Charleston KOA

9494 U.S. Highway 78

Ladson, SC 29456

Reserve: 800-562-5812

Info: 843-797-1045

Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

Oct 26, 2013
Clean Quiet Considerate. Great place to stay! We had an issue with our cabin reported it the next morning and they gave us the KOA "Hilton" we didn't expect this but we greatly appreciated it. Clean Bathhouse, great staff! Will stay again and have already recommended it to some friends.
Oct 26, 2013
Bed bugs in one cabin, So they moved us. And they was supposed to fumigate the infested one. Buy other than that, it was fine
Oct 21, 2013
Quite, helpful, responsive!!
Oct 20, 2013
We were in the area working nights, 12 hour shifts. The campground was so nice and peaceful we were able to get the sleep during the day without interruption. Facilities were clean, staff was friendly. Couldn't ask for more.
Oct 15, 2013
They didn't have anything for the children like music or dancing. This place also had a lot of live in campers. Not a safe place.
Oct 14, 2013
Great place to stay. We really enjoyed the cabin.
Oct 05, 2013
Sep 29, 2013
The cabin was nice, cute and clean. However, there was hardly any yard and nothing to do at this campground. Next time I will probably look for a KOA with more activities.
Sep 17, 2013
Sep 16, 2013
Convenient for our weekend in Charleston. And we used our VKR Appreciation "free" day!
Sep 16, 2013
this is the first time we rented the lodge here...we have rented one room cabin and kottage previously....the best one so far is the kottage...the lodge had tv but could not watch even the local channels and had no stove to cook on....the tv could use an air tv antenna and for cooking they could at least provide a hot plate...not impressed for the amount of money for rental...
Sep 16, 2013
Friendly employees. Nice place.
Sep 03, 2013
it was close to what we wanted to do . and thankfully the air condition worked. the worst part was how hot the temp. was.
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
Seemed like the majority of folks were living vs camping at the facility. Asked for a change of site after driving by two sites that appeared to 'house' a homeless person, on the way to our campsite. The soap dispensers in both the men's and women's bathrooms were broken. The one soap bottle in the men's bathroom was out of soap the whole time. Campground next to a trailer park.
Aug 14, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
We loved the KOA! The staff was so polite and extra helpful.
Aug 12, 2013
Cabin had 1 ac that wasn't big enough for unit. Average sleeping room temperature was 86 when we tried to sleep. Didn't have fire pit, nor a gas grill like they said on the phone. Found live roaches in cabin so had to take everything to cleaners before going home. Staff was nice and accommodations were new but was collocates with another trailer park. Will not go back there
Aug 04, 2013
Jul 31, 2013
Great staff good effort to relay info.
Jul 30, 2013
We had the most fantastic time! Any time we are in Charleston we stay at this KOA for its convenience. The pool is wonderful, bathrooms squeaky clean, and staff friendly and helpful.
Jul 28, 2013
This was the most horrible experience I've EVER HAD!!!! First the campground is right beside a trailer park full of kids. I never used the pool because everytime I tried it was full of these kids. Also the entire area just looked rough so I was never comfortable. Next the cabin has roaches!! Don't stay here!!!!!
Jul 26, 2013
Cabin and grounds were very clean. Bathrooms were clean and spacious. The pool area was large and clean. The area quiet and people on the grounds were helpful. My only complaint was the $50 key deposit required for the cabin. We had not budgeted for it so it affected our trip. Teens from nearby trailer park stayed on playground making my children scared to play. We would return.
Jul 22, 2013
We had a fantastic stay at the KOA Charleston. Can't wait to visit again soon!
Jul 22, 2013
we really enjoyed our stay. everyone was very polite and effecient. my only suggestion for the cabin screen doors is that they need to put rubber or felt pads on them as they make a really loud noise when they close. most people just let them slam and it woke us up when they went in and out at all hours of the night. however, we will be back!
Jul 22, 2013
It would have been nice to know about the $50 key deposit, before registering. The bunk beds were not true twin bunk beds as stated. The matress had to be shoved into the frame and then it would bow up in the middle. The general location is not as nice as other KOA's - the bathhouse had a coded lock, I assume to keep those that my wander around from the trailor court that is adjacent.
Jul 21, 2013
The noisy trailers and people living behind the cabins didn't make for a peaceful stay. Also the 1 1/2 inch cockroach that woke me up in the middle of the night because it was loud enough I thought it was a mouse. I had two that day, so that didn't make the cabin seem clean although it looked clean as well as the grounds.
Jul 18, 2013
Friendly and helpful staff. Clean and quiet facilities. Great stay!
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
not so bad, but also not very good. the kabin was little old but clean; the mens restroom was not so clean; the general store sells only very few things, the recreation room looks very old and a kind of dirty; you canĀ“t stay inside the room for a long time because it smells very strong like cigarettes the kabin was cheap and we stayed only two nights so it was o.k. but is nothing for longer s
Jul 16, 2013
Other than the pool - which was rented out for locals, not alot for the kids to do. Roaches galore in the cabin, I had to go purchase bug spray. Trailer park right behind the cabin with a dilapidated fence not appealing to see. No gate at the enterance like most KOA's so there was a lot of suspicious traffic.
Jul 16, 2013
Very clean bathrooms. Clean and comfortable kamping Kabin. Quiet and relaxing environment. Probably the best value in the charleston area. Will definately be staying here again in the future.
Jul 15, 2013
The Kampground was easily accessible and pleasant in appearance. Our Kamping Kabin was clean and well maintained. The staff was very courteous and helpful for our entire stay. We very much enjoyed our stay in Charleston.
Jul 08, 2013
We have stayed at this KOA for the past 4-5 yrs on an annual dive trip in the area. The facilities are clean and employees the friendly & accommodating. Area had a lot of rain lately. Would've been nice to ae had straw down in front of cabin so we didn't have to trek thru mud all week into the cabin. :-(
Jul 08, 2013
Our stay at the campground was a good experience. I do not give 5 stars due to the fact the WiFi was very poor. We could not use iPad nor laptop - signal is not strong. Bathrooms and showers were very clean and campground was well kept. We will stay again at this campground.
Jul 07, 2013
Enjoyed our stay. Only suggestions I have are the pads on bunks did not fit properly.
Jul 07, 2013
My cabin yard was so muddy I had to park at entrance and walk to it. Every time I walked across the yard my feet were covered in black mud.Pool was closed my entire stay.Never been so disappointed in a koa.I will never go back!
Jul 01, 2013
Wi fi works sporadically the mattress in our cabin #2 did not fit bunks the girls had to sleep sideways, the office was closed when we made them when I tried to talk the next morning the response was here is a comment card no manager works on Sundays
Jun 27, 2013
We always stay at a KOA. They rate number 1 for clean restrooms !!!
Jun 24, 2013
Clean, quite friendly helpful staff. less expensive and crowded than the Mt Pleasant KOA. Have stayed here before and would again.
Jun 24, 2013
Everyone was friendly and helpful. Our cabin was nice and clean and the campgrounds were clean.
Jun 20, 2013
Jun 17, 2013
Our Girl Scout troop had an excellent time. They really loved doing the KOA Scavenger Hunt and getting necklaces for finding all the items. They are looking forward to next year. Now if you could just make lofts for all of them. Yes they all wanted to sleep in the loft.
Jun 07, 2013
Very clean restrooms. Courteous and friendly staff. Easy commute to surrounding areas. The only downside was inside the cabins seemed to stay damp even with the air conditioning running.
May 30, 2013
May 29, 2013
We have stayed at several KOA"s throughout the south. This was the first campground that did not have staff patrolling the campground 24 hours. Check in was a map with our campsite circled. The bathrooms had a code lock on them, because the residents of the trailor park abbuting the campground often trash the bathrooms. A NEVER do again go to Mount Pleasant KOA
May 28, 2013
It would be nice to have a mini fridge in the cabin. Several of the other KOAs we've stayed at have them. Also, our screen door had a hole so we couldn't have the door open to let in fresh air. New shower heads or something to increase water pressure would be appreciated also. Otherwise, campsite was nice. Kids enjoyed the playground & pool.
May 27, 2013
The cabins were small considering they were a deluxe cabin. The beds were awful to sleep on especially the futon in the living room. I ended up sleeping in my car two of the three nights It was not what I expected.
May 23, 2013
Very clean! Friendly staff. Wifi sucked

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.