Halifax West KOA

3070 Highway 1

Upper Sackville, NS B4E 3C9 Canada Canada

Reserve: 888-562-4705

Info: 902-865-4342

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Sep 27, 2013
The restricted website policy was a bit frustrating. The newspaper sites lime Exmonton & Calgary sun were blocked. Otherwise our stay was fine.
Sep 27, 2013
Sep 27, 2013
Sep 25, 2013
Sep 25, 2013
Sep 24, 2013
Sep 24, 2013
had a great time...friendly staff...clean areas...fun for kids...bathrooms tidy. Sites nice. We come here a few times each camping season and always leave happy! Thanks for a wonderful camping season...see you May long weekend 2014!! Chris and Shelley MacNeil, Hammonds Plains.
Sep 24, 2013
We came here to let our daughter have a great time. The playgroud was clean and safe and our site was right across from the playground. I was a little hesitant on that but it was treed and quite private for all the traffic that came and went to the playground. It was an ideal spot for someone with kids.
Sep 24, 2013
Sep 24, 2013
Very nice campground and the staff was very friendly.
Sep 23, 2013
We thought the camp was excellent and very were made very welcome. Although we only stayed one night we thought the facilities were great.
Sep 23, 2013
great!
Sep 23, 2013
Sep 23, 2013
Great stay, site we had was awesome, others we would not have wanted, but ours was great. Playground for the kids was perfect and they loved it there. Owner (I think was owner, a man) was very friendly. We are looking forward to visiting multiple times next year!
Sep 23, 2013
Sep 23, 2013
We did enjoy our stay but we really didn't like the campsite that we were given. It was really wet and it backed onto water. I wish that I would have known that because I have two small children who are not afraid to go into any water.The ground was wet but that was due to all the rain. It smelt like sewer and we would have liked to been on higher ground.
Sep 22, 2013
Very well managed campground, friendly and helpful staff.
Sep 22, 2013
Wonderful campground - excellent facilities.
Sep 22, 2013
We really like camping at KOA Halifax West. It's close to home but still far enough away to relax. The upgrades have been great this year. Keep up the good work!
Sep 21, 2013
Sep 21, 2013
Love this place. We had a great spot right on the lake. The resident ducks provided great entertainment.
Sep 20, 2013
We enjoyed our stay but the office-check-in parking area is very congested and it make it difficult for big rigs to park and not block access to the road leading to the camp sites. Too many vehicles in too small an area.
Sep 19, 2013
We were very cordially received and had a great time. Since we had a problem with our camper, it helped a great deal that the campground is at the same time CruiseCanada's Halifax hub. The relevant service was absolutely exemplary! Thanks Joe and Russ!
Sep 18, 2013
Sep 17, 2013
Great place to stay. Not too far from home to get there, but when we are there it feels like we are a million miles away. Exactly what we need.
Sep 17, 2013
The Staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help with everything.
Sep 17, 2013
Enjoy our stay, only one night this time didn,t relize it was free weekend, the entrance way is very crowed needs wider entrance so travelers can get through
Sep 16, 2013
Sep 16, 2013
Sep 16, 2013
I was VERY disappointed with our stay this time. we purchased the rewards card because the lady said it would be cheaper(it was buy one night get 2nd free). well it was tropical rain storm our site got completely flooded to the point of ducks swimming under our trailer, our firepit was completely submersed in water and we could not sit outside due to the amount of water, we asked for a rain check
Sep 14, 2013
Well maintained campground. Pleasently surprised to see lots of trees in a KOA! Too bad there is a bit of a swamp on the north end of the campground. Frogs in the small wetland area kept us up the first night of our stay. Private washrooms were fantastic!
Sep 14, 2013
Sep 14, 2013
just great
Sep 13, 2013
Sep 13, 2013
Our stay was excellent, very nice park, nice sites, it is a little far from Halifax, but not bad. We enjoyed very much.
Sep 13, 2013
Great facility and excellent staff. Thank you.
Sep 12, 2013
You have nice ducks on your lake :-), i like it to be in Woods Campground! Nice Staff, it's a pleasure to stay in your campground.
Sep 12, 2013
We thought closing the store at 6pm was a bit early. I know it was late in the season but the place looked untidy. The owners were very nice and helpful.
Sep 10, 2013
My family and I enjoy spending time at the KOA's in both Halifax and Cavendish. However our latest trip to Halifax we had some issues with the cleaning staff. Rude comments were said behind my back. When we asked to have a quick look inside one of the cabins while it was being cleaned, the tone the lady used was rude and inappropriate towards my wife.
Sep 09, 2013
Great stay once again.
Sep 09, 2013
Thank you for a great kamping experience. We particularly enjoyed camping on the St.John River. It was neat that our nearest neighbors were a little flock of mallard ducks. The staff were kind, courteous and helpful. The facilities were clean and tidy despite the misuse of some campers. We decided to camp here on our return trip.
Sep 09, 2013
This was a return visit. We were able to park at the same site near the river and were delighted to canoe the St.John from the campsite.
Sep 09, 2013
Always like the KOA's, friendly staff, well maintained facilities. It rained when we were there but enjoyed it all the same. Got in a little geocaching from our spot. Always a good thing.
Sep 09, 2013
We booked and payed a week ahead with confirmation emailed back to be next to other family members camping there when on arrival to find that our lot was rented out that we payed for and had to take a lot a fair walk away not real happy but we made the best of it any way
Sep 09, 2013
The kids love the bouncy pillow!
Sep 09, 2013
We stayed for 2 nights at the KOA, Halifax West. My Kids loved the playground and the bouncing pillow. They also used the pool. It was after labor day and we did not get to try the pancake house. The highway is close so you do hear the highway. The lots are quite close. Overall a fun campground for kids.
Sep 09, 2013
Excellent proximity to many Halifax, South Shore and Eastern Shore sights. Noisy traffic from nearby Hwy 101. Kids biking on roadways without adult supervision created driving hazards.
Sep 09, 2013
We liked the campground in general but our site (D12) and the one next to it would get a frequent odor from the sewer system. Would not want either of those sites in the future.
Sep 08, 2013
THE SITES WERE CRAMPED. IT SEEMED IN GENERAL THAT THERE WAS A BIT TOO MUCH SUMMER FOR THEIR RESOURCES. ALSO, THE WAY THE CHILDREN RACE AROUND ON THE RENTED BICYCLES IS GOING TO END UP DISASTEROUSLY SOME DAY. THEY DON'T LOOK AND THEY ARE SO LOW THEY ARE HARD FOR DRIVERS TO SEE. I HAVE BEEN AT OTHER KOAS WHERE THE BIKES WERE USED AND THIS DIDN'T SEEM TO BE A PROBLEM.
Sep 08, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.