Deadwood KOA

11484 U.S. Hwy 14 Alternate

Deadwood, SD 57732

Reserve: 800-562-0846

Info: 605-578-3830

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13

Campground Reviews

Jul 22, 2014
Enjoyed our stay, beautiful a area and lots of things to do close to the KOA, I was disappointed that I could not use my membership points toward the cabin that I rented for my kids, we have an RV and I wanted my whole family to come this time , but we could not all stay in the RV due to note nought room, so I rented an additional lodge for my family so we could all be together , but I was told N
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
Very beautiful facility and very friendly staff. Because of some health issues it was not an easy park for me to navigate.
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
Everyone that worked there was very friendly and accommodating. They couldn't do enough to make sure our stay was great!
Jul 22, 2014
The best thing about this campground is the friendly staff, unfortunately the tent sites are very cramped and they expect you to park your vehicle next to your tent which leads you virtually no room to move around. Also, there is a very bright street light that shines upon the whole campground and you're unable to look at the stars.
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Very nice campground. Be prepared to walk some steep hills to the bathroom. But that is part of it's charm. You need to enjoy gambling if you plan to stay more than a couple of days in Deadwood.
Jul 21, 2014
When booking this KOA I looked at GoogleMaps to get an idea what the area looked like. It was not impressive. We decided to give it a try anyway. I am glad we did. The lodge we stayed in for 5 nights was clean and bigger than expected. The KOA was well kept and the staff very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again.
Jul 21, 2014
Arni and Deb are welcoming, gracious camp owners/hosts. We arrived after the office was closed, but Arni came up and helped us quickly find our cabin. He and his wife went out of their ways to provide information about local restaurants and attractions and made our stay very enjoyable.
Jul 21, 2014
they were very accommodating to us in moving to cabin after the rain and storms.
Jul 20, 2014
This was my first stay at a KOA and I was pleasantly surprised at how nice the experience was. Given the layout of the grounds, themselves, it was a little cramped, but this really didn't pose any problems. Loved the cabin and the staff was friendly and helpful.
Jul 20, 2014
Despite a full lot, the layout makes each space seem private--tucked away into the hills. Wonderful people.
Jul 20, 2014
The view was wonderful and the bathrooms were clean. We were very impressed with the appearances of the KOA's that we stayed at!
Jul 19, 2014
just a couple of minor issues, but was taken care of promptly. Staff was caring and friendly. Great place to stay in nature.
Jul 18, 2014
Beautiful setting, very helpful owner, the free bus into town was great and we were able to ask the driver, whom was also the owner lots of questions and he able to answer all. will for sure come back. only reason I don't give a 5 is there are no fire pits and most sites have no trees1
Jul 18, 2014
Nice campground overall, but disappointed with location of our cabin, which was positioned directly above a busy/noisy road. Also,owner (male) wasn't friendly at all.
Jul 18, 2014
Jul 18, 2014
Jul 18, 2014
Great location and every other hour to Deadwood means that you can leave your vehicle in place. Thanks again to Arnie for being a great host.
Jul 17, 2014
this is the best koa out of 5 we stayed at in the usa very awesome
Jul 17, 2014
we were impressed w the cleanliness of bathrooms, the great shower heads, and loved having the shuttle to town and friendly helpful info. we hope to return. just a great experience
Jul 17, 2014
shuttle bus was a real nice touch... thank you so much don't let the entrance scare you the sights are level and it is a beautiful spot. Staff very helpful
Jul 16, 2014
Good location. Friendly and knowledgable staff.
Jul 15, 2014
GREAT K9 park. However, the trash bags for the dogs was never replaced nor the dog waste can emptied.
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
Arnie and Debra were friendly and helpful. They have been here 3 years. The campground itself was very steep with few trees for shade. We stayed in a lodge, it was clean, rustic decor was quaint! Many of the tent sites, however, were small & cramped. Beautiful scenery surrounding the area!
Jul 13, 2014
Sites are very small (we have a 24' camper) and difficult to get in & out of sites. Bathroom had holes in ceiling from water damage and shower heads are very low.
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 12, 2014
Sites were way too jammed together. Guy with big rig next to ours had his slide out on our site. Awkward to get in and out.
Jul 12, 2014
The size of the lots are not conducive to the larger modern RVs. The bathrooms are nice but there are a number of maintenance issues that are not being addressed.
Jul 11, 2014
We really appreciate the shuttle service, the well kept campground, quiet setting. Love the porch swing on the cabin.
Jul 11, 2014
Great staff. Shuttle to downtown was very convenient. Would stay again
Jul 10, 2014
Jul 10, 2014
The grounds were immaculate and staff very helpful. Very beautiful Kampground nestled against the hills. My dog really enjoyed the pet yard. Can't wait to go back.
Jul 05, 2014
Wonderful people running this KOA. Very accommodating to our needs. A+ KOA. Thank you very much for having us.
Jul 05, 2014
Jul 05, 2014
Great location. Only thing missing was the ability to have a campfire.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for staying with us. Unfortunately, the great location and the inability to have a campfire are related!
Jul 04, 2014
Great time, friendly Owners on site - who made sure you got everything you needed,
Jul 03, 2014
Steep entrance, although picture on the website makes it look flat, narrow sites, management was nice, free shuttle to downtown was nice.
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
Upper bathroom under repair, Had a waiting line to shower. Hot Tub awesome!!!! Other than that the cabin was great!
Jul 02, 2014
Way too close to neighbor. Unattended dogs barking like crazy. No fire pits. Just a bad experience.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I apologize for the bad experience. It certainly isn't part of our plan for you. I hope the rest of your trip to the Black Hills was enjoyable.
Jul 01, 2014
Friendly staff, clean facilities, but tight parking to your neighbors and no camp fire area.
Jul 01, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
Awesome!!!! We loved our cabin and the staff was very helpful and friendly!
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.