Deadwood KOA

11484 U.S. Hwy 14 Alternate

Deadwood, SD 57732

Reserve: 800-562-0846

Info: 605-578-3830

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Tent Reviews

Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
The hosts and the facilities were great. Most of the KOA was picturesque but, since we booked a bit last minute, we got a less than ideal tent site, right next to an old building that they use for storage. Our "view" consisted of a Bobcat (the machine, not the animal)and other various construction / lawn care equipment. It was nice for a last minute option.
Jul 27, 2015
great Hosts.thankyou
Jul 27, 2015
The KOA campground was a great facility and very peaceful. We were very appreciative of the clean restrooms and showers.
Jul 25, 2015
They put tenders in a different area since the last time we stayed here. Much better!! Nice pool. Clean bathrooms. and offer shuttle into Deadwood. Great place to stay.
Jul 23, 2015
The camp hosts were so friendly, the public areas were immaculate, the store was well stocked. y husband uses a wheelchair a lot and it was so great to have the wheelchair lift on the shuttle bus.
Jul 20, 2015
Great campsite and very nice bathrooms.
Jul 20, 2015
Clean. Tent sites were very nice.
Jul 17, 2015
Friendly. I was not crazy about tent camping right next to the playground. Maybe if I had kids with me, it would have been ideal.
Jul 13, 2015
Tent sites are ridiculous, staff was rude when I asked questions about them. I will not stay here again.
Jul 13, 2015
The showers were broken at the office restroom which overwhelmed the other restroom building. Long lines formed waiting for 3 showers for the entire campground, not acceptable. The front desk fellow was not very friendly.
Jul 13, 2015
This is the best place we stayed at yet it is perfect and KOA has some good places, we will definitely stay there again, it was very pretty and had the small creek right there, it was excellent and would reccomend it to others, we had a good time there and the place is so cozy, thanx again
Jul 10, 2015
Enjoyed our stay here at KOA Deadwood. Friendly staff. Will be back.
Jul 10, 2015
We absolutely LOVED this KOA and were sad that we weren't able to stay longer. The tent site we were set up at was beautiful, the hosts were extremely friendly, and all facilities were clean! We will definitely be back to the Deadwood KOA.
Jul 10, 2015
We had a convenient tent site right next to the pool and the restroom. The facilities were extremely clean and the owner was very friendly. They even serve free coffee in the morning, which is just what we needed to get a start to our early morning. It was also conveniently located only 4 mi. from downtown Deadwood.
Jul 09, 2015
Great tent camping area, Fabulous hosts. Good tourist info & very nice bathroom facilities!
Jul 06, 2015
The tent sites were extremely cramped, very little space, noisy neighbors and the shower height was made for people less than 5 feet high. I have stayed at numerous KOAs and this was the worst.
Jul 06, 2015
Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Campsite was clean and scenic. We were one of the first spots close to pool and highway, so it was a bit noisy at times, so I will search for place in back when I return.
Jul 06, 2015
Nice place overall, nice pool. What spoiled the night was small spot for tent and no privacy. Noisy people late into the night in one of the cabins, not good for a light sleeper.
Jul 04, 2015
Campsites were small. Served our purpose for overnight rest but could use some improvements. The bathrooms were clean. Some work on the tent sites would be recommended.
Jul 03, 2015
Shuttle was excellent. Bathrooms in need of repair Owners clutter around hilltop house could be more organized. Possibly at the side behind a fence.
Jul 01, 2015
Jun 27, 2015
Arni was great, so helpful and friendly!! This KOA is very centrally located to area attractions. Relaxing environment. Very clean updated bathrooms. The store is excellent! Really well stocked with necessities and fun gift items. FREE COFFEE!! Mostly, the owners friendliness made the experience for us.
Jun 27, 2015
Jun 22, 2015
Great campground, we will definitely stay again at the deadwood, SD Koa campground
Jun 13, 2015
It was good
Sep 01, 2014
Aug 29, 2014
Aug 27, 2014
The people are very friendly, and the campground and restrooms are very clean. The only issue I have is that the restrooms are getting very worn and small. They, as with all the KOA's we have stayed at this year, are in need of updating and enlarging.
Aug 26, 2014
Staff was awesome. They let me change sights, to a more scenic one. They were all friendly, and helpful.
Aug 26, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
we stay here every year for the kool nights of deadwood. the shuttle service is very worth it. my only complaint would be the cleanliness of the bathrooms. i don't think they have been swept or dusted all summer.
Aug 23, 2014
Tent camping site is horrible. Noisy highway, muddy area, rude cabin neighbors. May be ok for Rv but not tents. Expensive too! Tenters stay away.
Aug 20, 2014
Perfect location, excellent accommodations and courteous staff.
Aug 19, 2014
Great location and the owner/managers here are very friendly and accommodating. Most tent sites are quite small (square footage), but the manager John worked it out so my sister and I could use two side-by-side sites for setting up our dual 12x12 outrigger tents. Worked out great and we ended up staying for a week, rather than our original 2 nights. For us, getting in or out was quite easy, bu
Aug 13, 2014
Very Rude people running the campground.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Debbie, we certainly didn't intend to be rude to you but according to your reservation, we expected 2 people and a bike. As you know, limited parking and tight spaces in that area. That is why we are developing that site into a playground. The other sites around it are limited to one parking area.
Aug 12, 2014
Great I loved the friendly staff members and the shuttle to deadwood thanks
Aug 11, 2014
HAVE BEEN STAYING AT DEADWOOD KOA FOR THE LAST 7 YEARS AND HAVE ENJOYED THE TRANQUILLITY OF THIS CAMPGROUND. ARNIE HAS MADE IT VERY PLEASANT FOR EACH STAY AND WIL LOOK FORWARD TO RETURNING NEXT YEAR!
Aug 10, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
Location is cool, it is clean, the people are friendly and very helpful. We will be back!!!
Aug 06, 2014
SITE WAS NICE AND SHADED, THE STORE AND FACILITES WERE CLEAN. IT WAS GREAT TO HAVE A POOL AND A HOT TUB!
Aug 05, 2014
we had a nice stay at KOA in Deadwood SD. we would stay again in the future.
Aug 04, 2014
Great stay at the Koa! The only thing I might change is that the washrooms are in same room as the showers, so if all 3 showers are being used, it becomes a lengthy wait. Perhaps just to add a few more single washrooms would make it much better. Other than that, service was excellent and the Kampground was very clean, shuttle service is a great addition. We will definately come back!! Thankyou
Aug 04, 2014
some showers not working, no grass for tent camp sites,good shuttle to downtown Deadwood.
Aug 03, 2014
The campground hosts were wonderful...our stay was very pleasant, nice facilities, plenty of shade!
Jul 28, 2014
The campground was neat, the staff friendly. Everything was we needed was near by. The shuttle to Deadwood was a great extra. It made our vacation a great one.
Jul 26, 2014
This campground not up to KOA standards. Overgrown bushes, uneven concrete, holes in restroom walls and ceilings. Otherwise clean restroom and showers. Tent site next to cliff where a fallen tree root was above us. With some work this could be a nice campground.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for the feedback, but just to let you know, we had a snowstorm on Oct 4 last year that dumped 63 inches of snow in 36 hours. All of the campground took a big hit and we plan to address all of the ones you mentioned, after we get a new roof on our building. Come check us out next year.
Jul 23, 2014
This is a really challenging KOA, very steep climb to the restrooms. only 3 unisex restrooms to serve so many. We appreciated to shuttle to the downtown area. Owners very friendly. thank you
Jul 22, 2014
The best thing about this campground is the friendly staff, unfortunately the tent sites are very cramped and they expect you to park your vehicle next to your tent which leads you virtually no room to move around. Also, there is a very bright street light that shines upon the whole campground and you're unable to look at the stars.
Jul 20, 2014
The view was wonderful and the bathrooms were clean. We were very impressed with the appearances of the KOA's that we stayed at!
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.