Denver West / Central City KOA

605 Lake Gulch Rd Co Rd 6

Central City, CO 80427-0771

Reserve: 800-562-8613

Info: 303-582-3043

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Tent Reviews

Jul 29, 2015
Beautiful setting, wonderful hot showers, friendly and helpful staff! Delicious hot pizza after a long drive.
Jul 28, 2015
I think this is a great place to stay if you have an RV or if you are interested in group camping. The individual tent sites are limited, although if you were able to reserve one, it will be shady, which is nice. Staff are friendly, and helpful and the location is great!!!
Jul 27, 2015
Excellent
Jul 25, 2015
I stayed at t-4 tent site. It was a nice little spot. Beautiful. Staff was great. All you can eat pancakes were awesome!. The bear scare was fun too.
Jul 21, 2015
Jul 21, 2015
Really nice campground! Great location, nicely kept, very clean, and very nice staff. One of the best KOAs I've been to.
Jul 20, 2015
Jul 19, 2015
Tent camped 2 nights. Great spot near Central City CO. Nice people, nice facility.
Jul 15, 2015
Awesome! Loved it! Plan to return later this year. These owners really know how to do it right. Thank you for your hospitality. The walk in tent sites were perfect. Close to the bathhouse but yet private.
Jul 14, 2015
The staff was great. Very scenic. The steep narrow streets to the campground were unexpected. More trash facilities to keep bears away from campground would be appreciated.
Jul 14, 2015
People talk bad about the place but it is a great jump away to many areas in the hilands and close proximity to West Denver. Just stating the obvious.
Jul 13, 2015
The staff was very friendly. When we checked in we were informed that there was a bear running around and told not to leave out trash or food. An employee walked the tent trails spraying bleach. I think it worked cuz the bear didn't bother us. Great amenities. Pizza and pancake breakfast were great. The kids loved the playground. Steep hill up to the site but very nice in the trees.
Jul 09, 2015
Great view, great place.
Jul 08, 2015
Excellent value and great people. When we had issues with transportation they helped us not only with getting a campsite, but with looking at the vehicle! Thank you all so much!
Jul 06, 2015
We loved our tent site! Loved the availability of pizza, pancake breakfast, clean showers.
Jul 06, 2015
Staff was very friendly. Our reservation got lost and staff packed up our things, when we returned to camp they bought us dinner and apologized profusely for the mix up. It sucked for a minute, but we could tell the staff was not being malicious.
Jul 06, 2015
Clean bathroom nice tent site friendly staff
Jul 06, 2015
Jul 05, 2015
Jul 02, 2015
Outstanding campground facilities and staff. Pizza is great.
Jul 01, 2015
The campground and facilities were clean and the staff was great. My only complaint is I wish breakfast was a little earlier in the morning, but it was all good.
Jun 29, 2015
Beautiful views. Great staff. We will be back
Jun 27, 2015
Very nice place.Friendly staff. Very clean
Jun 24, 2015
Jun 23, 2015
Good facilities, but al the way up and still no peak views. Expensive!
Jun 22, 2015
The view is awesome
Jun 21, 2015
Jun 21, 2015
Jun 21, 2015
Jun 15, 2015
Staff was very friendly and courteous, beautiful location! Wasn't particularly fond of how my particular site was set up, but that's my only complaint.
Jun 15, 2015
Our family of 4 very much enjoyed the KOA campsite, it had a lot to offer and the friendly customer service was so wonderful! Keep up the great work! God bless!
Jun 08, 2015
The tent sites in the trees are amazing! Facilities are great. The only improvement would be to have the driver pick up the trash later in the day. It woke up the family!
Jun 08, 2015
Great place with a great staff. They are so helpful and friendly.
Jun 08, 2015
Staff was helpful and friendly. Gravel tent pads were convenient and drained well in a small rainstorm. We will camp here again.
Jun 07, 2015
Tent sites were way too close together, especially for the price.
Jun 04, 2015
We enjoyed the hot tubs and the really clean showers. Nice staff and tv room.
May 31, 2015
Unable to receive refund due to early departure. I know that this is a policy, but I don't have to like it.
May 29, 2015
Our tent site was clean and conveniently located close to everything. The staff was wonderful as well.
May 26, 2015
This was my first KOA experience of the 24 years that I have been in this country. Great facility. Great views. Good for families with kids. Impressed by the antique homes in the town of Central City, and a peaceful setting.
May 25, 2015
Friendly staff, very clean bathrooms and campgrounds. Great place to get away from the city for a while, i will be coming back for sure!
May 25, 2015
If you are from Texas remember it is still cold in the mountains in may. We nearly froze but it was worth it for the great views
May 23, 2015
Unfortunately the wifi did not work and the ladies did not know how to fix it. Additionally, $37.00 was really expensive for a tent site. The amenities offered were not available all night and closed at 8pm. The employees locked up the common room right after we ordered pizza and had to finish eating outside in the rain. Not very accommodating.
May 19, 2015
Perfect and fun!
May 17, 2015
The only reason we left early was because it was super cold. The bathrooms were amazing along with the camp site itself. Keep up the good work.
May 06, 2015
Great place to stay. Chuck the owner and his staff are friendly and helpful. The facilities are very clean, free wi-fi, and best of all HOT TUBS!!! Have stayed on multiple times over last 3 years and look forward to seeing them again later this year and next>
May 03, 2015
Beautiful view from this KOA. Great staff too!
Apr 27, 2015
I gave this KOA 2 stars because of the scenery. If it wasn't for that I would give 1 star. The hosts at this KOA were rude and terrible communicating to their customers. Not only did they lie to us about lodgings but the guy also spoke to us with no respect or courtesy fitting for a KOA host. We've used a lot of KOA's on our trip and other hosts have been great. Not the case at this place.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

What she does not tell you is she was told no pets in the cabins when the reservation was made. Then when she showed up tried to sneak a dog into the cabins.
Apr 25, 2015
Chuck was awesome. Even though there was 34 inches of snow he showed every hospitality imaginable. It was really clean and everyone there was so helpful. They made sure the roads were plowed so we could drive our mini van around and not get stuck in all the snow.. Which happens a lot in a mini van.. It was absolutely wonderful and we highly recommend staying at this campground!
Oct 21, 2014
Sep 17, 2014
Great KOA. Facilities were very clean and well maintained. Staff was very nice.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.