Denver West / Central City KOA

605 Lake Gulch Rd Co Rd 6

Central City, CO 80427-0771

Reserve: 800-562-8613

Info: 303-582-3043

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 02, 2014
Really nice, clean campground. The staff is very helpful and nice. Would definitely stay here again.
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
Our view over the city was amazing, and watching the surrounding thunderstorms across the valley almost made me happy it was raining. The free shuttle into town was unexpected and a great surprise. Thanks
Jul 02, 2014
This was my first stay at a KOA, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. As a senior woman camping alone I felt very comfortable and safe. I enjoyed the General Store. The prices were good and there were some really nice things that you just don't see. The restrooms, rec room, and showers were very clean. The staff was friendly and enthusiastic. The other campers I met were nice. Thank you!
Jul 02, 2014
Located on top of a mountain overlooking Central City, this campground offers beautiful views and has a nice setting. It is a good distance away from Denver and the roads to the campground are very steep. The campground is fairly well maintained, but does not offer many amenities (ex. pool, arcade, etc.) However, I would consider visiting this campground again in the future.
Jul 02, 2014
Nice clean facility and very warm and friendly staff. Great location to explore the mining history of this area and also the beautiful Rocky Mountains. So many day trips couldn't fit them all in. Will b back! Red Rocks was awesome!
Jul 02, 2014
The campground is great - very clean and amazing views. The staff were friendly and helpful. But the drive from the freeway to the campground is a nightmare - very tight turns, including a hairpin bend uphill. Doing that with a 34' travel trailer was a challenge! If there were an access road off Central City Pkwy it would be vastly improved.
Jul 02, 2014
Great facility considering it's on top of a mountain. Awesome and friendly staff. Breathtaking views right from our campsite. Couldn't ask for much more. We will be back!
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
Great stay with great people. Love the spot. Love the environment.
Jul 02, 2014
Would have been better but a drunk lady screaming kept everyone awake for over an hour. Would have been nice to have security or someone stop it earlier.
Jul 02, 2014
We had a great stay! The facilities were well maintained & kept extremely clean. The couple managing the place were great & very helpful. Not as senic as we were hoping, but a great stay.
Jul 02, 2014
Just a great place all around. On-site pizza a real plus! Would have been 5 stars except the WiFi was a bit iffy at times.
Jul 02, 2014
The road in to the campground is very convoluted but worth the trouble as the views are tremendous.
Jul 02, 2014
Great!
Jul 02, 2014
The personnel did a good job-helpful. The facilities were clean and in good working order. The negative were the "boulders" you called gravel in your landscape. They were very difficult to maneuver, especially my husband who uses a cane.
Jul 02, 2014
Was a great place on top of hill where you can see surrounding area.
Jul 02, 2014
This camp ground was absolutely perfect. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the facilities offered everything we wanted. We will be back often!
Jul 02, 2014
Good location to Central City and loved the pancake breakfast!
Jul 02, 2014
Not the easiest drive to the campground but nice level site with easy access awaited us on arrival. Lots of mining history and interesting sites within easy driving range. I would definitely stay again.
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
Great location, good view, great service
Jul 02, 2014
We love that it is clean, has several amenities and close enough for a get a way and far enough to relax. We wish there was an exit off the Central City parkway instead of the winding hills down and up to it through Central City.
Jul 02, 2014
Nice campground. Only drawback, is the drive past the park down a steep hill into Central City then right back up the steep hill. Be nice if you get county to put an exit off Central City Pkwy.
Jul 02, 2014
This is a beautiful KOA. I loved the pull-in sights on the top of the hill.
Jul 02, 2014
Kind friendly and awsum veiw. Great wi-fi. All ready told family and friends about our stay. Thanks again! The Mahaneys
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
Wonderful site. Amazing staff. A pool would be nice but very good time. Thank you all.
Jul 02, 2014
Close to great fly fishing, nice people in charge, quiet at night
Jul 01, 2014
Jun 15, 2014
Beautiful campground! Cleanest campground I've ever stayed in for 30 yrs of camping! Spotless baths, showers and laundry area. Tent spots are landscaped so nice and not packed all together! Friendly people! All around awesome KOA!
Jun 12, 2014
Great location in the mountains and we'll maintained. We loved the views and look forward to returning.
Jun 11, 2014
enjoyable
Jun 11, 2014
The place is just fine. Staff is very helpful. Showers and restrooms very clean. Hot tubs are excellent. View is OUTSTANDING! The major issue with this place is the drive up the mountain and then the drive through town and the narrow steep street to its entrance.
Jun 09, 2014
Jun 09, 2014
Jun 09, 2014
Jun 09, 2014
Jun 09, 2014
One of the finest, with the most friendly help.Spectacular views.
Jun 08, 2014
Jun 07, 2014
Views from every site claim is over rated. Staff didn't give accurate info about gas stations in area.
Jun 04, 2014
very nice!! great views!!!
Jun 03, 2014
Great stay. The park is very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again!
Jun 03, 2014
Jun 03, 2014
Would like a restroom in the upper trailer area. Other than that very pleased.
Jun 03, 2014
There were 7 open spaces for our 22' TT, yet KOA placed two other travel trailers on either side of us when we asked for privacy. We had planned to stay all week, but one of the campers beside us had a screaming baby that kept us awake, so we left 5 days early. If they would have just spread out the campers in our row, we would have stayed. Property is lovely.
Jun 03, 2014
It's still being put together. It's going to be nice soon enough. But, to be honest, it's just a massive pain to get to. We're not going back with our 35' class A with toad. No way. I'm surprised we made it to begin with.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. We have been here for 5 years now. The only thing we are putting together is our two brand new cabins. Everything else in the park is fully up and running.
Jun 02, 2014
We had an absolutely fantastic 8 day stay! Clean! Great management!
Jun 02, 2014
Awesome views of the Rockies. Great staff. Impeccably clean

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.