Charleston KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-5812

Info: 843-797-1045

Email

9494 U.S. Highway 78

Ladson, SC 29456

Get Directions

Camper Rating 3.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Apr 26, 2016
Not one of the better KOA's I've stayed at. The space we were in was very small and the other campsite sewer was right outside of our door. There were some questionable people camping in vehicles with lots of clutter, obviously long term. The maintenance of the restroom was less than average. I'm sure with the right management the park would be a pleasurable experience.
Apr 25, 2016
The staff were friendly and the common areas were kept clean. Its location was horrible. Located next to a trailer park and felt like RV park. No hiking trails. Also, The water to our site was cut off about 1 hour before check out time. This made it difficult to clean the holding tank. If you want to stay close to Charleston, I recommend Mt. Pleasant KOA, Nicer campground with lake and trail
Apr 21, 2016
Staff was friendly and helpful. Great location
Apr 20, 2016
Friendly, helpful staff--problem with bathrooms--lots of kids running in and out leaving a mess! Showers needed better shower heads and more water pressure!
Apr 18, 2016
We regularly stay at this KOA when visiting family in the area. Staff is always friendly and helpful. Upgrades are being made to this campground this year. We will continue to stay here.
Apr 18, 2016
Reserved easy access.....NOT! Staff was not knowledgeable. Tar all over my vehicle and RV from paving. Some roads were completely blocked. Never again!
Apr 18, 2016
Extremely noisy!!! The Man beside us must have been a permanent resident he was out in the yard at 2:30 talking loudly with someon at 4:20 he was working on something hamming and making all kind of noise. The man across from us in a tent was coughing all night like he was dying. We left after the first night and just lost our money for the 2nd night. I signed up to be a KOA member. Big mistak

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are very sorry to hear that your experience was unpleasant. We wish we had known prior to your checkout. We have refunded your additional night to the card on file.
Apr 12, 2016
It's just an average KOA but it looks like an element of Red Neck evironment. We can stay there when necessary but not for a week to 2 weeks. We wish your upgrades pan out a better future.
Apr 11, 2016
always perfect for our use
Apr 11, 2016
A work in progress , heavy equipment at 7am . Who wants to hear that early morning on vacation C'mon really
Apr 10, 2016
Seemed to be road improvements in progress, only one restroom,bathhouse, staff very friendly
Apr 06, 2016
Did their best to mitigate the problems with the site. Were not 100% successful. Only about 50% due to running out of material to fill in the large low spot which filled with water whenever it rained. Very friendly staff, a pleasure to work with.
Apr 06, 2016
Stayed 2 nights. Very quiet and lush foliage to look at. Too cold to swim but pool looked very inviting. Staff was fantastic.
Apr 05, 2016
I can't wait to come back and see the results of your renovations. We've stayed many times because you are so close to our family. We'll be back.
Apr 04, 2016
The camp sights are way to tight and to many people living there permanently...too much noise from nearby road and they picked a crazy time to do construction in koa..at spring break...
Apr 04, 2016
Glad to see the improvements in process. A level flat C7 site, stone covered would have made our stay much better.
Apr 04, 2016
I did not care for the area. Too much old rigs scattered around the grounds I guess these are long term renters.
Apr 03, 2016
Very nice people running campground. Needed improvements are being made, beginning process of paving the roads, hopefully they will fill in/gravel sites where they have washed out. We were there during a busy time and had a site that was narrow for our unit. They kindly offered another site but we chose not to move mid-stay. We look forward to staying when the roads are paved.
Apr 03, 2016
Great staff, close to CSU where our grandson played trumpet in the SC Youth Wind Symphony
Apr 02, 2016
Quiet..Lots of construction. Noone controls speed limits. Almost got run down by speeding driver.
Apr 02, 2016
Everything was great until the sounds of heavy machinery awoke me at 7am. Not being a morning person, I was a little upset. I understand that improvements need to be made, maybe just start at 9 and work till 5 instead of working the 7 - 3 shift.
Apr 01, 2016
The campground was very nice, pool looked clean, laundry space was adequate. The campground staff were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay very much.
Apr 01, 2016
This KOA is next to a older permanent Mobile Home Development. The sites are small and tight for Class A Coaches. The owners appear to be working on getting the property up to standards as there is evidence of new fencing, working on the roads and general cleaning. Based on other KOA's this property needs to continue to make upgrades and improve ease of access for rigs. The Mgmt. Team was GREAT!
Apr 01, 2016
Mar 31, 2016
staff great but very poor quality facility. Roads/pads all mud. Way, way too close together.
Mar 31, 2016
We were given a pull through site that was too tight to pull out. We had to back out of it. There were no exit signs to guide us out of the campground and we ended up in a jam. Improvements were being made so hopefully these will be addressed.
Mar 31, 2016
This campground is making improvements which were badly needed. Lots of construction was going on right in front of our RV so it wasn't very quiet. I'm sure the improvements will improve the appearance of the park.
Mar 31, 2016
This is the best KOA I have ever camped in. I had a great site and there were several places to eat and buy supplies for the RV. The KOA staff was great and the campgrounds were clean and well maintained. I would recommend this KOA to anyone going to Charleston SC.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again!
Mar 30, 2016
great to see the upgrades to your facilities. Sure is a plus. Keep it up.
Mar 29, 2016
Very fun stay, accommodating staff.
Mar 29, 2016
OK for a quick stopover campground but not vacation. Playground was small. Rec center closed for repairs. Some laundry machines are antiques but functional. Nice looking pool but did not use. Staff very friendly. Quick access to highway to get to city. Quite noisy from airplanes and traffic on street. Mobile home park is an eyesore upon entrance to park.
Mar 28, 2016
Lots of long term guests. The sites show it.
Mar 28, 2016
Nice place but under renovation or it probably would get 5 stars.
Mar 28, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay here. It's very quiet.The lady at the check in was really nice.The only complaint I have was that on the last day of our stay the bathrooms both men and woman were out of order,and not even the showers we were able to use before we left.Other than that we really enjoyed our stay there.
Mar 27, 2016
Some of the campsites are dirty and need attention. Luckily we were moved to a nice clean site
Mar 25, 2016
Campground is overloaded with transient workers . Not well maintained . spaces are tight . The place is noisy . Not at all what We expect from a KOA . Junk City.
Mar 21, 2016
It was ok...sites are very close together....cleaning was not a top priority...
Mar 20, 2016
No water for two days, we left
Mar 20, 2016
Campsites were not cleaned between visitors , tons of old crayons , trash around our site. Sites are way to close together and the fact that so many seemed to be long term campers has created a trashy look to the park .. Seen at many Koa's .
Mar 16, 2016
Mar 16, 2016
Grounds not well kept, tall grass around dog park. Police sirens all night,chain saws in the morning not a place relax but if you need a place to stay for the night. The bathrooms were clean and staff were friendly. The gift shop was affordable.
Mar 16, 2016
My campsite had big tire marks where the previous person had their car, which meant I had no flat area for my outdoor furniture. And the restrooms/showers need to be cleaned more than once a day. The staff were great though.
Mar 15, 2016
clean, safe and conveniently located
Mar 15, 2016
I was not at all crazy about the location. It did not seem like a safe area. The sites were to crowed. The dog park was lacking. However, though I did not use the pool, it looked nice. the people were polite.
Mar 14, 2016
Asked if pine straw could be put in front of our door to help from tracking in dirt. They did it johnny-on-the-spot! Certainly appreciated!
Mar 10, 2016
Campground is very convenient for trips into Charleston. Workers were very pleasant and welcoming, and quick to respond to all requests. Sand/gravel Sites are close.
Mar 01, 2016
our daughter rented the cabins and was not given the right one. Evidently the proper one was double booked. We stay in this koa every year,and have never had a problem, we were disappointed in this problem, which meant we were overloaded in our camper in order to have enough room. It was very unprofessional
Feb 26, 2016
Trees prevented clear space for satellite but other than that was fine.
Feb 24, 2016
The staff was wonderful and the campground was okay.
Feb 16, 2016
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals

Camp for $10 on May 14!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps