Deadwood KOA

11484 U.S. Hwy 14 Alternate

Deadwood, SD 57732

Reserve: 800-562-0846

Info: 605-578-3830

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7

RV Reviews

Jul 27, 2014
Nice location and layout only complaint were the bathrooms. The combination of the shower and toilet limits use and also their was no venting so with showering and the lights always on it was always hot and sticky there all thru the day and night making toilet seats sweat. Also not cleaned daily/dirty. Garbage cans at each level would be nice.
Jul 26, 2014
The campground was nice however the trolly does not come to the campground so you have to arrange your own ride to town. Also, having Wifi was very important to me but we could not get a signal inside or outside of the RV. The staff and owner was very nice and friendly. Would stay here again if towing a way into town.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We do run our own shuttle into town. I'm not sure why you weren't aware of it, but we try to mention it to everyone and it is printed on our site map. We hope you'll come back but no need to tow.
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Very nice campground. Be prepared to walk some steep hills to the bathroom. But that is part of it's charm. You need to enjoy gambling if you plan to stay more than a couple of days in Deadwood.
Jul 18, 2014
Beautiful setting, very helpful owner, the free bus into town was great and we were able to ask the driver, whom was also the owner lots of questions and he able to answer all. will for sure come back. only reason I don't give a 5 is there are no fire pits and most sites have no trees1
Jul 18, 2014
Jul 18, 2014
Great location and every other hour to Deadwood means that you can leave your vehicle in place. Thanks again to Arnie for being a great host.
Jul 17, 2014
this is the best koa out of 5 we stayed at in the usa very awesome
Jul 17, 2014
we were impressed w the cleanliness of bathrooms, the great shower heads, and loved having the shuttle to town and friendly helpful info. we hope to return. just a great experience
Jul 17, 2014
shuttle bus was a real nice touch... thank you so much don't let the entrance scare you the sights are level and it is a beautiful spot. Staff very helpful
Jul 15, 2014
GREAT K9 park. However, the trash bags for the dogs was never replaced nor the dog waste can emptied.
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
Sites are very small (we have a 24' camper) and difficult to get in & out of sites. Bathroom had holes in ceiling from water damage and shower heads are very low.
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 12, 2014
Sites were way too jammed together. Guy with big rig next to ours had his slide out on our site. Awkward to get in and out.
Jul 12, 2014
The size of the lots are not conducive to the larger modern RVs. The bathrooms are nice but there are a number of maintenance issues that are not being addressed.
Jul 11, 2014
Great staff. Shuttle to downtown was very convenient. Would stay again
Jul 05, 2014
Jul 03, 2014
Steep entrance, although picture on the website makes it look flat, narrow sites, management was nice, free shuttle to downtown was nice.
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
Way too close to neighbor. Unattended dogs barking like crazy. No fire pits. Just a bad experience.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I apologize for the bad experience. It certainly isn't part of our plan for you. I hope the rest of your trip to the Black Hills was enjoyable.
Jul 01, 2014
Friendly staff, clean facilities, but tight parking to your neighbors and no camp fire area.
Jun 30, 2014
We had a great stay and will stay here in the future. Arni was very friendly and helpful and always had coffee waiting!!
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 29, 2014
Helpful staff and great surroundings.
Jun 28, 2014
bathroom ceiling leaked during rain. rather remote. buildings need some repair
Jun 27, 2014
The owner, Arni, and staff were very hospitable, however, the sites were very small. Also, the Kampground facilities are showing their age.
Jun 26, 2014
Jun 25, 2014
Great have the shuttle available to go into town centre Usual excellent standard
Jun 24, 2014
It was great.The owners are very nice and helpful.Very clean.
Jun 23, 2014
The grounds were very pretty & well kept, showers were clean & worked great. We loved it & had a wonderful time. We liked that it was close to town
Jun 23, 2014
Booked for 3 nights; Arni moved things around & luckily we were able to stay the 4th night. Great staff; close to deadwood; very unique campsite. Will definitely return!
Jun 20, 2014
The owner of this campground is great to work with. I really appreciated the rental car on site - the last car I rented had to be returned over 80 miles away. Owner is very thorough and knowledgeable about his business. I would definitely recommend this campground to others. Thank you for a great stay. Ted K.
Jun 20, 2014
Jun 20, 2014
Sites to close and campground steep.
Jun 19, 2014
This was one of the nicest campgrounds we have ever stayed at in the US! Extremely clean. Well kept. Friendly. Great gift shop. Helpful information. Fun pool. Near neat attractions. Gorgeous scenery. Would love to visit again!!
Jun 18, 2014
Staff very friendly free shuttle runs every 2 hrs which was nice! Rv space level . Our son loved the pool. Only downside no campfire ring at Rv spot but knew this going in and it's to prevent forest fires so totally get it.
Jun 18, 2014
We used this campground as a base camp while we went to various tourist sites in the area. The campsites seemed quite small and the area was very hilly and being in the mountains, the weather was quite rainy during our stay. The staff was friendly and they had good information of the surrounding areas.
Jun 17, 2014
The sites were very small to fit my 5th wheel into. The employees were very friendly. I won't be back because of better options close by that fit my RV better.
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
Campground was nice, great location and Arni was fabulous! Thanks, we'll be back!
Jun 13, 2014
Very convenient for touring the area. The on site car rental a big plus. Found the sites a bit tighter than at some other KOA's and the roof in the bath/shower room was leaking.
Jun 13, 2014
All was wonderful. Thanks for our stay!
Jun 13, 2014
KOA is convenient for us, good place !
Jun 09, 2014
Friendly, courteous staff, Nice level sites and a variety of different options from tenting to cabins. Limited area for dogs and the Wi-Fi signal at the mid to upper sites is weak, but overall a nice place to stay and would stay here again.
Jun 09, 2014
We have been treated great! The owner is so pleasant and helpful, we couldn't ask for more.
Jun 08, 2014
Jun 05, 2014
The site was super clean and the owners are absolutely awesome!
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.