Estes Park KOA

2051 Big Thompson Ave.

Estes Park, CO 80517

Reserve: 800-562-1887

Info: 970-586-2888

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Tent Reviews

Jun 08, 2014
We had a large group coming in several different nights in several different accommodations... the KOA staff was so helpful in getting us as close together as possible! The park was clean and fun for the kids. The bathrooms were clean and close. The train, marshmallows and ice cream were my daughters favorite. We had a great time and the weather was good to us too.
Jun 02, 2014
I had a great time here. I have been here before and I am always impressed with the care the workers put into this KOA. If you are looking for a great place with a great view at a great price this is where you want to be.
May 27, 2014
We were lucky enough to have one of the best spots (7). Had trees covering us and close to bathrooms. After seeing other campgrounds in the town we will return here before going to the other ones.
May 26, 2014
We were parked in a spot that seemed like the easement of Hwy 34. Traffic was deafening! The owner parked us and wouldn't let us park at the edge of our campsite to give us room to put out our awning because that wouldn't let the people on the right have enough room. Our son had an RV he had to drive straight in because his bed would be on this easement of the Hwy. They did allow a late departure.
May 26, 2014
May 19, 2014
The caretakers were super friendly, and very helpful in giving directions to things on our itinerary, and suggestions to other things we should see that weekend as well as things to come back to see/do later in the season.
May 12, 2014
May 11, 2014
Jan 04, 2014
Clean restrooms, friendly staff, thanks!
Sep 30, 2013
Wonderful. We have stayed here before and will again and I can't wait till we can stay again.
Sep 12, 2013
Sep 10, 2013
Friendly staff, nice facility, clean bathrooms and nice laundry room.
Sep 10, 2013
This was a very nice campground for young families. However, the tent & Rv Sites are too cramped. We felt like we were all sleeping on top of each other and parking at the tent site was nearly impossible without a smart car.
Sep 09, 2013
Sep 09, 2013
The tent area was basically right next to the highway with just a wood fence to mask noise. Campers were allowed to set up after midnight and then drunk campers showed after 1AM. Billets are very small and on top of each other. Was required to stay two nights after horrible first night.
Sep 09, 2013
Great place! Clean, well-laid out campground. Friendly people! We will definitely be back!
Sep 09, 2013
It was a nice place.
Sep 08, 2013
Sep 07, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
We are new to the pop up trailor camping tradition, and I cannot thank you all enough for the fine care. Bud, one of the staff members helped us back in the trailor with expert skill, kindness and humor, making my wife look like a pro and setting a standard on how to communicate backing up effectively. Great support, nice people, clean bathrooms in the heart of a wonderful national park. Wow!
Sep 03, 2013
Excellent service and venue
Sep 03, 2013
Bad sewer smell around tent sites. Shower facilities were clean and staff were nice. Beautiful location.
Sep 02, 2013
Aug 27, 2013
Truly the most efficient run camp ground I've stayed in many years. The staff and owners were very friendly and helpful. Will be back next season. Thank you for a very clean environment.
Aug 26, 2013
The facilities are very nice and the owners are friendly and helpful. Most tenting sites have covers over the picnic tables for shelter if it rains. The horse stable next to the campground does smell a bit if the wind is blowing the wrong way. It is very close to town and is generally quiet at night.
Aug 25, 2013
Friendly staff, clean facilities, well stocked store. Our family really enjoyed our stay!!
Aug 23, 2013
The tent camping was awful. Manure smell from next door horse stable and gravel to sleep on make is very unpleasant. However, the management was very kind and refunded us our second night without question. Just know what you're getting, because this tent camping area is not like the regular standard koa we've experienced around the country.
Aug 20, 2013
Aug 20, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
It is not a place I would tent camp again. My sister who brought her popup was in a much quieter area and had little trouble. What bothered us was the noise and the smell. We had a very loud group next to us that did not obey the quiet rules, plus we only saw them get enforced once. Also we were down wind from the porter potty and could smell it and the horse stables next door all night long.
Aug 19, 2013
I was told my campsite would be next to porta potties but that usually they didn't get complaints and they didn't seem to bother campers. Well the first night the smell was overwhelming and we could definitely smell them.
Aug 16, 2013
Tent sites were wedged in on top of each other. Our tent was less then 2 feet from the pop up trailer tent next to us. Sites were literally right next to a four lane highway with traffic roaring by all night long.
Aug 16, 2013
Beautiful setting and nice folks running the KOA. Would likely stay here again if in the area.
Aug 13, 2013
We so enjoyed meeting the owners Jim & Ruth & the pancake breakfast was amazing! Everyone was very personable & we enjoyed camping on our motorcycle trip thru Estes Park, CO.
Aug 12, 2013
Very well maintained KOA. Staff was super friendly and helpful. My daughter loved the train ride every night! Would definitely come back.
Aug 12, 2013
The facilities where nice. The staff was also nice. The only suggestion would space to turn around. Most people, including us, had a trailer. It was very difficult to turn around. Thank you for this opportunity to stay with you.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 11, 2013
Aug 10, 2013
Great stay! loved our time there and the helpful staff!!!
Aug 09, 2013
The area is pretty clean and stuff is super nice but we had problems setting up our tent - it seems like there was a huge rock underneath our site. So I had to run to the front desk and buy some nails. Also firepit was too high and it was impossible to adjust it and again I had to go to the front desk and buy a minigril :) (Nice business, guys, it was very convenient). Our staying was good tho
Aug 09, 2013
Tent spots no grass. Price high in comparison to most koa I, ve been to
Aug 07, 2013
Had some fellow camp neighbors that were not so quite after 10pm quiet time. Staff was very helpful, nice and great with children! Loved the horseshoe pit and amenities available for children!
Aug 06, 2013
Our tent site was perfect and when we return, we will request the same site!!!!!
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
Far away from town center, next to farm (which you can smell). Positive is the lake.
Aug 05, 2013
Staff are AMAZING! The smell from the horse corrals next to the facility were stinky at times, but not KOAs fault! Tent sites are very nice!
Aug 05, 2013
the campgrounds were clean, the restrooms and showers were kept clean, the playground was great for the kids and the train rides for the kids was so much fun for the grandkids. The site was clean and large. We also liked the store, and laundry facility. Thanks so much for a great stay.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Horse stalls, smelly manure, tons of flies, major ant hill/farm issues, and small camp sites with fire pits right next to your neighbors. With so many choices in Estes, DONT STAY HERE! Clean bathrooms, but not enough. Tent site right next to large horse stalls. Very crampt. Tent area bathrooms are porta potties. When I complained, teenager clerk replied were an RV park not a campsite. WOW
Aug 04, 2013
Camping area is a bit noisy, but your site is very handy for visiting Rocky Mountain National Park. I will come again.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.