Charleston KOA

9494 U.S. Highway 78

Ladson, SC 29456

Reserve: 800-562-5812

Info: 843-797-1045

Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14

RV Reviews

May 22, 2015
This KOA needs a lot of work done. The laundry room was dirty half the washers and dryers were out of order. The drainage is so bad we had a lake on our site. Some camper seem to be full timers and they do what they want junk tires and cars parts on their sites the campers are so old they wouldn't be able move them if they wanted to. The water had a strong musty smell. The dog run was real nice.
May 21, 2015
I would not recommend this campground to my enemy. First off it is in a bad area. Secondly it had very little appeal, the grass was not cut, the sites were small, we were put in a site that was supposed to be a pull through but then we had to back up our camper in order to get out because of the trees and narrow roads. The game room consist of a pool table and a TV.
May 21, 2015
traveling, needed a good afternoon and evening place. perfect for us.
May 20, 2015
May 20, 2015
Not as nice as other Koas - there was work going on to make improvements- we had a druggie knocking on our door at 1am looking for money . Not in a great location-we have stayed at 3 different koas since our visit at Ladson - their parks showed more upkeep nicely graveled or even cemented pads -
May 20, 2015
May 19, 2015
Well kept, quiet park.
May 13, 2015
Our 9th year staying here and will be back later this month.
May 13, 2015
May 12, 2015
To their credit they have installed a cable system and a wi-fi access which is simply a joke. Very poor access with amp stations not even hard-wired and frequently unplugged by other campers. Installing the cable system left the grounds in even worse condition than before, and rain left it a quagmire. I have stayed there for convenience on many occasions, but this will be my last stay. HORRIBLE!
May 12, 2015
Needs a little fixing up.
May 11, 2015
May 11, 2015
A lot of rain during the weekend, our spot did not drain too well. Cable reception was not very good. WiFi reception was great. The feature of campside garbage pickup a definite plus.
May 10, 2015
Everything was nice exept for some of the lots hold rain water for days and is very muddy
May 10, 2015
We don't use any of the "amenities" so we seldom stay at KOA. This one was close to friends we wanted to visit, so we picked KOA this time. We usually don't want to spend the extra money for KOA.
May 05, 2015
Love this park. Friendly people, clean great for kids and pets.
May 04, 2015
This is a great little campground, it's quiet and clean but not secure, which when you're not from the area is a little unnerving. We couldn't find firewood, anywhere but made do with what we had. The islands in the road are pretty, but make it a little hard to maneuver around. We would definitely use this campground again, though. The woman at the desk was friendly, too!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We sell firewood at the camp store. Please ask during your next stay.
May 02, 2015
Just stayed overnight. Worked out well for us.
May 02, 2015
The camp-sites are well taken care of and the pool was great. Miss Paula at the office has that low country charm that we all love. I wish I could have stayed longer! Thanks DB
May 02, 2015
Location not very well maintained. A lot of permanent dwellers it seems. Staff were very nice and do the best with what they have. Washroom shower facilities poor. Noisy - street noise, train, planes in/out of airport. It is however a good location to get to Charleston from.
May 02, 2015
Well maintained and well run Campground.
May 01, 2015
May 01, 2015
I really enjoyed my stay. The campground has a lot of nice amenities. I just moved to the area would have liked to stay longer while I looked for places to live but at $265 a week while waiting for a monthly site to open was just to much.
Apr 30, 2015
All good except that the wi-Fi connection was vert erratic.
Apr 30, 2015
Staff are friendly and helpful! Great place to stay.
Apr 29, 2015
The staff was friendly, the sites and roads into the park were very narrow. I felt very confined and also there were too many permanent residents for me.
Apr 29, 2015
Clean and reliable but very tight non-descript sights. Great for a stop over but not for long term stay.
Apr 27, 2015
Staff was very friendly, campground is a little run down though.
Apr 27, 2015
A good clean park with close proximity to the Charleston, SC area.
Apr 26, 2015
We read some of the review's on this KOA.They said it bad but please try it.We where very pleased with the campgrounds. No problem ln or out of camp site.The staff helped in every way any time. I will stay at this KOA again and again.
Apr 26, 2015
This is nicely located near things to do and see. A very busy campground.
Apr 26, 2015
Very easy check in process. Appreciated the guide to our site. It was necessary that we delay our check out by a couple hours and campground hosts were very accomidating. The only thing negative I would say is the number of long term/permanent residents mixed in with the traveling guests sites.
Apr 25, 2015
campground very pretty and well-kept. Seems to have mostly people who are staying there to be tourists. Not much activity while we were there.
Apr 23, 2015
Quiet and secure. Good location.
Apr 23, 2015
Very helpful and friendly.
Apr 23, 2015
Only 1 poop station, limited parking, no waste cans. In appearance, more about making a buck. Nothing for kids to do at the campground.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

All pull thru sites have sewer connections in addition to the dump station. Pet waste stations are located throughout the park as well as camp K9. We pick up trash at each campsite daily, reducing the need for trash cans. We have a pool, horseshoes, basketball, cornhole, pool table, playground, etc.
Apr 22, 2015
Conditions of the grounds were poor. Sites were muddy and difficult to access with large rig (37'5th wheel).
Apr 22, 2015
This campground definitely does not meet KOA standards. Was by far the worst campground I have ever stayed in and came there because it was a KOA.
Apr 22, 2015
Worst KOA we've ever stayed in. KOA corporate should take a look and think hard about who is representing KOA. It is a mud pit, roads/ facilities are not maintained. The place needs lots and lots of work. We cut our stay short by one day it was so bad...even lost my KOA credit because of it. Would never recommend this place to anyone.
Apr 18, 2015
We found the campground, where we were, unkempt. We were in the back near the dog run, it was like a dump. area.
Apr 17, 2015
Apr 16, 2015
Stayed here many times when visiting family near Charleston.
Apr 16, 2015
Beautiful campground, clean, large lots, easy access to ocean and all other shopping.
Apr 14, 2015
Campground was clean. Staff helpful. Problem was noise. Street traffic from Rt 78 very noisy. Plane traffic at night and early in morning annoying
Apr 14, 2015
Interior roads are very narrow. Sites are very small in fact too small to have a campfire. This KOA appears to be an older campground. Staff was very pleasant and accommodating.
Apr 14, 2015
Friendly, helpful lady's, Owner and desk clerk. Will visit again when going to visit Cadet Grandson at the Citadel. We had a nice TENT site.
Apr 14, 2015
More like a trailer park. We couldn't dump our waste, no room
Apr 13, 2015
Could not get to sleep last night there because of noise. Quiet time was 11 pm . People across from us still partying at 2:30
Apr 13, 2015
Staff pleasant and facilities clean .
Apr 13, 2015
Nice place to stay, needs another bathhouse. Only one for the entire campground causes lines to take a shower.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.