Charleston KOA

9494 U.S. Highway 78

Ladson, SC 29456

Reserve: 800-562-5812

Info: 843-797-1045

Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

Aug 14, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
We loved the KOA! The staff was so polite and extra helpful.
Aug 12, 2013
Cabin had 1 ac that wasn't big enough for unit. Average sleeping room temperature was 86 when we tried to sleep. Didn't have fire pit, nor a gas grill like they said on the phone. Found live roaches in cabin so had to take everything to cleaners before going home. Staff was nice and accommodations were new but was collocates with another trailer park. Will not go back there
Aug 04, 2013
Jul 31, 2013
Great staff good effort to relay info.
Jul 30, 2013
We had the most fantastic time! Any time we are in Charleston we stay at this KOA for its convenience. The pool is wonderful, bathrooms squeaky clean, and staff friendly and helpful.
Jul 28, 2013
This was the most horrible experience I've EVER HAD!!!! First the campground is right beside a trailer park full of kids. I never used the pool because everytime I tried it was full of these kids. Also the entire area just looked rough so I was never comfortable. Next the cabin has roaches!! Don't stay here!!!!!
Jul 26, 2013
Cabin and grounds were very clean. Bathrooms were clean and spacious. The pool area was large and clean. The area quiet and people on the grounds were helpful. My only complaint was the $50 key deposit required for the cabin. We had not budgeted for it so it affected our trip. Teens from nearby trailer park stayed on playground making my children scared to play. We would return.
Jul 22, 2013
We had a fantastic stay at the KOA Charleston. Can't wait to visit again soon!
Jul 22, 2013
we really enjoyed our stay. everyone was very polite and effecient. my only suggestion for the cabin screen doors is that they need to put rubber or felt pads on them as they make a really loud noise when they close. most people just let them slam and it woke us up when they went in and out at all hours of the night. however, we will be back!
Jul 22, 2013
It would have been nice to know about the $50 key deposit, before registering. The bunk beds were not true twin bunk beds as stated. The matress had to be shoved into the frame and then it would bow up in the middle. The general location is not as nice as other KOA's - the bathhouse had a coded lock, I assume to keep those that my wander around from the trailor court that is adjacent.
Jul 21, 2013
The noisy trailers and people living behind the cabins didn't make for a peaceful stay. Also the 1 1/2 inch cockroach that woke me up in the middle of the night because it was loud enough I thought it was a mouse. I had two that day, so that didn't make the cabin seem clean although it looked clean as well as the grounds.
Jul 18, 2013
Friendly and helpful staff. Clean and quiet facilities. Great stay!
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
not so bad, but also not very good. the kabin was little old but clean; the mens restroom was not so clean; the general store sells only very few things, the recreation room looks very old and a kind of dirty; you canĀ“t stay inside the room for a long time because it smells very strong like cigarettes the kabin was cheap and we stayed only two nights so it was o.k. but is nothing for longer s
Jul 16, 2013
Other than the pool - which was rented out for locals, not alot for the kids to do. Roaches galore in the cabin, I had to go purchase bug spray. Trailer park right behind the cabin with a dilapidated fence not appealing to see. No gate at the enterance like most KOA's so there was a lot of suspicious traffic.
Jul 16, 2013
Very clean bathrooms. Clean and comfortable kamping Kabin. Quiet and relaxing environment. Probably the best value in the charleston area. Will definately be staying here again in the future.
Jul 15, 2013
The Kampground was easily accessible and pleasant in appearance. Our Kamping Kabin was clean and well maintained. The staff was very courteous and helpful for our entire stay. We very much enjoyed our stay in Charleston.
Jul 08, 2013
We have stayed at this KOA for the past 4-5 yrs on an annual dive trip in the area. The facilities are clean and employees the friendly & accommodating. Area had a lot of rain lately. Would've been nice to ae had straw down in front of cabin so we didn't have to trek thru mud all week into the cabin. :-(
Jul 08, 2013
Our stay at the campground was a good experience. I do not give 5 stars due to the fact the WiFi was very poor. We could not use iPad nor laptop - signal is not strong. Bathrooms and showers were very clean and campground was well kept. We will stay again at this campground.
Jul 07, 2013
Enjoyed our stay. Only suggestions I have are the pads on bunks did not fit properly.
Jul 07, 2013
My cabin yard was so muddy I had to park at entrance and walk to it. Every time I walked across the yard my feet were covered in black mud.Pool was closed my entire stay.Never been so disappointed in a koa.I will never go back!
Jul 01, 2013
Wi fi works sporadically the mattress in our cabin #2 did not fit bunks the girls had to sleep sideways, the office was closed when we made them when I tried to talk the next morning the response was here is a comment card no manager works on Sundays
Jun 27, 2013
We always stay at a KOA. They rate number 1 for clean restrooms !!!
Jun 24, 2013
Clean, quite friendly helpful staff. less expensive and crowded than the Mt Pleasant KOA. Have stayed here before and would again.
Jun 24, 2013
Everyone was friendly and helpful. Our cabin was nice and clean and the campgrounds were clean.
Jun 20, 2013
Jun 17, 2013
Our Girl Scout troop had an excellent time. They really loved doing the KOA Scavenger Hunt and getting necklaces for finding all the items. They are looking forward to next year. Now if you could just make lofts for all of them. Yes they all wanted to sleep in the loft.
Jun 07, 2013
Very clean restrooms. Courteous and friendly staff. Easy commute to surrounding areas. The only downside was inside the cabins seemed to stay damp even with the air conditioning running.
May 30, 2013
May 29, 2013
We have stayed at several KOA"s throughout the south. This was the first campground that did not have staff patrolling the campground 24 hours. Check in was a map with our campsite circled. The bathrooms had a code lock on them, because the residents of the trailor park abbuting the campground often trash the bathrooms. A NEVER do again go to Mount Pleasant KOA
May 28, 2013
It would be nice to have a mini fridge in the cabin. Several of the other KOAs we've stayed at have them. Also, our screen door had a hole so we couldn't have the door open to let in fresh air. New shower heads or something to increase water pressure would be appreciated also. Otherwise, campsite was nice. Kids enjoyed the playground & pool.
May 27, 2013
The cabins were small considering they were a deluxe cabin. The beds were awful to sleep on especially the futon in the living room. I ended up sleeping in my car two of the three nights It was not what I expected.
May 23, 2013
Very clean! Friendly staff. Wifi sucked
May 13, 2013
May 13, 2013
May 03, 2013
excellent staff and excellent service
Apr 27, 2013
We stayed in a Kabin and it was great. It was minimalist, but it provided privacy and shelter which is exactly what we needed. The bathrooms were within a close range, so we did not have to walk long distances just to use the facilities which is greatly appreciated.
Apr 22, 2013
Bathrooms are spotless!! Love the trees! Staff was friendly and helpful--we will be back again and again!
Apr 22, 2013
We loved the cabin. It was our first time staying in one. It was rainy and cold so I'm glad we decided not to tent camp. I miss having a fire ring to make a fire though. We had some drunk teenagers beside us the first night but other than that it was good. Very clean and people were nice.
Apr 22, 2013
WE WERE WITH FRIENDS THAT HAD A PROBLEM WITH THEIR POP UP CAMPER. WE WALKED OVER TO THE MAIN BUILDING, THE DOOR WAS LOCKED AND THE GUY INSIDE SAW US AT THE DOOR. THEY WANTED TO RENT ONE OF THE CABINS AND WAS UNABLE TO. tHANK GOODNESS WE WERE ABLE TO GET THE TENT UP AFTER 3 HOURS OF WORKING ON IT........ I UNDERSTAND THE OFFICE CLOSES AT 8 BUT THAT WAS REDICULOUS
Apr 21, 2013
Nice accommodations. Very happy there was a Kabin cancellation so we didn't have to set up tents in the dark and pouring rain. I appreciate your staff staying several minutes late to help me out too.
Apr 15, 2013
Apr 14, 2013
Apr 10, 2013
Apr 08, 2013
Apr 08, 2013
Everything was clean n comfortable..distance from interstate was short..Staff was helpful. Would have liked to have had cable, since it was too cold to go out. Had to rent some DVDs. S
Apr 08, 2013
Apr 07, 2013
all was great need camp fire rings and dogs was allow to stay in cabins. we had to leave are small babys at home we did not like that.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.