Denver West / Central City KOA

Open April 20 - October 8

Reserve: 800-562-8613

Info: 303-582-3043

Email

605 Lake Gulch Rd Co Rd 6

Central City, CO 80427-0771

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations, Cabins

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

May 26, 2017
While the sites are a bit narrow and the utility connections s bit strange, it is a very nice park about six miles south of the city. That kept us well clear of Colorado's growing homeless problem.
May 26, 2017
May 26, 2017
Prices were higher than expected. Very clean, staff is great. When you get a discount and your bill is still over $50, it's time to look for other campgrounds in the area.
May 24, 2017
May 24, 2017
The KOA staff here are FABULOUS. We had not realized that we would be at 9,000 foot elevation and my husband could not take that. We had to leave the Motorhome there and go down to a lower elevation. We came back the next morning and picked up the Motorhome and they only charged us for one night, It's a great site with incredible views. Thank you all for your concern and help.
May 24, 2017
Very nice spot. Hard to get to. Pretty steep drive for trailer. But beautiful scenery from campground
May 24, 2017
very good will stay again!
May 24, 2017
This campground is very nice and well maintained. It is at an elevation of 8,900 feet so it is hard to breathe for the first couple of days. The scenery is beautiful. It's a short drive to Central City which has numerous casinos.
May 23, 2017
Site had to be plowed clean of SNOW but we had a GREAT stay with beautiful views. Employees awesome, pizza FANTASTIC. VERY clean and new looking facilities. Can't wait to stay here again but hopefully without the snow!
May 23, 2017
May 22, 2017
We stayed here for 3 nights in mid May 2017. We were so grateful for the excellent facilities and friendly and helpful staff when an unusual late season storm dumped over 2 feet of snow there!
May 22, 2017
Best KOA hands down great facilities Rumi sights free hot tubs Wi-Fi showers very reasonable laundry rates very clean
May 22, 2017
Immaculate place with gorgeous views. Indoor hot tubs are great. Will deliver reasonably priced pizza and wings to your site. Free casino shuttles to Central City casino. Nice, helpful people. Altitude 9,000 feet makes it hard to breathe. No dog park. Snowed 2 feet when we were there second half of May.
May 19, 2017
Excellent staff
May 19, 2017
Just ok..biggest problem was when expecting a big three day snow storm and we wanted to leave to miss it..they would not refund our last day. Seems a ridiculous policy..and not safe. We are frequent koa users and found this unacceptable.
May 18, 2017
love going there
May 18, 2017
The views are great
May 18, 2017
Everything about this KOA is amazing! Would stay here forever if we could! Staff is fantastic and extremely friendly. So many great upgrades!
May 18, 2017
We had to leave a day early because of the imminent snow warning that we were not prepared to drive in. Because of this unusual circumstance, we feel the management should have refunded the fourth night fee as we only stayed 3 nights and had paid for 4 in advance.
May 17, 2017
This is a very nice KOA. It is close to casinos, and historical sites. The altitude was a bit of a problem for me so if you have breathing problems, it may take some time to adjust. The area is beautiful! The hosts are very friendly, and helpful.
May 16, 2017
Always very accommodating!! Love the new staff -- especially John!
May 16, 2017
We would stay there again.
May 16, 2017
WE loved staying at Central City KOA. Everyone was great to us and we will be returning often since our family live in the area.
May 16, 2017
May 15, 2017
The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The restrooms are very clean.
May 15, 2017
Traveling with a friend. When making reservation we asked to be put together or at least close to each other. We had one site on the bottom campground, and another on the top campground. Front desk would not do anything to get us closer to each other.
May 15, 2017
The entrance to the campground is very dark, should be illuminated with solar lights, or reflectors.
May 15, 2017
Very clean and quiet. Staff very friendly!
May 15, 2017
Wonderful stay! The staff are incredibly friendly and fun.
May 15, 2017
perfect could not be any more helpful. everything very neat and clean
May 13, 2017
I would give it a 5 but the WiFi on the upper level wasn't working. The folks working here were really friendly. Had a great spot overlooking Central City...didn't realize how high this is so the elevation was tough to get use to.
May 12, 2017
our only problem with this campground was the altitude! we are both retired and have some health problems so that created a lot of issues for us. Other than that the campground was very clean and everyone there was very helpful.
May 12, 2017
Difficult to get to in that it is not close to interstate and requires several miles of steep winding roads. Sites are good but are in dusty, rocky setting.
May 11, 2017
Best koa we have stayed in and we have stayed in many. The showers are heated! The manager is very knowledgeable.
May 10, 2017
We enjoyed it very much. It was convenient for where we wanted to be. I would recommend it to others.
May 08, 2017
So beatuyful and lovely clean air
May 08, 2017
This is the first time we stayed at a KOA. It was pretty good. Campgrounds were clean/maintained. Staff friendly and helpful. Camp sites were too close together. Camper to our right had their TV blasting and campers behind us had 2 beagles that bayed most of the time. :-( Very disappointing.
May 08, 2017
The camp was set up and maintained very well. The folks who ran it were very helpful and courteous, which we truly appreciated. The facilities were very clean, and the views were spectacular.
May 08, 2017
Great friendly service. Beautiful area. Very nice sites. We were impressed!
May 08, 2017
This was our 3rd stay here and as always the staff and owners were great! Will, one of the grounds crew, introduced himself and wanted to make sure we had everything we needed as well as update us on some of the improvements they were doing to the campsites, We definitely will return to this location soon.
May 08, 2017
Great campground and staff
May 08, 2017
The park was very clean, along with the restrooms/showers! I was very pleased with the fact they had so many washers and dryers!, 7 of each to be exact. At a $1.75 to wash and $1.75 to dry is on point with most places! It was nice to have a fire pit! The store was nice, not much as groceries go. Central City downtown wasn't anything you would miss if you didn't see it!!! Idaho Springs and Evergree
May 08, 2017
Loved the campground, close to other campers but not stacked in like cord wood. I was trying to find the pet policy because there where a couple campers with 3 large dogs. One had 3 rottweilers and he had a hard time keeping them under control. Just a lot of dogs, very annoying. The staff was great. They dont state they have full hookups, but they do, even have cable. I will stay again!
May 07, 2017
The best KOA view in the entire country!
May 07, 2017
First time out with my new RV, and first time at a KOA. Ken gave me setup tips, and everyone was super friendly. Awesome experience, highly recommend!
May 05, 2017
Beautiful scenery, staff friendly and helpful. It can get cold & windy in the Spring.
May 04, 2017
May 03, 2017
May 02, 2017
Nice campground but the weather was horrible so we didn't do too much.
May 02, 2017
Beautiful mountaintop site, well stocked store, clean facilities, a great place.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award