children. Our tent sites are tucked into the woods and have lots of trees. Had we been made aware of the barking dog we would have spoken to the owners.
Sep 03, 2013
Aug 28, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
The kids and I had a great time. Everyone was so nice and friendly. We will definitely be coming back!
Aug 16, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
We have never been to a KOA before and the experience was mostly great. The only issue- we had neighbors move in at 3:30 AM. They apparently did not bring flashlights so they used the high beams to light up our tent and their site, very noisy and late? BUT we did not let the lack of sleep ruin our good time!! Staff was friendly and the KOA was clean as a whistle!! Lots to do!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are so sorry about the middle of the night disturbance. We had no idea they would arrive so late. Your group was so nice and in such great spirits. We look forward to seeing you again.
Aug 07, 2013
Clean campground/ bathhouse. On Saturday lots of activities scheduled for kids. Wonderful ice cream social. Staff very friendly
Aug 01, 2013
Jul 31, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
Had a great time at the campground. The bathrooms were clean and the grounds were well maintained.
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
The campground was well maintained, and the restrooms/showers were very clean.
Jul 24, 2013
our stay was too short and next time we will stay longer. everybody was helpful and friendly and nice. my only comment / concern would be the location of the camp site we stayed in (and the one next to it): because of the proximity to the pull through and the cabins and the run off from the rain....i would do away with both of those spots. this is NOT a complaint...just a suggestion! :)

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I agree, site G8 and G9 were hit pretty hard when we had 6 inches of rain in one day. We have been reworking the runoff patterns. Not an easy task at the base of a mountain! When you return I would suggest you request G3 or G5. They are both tucked in the trees and farther from the roads.
Jul 23, 2013
Our stay started out great, but I feel when the safety of campers, especially children are put below that of a poisonous snake, there is something wrong. I don't think it was necessary to chase my child around the campsite with a dead snake. The whole situation could have been handled differently.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Situation could have been avoided had the child been supervised by a responsible adult. It is our policy that all children under the age of 12 be directly supervised by an adult at all times. This is especially important near the pond.
Jul 16, 2013
The Grandkids loved being able to fish and enjoy the pool. Everyone was so great to us as always! Met a lot of great people.
Jul 16, 2013
Our boyscout troop stayed at the campground. There was lots of things for the boys to do and the adults loved the cleanliness of the bathrooms.
Jul 15, 2013
Great accommodations; friendly staff; lots of activities for the kids. An all-around good experience for our family!
Jul 11, 2013
Jul 10, 2013
nice location,clean bathrooms, tent sites a little small
Jul 09, 2013
Great location and close proximity to numerous activities; clean campground; very helpful and friendly staff; would love to return in the future.
Jul 08, 2013
This is the best camping experience we have ever had

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

That is great news! We look forward to seeing you and the family again.
Jul 03, 2013
It will be better if some food for barbecue is stored in the campground.
Jul 02, 2013
I have taken my group of Dads and kids to this KOA four times in the last ten years. It is one of our favorites!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Your group is always a fun one. The kids are all great and the Dads really seem to be having fun. We hope to see you again.
Jun 30, 2013
Jun 27, 2013
Jun 24, 2013
Jun 20, 2013
Jun 03, 2013
The camp sites are a little too close together so your neighbors seem like room mates. The bathrooms were very clean and staff very friendly.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We do have more remote tent sites on our campground. However, you chose a site near the bath house, pool and mini golf with water and electric on site. These sites measure at about 40x40. When you return, be sure to request a remote site for more privacy.
May 31, 2013
May 31, 2013
We camp here every year as a family in tents. My wife would rather be in a resort, but it is great. Owner is perfect and all staff are very pleasant.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the kind words! Maybe next year you could reserve a deluxe cabin for your wife...hint...hint! We look forward to seeing you again. Thanks again!
May 30, 2013
May 30, 2013
My family and I had a great time during our stay. The campground was very family-oriented, and my 9-year-old son made a lot of friends. We loved the activities. Our only complaint was that it was so cold at night, but the KOA couldn't change that!! Smile. I also greatly appreciated how accommodating they were with my diabetes service dog. Everyone was very friendly We'll be back again!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the kind words! Your dog was a sweetie! We appreciate learning about the important work service dogs perform. Sorry about the cold weather...we did turn up the thermostat...it must have been stuck... smile! ...we look forward to seeing you and the family again, soon.
May 28, 2013
The staff was very friendly, helpful and flexible. We all had a great time and the kids loved playing "putt putt".

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the kind words!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.