Denver West / Central City KOA

605 Lake Gulch Rd Co Rd 6

Central City, CO 80427-0771

Reserve: 800-562-8613

Info: 303-582-3043

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 01, 2013
Aug 01, 2013
Just the nicest people. The staff was so friendly and helpful. The store was well stocked too. The site was well maintained and level with plenty of space to sit outside. Great views too.
Aug 01, 2013
Aug 01, 2013
Nice camp site. Concrete pads. Nice bath house.
Jul 31, 2013
Great location & staff.
Jul 31, 2013
Love the upper lot and its fantastic views. Great service and friendly folks. A tough drive in for anything 40 foot or longer. The steep grades will stress you rig.
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
We recently stayed at the Denver West KOA in Central City for 5 nights and it was definitely one of the nicest facilities we have ever stayed at. The staff was very accomodating, views were unbelievable, and campsite was clean and comfortable. We would definitely stay here again!
Jul 30, 2013
I love this place so much. I would never come home if I didn't have to. The staff at this particular KOA are the nicest people and so very helpful. The facilities are extremely well kept and I would highly recommend this KOA to anyone.
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
it is a very tough climb in a class A.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry but we do accommodate 40 foot rigs everyday many with tows. Without any problems. Largest one this year 77 feet total length.
Jul 29, 2013
Very clean and well maintained park with beautiful views. There were two hot tubs but nothing else to do and a long steep drive down to get to anything except casinos.
Jul 29, 2013
Campground is fine, facilities excellent, but access road deserves special warning for gas MH with tow vehicle. Nightmare to drive in and almost as bad back out of town.
Jul 29, 2013
Really well maintained facility, with friendly staff and beautiful surroundings. Loved it! We will be back if we can!
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 28, 2013
One if the most beautiful views we ever had! Worth the crazy roads to get to it. Had a premium site (#3) and well worth it.
Jul 28, 2013
Great stay but they have to get an on ramp from the parkway. I almost did not get my RV up that road through town. I loved this KOA but will not be back until they get that road issue fixed. The road is the only reason I did not give it 5 stars.
Jul 27, 2013
Staff was very helpful and friendly. Shuttle to Central City was great. Great views from upper sites. Well stocked store.
Jul 27, 2013
We didn't like traveling that far in the mountains off of the interstate, but the campground was nice and the people were very nice.
Jul 25, 2013
Spectacular! Not only is the campground beautifully maintained, the view is breath taking. A word of caution-the 9,000' elevation made it difficult for me to breathe.
Jul 25, 2013
Jul 25, 2013
Jul 25, 2013
Best KOA in America! They had everything and in perfect order.
Jul 25, 2013
Best KOA in America! It was a perfect stay.
Jul 25, 2013
Staff were very helpful and courteous. We did not have any difficulty driving to the campground with our 40 ft RV while towing a car. We would definitely return.
Jul 25, 2013
It was a great stay. The shuttle to town was also great!!! I will be back.
Jul 25, 2013
Very nice. Need to have an access road from Central City Pkwy so you don't have to travel the narrow winding road thru town. A grass area for dogs would be nice.
Jul 24, 2013
Glad you took over Chuck! The group will be back!
Jul 24, 2013
We met so many nice people. The facilities were outstanding!!! Clean, friendly, helpful. When my daughter needed medical attention the camp was the best! I highly recommend!
Jul 24, 2013
We were pleasantly surprised. Stayed in site 45 and appreciated the view and privacy.
Jul 24, 2013
Jul 23, 2013
We only stayed one night. I wish we would have planned for more. What a great view!!!!!!!!
Jul 23, 2013
We had the best sight and the staff was very helpfull.
Jul 23, 2013
it was great. just wish hot tub would have stayed open later. because we did not get back until late after the races.
Jul 23, 2013
Loved the view we had, very peaceful BUT the climb is something else.
Jul 23, 2013
Jul 23, 2013
This KOA is awesome. Had a great stay and one of the nicest places I've been camping. Very clean and has everything you need. Everyone is extremely helpful/friendly and you can get a shuttle from there to nearby Central City if you'd like to go see town.
Jul 23, 2013
Perfect as always! Staff does a wonderful job! Thanks!
Jul 23, 2013
We just purchased a new Class A and wanted to try it out. This campground was a perfect place for that. Friendly staff and campers. Pancake breafest and pizza delivered to your campsite, what can be better!!! Will stay here again!
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
We were made to feel very welcome. The sites are great and the views to die for!!
Jul 22, 2013
Very kind and helpful people there. We had trouble with our cable connection and they were able to fix our cable, which was broken. Many thanks to them.
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
Overall this is a nice KOA.
Jul 21, 2013
Aaaaamazing location! Don't miss this place. KOA mgmt please get the city to open the link from the hwy to your driveway. The shortcut is needed for those of us in big rigs. THX See you again!
Jul 21, 2013
We stayed an extra day in Central City because of this KOA & the owner/manager. We have literally travelec across America for 20 yrs & this KOA is in the top 3 of tyhe ones we like the best!
Jul 21, 2013
Limited service ie store hours and product. No ac in laundry or restrooms, and sinks in laundry were out of order. One dryer almost burned my clothes as the med setting I chose was super hot after 20 minutes.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

This must be a different campground. We have never had a sink out of order. Store is open 8am until 9pm seven days a week. Here is what another camper said about our store this week. Very friendly. Clean. Well stocked store. We even did some Christmas shopping in the store there.
Jul 20, 2013
cleanliness is good, your the best,only negative is access but its worth the effort once your there the atmosphere provided by the location is well worth it

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.