Harrisonburg / Shenandoah Valley KOA

12480 Mountain Valley Road

Broadway, VA 22815

Reserve: 800-562-5406

Info: 540-896-8929

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 17, 2013
Jun 17, 2013
Jun 17, 2013
Jun 17, 2013
Good weekend for me and my family - also the grandkids love it - we will be back.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the kind words!
Jun 17, 2013
Little hard to find but the friendly staff and beautiful surroundings greatly make it worth it!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the kind words! Glad you found us!
Jun 17, 2013
We had a great weekend here and the staff was very friendly, helpful and in a great mood. Bonus: loved the organic pest control..the chickens wandering the campground.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the kind words! We look forward to seeing you again, soon. Next year we hope to have more exotic looking chickens.
Jun 16, 2013
Jun 16, 2013
Glad to have stayed. I will be back again.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the kind words! We look forward to seeing you again, soon.
Jun 16, 2013
LOVE LOVE!!! Wonderful set up just wish we had been staying more than one night!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the kind words!
Jun 15, 2013
Everything was well maintained and the staff was extremely friendly. The mosquitos were plentful and made it difficult to enjoy the outdoors. Otherwise, we would, and will, return.
Jun 14, 2013
Jun 13, 2013
Jun 12, 2013
It was so much fun. I would come to that campground again.
Jun 12, 2013
Very isolated and tough to drive through with a big rig. Had we come in after office hours we would have never found the spot and they do not have trash pick up at the sight you have to bring it to the dumpster. Also GPS did not work finding the location

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am sorry to hear you found our property difficult to navigate. We keep our roads at an average of 14-18 feet wide with 30 degree turns. We do ask trash be left out in the morning for pick up rather than at night. Our print ads, phone reservations & emails give clear directions & mention GPS error.
Jun 11, 2013
Jun 11, 2013
I had a wonderful time. Monica and her staff are great people. I love the koa and as long as the Lord's willing and I am able I will continue to stay at the koa every chance that I get. love ya! Monica and crew. You happy camper Elaine and family.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We love you, too! It is always a pleasure to see you and the family! Keep well.
Jun 11, 2013
Really enjoyed our stay. Loved the sites. Campground clean quiet and visually pleasing. Bathrooms very nice. Highly recommend

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the kind words!
Jun 11, 2013
Everyone was excellent. The site was great but the problem we had was the stray dog that came to our site to bother our dogs. That is no ones fault which is why I still rated the stay and the facility perfect. We will come again!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am really sorry we had a dog loose on the property. We do our best to be sure everyone keeps their pets on leash. The dog turned out to be a stray from the neighbor. He is back home and the owners assure me their fence gate has been repaired.
Jun 11, 2013
Great camp ground. Friendly staff. Quiet and relaxing camp ground.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your kind words!
Jun 10, 2013
Stayed in little cabin. It was fine. A/C was a little weak. Cabins are really dark though, even with lights on. Overall decent value.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We will check that A/C unit and the lights. Thanks for the heads up!
Jun 10, 2013
we wil not return to your campground because the road from Rt. 81 to your facility is a horror for big rigs

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am sorry you found Route 608 to be a horror. This road is a standard, two lane, secondary road that accommodates 18 wheelers, Big Rigs towing, farm tractors and automobiles on a daily basis. The four turns on this road can cause stress for some drivers after traveling on the wide open interstate.
Jun 09, 2013
this is the cleanest campground and the nicest owners and staff that I have experienced. I have recommended this location to several friends.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the kind words!
Jun 09, 2013
Staff very friendly and helpful. Thank you.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the kind words!
Jun 08, 2013
Jun 07, 2013
Jun 07, 2013
Advertise WiFI but not available. All KOA's should have a working WiFi system

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We do our best to keep the WIFI active and available. Unfortunately, we are at the base of a mountain on a heavily treed property. We depend on Hughes Net for our Satellite WIFI server. At times we have heavy use which will trigger HughesNet to choke down the system.I am sorry for any inconvenience.
Jun 06, 2013
We had a very enjoyable stay even though it was brief. The facilities were outstanding and convinced us to sign up for the KOA card program. We look forward to many more stays at your campgrounds.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the kind words! We hope you use that card a lot this year! Remember to make your reservation in September for your free night! Check KOA.com for details.
Jun 06, 2013
Overall, a nice facility in a great location. Close to 81, but far enough that you don't get road noise. Bathrooms could use a refresh, and the wi-fi signal was spotty at best. Otherwise, a good campground.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the kind words!
Jun 05, 2013
Very clean and well maintained. Management and staff very friendly.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the kind words!
Jun 04, 2013
Jun 04, 2013
cable ready sites were available and was not offered option even though we paid for full hookup.Also wifi service was spotty at best.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

When you checked in you requested a 30 amp, full hookup, pull through site. Unfortunately, you did not mention your desire for a cable TV hook up. Our cable TV is on select sites and must be requested. I will train my staff to offer the upgrade at check in.
Jun 03, 2013
The camp sites are a little too close together so your neighbors seem like room mates. The bathrooms were very clean and staff very friendly.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We do have more remote tent sites on our campground. However, you chose a site near the bath house, pool and mini golf with water and electric on site. These sites measure at about 40x40. When you return, be sure to request a remote site for more privacy.
Jun 02, 2013
The owners and family were very personable, and the campground layout was awesome! The showers and restrooms were immaculate, The location was great with no nearby highway noise and the hiking trail was cool going up into the mountain. Their flier needs to give info on hiking trail like how long it is and that it is one way up and back, maybe plants and animals to look for like lizards etc.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the kind words! That is a good suggestion. We will work on making a flier with information about the hiking trail and forest. In the meantime, we do have books at the front desk that identifies trees and animals you will find in our forest. Be sure to ask to see them when you return!
Jun 02, 2013
very relaxing and very enjoyable

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the kind words!
Jun 01, 2013
May 31, 2013
May 31, 2013
We camp here every year as a family in tents. My wife would rather be in a resort, but it is great. Owner is perfect and all staff are very pleasant.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the kind words! Maybe next year you could reserve a deluxe cabin for your wife...hint...hint! We look forward to seeing you again. Thanks again!
May 31, 2013
This is a great camp groung to spend time at to relax and kick back. friendly quiet shadded all around GREAT.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the kind words!
May 30, 2013
May 30, 2013
fast easy check in, still shaded but more open than use to be, like that. one of the best KoA in my eye.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for noticing! We have been busy cutting down the sick, dead and dying trees. We intend to preserve the wooded atmosphere while doing so. See you again, soon!
May 30, 2013
My family and I had a great time during our stay. The campground was very family-oriented, and my 9-year-old son made a lot of friends. We loved the activities. Our only complaint was that it was so cold at night, but the KOA couldn't change that!! Smile. I also greatly appreciated how accommodating they were with my diabetes service dog. Everyone was very friendly We'll be back again!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the kind words! Your dog was a sweetie! We appreciate learning about the important work service dogs perform. Sorry about the cold weather...we did turn up the thermostat...it must have been stuck... smile! ...we look forward to seeing you and the family again, soon.
May 29, 2013
This is one of my favorite campgrounds in the area. I enjoyed my stay and look forward to my next stay. Campground is very clean and staff is terrific.
May 29, 2013
May 29, 2013
The service was great, the staff is very friendly. It is annoying having to wear the wrist bands, I would suggest double checking cars when people enter the campground instead of wrist bands.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The wristband program on holiday weekends help us be sure everyone on the property is a registered guest. This also helps guests remember their site number when ordering wood or checking out equipment. This is for the fairness and security of everyone involved.
May 28, 2013
May 28, 2013
May 28, 2013
Music entertainment on the weekends would be nice. That is what attracts to other campgrounds. ESPN would be nice but not necessary. We don't watch enough tv to make it a deciding factor.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Many of our regular customers have informed us they enjoy the quiet activities, peace and quiet we offer.
May 28, 2013
The pool is advertised as heated but it was really cold. Also need bath house at top of hill to decrease traffic congestion in other restroom.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Yes, the pool was cold on Memorial Day Weekend. When the night time temperatures drop to upper 30's we were not able to keep it warm. My apologies.
May 28, 2013
The staff was very friendly, helpful and flexible. We all had a great time and the kids loved playing "putt putt".

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the kind words!
May 27, 2013
Could not get on wi-FYI. Should not say you have wi-FYI if you can not get it at site. Was very disappointed.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.