Deadwood / Black Hills KOA

Open April 28 - October 9

Reserve: 800-562-0846

Info: 605-578-3830

Email

11484 U.S. Hwy 14 Alternate

Deadwood, SD 57732

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Aug 11, 2016
We stayed in one of the cabins and it was wonderful! The campground was clean and Debra and Arni were excellent hosts. They were extremely helpful and friendly. I want to be there now!
Aug 09, 2016
Aug 09, 2016
Absolutely the nicest cabin at any KOA I've stayed at so I was shocked at the bathrooms being dirty.
Aug 08, 2016
Love the Deluxe Cabin! Great owners also!!
Aug 08, 2016
Was well kept. It was very clean. Nice store. The only negative was no air in the cabin. It was very stuffy the day we stayed, It was not there fault. Good service
Aug 07, 2016
Aug 07, 2016
The cabin was clean and comfortable and the area was beautiful. However, it is a bit of a climb up and down hills to the bathrooms depending on where you are, which can be a problem for some people.
Aug 06, 2016
Arni and Debra are the best hosts anyone could ever ask for!!
Aug 05, 2016
Rented two cabins, one had fan, running tv and swing...the other cabin had NO fan on a hot night, NO running tv and the swing BROKE while our guests were sitting in it...thank God she didn't get extremely hurt!!
Aug 03, 2016
Nice and quiet. Enjoyed the cabin on the hill with patio set on balcony!
Aug 02, 2016
Nice place and a nice cabin. Noisy road is the only bad thing about this place.
Aug 02, 2016
Everything was clean and well-maintained. We were given lots of information when we arrived. The managers were very friendly and very helpful. The one thing that would have been extremely helpful, and I'm not sure this has anything to do with running the campground, is it would have been nice to have been provided with the activities and the times of the activities for the weekend.
Jul 31, 2016
Unisex bathrooms need updating. Cabin floors were dirty-needed mopping. Owners failed to make us aware of all the shower facilities. We found additional showers on our own which would have prevented us from relying only on the showers near us.
Jul 31, 2016
Wonderful facility, friendly staff, clean, we'll appointed, COMFORTABLE BEDS! LOVED OUR BRIEF TIME THERE!
Jul 30, 2016
The grounds look unkept and messy with junk piled outside the old yellow house and behind it. Because I like old building I peeked in the windows, junk piled in there too. Seems there might have been a resourceful use of this building. No smile or welcome when checking in. A smile and "welcome" doesn't cost and goes a long way. Nice bathrooms thought but the shower heads are very low.
Jul 29, 2016
Bathrooms need a little work. Doors don't line up.
Jul 29, 2016
Nice facility, we stayed in a cabin which I really enjoyed. It is nice to be in a wooded area with the view. We didn't use it, however the shuttle into town is certainly a great option to have. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We will be back.
Jul 29, 2016
Service was excellent. Cabin was clean and fun. Campground had all we needed.
Jul 27, 2016
Jul 27, 2016
We enjoyed our stay in Deadwood very much. The hosts are doing their very best with this site, but I believe the workload may be a bit much for 2 people. It was wonderful to have a TV a great location!
Jul 26, 2016
Great experience! -1 star for hard lumpy pillows
Jul 25, 2016
It's clean and comfortable. Downtown Deadwood is very close, but it is far enough away to not hear it. There's a trolley that runs between downtown and the campground, so you don't have to worry about parking.Spend some time learning the local history. It's very interesting. And if you want to visit Wild Bill's plot, take one of the tours. The walk is impossibly steep, except for mountain goats.
Jul 25, 2016
The host was very friendly, facilities were clean and the location was awesome. Biggest complaint was the cabins were too close together (meaning we smelt our neighbours smoke the whole time) and the scary house we had to walk past to go potty.
Jul 23, 2016
Nice KOA close to Lead and Deadwood. Facilities are well maintained, restrooms are clean. Shuttle to Deadwood great! This is more of an adult campground. Rushmore KOA is more "Chucky Cheese" if you have kids (and good luck!). Quiet area, warm days, cool evenings. Dress accordingly.
Jul 23, 2016
This was the 4th KOA on our trip and were very disappointed to find the cabins didn't include A/C though the price was the same as the other KOA's we stayed at. This made it impossible to sleep. The bathroom sinks were plugged in the women's restroom and were also too tall for my 6yr old. I also noticed the tent spots were TINY and not thought out. Will not ruturn!!!
Jul 22, 2016
Jul 22, 2016
Shady cabin in the woods. Clean restrooms and pool area
Jul 21, 2016
Jul 20, 2016
We enjoyed the cabins - just pack some Clorox wipes to wipe down the mattresses as they needed it. The restrooms were clean! I would stay here again!
Jul 19, 2016
Jul 18, 2016
Friendly Staff, but railings around deck were in need of repair (loose and rotted) loved the setting. Bathrooms in poor location and very dangerous to get to at night no lights on path and path uphill and washed out. Not enough bathrooms, there were only 3 bath shower combos for the whole upper area of the camp ground.
Jul 18, 2016
The water wasn't working our first night and the following morning, and we found dead chipmunks with exposed intestines in the hot tub trap. The owners never apologized for either and never offered a discount of any kind. Seems like bad business to me. Otherwise my wife and I like the remoteness of the park. The owners should realize it's not a bad thing to put the pride down and apologize.
Jul 16, 2016
Jul 16, 2016
Cabins could be cleaner.
Jul 16, 2016
This is the most beautiful KOA I've ever seen! The location was great and the people were great.
Jul 15, 2016
Jul 15, 2016
Nice location friendly staff will be back
Jul 15, 2016
The hosts were very considerate and helpful, our cabin was clean and comfortable. The campground was quiet. The bathroom showers were really nice because the shower area was lower so when you stepped up the mat area was dry and I could put my clothes on without them possibly getting onto a wet floor. We will definitely stay at the Deadwood KOA in the future. Sam and Janet Rockow. Belmond IA
Jul 14, 2016
It has become a tradition for my son and I to stay at the KOA campgrounds in deadwood, the owners are very professional and the place is always clean .
Jul 14, 2016
Jul 12, 2016
Cozy cabin with beautiful view. Friendly staff and nice location between Lead and Deadwood.
Jul 12, 2016
A very friendly staff, and well kept camp grounds
Jul 11, 2016
Great
Jul 10, 2016
Had to back a long way to park. Cabin smell was way too strong
Jul 10, 2016
It's an incredibly beautiful location. No where near enough bathrooms on the upper part of the campsite and the 3 that are there were poorly maintained. They were out of toilet paper most of our 3 day visit. It would have been helpful to have a few trash cans around, the bathroom trash was always overflowing. We bought a jar of sauce in the store that was 7 months past its expiration date
Jul 09, 2016
Great location and loved our cabin!
Jul 06, 2016
We were in camping cabin #1 - great location!! We also loved being so close to Deadwood. The owners were super nice and accommodating. The only downside were very hard beds - next time we'll bring our air mattresses to put on top. We had a great time!!
Jul 05, 2016
I would stay here again but it would defiantly not be my first choice KOA has many locations that are alot nicer
Jul 04, 2016
It was certainly one of the most beautiful Kampgrounds I have stayed at. The staff was helpful, informed, courteous and provided everything we needed for an awesome stay.
Jul 04, 2016
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals