Denver West / Central City KOA

605 Lake Gulch Rd Co Rd 6

Central City, CO 80427-0771

Reserve: 800-562-8613

Info: 303-582-3043

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Oct 18, 2014
Serpentine, steep, long roads to the camp. Very long walk to showers/laundry. Very clean facilities. Excellent concrete site pads, but poorly laid out utility hook ups. No shade at sites. The roads to camp made the visit not worth while.
Oct 17, 2014
We love this campground. We camped in the the upper level - deluxe sites. Loved the view, can't get any better than this.
Oct 16, 2014
Oct 15, 2014
Oct 14, 2014
Oct 14, 2014
Oct 12, 2014
Oct 12, 2014
Nice, well-maintained grounds. A little bare-bones for a KOA, but a couple of really nice, enclosed, WORKING hot tubs. One of our favorites.r
Oct 12, 2014
There is no way that KOA should only be reachable by going thru that tiny town. You drive right by it on the highway but then it is almost impossible to get a big rig into it. In fact, we took paint off of our RV manuvering the sharp corner in town. Very disappointing. Would NEVER stay here again nor would I recommend it to anyone! The office was supposed to be open until 8 but closed at 7.
Oct 08, 2014
Oct 06, 2014
Oct 06, 2014
Oct 05, 2014
It would have been better by not having to go through all the tight turns through town. Would of liked a more direct way in. Other than that, everyone was VERY friendly, and accommodating.
Oct 05, 2014
Oct 04, 2014
Nice views
Oct 02, 2014
We were actually there from July 2, 2014 to 10/1/2014. The host and staff were fantastic. We have already reserved for the summer season 2015.
Oct 01, 2014
Oct 01, 2014
Difficult steep road with a couple sharp switchbacks makes it hard for big rigs. They were out of propane so I had to go ten miles to get some. On the plus side, the views are spectacular and the sites are great. Facilities are also very good.
Sep 30, 2014
very nice area, I've stayed there twice this year.
Sep 29, 2014
Sep 29, 2014
Had some noisy neighbors after the quite hour. Doesn't seem to be a way of notifying management of the situation after quiet hour. However it is a very good KOA.
Sep 29, 2014
we love to park our 5th wheel against the wall on the top level so we can turn our chairs around and look at the wonderful view out the back. my wife and i just wish there was an exit near the camp ground so we would not have to drive through town, hopefully some day that can become a reality. we will be back next year. thanks, Larry and Peggy
Sep 29, 2014
The drive up to Denver west is well worth the view! We hauled a 36ft fifth wheel with our '15 GMC Duramax Diesal with ease, The views are stunning! The grounds are neat and clean! Would definitely go again and stay longer! Traveled from NH.
Sep 28, 2014
Could use railings on the stairs, for elderly.And for safety reasons.
Sep 28, 2014
Really High Up! Really nice folks. Great bathrooms and showers. They have hot tubs and a TV area with a comfy couch or 2. The only thing that was missing, the campground is on 2 tiers and an outhouse or bathroom only would have been nice on the upper tier.
Sep 28, 2014
Sep 28, 2014
Sep 27, 2014
Sep 26, 2014
Sep 26, 2014
Clean, well maintained, pleasant personnel
Sep 26, 2014
Sep 25, 2014
Very nice park, but a heck of a drive to tow a 38' 5th wheel up too. The staff was pleasant and courteous. Nice level paved sites. Check with park before heading up and see if road is open. I followed directions on web site and almost got stuck trying to turn rig around.
Sep 24, 2014
Everyone was so friendly,fun and they had a great sale. we bought a lot of good items! the campground was so pretty and we'll definitely go there again! Thanks for great stay!
Sep 23, 2014
Great view,service and the office found my Disney coffee cup that I didn't know I lost Thanks! Bill
Sep 22, 2014
Sep 22, 2014
Sep 22, 2014
The campground and facilities were great. The only thing I was disappointed in was that they charged us extra for our daughter and boyfriend, not sure why 4 people should be more than 2 people while at a campground.
Sep 22, 2014
The most quiet KOA I have ever camped in. Unbelievable view!
Sep 22, 2014
Sep 21, 2014
I made a reservation for 4 days, stayed two, but paid for 4 - because KOA of this KOA's no refund policy. One staff member said it wouldn't be a problem, another refused the request. Campers sometimes need to be mobile, and KOA should recognize it. Their no-refund policy is nearly unique among campgrounds at which I have stayed. Of course, they are only a business... right?
Sep 19, 2014
Sep 18, 2014
Sep 17, 2014
I would give it 5stars if it wasn't so difficulty to get to. We have a 42 ft 5th wheel and it was quite nerve racking having to up a pretty steep and winding road just to drive past it and back down an even steeper and more winding road and THEN back up a VERY narrow, steep and winding road. then you have to get out the same way! It is very clean and has beautiful views but not for big rigs.
Sep 17, 2014
We have stayed here 2 times and this place is awesome. I will come back next year also!
Sep 17, 2014
Sep 17, 2014
I had a great time!!
Sep 16, 2014
We loved it, and really didn't know it existed. Wonderful camp and tremendous staff. Highly recommended to anyone traveling this area.
Sep 16, 2014
Very friendly staff. Clean and very well kept campground. Will definitely stay there again.
Sep 16, 2014
Sep 16, 2014
Wonderful owners, make you feel so welcomed ! I will go back ever chance I get !

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.