Denver West / Central City KOA

Open April 24 - October 4

Reserve: 800-562-8613

Info: 303-582-3043

Email

605 Lake Gulch Rd Co Rd 6

Central City, CO 80427-0771

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 02, 2016
The owners are what make this KOA property stand out: Helpful, friendly, understanding and willing to go the extra mile. The grounds themselves are like a gravel parking lot with concrete RV pads and dusty. But the views are wonderful, a huge store, clean showers and restrooms, it's a good base camp for the Central City/Black Hawk casinos and a nice, easy drive up from I-70.
Sep 01, 2016
Campground is well maintained. Bathrooms were nice and clean. Downside was the tent sites behind our site. We counted over 20 people in a single party who pretty much thought they rented the whole campground. Kids running through our site, yelling and screaming all day long by both kids and adults. Smelled pot from them. The owners should prioritize the trailer $$$ folks over tenters $.
Sep 01, 2016
Best KOA! Well spaced out sites with level concrete pads. AMAZING views too!
Sep 01, 2016
It was great during the week. But the restrooms were disgusting on the weekends. Went to the office to complain they said there's only two of them and they clean the restrooms once a day . When your full up on the weekends you should probably do an hourly check on the bathrooms and not once a day .
Sep 01, 2016
Sep 01, 2016
Very nice, clean park. Picturesque location overlooking the valley below. We stayed here because we needed a place for the night. I had no idea it was such an uphill climb for my rv pulling a car, however. If you're a casino person, then this is the place. There are 23 casinos in the small towns below.
Sep 01, 2016
Wonderful!
Aug 31, 2016
Very well kept campground. Conveniently located near Central City and Idaho Springs. The new exist off of Central City Pkwy make it so much easier to get to.
Aug 31, 2016
We had a great stay, only thing I would recommend is more things for the kids to do.
Aug 30, 2016
The campground was in a nice location. A little too much concrete in the mountains for me, but it was nice and the sites were level. Front office is OK , But they have no flexibility whatsoever in reservations.
Aug 29, 2016
This place was clean. The cabin was cozy. The staff was friendly. Exceeded our expectations. Our two night stay was perfect!
Aug 29, 2016
Very nice place to camp, great clean facilities with a nice location.😃
Aug 29, 2016
There was a mix up with our reservation and the owner bent over backwards to take care of us. Found us a super spot & just really made our weekend! We will definitely be back many times!
Aug 29, 2016
good
Aug 29, 2016
Fantastic We Love It There
Aug 29, 2016
Aug 29, 2016
Aug 29, 2016
Wonderful place to stay.
Aug 29, 2016
Great campground great people that work there. The only thing is they need a bathroom on the top campground or at least railings on the stairs going down to the bathroom. They are dangerous at night. But the place is so clean and the showers are amazing. Best place we have camped at will be back
Aug 29, 2016
Beautiful view, friendly and helpful staff.
Aug 29, 2016
Facilities were great; the views were amazing! Loved having pancakes and bacon as a breakfast option as well. We will definitely be back the next time we go to Colorado- the kids love the two hot tubs!
Aug 28, 2016
Awesome place, great staff, wonderful location
Aug 28, 2016
Nice clean area, with lots of amenities
Aug 28, 2016
Aug 28, 2016
The KOA clerks(2 of them and upon check in)said that a street legal utv could ride from campground to trails... not true chief of police came to camp site told No riding from KOA or get a ticket KOA knows this is true and yet tell people to come and stay they can ride. This is a county ordinance passed. why does KOA say you can when they know you cant. 10 hrs to get there can not ride.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

What he was told is there are place to ride on the other side of town and that he would need to trailer the UTV over there. He chose to ride on a city street. We all know the rules we all own ATV's and we use trailers. Sorry for any miss understandings.
Aug 26, 2016
May be the best KOA in the country! Beautiful view of the mountains and the Central City below.
Aug 26, 2016
Will come back want to ride shuttle to town
Aug 26, 2016
Very nice Campground, but not to crazy about camping with a Pitbull & Doberman in park.
Aug 26, 2016
Beautiful place
Aug 25, 2016
Good if you like driving and walking in the mountains. Lovely clean cabins. Friendly helpful staff.
Aug 25, 2016
Bath houses very clean, but located down a steep path. Large golf ball sized rocks around site. Hard to navigate.
Aug 25, 2016
Nice place if a bit crowded feeling. Great staff.
Aug 24, 2016
Stay there every year, love it!
Aug 24, 2016
We booked a night in a tent site as a practice run at camping with our two children. We had a great stay!
Aug 24, 2016
Nothing special. Just an over night stop. It's not a vacation place. Plus it cost 55.00.
Aug 23, 2016
Loved Loved this KOA. Booked another 2 weeks for next year.
Aug 23, 2016
It would be nice to have an outpost bathroom on the top of the hill.
Aug 23, 2016
Had a great stay,the owners are doing many things to make the park better,even better then last year !They are very responsive if you need anything but also great at giving there quests the privacy they wish for,great job to owners and staff !
Aug 23, 2016
Nice clean camp sites loved our stay
Aug 23, 2016
Prestine restored town of Central City is a must see.
Aug 22, 2016
You can't beat the scenic views! Nice concrete pads, great for big rigs, plenty to see and do in the area. Campground was clean, store was well stocked and staff was very friendly. We loved it and will definitely return!
Aug 22, 2016
Although this is a great facility that I will probably stay at again, I do feel the prices are high for a campground in this area.
Aug 22, 2016
Your staff are so awesome, they were informative, very friendly and sweet... I will be back next summer, the camp facility's were clean and well kept..the camp grounds we also clean and very well kept, the nicest KOA I've been too! Thumbs up to a great camping trip..THANKS!!! :-)))
Aug 22, 2016
Friendly staff, nice campsites with gorgeous view of mountains. Love all you can eat pancake breakfast with spacious eating area and TV. Kids loved playground too!
Aug 21, 2016
Friendly helpful staff. Beautiful view. A little far from Denver attractions but nothing much that is any closer.
Aug 21, 2016
Beautiful location. Friendly and helpful staff. Didn't use laundry, but has 6-7 washers and dryers with good price. Would definitely stay here next time in the area. Wi-Fi works great most of the time. Cell service here; not at the state park.
Aug 21, 2016
Aug 21, 2016
This place is awesome great staff nice people
Aug 20, 2016
Showers were awesome. The pancake breakfast was a pleasant surprise. Employees were all very friendly and helpful.
Aug 19, 2016
Perfect stay!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award