Deadwood KOA

11484 U.S. Hwy 14 Alternate

Deadwood, SD 57732

Reserve: 800-562-0846

Info: 605-578-3830

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2

Tent Reviews

Jul 26, 2014
This campground not up to KOA standards. Overgrown bushes, uneven concrete, holes in restroom walls and ceilings. Otherwise clean restroom and showers. Tent site next to cliff where a fallen tree root was above us. With some work this could be a nice campground.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for the feedback, but just to let you know, we had a snowstorm on Oct 4 last year that dumped 63 inches of snow in 36 hours. All of the campground took a big hit and we plan to address all of the ones you mentioned, after we get a new roof on our building. Come check us out next year.
Jul 23, 2014
This is a really challenging KOA, very steep climb to the restrooms. only 3 unisex restrooms to serve so many. We appreciated to shuttle to the downtown area. Owners very friendly. thank you
Jul 22, 2014
The best thing about this campground is the friendly staff, unfortunately the tent sites are very cramped and they expect you to park your vehicle next to your tent which leads you virtually no room to move around. Also, there is a very bright street light that shines upon the whole campground and you're unable to look at the stars.
Jul 20, 2014
The view was wonderful and the bathrooms were clean. We were very impressed with the appearances of the KOA's that we stayed at!
Jul 18, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
Good location. Friendly and knowledgable staff.
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 10, 2014
Jun 28, 2014
Jun 26, 2014
Jun 20, 2014
Our site was dirt, next to the highway, noisy and the ceiling in the mens room was falling
Jun 16, 2014
Nice and quiet. We tent camped and enjoyed our stay. Bathrooms are clean, which is a huge plus. The owers were always pleasent and happy.
Jun 12, 2014
The tent site had fairly tall grass by the picnic table. All three of us were stung and or bitten by what looked like flying ants causing welts to form near our ears. Then due to coolness and rain, we abandoned the tenting idea and secured a room in Deadwood instead.
Jun 06, 2014
Nice, secluded camping site
Nov 20, 2013
Deer would come near our site. Great to watch. Nestled on the hill, near the pool and bathroom. Perfect!
Sep 23, 2013
Sep 23, 2013
Great setting in the hills.
Sep 19, 2013
We had a great time, just 5 minutes from Deadwood, and easy access to the rest of the area. Met an interesting array of people out biking, camping, and having a great time!!!
Sep 18, 2013
I loved the Deadwood KOA. The bathrooms were new and great. The people who worked there were very friendly. I'd definitely stay there again.
Sep 17, 2013
Sep 15, 2013
Sep 04, 2013
We had a great time! The pool and hot tub were well maintained as was the rest if the facility. Beautiful scenery, I was happy just to be there at KOA!
Sep 03, 2013
A real nice place, alittle steep to get to the bathrooms from our tent spot but well worth it because our site was shady & close to trees, even had a doe & twin fawns next to our site. Bathrooms were very clean.
Sep 03, 2013
Our first KOA experience and we enjoyed every minute of it! Wonderful owners and staff. They gave us great advice for area attractions and places to eat. We will definitely recommend them to friends and family.
Aug 22, 2013
It was great! This was pur first trip out west, and we are going again next year! We had a wonderful time! Thanks Jim and Kim
Aug 22, 2013
Service was excellent and so were the facilities and location!
Aug 22, 2013
We stayed in a tent site and our only request would have been to have a more grassy area. Also the wifi signal was pretty poor. Staff was very friendly and shuttle was convenient.
Aug 19, 2013
Even Though we were there for one night we were very comfortable and the kids loved the swimming pool. the bathrooms were clean and very excessable.
Aug 18, 2013
Nice Campground, enjoyed our stay. The staff was friendly and helpful. Met a lot of interesting people there.
Aug 18, 2013
Wonderful Relaxing and very friendly , knowledgeable staff...Location is perfect ..
Aug 16, 2013
Fantastic! Nice and quiet. The shuttle into town was very handy.
Aug 14, 2013
very friendly easy to get along with nice location and bus rides into deadwood no need to drive
Aug 14, 2013
Only stayed one night. Something personal came up. Staff was very helpful when we came in. Everything was easy to find and get to. Bath and shower rooms were very clean.
Aug 14, 2013
nice tent pad great view.
Aug 12, 2013
New owners are great - very friendly. Met some great people camping! Loved the hot tub, wish it stayed open past 9:30pm. Five stars if the the portajohn wasn't emptied at 6:50am!
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
The grounds are very clean and the staff very friendly.
Aug 12, 2013
Nice and clean!! Will be back and refer to friends!!
Aug 11, 2013
For over 20 years the Deadwood KOA has been home for the MN Viking Antique Motorcycle club during the Sturgis motorcycle rally. The KOA's morning breakfast & evening tap beer addition made good even better this year.
Aug 06, 2013
needs firer pits and moor room to park
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Very clean and and great people bus into town was great
Aug 04, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
Could have used more bath/shower rooms, but overall a nice place and very convenient to Deadwood.
Jul 28, 2013
Jul 28, 2013
Jul 28, 2013
Great location, shuttle service wonderful and staff very friendly.
Jul 21, 2013
Nice campground! Don't listen to the other reviews complaining about the bathrooms. They're quite nice! The upper bathrooms are especially nice! You're fairly close to your camping neighbors but all the spots are level and grassy. Number 40 is especially nice for tents.
Jul 20, 2013
We had access, near our site, to three awesome and private bathrooms complete with showers and hair dryer. More public showers and toilets at registration building. Sites are very close together but the free and private showers made up for it! Pool and hot tub at this location as well which was a selling point.
  1. 1
  2. 2

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.