Estes Park KOA

2051 Big Thompson Ave.

Estes Park, CO 80517

Reserve: 800-562-1887

Info: 970-586-2888

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Tent Reviews

Jul 28, 2013
Our site next to pasture- overpowering smell of horses/urine/manure. Neighbor arrived after 11 pm and woke us with doors/horn beeps for over an hour. Friendly checkin personnel, though.
Jul 27, 2013
Reason for lower rating is location next to a horse farm which you can smell in tent section of campground
Jul 27, 2013
Reason for lower rating is location next to a horse farm which you can smell in tent section of campground
Jul 26, 2013
I had come from the koa north of Ouray, Co. which had large, grassy, shaded campsites. So was dissapointed in the hot, small, un-shaded sites in Estes park. Bathrooms were clean and people were nice, including employees.
Jul 26, 2013
great organization
Jul 25, 2013
Wonderful staff, great shower's, plenty of room for the tent to set up. Thanks again, will definitely stay here again on our next trip!
Jul 24, 2013
Jul 23, 2013
The ground was very sandy. Otherwise our stay was pretty good. Guest service was great!
Jul 23, 2013
5 stars! Staff was very friendly and helpful, with info on estes park, showing me around the facility, etc. Excellent facility & amenities.
Jul 20, 2013
We felt very welcome, the staff was very helpful and friendly. The clean bathrooms, shop and free shuttle bus stop topped it off.
Jul 18, 2013
I was impressed by the staff and the service that they provided during my stay! It was a little tight getting 2 vehicles in the parking spots provided but over all a great experience in Estes Park, CO!
Jul 16, 2013
Great. Just Great.
Jul 15, 2013
This is a family friendly campground with friendly staff and clean facilities. There isn't a lot of space, but we found 1 tent site that we has a little extra room.
Jul 14, 2013
I love the campground but feel that a tent site with no hook ups for $35 per night is not helping to make camping very affordable!! No wonder so many people sleep in Wal-Mart parking lots!!
Jul 12, 2013
Jul 11, 2013
Everything was great except for a very noisy very large group who was still partying at 1:30am and we had to get out of bed and ask them to be quite.
Jul 09, 2013
I have been coming up to the Estes Park Koa for the last 5 years and Jim and Ruth have always welcomed me and made me feel as if Iam family. thank you Firefighter Jim..
Jul 09, 2013
the park was very nice with all the flowers, very neat. have stayed in a few other koa's & this is the only paved one. also the manager helped my husband park his camper in the space, good thing because I am not a very good helper when it comes to that. very friendly staff. our stay was most enjoyable.
Jul 09, 2013
THE CAMPSITE WE WERE AT UP FRONT WAS VERY CROWDED. BUT THE STAFF WAS VERY FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL. LOVED YOUR PANCAKES!!! WILL BE BACK!
Jul 08, 2013
Restrooms and facilities were clean, and managers were courteous, but tent sites were cramped with no grass, and too close to other sites and to the main busy road only feet away. If you have a tent, you are relegated to the least desirable area. Also, quiet hours were not enforced. Large group of campers on one site partied loudly until 2am.
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 07, 2013
We love every minute of our time that we spend at Estes KOA. Over ten times. If I were to encounter someone from another state that asked where and what would be a good Colorado vacation experience, I would tell them to consider your KOA and the Estes Park area. They couldn't go wrong !
Jul 07, 2013
The stay was awesome. T17 was great and the horses next door really brought out the outdoor air. The most enjoyable was the ice cream night. The camp was clean as were all the sites and facilities. We loved it!!
Jul 07, 2013
Great place, great people running it. Dinged my rating not having a campfire ring and the road noise from the road in front. Other than that, great location and very clean overall.
Jul 07, 2013
Jul 07, 2013
This was the poorest KOA in Colorado. Tent sites were noisy, right on a highway, crowded, impossible to get a good nights sleep. We will not return.
Jul 06, 2013
Jul 04, 2013
Great place, friendly staff, great place to stay if you are going to rocky mountain national park.
Jul 04, 2013
The staff was so hospitable and kind. The grounds were beautifully kept and fun! Thanks for a great experience.
Jul 02, 2013
clean- people very frienly would stay again next time in estate park will stay at other koa campgrounds next time i camp out.
Jun 30, 2013
The tent area is very poor compared to other koa campgrounds, which charge far less.
Jun 29, 2013
Jun 26, 2013
We have stayed at this KOA before. Even though all tent sites were filled everyone was considerate of all campers. Staff helpful and friendly. KOA located near Estes Park and the Rocky MT Nat Park. Made for easy day trips.
Jun 25, 2013
Typical KOA, clean and well-maintained, friendly and helpful staff. We can always count on this with KOA.
Jun 24, 2013
Noisy at the tent sites with power. Traffic was very noisy into the night. Campground employees were all great and friendly as usual. THANKS!
Jun 24, 2013
Jun 24, 2013
Jun 23, 2013
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Jun 23, 2013
Would have rated the KOA higher but there seemed to be laxed endorcement of basic rules. One tenting site had 3 tents and at least 10 people staying there, and there was no enforment of quiet times, with a loud and obnoxious group partying until 2.30am. Reporting it on the Satuday had a very low key reaction from camp management.
Jun 19, 2013
Jun 17, 2013
Camping with our family and another family. The bathrooms, while small and quaint, were well maintained and the staff was definitely friendly. The tent spot was large enough for all of our stuff and our dog was well received. A couple things we wished for were grass (the entire tent area was dirt) and shade (there was a small lean to but nothing more other than what we created with our canopy.
Jun 16, 2013
Fantastic staff. Excellent ly clean. Well behaved campers. We'll be back. Love our space.
Jun 10, 2013
Absolutely loved the campsite and the view!! No complaints. Very peaceful! Thank you very much for a pleasant stay!
Jun 10, 2013
Campground and bathrooms are always clean and tidy. Staff is very friendly. Wine tasting was fun! Thanks!
Jun 08, 2013
We had a wonderful time at Estes Park KOA. There was a beautiful view of the mountains from our tent site. The staff was friendly and helpful. There were plenty of showers and the water was always hot enough. We will definitely go back again!
Jun 07, 2013
Tent sites were awful. You either stay right beside the road or in a dirt pit.
Jun 07, 2013
We had a great time, loved the staff, found the facilities to be very clean and easily accessible. I was thrilled that pets were allowed and so many other dog owners had their pups camping as well. Overall, an excellent stay.
Jun 03, 2013
Last weekend we took our recently purchased pop-up on a "Shake Down Cruise" to familiarize ourselves with the operation of everything. The staff at the Estes Park KOA were more than helpful. As soon as we pulled in one of the staff noticed I was having trouble backing in. Immediately he was helping me. When I had trouble lighting my hot water heater another staff member was there to help.
May 28, 2013
May 28, 2013
Serving breakfast on Sunday is a great idea. Our only complaint is how closely everyone gets packed in. If you eliminated every 4th space or so, it would be incredibly more comfortable.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.