Estes Park KOA

2051 Big Thompson Ave.

Estes Park, CO 80517

Reserve: 800-562-1887

Info: 970-586-2888

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

Tent Reviews

Jul 29, 2014
I rated the facility lower than I would have liked due to the overwhelming stench from the horse stable right next to the campground. It was nauseating and I feel that I should have been informed that my tent site was so close to a stable. Overall, a very clean and friendly campground with good facilities. We had very noisy campers in our area but I guess that cannot be helped.
Jul 29, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Friendly staff; right in town;
Jul 28, 2014
My main complaint is that the tentsites were all VERY small and cramped. Also very close together and close to the main highway so lots of car noise. Hardly enough room for my van and family sized tent. We had to listen to our neighbors talking til midnight because they were like 12' away. The facilities were nice enough for what they were. The kids enjoyed the playground/tetherball area
Jul 28, 2014
Way to many spaces for thei little of a area! Cabin right on top of sites. bath facilites were very clean and well maintianed. Staff was awesome and very helpful. Just way to cramped!
Jul 28, 2014
Very friendly and helpful staff!
Jul 28, 2014
Staff was very friendly. Bathrooms/ showers very clean. We did not like the tent site. Too small. Our parking area had a pallet of fencing in it and the horses stunk. The highway was noisy and our neighbors were extremely loud very late. Will never come back.
Jul 27, 2014
Wonderful staff. Great stay. Camp sites are a little small but it was still good. Thanks so much for everything.
Jul 26, 2014
The campground is on a very busy street and thus the trucks and the cars were a constant noise factor that I don't want to deal with when camping. the tent sites were also very close together. The staff was very nice. Loved the covered picnic table (though all sites did not have them). Showers were good.
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 24, 2014
The pancakes were amazing in the morning. We loved the individual bathroom/shower option. Great location and the staff was so friendly.
Jul 24, 2014
very cramped quarters, friendly service,
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
This koa is extremely tight! There is no room between campers.
Jul 20, 2014
The site was very small , it was all I could do to fit a tent and my car, it was also twice as much as it should have cost . The lean to is approx. 5'9" high on the side and end I am 6'2" and received a gouge in my head going under it , the horse stable next door has a foul odor when the wind blows VERY DISSATISFIED
Jul 17, 2014
Not a good site for tent camping. Too close together and have to set up on gravel. It is on the main road so it is noisy all of the time. It does not feel like you are camping at all. They charge way too much money for a terrible site. I wish we would have stayed in the national park as this was a waste of money.
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
Helpful staff. OK location, but tent sites were 30' from the HWY. Close to the town and Park, though.
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
I stayed in a site for camping. There was a powerful smell of horse manure and horse urine. The site is ugly and situated 30 ft from the busiest road in Estes Park with lots of traffic noise. The price was the highest I have ever paid at a KOA campground. This site is a cesspool. Avoid it at all costs.
Jul 12, 2014
Folks were very accommodating. I like the activities planned for us.
Jul 12, 2014
Jul 12, 2014
I love KOA's, but the tent sites at this one are just too close to the horses (smells). Would also really appreciate a smaller trash can for the tent site.
Jul 12, 2014
Jul 09, 2014
The campground was wonderful. It was clean and the view was beautiful. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay very much!
Jul 07, 2014
We truly enjoyed our stay. The fishing was great! All the amenities were awesome and the cleanliness of the bathrooms and showers was truly appreciated. Everyone was super friendly. The only drawback was the noise from the traffic.
Jul 06, 2014
a lot of stones at site...
Jul 06, 2014
We pitched a tent at the Estes Park KOA and would not recommend it. Our tent site was located downwind from a dusty stable with 60+ horses. The tent site itself was a gravel driveway. To top it off the showers were dingy and moldy. We have stayed at other KOAs and have never been disappointed - until we stayed here.
Jul 02, 2014
THE TENT AREA IS AWFUL! WAY BELOW THE STANDARD YOU WOULD EXPECT OF A KOA!
Jul 01, 2014
The campsite where I stayed was a great spot except for the wind was high during the stay so dust was flying around. I would suggest picking a campsite which is blocked by brush.
Jun 30, 2014
We enjoyed our stay at Estes Park KOA. The staff was very nice, and it was a very clean campground. Our only complaint was that our tent site was rock, and it made it very difficult to let our little one play.
Jun 30, 2014
Nice place, the tent spaces feel private enough even though they're next to each other. Clean facilities with hot water. One computer with wifi in the main office/store, convenient. Across the street there is a lake park that is nice to walk around and there are nearby hiking trails. Free shuttle into town. Friendly and competent staff.
Jun 27, 2014
The camp was clean and quite. I plan on staying again next time we visit .
Jun 24, 2014
Always the best camping experience anywhere. Friendly, quiet, clean and a great location.
Jun 23, 2014
Jun 23, 2014
Restroom/shower was fantastic! Although the campground was completely full we did not feel cramped. We'll definitely be back.
Jun 23, 2014
Noisy! Right by the highway. Staff more interested in kicking us out of the playground than in making sure quiet hours are enforced.
Jun 23, 2014
The tent sites are too close to a very busy road and we had some very rude neighbors. However, the staff is incredibly nice, the facilities are clean and they have a lot of great activities for kids and families. Overall, it was a nice stay.
Jun 21, 2014
We stayed for three nights during a Father's Day promotion where kids stay free. It was me, my wife, our two daughters and our Husky, Tala. The staff at the Estes Park KOA were so cordial and friendly, my family didn't want to leave. They also went out of their way for us, since I had a rather large tent, the moved us to a bigger spot with no hesitations. We had such a great time!!!
Jun 20, 2014
Great location. Great service.
Jun 20, 2014
Great place to stay, we just had the worst campsite...no fire pit and right on the busy highway.
Jun 19, 2014
Great staff. Clean facilities. We have young children and they loved the train rides, playground, and ice cream
Jun 16, 2014
The tent site was awesome right next to some bushes, and I could hear a creek. The bathrooms on one side were individual, and CLEAN! Every employee was friendly and very helpful, and remembered what I had planned for my activities, and asked how my day went. I'll be back!
Jun 15, 2014
Great office assistance. Wish office would open a bit earlier in the morning, but other than that, clean site, clean rest rooms, great location for fishing.
Jun 09, 2014
We really only stayed the one night to visit with our friends from Florida! We did all our cooking together at their site. Except for the spaces being really too close together, and being too close to the highway (we normally stay at state parks) your KOA had lovely amenities!
Jun 09, 2014
This campground is built for RV's. There are very few tent/popup sites, and those are located right in the front of the camp, which is right next to the highway. This made for a lot of noise. I understand the design of this campground, but had I known the location of the tent site, I would not have booked. Rhese sites do not have their own firepit, which was disappointment. Clean bathrooms though!
Jun 08, 2014
We had a large group coming in several different nights in several different accommodations... the KOA staff was so helpful in getting us as close together as possible! The park was clean and fun for the kids. The bathrooms were clean and close. The train, marshmallows and ice cream were my daughters favorite. We had a great time and the weather was good to us too.
Jun 02, 2014
I had a great time here. I have been here before and I am always impressed with the care the workers put into this KOA. If you are looking for a great place with a great view at a great price this is where you want to be.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.