Denver West / Central City KOA

605 Lake Gulch Rd Co Rd 6

Central City, CO 80427-0771

Reserve: 800-562-8613

Info: 303-582-3043

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15
  16. 16
  17. 17

Campground Reviews

Jul 29, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
They did not have bear proof trash cans and did not warn visitors that there were a mother and her cubs in the campground regularly. They are putting pets and families at risk! When asked they admitted that the bears raided the trash cans but were in the park for only minutes. There are tents with children next to the trashcans. My dog was tied up only a few feet from where the bears were see
Jul 29, 2014
Inconvenient to get to. Once checked in, staff did not interact with guests unless the guests went into the office. The view is great once in campground!
Jul 29, 2014
If we had been in an RV I may have ranked this campground higher but this is not a place for tent campers. It seems to be more of a pitstop than an actual camping ground. Our tent site was right next to the bathhouse and at all hours of the night people would drive up and go to the bathroom. Great spot for passing through in an RV, not camping in a tent.
Jul 28, 2014
We had a wonderful time, the sites were clean, fairly level and the staff were friendly and helpful. I would recommend this KOA to my friends. Thank you.
Jul 28, 2014
Nice campground but not a lot to do there with families
Jul 28, 2014
Everything was great and neat! Glad they allowed children in the hot tub and internet was good! Just unexpected the driving from highway to KOA was much further than I expected.
Jul 28, 2014
Always enjoy the hospitality and ammenities at this KOA
Jul 28, 2014
Center spaces by the office are very stark. Lots of traffic, early morning noise. owners/managers very friendly and camp is very neat and clean. Good store, laundry, hot tub and shuttle avail to Blackhawk.
Jul 28, 2014
I'm hesitant to give this place the rating it deserves. It is already hard to get into during prime season. I don't really want to recommend because that will only make it harder to get a place! Scenic, clean & well-maintained. The staff was helpful and caring. The only quirky thing about this camp is the akward route you have to take up to central city and then back down the mt. to the camp.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 27, 2014
Nice KOA with many amenities and great views but there are a couple of reasons I did not rate it higher. Although the park is very pet friendly be advised the entire park is rock or gravel except for the RV pads which are very nice concrete. My labs like to run and retrieve and there's no grassy area to do that for your pets. A fenced in play area would be nice. Steep grades, take hwy 119 to KOA.
Jul 27, 2014
Jul 27, 2014
A beautiful place to stay! Very well maintained.
Jul 27, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
We had a great stay at Denver West. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The view from our campsite was nothing short of beautiful. The amenities at the park made our stay comfortable. We will definetely stay there again.
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
Gorgeous views and great camp sites! Love the hot tubs also.
Jul 26, 2014
Interesting way of driving in and a little challenging. Loved the campsite. Was disappointed in the hot tub as there was a slight odor of mildew which reacted violently with my husbands allergies. Yes we would come back, and hopefully as we return back across country, the hot tub can be corrected
Jul 26, 2014
You could collect outgoing mail and take iit to post office when you pick your mail up like all other parks do as many do not have tow cars!
Jul 26, 2014
Nice clean camp sites, friendly people.
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 24, 2014
Jul 24, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
Attactive resort in an interesting area. HOWEVER, the road in is very difficult for a big rig and I cannot recommend anyone of larger size attempt the hairpin turns
Jul 23, 2014
My wife was very impressed with the whole experience. Thought your kampground and staff was the best. We all had a great time there. thanks.
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
Awesome facilities, staff and a million dollar view.
Jul 22, 2014
I was tired and stressed, but when we got to our beautiful site, overlooking the town and the mountains, all the stress went away! So gorgeous and the owners and staff were GREAT!! There could not have been a happier place for me and my granddaughter!!
Jul 21, 2014
We had the best time, at nearly 9,000 ft, that anyone could have at the Central City KOA. The spot was perfect with a view of the woods on one side and mountains on the other three. The staff were freindly, our son loved the pancake breakfast, clean laundry, clean restrooms and a well stocked store. Thanks for the memories.
Jul 21, 2014
Great place. Employee very good to us.
Jul 21, 2014
We love this campground. It is a great place to stay and the staff is there for every need you may have!
Jul 21, 2014
Kampgrounds were well kept. Staff very friendly and willing to help with special needs. Enjoyed our stay!
Jul 21, 2014
The spot we stayed in was fantastic. Thanks.
Jul 21, 2014
Smaller then use to and crammed in feeling great location and facility though. Everything was great and staff very pleasant and helpful
Jul 21, 2014
It was very clean and the host were so helpful.
Jul 21, 2014
Great service and a wonderful cabin!! We loved everything about our stay!! We will return and tell all our friends. Thank you!!
Jul 21, 2014
Every time we stay it just keeps getting better. Staff was very helpful. Thanks for a great stay.
Jul 20, 2014
Jul 20, 2014
Very nice staff, especially when they had to deal with flooding. Dog walk area was just a wide spot in the road. Location is nice once you get there but it is awkward making sharp turn in Central City.
Jul 20, 2014
Great views from campsites. Nice clean free showers. Super friendly staff. Would definitely stay here again. The pancake breakfast is awesome too. WiFi and sprint connection both great.
Jul 20, 2014
My biggest complaint is the road getting there. Too steep with switchbacks when it's only 100 yards from the main road. Why no entrance there? The park has level sites, good gravel roads and concrete pads. Dog areas are just gravel and not fenced.
Jul 20, 2014
Personnel agréable et tente de satisfaire toutes nos demandes.
Jul 19, 2014
Jul 19, 2014
Awesome, friendly staff, breathtaking view, spotless showers/bathrooms, great pancake breakfast.
Jul 19, 2014
We had a wonderful time at this beautiful campground. One of your employees Corrie went over and above in helping us with our set up. He even came out in a heavy rain to deliver a tv cable. Excellent customer service! Thank you!
Jul 19, 2014
Jul 19, 2014
Jul 18, 2014
The cabin was great!
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15
  16. 16
  17. 17

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.