Deadwood KOA

Open April 29 - October 10

Reserve: 800-562-0846

Info: 605-578-3830

Email

11484 U.S. Hwy 14 Alternate

Deadwood, SD 57732

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Jul 10, 2015
Jul 09, 2015
A picturesque, quiet little campground on the outskirts of Deadwood. Our only qualms during our stay were the very limited washroom accommodations and the lack of routine maintenance within one of these facilities. Otherwise, we enjoyed the amenities offered around the grounds and would revisit in the future.
Jul 08, 2015
Very efficient check-in/check-out. Nice people and great area! Thanks!
Jul 07, 2015
Nice, clean cabin. Friendly employees.
Jul 07, 2015
Nice and remote location. Restrooms needed attention.
Jul 06, 2015
Loved out stay. Only negative is recycling was not provided and it was depressing seeing all the recyclables in the dumpster.
Jul 06, 2015
Jul 06, 2015
The campground was very over crowded the tents and popups were up against the kabins everywhere there was any space there was a camper the restrooms did not accomadate the crowd and were clogged or just dirty the shower curtains were moldy as were the floors the heating units were rusty the doors were hard to open and shut some young guy was sleeping in his car parked beside my car

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am sorry that your stay was not up to par. The shower curtains and floors have been cleaned. I wish you had brought the guy sleeping in his car to my attention so that we could address that. Thank you for the feedback.
Jul 05, 2015
We thought the cabin was cute. We liked the campground with 2 exceptions. The shower /toilet were combined. We left the campgrounds,went to a restaurant, to use restroom in the morning as the showers were all in use and it can take a person 10 minutes or longer to shower,dress and maybe dry hair. Even just 2 restrooms without showers would help. 2. It seemed to be cramped for room in some areas.
Jul 02, 2015
Wonderful stay! Thank you!
Jul 02, 2015
Our stay in a Kabin Lodge 2 was great - very clean and lots of amenities. The kids loved the pool and walking around the campground. We also saw deer and birds off our deck. I thought it was a little pricey considering the cabin's location close to the main highway - lots of traffic noise. The bed & futon mattresses were very uncomfortable... felt like we were sleeping on a hill- need replacing!
Jul 01, 2015
Jun 29, 2015
Jun 27, 2015
Shuttle bus to town is a great bonus! Would be nice to have a more central play area and something for older kids.
Jun 25, 2015
Very convenient to Deadwood and surrounding attractions. Campground is clean and well maintained. I would definitely stay here again if I travel back to the area.
Jun 24, 2015
This is a well kept place the only thing I would like to see is vent fan's in the bath houes
Jun 24, 2015
Nice location to Deadwood. The staff is very friendly and helpful.
Jun 24, 2015
Male host is "rigid military type" and not very friendly. He was more concerned with his "inventory" than with camper satisfaction. Debra is very pleasant. Female showers in poor repair at main office. I believe this KOA does not have to try harder due to its location. It certainly did not meet the standards I have come to expect of KOA campgrounds.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am sorry that your standards were not met here. We are very concerned with every campers experience and sometimes that means saying no to someone's requests.
Jun 23, 2015
Great place and friendly staff. Thanks Steve for letting us shelter our bikes from the hail storm. Would definitely go back.
Jun 23, 2015
Cabins are very comfortable. Pool was very nice. Great breakfast on fathers day. Hosts are really nice. Enjoyed our stay very much!
Jun 22, 2015
Jun 22, 2015
This koa was our favorite one during our vacation. The cabin was great,being secluded,water faucet outside and tv inside was things other's did not have. Loved the that the bathroom/ bathhouse was individual and private. Having the hottub with an age restriction was a plus. The owners were extremely friendly and informative when we inquired about owning our own KOA. We Will be back! !!!!
Jun 20, 2015
My 20ft rv wouldn't fit in cabin parking space. First 2 nights I was given a place to park. Third night I had to pay for a place. On a tornado warning I asked management what we should do, he replied " I don't know it's never happened before" and offered to come into the office, I thought we would be safer in log cabin. I reported site5 muddy and collapsing. After a day he hadn't looked at it.
Jun 16, 2015
Jun 16, 2015
no fire pits no pool nothing really
Jun 15, 2015
The Cabin we stayed in was really nice & clean & the bathrooms were clean as well. One downside was that the shower heads were pretty low & difficult to use.
Jun 15, 2015
Never stayed in cabin and really enjoyed.
Jun 12, 2015
Beautiful, accommodating, clean, quiet, and the owners are extra nice. I loved my kamper kabin deck with deck table and chairs.
Jun 11, 2015
Extremely clean. Everyone was very nice.
Jun 08, 2015
Jun 08, 2015
Very clean,quaint and quiet. Beautiful setting and very accommodating owners. We plan to return in the fall,
Jun 08, 2015
Friendly place/staff. The shuttle available every few hours into town is really nice; especially if you have a large vehicle or want to split into groups for outings. The cabins are convenient and everything was very clean and orderly!
Jun 01, 2015
Wonderful time love the campground - so much history in Deadwood hear a new story everytime
May 31, 2015
I was on a tight budget and it was perfect for my busy two day trip to the area. Bathrooms were so much more than I expected at a campground. Very clean! Service was wonderful. Very polite and extremely friendly. Scenery was beautiful and campground was quiet!
May 30, 2015
Super clean and friendly staff. The they were very helpful and answer questions about the area and gave great advice how to get place to see fine the hidden gems.
May 26, 2015
This is our second time staying at this KOA. We love where and how it is located. It fits into the hillside and is close to Deadwood and Lead. It's beautiful! The KOA itself is well taken care of, quiet and there is a dog park! The owners are friendly and very helpful. This is where we will always stay when in this area.
May 26, 2015
It was perfect for what we needed. We explored all day and got back late at night. Awesome hot showers in the morning and very friendly office personelle!
May 19, 2015
Loved every inch of the place from the second we pulled up. Even at night in fog & rain when we arrived, we gasped happily at this beautiful campground ! T.
May 06, 2015
We had one great time,
Oct 18, 2014
Really great people and park if we ever get back to Deadwood we would stay there again!!!!!!!
Oct 03, 2014
This campground was a little run down but they were in the process of some major renovations. The staff was friendly. Our cabin was a short distance from the office and each time we went to leave or return to our cabin we had to ask one of the employees to move their vehicle because they were blocking the entrance.
Oct 01, 2014
We made our reservation on line and when we arrived they were friendly and gave us their best Kampin Kabin. It was in a shaded area and had a great deck with a patio set. There were a few stairs to go up and my wife had a joint problem so I went back up to ask for possibly another cabin and they said of course, no problem and were extremely nice about the change. Will see them again!
Sep 30, 2014
Cabin on top of cliff barely room for car then road then cliff. Dirty bathrooms, the entire place was falling apart. The playground was ridiculous. The inside of the cabin was clean and the tv was nice. Fumes from traffic below hung in the camp area.
Sep 29, 2014
stayed in deluxe cabin,it was perfect for our wants and needs,clean,nice folks who operate campground
Sep 29, 2014
Beautiful setting, very friendly owner. Infrastucture needs some repairs - doors not closing on bathrooms, cabin door handles falling apart in your hand, musty smell in bathrooms. I believe the relatively new owners are in the process of doing these things.
Sep 28, 2014
Sep 28, 2014
Very noisy, bathrooms were very dirty, the campsites were very small, the lodge was under construction so it was very messy and did not feel safe standing in there to check in/check out. We were suppose to stay 2 nights needless to say we only stayed one night. The only nice thing was there was a TV in the camping cabin!
Sep 27, 2014
Sep 21, 2014
Deadwood is our very favorite KOA...we love Cabin #2 and already planning on 4 days next Sept. New owners are wonderful and doing great things...love it..THANK YOU!!
Sep 18, 2014
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals