Harrisonburg / Shenandoah Valley KOA

12480 Mountain Valley Road

Broadway, VA 22815

Reserve: 800-562-5406

Info: 540-896-8929

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Tent Reviews

Dec 02, 2013
Very nice campground!!! Extremely helpful staff and clean facilities!!! Had to leave very early due to unexpected emergency at home but wil most definitely be returning when the weather is warmer!!
Nov 11, 2013
I try to stay in this campground at least once a year. I love it here. The staff are always friendly and helpful and the campground is very well maintained.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the kind words. We are happy to offer a quiet, clean and pleasant place for all.
Oct 22, 2013
Oct 22, 2013
The place was pretty nice, staff was helpful as they could be. If you get a tent site with electrical make sure to bring a long extension cord because our site was over 50 feet away from the electrical outlet...

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The electric and water pedestal is located between the tent sites. If you need to have electricity inside the tent and you want to place your tent on the far side of the site away from the electric and water pedestal you will want to bring a long extension cord.
Oct 21, 2013
We spent the weekend tent camping at this KOA. We were really impressed with how clean the facilities were and all of the activities that were planned for the weekend. It also is close to the interstate, which makes it easily accessible. A great campground!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are glad you found us! This is our first year having Halloween activities and we have had a terrific response! I hope you enjoyed everything and the beautiful colors mother nature provides this time of your!
Oct 21, 2013
I arrived late to my tent site to find that the RV located adjacent to my site had already set up their satellite antenna right in the middle of my tent site. I had to set up my tent in a less than desirable area. Other than that issue, the campground was great.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry for the inconvenience. Sadly, you arrived after hours or we would have relocated you to a different site.
Oct 18, 2013
We had a great first experience camping here. The campground was clean and quiet, check-in and check-out was smooth even though we arrived late at night, and the woman at the front desk was a joy to talk to!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the kind comments. I will let her know she made a good impression. Thanks for letting me know!
Oct 15, 2013
The only downfall of this campground that I found is only having one bath house. When the bath house is closed for cleaning (daily from 12-2) there is no other restroom for use. The staff was nice enough to let me use the restroom during cleaning though... a huge plus when tenting.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

You are welcome! We try to have the bathhouse fully closed only a very short amount of time each day. We state the cleaning time as 12-2 to give us enough time in case they need extra attention and to give the freshly washed floors time to fully dry before allowing people to walk on them.
Oct 08, 2013
Never been to a KOA but with limited options given National Parks being closed were forced to stay at a KOA and were very pleasantly surprised. A beautiful setting with beautiful trees! Thanks!
Oct 07, 2013
What more could you ask. The people were friendly, the bathrooms and showers immaculate, the fire pit ready to go! We were only there for a night but definitely will return for a longer stay.
Oct 07, 2013
The campgrounds were beautiful and well cared for, the staff was excellent, and the store was extremely convenient and not over-priced. Thank you for a great weekend!
Oct 07, 2013
Enjoyed our short stay, your site is far enough away from the highway that no road sounds/noise was heard. All was quiet and was able to get a restful nights sleep after being on the road all day.
Oct 07, 2013
Two nights. We Loved being surrounded by trees. The bathroom was clean and close by. My 3 year old Loved the playground. We went to Showalter's orchard and Endless Caverns. It was a great weekend!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are glad you enjoyed your stay. October is a beautiful time of year in the Valley. Thanks for choosing to spend it with us!
Oct 02, 2013
We stayed two nights and were the only people in the tent area. Roads nearby were a bit noisy and you could hear cows all night. Campground had a nice layout, tent sites were shady and set away from RV sites. Employees were friendly and they had a nice camp store. Would stay again.
Oct 01, 2013
Wish we could have stayed longer...We had booked 2 nights, but had to leave a day early because it was raining so badly that all of our day plans were ruined. Didn't want to tent in the pouring rain. Loved our site!
Sep 23, 2013
One of the best KOAs we've. Stayed at. Amazingly friendly staff, great programs, fun amenities & a beautiful campsite! Only complaint would be the gravel/stone under the playground: not a pleasant landing.
Sep 23, 2013
Again, another great stay at your KOA. Thanks!
Sep 23, 2013
All staff was very friendly.
Sep 21, 2013
Had a wonderful time at your campground. the four days of peace and quiet were just what I needed.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are happy to be able to provide a place for you to find peace. You did look very happy and calm during your stay. Come back anytime!
Sep 09, 2013
The facilities were excellent. My only complaint is that there was not a good place to put our tent in our site. The site was covered in boulders and tree roots. Sleeping on the ground of a tent on top of tree roots and large rocks is NOT comfortable.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am really sorry about the roots and stones on your site. We could have moved you to another site had you requested. In the future, please do not hesitate to request a site that better fits your needs. The site you were on is on the list for renovation.
Sep 08, 2013
Sep 06, 2013
Very relaxing weekend
Sep 04, 2013
There was a barking dog that woke me up when it was still dark Saturday morning. The barking continued for what seemed like an hour or so. The campsites were VERY close together. There was very little privacy. We heard every conversation of the family next door and their two small children. Perhaps it would be a good idea to group similar guests together, so young children who rise early do

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

During holiday weekends we do fill every site on the campground and privacy can be at a premium when your neighbors speak loudly or have active children. Our tent sites are tucked into the woods and have lots of trees. Had we been made aware of the barking dog we would have spoken to the owners.
Sep 03, 2013
Aug 28, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
The kids and I had a great time. Everyone was so nice and friendly. We will definitely be coming back!
Aug 16, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
We have never been to a KOA before and the experience was mostly great. The only issue- we had neighbors move in at 3:30 AM. They apparently did not bring flashlights so they used the high beams to light up our tent and their site, very noisy and late? BUT we did not let the lack of sleep ruin our good time!! Staff was friendly and the KOA was clean as a whistle!! Lots to do!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are so sorry about the middle of the night disturbance. We had no idea they would arrive so late. Your group was so nice and in such great spirits. We look forward to seeing you again.
Aug 07, 2013
Clean campground/ bathhouse. On Saturday lots of activities scheduled for kids. Wonderful ice cream social. Staff very friendly
Aug 01, 2013
Jul 31, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
Had a great time at the campground. The bathrooms were clean and the grounds were well maintained.
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
The campground was well maintained, and the restrooms/showers were very clean.
Jul 24, 2013
our stay was too short and next time we will stay longer. everybody was helpful and friendly and nice. my only comment / concern would be the location of the camp site we stayed in (and the one next to it): because of the proximity to the pull through and the cabins and the run off from the rain....i would do away with both of those spots. this is NOT a complaint...just a suggestion! :)

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I agree, site G8 and G9 were hit pretty hard when we had 6 inches of rain in one day. We have been reworking the runoff patterns. Not an easy task at the base of a mountain! When you return I would suggest you request G3 or G5. They are both tucked in the trees and farther from the roads.
Jul 23, 2013
Our stay started out great, but I feel when the safety of campers, especially children are put below that of a poisonous snake, there is something wrong. I don't think it was necessary to chase my child around the campsite with a dead snake. The whole situation could have been handled differently.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Situation could have been avoided had the child been supervised by a responsible adult. It is our policy that all children under the age of 12 be directly supervised by an adult at all times. This is especially important near the pond.
Jul 16, 2013
The Grandkids loved being able to fish and enjoy the pool. Everyone was so great to us as always! Met a lot of great people.
Jul 16, 2013
Our boyscout troop stayed at the campground. There was lots of things for the boys to do and the adults loved the cleanliness of the bathrooms.
Jul 15, 2013
Great accommodations; friendly staff; lots of activities for the kids. An all-around good experience for our family!
Jul 11, 2013
Jul 10, 2013
nice location,clean bathrooms, tent sites a little small
Jul 09, 2013
Great location and close proximity to numerous activities; clean campground; very helpful and friendly staff; would love to return in the future.
Jul 08, 2013
This is the best camping experience we have ever had

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

That is great news! We look forward to seeing you and the family again.
Jul 03, 2013
It will be better if some food for barbecue is stored in the campground.
Jul 02, 2013
I have taken my group of Dads and kids to this KOA four times in the last ten years. It is one of our favorites!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Your group is always a fun one. The kids are all great and the Dads really seem to be having fun. We hope to see you again.
Jun 30, 2013
Jun 27, 2013
Jun 24, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.