Estes Park KOA

2051 Big Thompson Ave.

Estes Park, CO 80517

Reserve: 800-562-1887

Info: 970-586-2888

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Tent Reviews

Jun 30, 2014
We enjoyed our stay at Estes Park KOA. The staff was very nice, and it was a very clean campground. Our only complaint was that our tent site was rock, and it made it very difficult to let our little one play.
Jun 30, 2014
Nice place, the tent spaces feel private enough even though they're next to each other. Clean facilities with hot water. One computer with wifi in the main office/store, convenient. Across the street there is a lake park that is nice to walk around and there are nearby hiking trails. Free shuttle into town. Friendly and competent staff.
Jun 27, 2014
The camp was clean and quite. I plan on staying again next time we visit .
Jun 24, 2014
Always the best camping experience anywhere. Friendly, quiet, clean and a great location.
Jun 23, 2014
Jun 23, 2014
Restroom/shower was fantastic! Although the campground was completely full we did not feel cramped. We'll definitely be back.
Jun 23, 2014
Noisy! Right by the highway. Staff more interested in kicking us out of the playground than in making sure quiet hours are enforced.
Jun 23, 2014
The tent sites are too close to a very busy road and we had some very rude neighbors. However, the staff is incredibly nice, the facilities are clean and they have a lot of great activities for kids and families. Overall, it was a nice stay.
Jun 21, 2014
We stayed for three nights during a Father's Day promotion where kids stay free. It was me, my wife, our two daughters and our Husky, Tala. The staff at the Estes Park KOA were so cordial and friendly, my family didn't want to leave. They also went out of their way for us, since I had a rather large tent, the moved us to a bigger spot with no hesitations. We had such a great time!!!
Jun 20, 2014
Great location. Great service.
Jun 20, 2014
Great place to stay, we just had the worst campsite...no fire pit and right on the busy highway.
Jun 19, 2014
Great staff. Clean facilities. We have young children and they loved the train rides, playground, and ice cream
Jun 16, 2014
The tent site was awesome right next to some bushes, and I could hear a creek. The bathrooms on one side were individual, and CLEAN! Every employee was friendly and very helpful, and remembered what I had planned for my activities, and asked how my day went. I'll be back!
Jun 15, 2014
Great office assistance. Wish office would open a bit earlier in the morning, but other than that, clean site, clean rest rooms, great location for fishing.
Jun 09, 2014
We really only stayed the one night to visit with our friends from Florida! We did all our cooking together at their site. Except for the spaces being really too close together, and being too close to the highway (we normally stay at state parks) your KOA had lovely amenities!
Jun 09, 2014
This campground is built for RV's. There are very few tent/popup sites, and those are located right in the front of the camp, which is right next to the highway. This made for a lot of noise. I understand the design of this campground, but had I known the location of the tent site, I would not have booked. Rhese sites do not have their own firepit, which was disappointment. Clean bathrooms though!
Jun 08, 2014
We had a large group coming in several different nights in several different accommodations... the KOA staff was so helpful in getting us as close together as possible! The park was clean and fun for the kids. The bathrooms were clean and close. The train, marshmallows and ice cream were my daughters favorite. We had a great time and the weather was good to us too.
Jun 02, 2014
I had a great time here. I have been here before and I am always impressed with the care the workers put into this KOA. If you are looking for a great place with a great view at a great price this is where you want to be.
May 27, 2014
We were lucky enough to have one of the best spots (7). Had trees covering us and close to bathrooms. After seeing other campgrounds in the town we will return here before going to the other ones.
May 26, 2014
We were parked in a spot that seemed like the easement of Hwy 34. Traffic was deafening! The owner parked us and wouldn't let us park at the edge of our campsite to give us room to put out our awning because that wouldn't let the people on the right have enough room. Our son had an RV he had to drive straight in because his bed would be on this easement of the Hwy. They did allow a late departure.
May 26, 2014
May 19, 2014
The caretakers were super friendly, and very helpful in giving directions to things on our itinerary, and suggestions to other things we should see that weekend as well as things to come back to see/do later in the season.
May 12, 2014
May 11, 2014
Jan 04, 2014
Clean restrooms, friendly staff, thanks!
Sep 30, 2013
Wonderful. We have stayed here before and will again and I can't wait till we can stay again.
Sep 12, 2013
Sep 10, 2013
Friendly staff, nice facility, clean bathrooms and nice laundry room.
Sep 10, 2013
This was a very nice campground for young families. However, the tent & Rv Sites are too cramped. We felt like we were all sleeping on top of each other and parking at the tent site was nearly impossible without a smart car.
Sep 09, 2013
Sep 09, 2013
The tent area was basically right next to the highway with just a wood fence to mask noise. Campers were allowed to set up after midnight and then drunk campers showed after 1AM. Billets are very small and on top of each other. Was required to stay two nights after horrible first night.
Sep 09, 2013
Great place! Clean, well-laid out campground. Friendly people! We will definitely be back!
Sep 09, 2013
It was a nice place.
Sep 08, 2013
Sep 07, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
We are new to the pop up trailor camping tradition, and I cannot thank you all enough for the fine care. Bud, one of the staff members helped us back in the trailor with expert skill, kindness and humor, making my wife look like a pro and setting a standard on how to communicate backing up effectively. Great support, nice people, clean bathrooms in the heart of a wonderful national park. Wow!
Sep 03, 2013
Excellent service and venue
Sep 03, 2013
Bad sewer smell around tent sites. Shower facilities were clean and staff were nice. Beautiful location.
Sep 02, 2013
Aug 27, 2013
Truly the most efficient run camp ground I've stayed in many years. The staff and owners were very friendly and helpful. Will be back next season. Thank you for a very clean environment.
Aug 26, 2013
The facilities are very nice and the owners are friendly and helpful. Most tenting sites have covers over the picnic tables for shelter if it rains. The horse stable next to the campground does smell a bit if the wind is blowing the wrong way. It is very close to town and is generally quiet at night.
Aug 25, 2013
Friendly staff, clean facilities, well stocked store. Our family really enjoyed our stay!!
Aug 23, 2013
The tent camping was awful. Manure smell from next door horse stable and gravel to sleep on make is very unpleasant. However, the management was very kind and refunded us our second night without question. Just know what you're getting, because this tent camping area is not like the regular standard koa we've experienced around the country.
Aug 20, 2013
Aug 20, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
It is not a place I would tent camp again. My sister who brought her popup was in a much quieter area and had little trouble. What bothered us was the noise and the smell. We had a very loud group next to us that did not obey the quiet rules, plus we only saw them get enforced once. Also we were down wind from the porter potty and could smell it and the horse stables next door all night long.
Aug 19, 2013
I was told my campsite would be next to porta potties but that usually they didn't get complaints and they didn't seem to bother campers. Well the first night the smell was overwhelming and we could definitely smell them.
Aug 16, 2013
Tent sites were wedged in on top of each other. Our tent was less then 2 feet from the pop up trailer tent next to us. Sites were literally right next to a four lane highway with traffic roaring by all night long.
Aug 16, 2013
Beautiful setting and nice folks running the KOA. Would likely stay here again if in the area.
Aug 13, 2013
We so enjoyed meeting the owners Jim & Ruth & the pancake breakfast was amazing! Everyone was very personable & we enjoyed camping on our motorcycle trip thru Estes Park, CO.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.