Estes Park KOA

Open May 1 - October 15

Reserve: 970-586-2888

Info: 800-562-1887

Email

2051 Big Thompson Ave.

Estes Park, CO 80517

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 14, 2017
Wonderful staff, very helpful.
Aug 14, 2017
This campground was very well maintained and the staff was very helpful. With a larger travel trailer some of the spots were close but not too tight. Other reviewers state that they couldn't put their slide and awning out but we could at site 47. The host that escorted us to our site stayed to make sure we got in, which was super easy and came by later to see how we were.
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
We always enjoy visiting Estes Park and like to stay at the KOA in the summer. So I reserved a cabin two months ago and requested cabin 11. When we arrived they said that they do not see the request until we arrive, so another group was already in cabin 11. I guess I really don't understand why that section is on the reservation site if no one sees it or responds to it.
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
It couldn't have been any better the people Done every thing possible to make stay Enjoyable
Aug 14, 2017
I am very disappointed that this KOA does not follow the Estes Park policies of having a bear proof dumpster. I got up to use the bathroom at 3am, and there was a large bear in the dumpster. It was attracted there by at least one bag of trash that I saw it knock out of the dumpster. The KOA is endangering the lives of bears, and also the lives of their guests, which includes a lot of children.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am sorry that you had an encounter with a bear at one of our dumpsters. Please keep in mind that we are in the bear's home and we are the visitors. We do have bear proof dumpsters as required by the town of Estes Park. However, one of our guests may have used the dumpster and left it unlocked that evening.
Aug 13, 2017
Aug 13, 2017
Our Boy Scout Crew of nine had just finished up a 12 day hiking trip in New Mexico, had a fantastic time at the Estes Park KOA. Everyone we dealt with was upbeat and we had an enjoyable time eating pancakes served up by the owner from a special family recipe (delicious).
Aug 13, 2017
Aug 12, 2017
Toilets clean, places and spots good and the visit of Elks in the morning makes our stay complete!!
Aug 12, 2017
The camp host Greg and his family were very helpful. Greg gave us a great biking suggestion too. Campgrounds are usually somewhat the same. Service makes the difference between average and a good experience. This KOA made it a nice trip. We also enjoyed the wine tasting.
Aug 12, 2017
We stayed 4 wonderful nights. The facility was great. Greg and his family treated us like family. We especially enjoyed the church service Sunday morning. The pancakes available every morning were great served with big dose of hospitality. We will be back many times.
Aug 12, 2017
Aug 12, 2017
To expensive for what you get.
Aug 12, 2017
Would not stay again. People were very nice but they booked us a campsite that was too small even though we told then our tent size when we reserved. Then moved us to rv site and let us have a fire ring, then took it away. We had to eat out most if our stay and all we wanted to do was enjoy camping and cooking with our kids.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

My apologies for any booking confusion there may have been with your site. I am confident that our staff did everything possible to correct the situation and help make your stay more pleasant. As for the campfires, our camp is very land challenged and fire rings present a hazard due to the close proximity. Our hope was that we could help by providing a free propane fire pit for your family.
Aug 11, 2017
We prefer to stay at Koa's that have more upgrades - more cabin's with bathrooms.
Aug 11, 2017
People were nice but way too crowded... i would get a cabin or motel next time.
Aug 11, 2017
The roads are too narrow for RV's to drive if anyone is not parked exactly by their site. We could not leave early due to this problem. Staff was nice and restrooms had plenty of hot water. There were plenty of washers/dryers in the laundromat. The driving spaces are the primary limiting factor.
Aug 11, 2017
Aug 11, 2017
Spaces were very small but understandable for the area. Everyone was nice and the KOA as clean...which is very important!!!
Aug 11, 2017
We enjoyed our stay very much! We are looking forward to our next trip.
Aug 11, 2017
Parking is very tight. But other than that very nice place
Aug 10, 2017
The cabin is amazing. The wifi could be A LOT better. The beds could be a bit more comfortable and come with linens.
Aug 10, 2017
Aug 09, 2017
Nice campground. Good and clean facilities. Shuttlebus to Grant Canyon is very convenient.
Aug 09, 2017
nice place. great location
Aug 09, 2017
Well located, nice campground.
Aug 09, 2017
clean, friendly, accommodating, loved it !
Aug 09, 2017
Very small camping area, we had to move sites for second night. Poor planning in office, we spoke to the campers that took our site and they said they would have been fine in the one we moved to. Over all clean and nice hosts, would stay again.
Aug 09, 2017
We heard a bear on our second night in our tent... couldn't sleep the next night and was upgraded to a cabin... thanks KOA!!
Aug 08, 2017
I believe we have been staying at this KOA for about 5 years and we have always enjoyed out stay but this last stay was very impressive we had a visit from the new owner and handled a situation very well . We were very impressed on how he handled things and all the new changes and improvements he will be making . Thank you for welcoming us and making things Right 😁
Aug 08, 2017
Deluxe cabins are phenomenal. Love the environment.
Aug 08, 2017
It was a good stay! It is a bit expensive for so few amenities, but the staff was polite and it is a very convenient location for our annual reunion and horseback ride at Sombrero Stables. ðð
Aug 08, 2017
They have you so close together we couldn't even extend our awning. No fire pits at each spot and not every spot has a picnic table. Worst KOA I've been to so far. Activities for the kids was lacking.
Aug 08, 2017
I was very disappointed in how closely the RVs are spaced. Parking was a minimum for vehicles with RVs. We came with another family and asked that we be parked next to each other, but this request was either ignored or denied even though there was spaces available to accomodate this request. We will not stay at this KOA again.
Aug 08, 2017
Aug 08, 2017
We loved the staff at the KOA. Everything was clean, neat, and organized. Will definitely use the KOA again.
Aug 07, 2017
The staff is very helpful and friendly and the facilities are very nice and clean. The view of the Rocky Mountains is a 10. Unfortunately, the RV sites are small.
Aug 07, 2017
We had a church retreat at this facility and the staff and accommodations were fantastic! We would not have been treated better. What a blessing!
Aug 07, 2017
We stayed for 3 nights and the campground was conveniently located close to Rocky Mountain National Park. The new owners are in the process of renovating but in the meantime, the sites are tight and awkward in places. The bathrooms are old and need of updating. There are lots of kid friendly activities provided!
Aug 07, 2017
This was a nice little KOA area. The front desk was very helpful at check-in as well as parking my RV. They care about building a community and putting together events to support that feeling. Great pancake breakfast too!
Aug 07, 2017
Aug 07, 2017
The staff was very accommodating and friendly but the park itself is not designed for modern units. We we packed in like sardines and could not even park our trunk anywhere near the site. We do understand that this is the cost of being so close to paradise.
Aug 07, 2017
Had a wonderful experience! The owner showed us how to make a great fire using "snowballs", which is something we will use on camping adventures from now on. Thanks!
Aug 07, 2017
Staff was very nice area was great couldn't have been any better
Aug 07, 2017
I came in late and it was fine but I wouldn't really recommend it. I also soundly recommend not found that road in the dark in an RV.
Aug 07, 2017
RV camping is a little tight but no major issues. Very friendly staff.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals