Charleston KOA

9494 U.S. Highway 78

Ladson, SC 29456

Reserve: 800-562-5812

Info: 843-797-1045

Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10

RV Reviews

Oct 16, 2014
I am very disappointed in the KOA! We came from WA State and plan to stay here for 6 months. In looking at the site for the KOA it looked great. Well it is when you drive in but to go back where the sites are they are not taken care of at all. There are big dips in the road that is paved and the fire ants were unreal! We decided to leave! It could be a nice camp ground if they would clean the camp
Oct 15, 2014
Very nice overnight stay. Thanks for being at your location.
Oct 15, 2014
never got used to the airplanes coming overhead.noisy at night and early in the morning!
Oct 09, 2014
Very good service and smiles!
Oct 09, 2014
compared to the other koa'S I thought it was a bit more money for the same things
Oct 08, 2014
Although it was very short, it is a quiet and homey place to stay. Thank you to a staff that cares about their campground.
Oct 08, 2014
was not given site choice. many better sites were available during stay that sat empty. was parked on lot with sanitary drain 40 ft away . i had to purchase 20 addition feet of hose to make connection work. next lots sanitary drain was under our picnic table. could not build a fire because site was so small.
Oct 07, 2014
Surprised at the shabby conditions.
Oct 04, 2014
The staff was cordial and helpfull. Long-term residents were particularly helpful.
Oct 03, 2014
We've stayed at this KOA in the past and I enjoyed this stay very much. I have a great site with a cement pad, easy to get into and out of and the people at the front desk were very friendly. What I do not like and this applies to most campgrounds is permanent or extended stay campers. The sites are dirty, unkept, with unwashed campers in most of them. I realize this produces consistant income.
Sep 28, 2014
not a good place in the rain---could use some stone in the parking spots and roads.
Sep 27, 2014
This is the worse KOA that I've stayed at. This was the most unfriendly place and uncleared KOA. Our campsite was in a swamp.there was no handle on the water ,when I went up to find out what they were going to do they told me that I should try a wrench. Also then I needed to find someone to fix my camper they didn't have any suggestions . I will never go back to this KOA.
Sep 25, 2014
NO Cable . NO Wifi. Poor laundry facilities. Roaches in the yard of my lot.
Sep 23, 2014
Friendly staff and quiet park.Did miss not having cable TV.
Sep 22, 2014
Site #C12 had a lot of water on it. I would of liked another spot but it was OK.
Sep 19, 2014
Sep 17, 2014
Good location for visiting Charleston and the surrounding area. The sites are a little tight to get into, but nice and shady. The laundry room needs work and A/C. The internet was good. People helpful and friendly as always.
Sep 16, 2014
This park is a fairly good location but my main complaint is it is so trashy. The staff is very pleasant, the manager is nice but there is trash and cigarette butts all over the park. It could be nice, always rustic, if it didn't have trash and cigarette butts all over the park.
Sep 05, 2014
Sep 04, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
It was clean, friendly and very nice. The staff was very friendly & nice. Enjoyed our stay
Aug 28, 2014
needs better wifi and water pressure should install cable but very clean and staff was eager to help also needs a fenced dog area was quiet
Aug 27, 2014
We had a wonderful time. Friendly Staff, Saturday activities, super clean restrooms and pool. So close to everything we came to see!
Aug 23, 2014
Aug 23, 2014
Thanks again for the great service
Aug 21, 2014
There was theft at this campground. The office was broken into while we were there and also my dish satellite (tailgator) was stolen from my campsite. Which is about $350 dollars!! The site I had doesn't have enough room to accommodate my camper and truck. I had to park in another spot. All together bad experience especially for the $250 a week rate.
Aug 21, 2014
Sites far too close together, tight spaces everywhere including roads, no TV hookups. Floods when it rains. Good location, close to shopping and Charleston Metro, but won't stay again.
Aug 19, 2014
Cramped, tight,un-level spots. Almost no outdoor night time lighting. Several Rv's and tent in disrepair. Terrible traffic at this location.
Aug 19, 2014
Disappointed. Site next to us had a significant black tank leak. Reported it to the office and there was no response. Sketchy long term tent campers too.
Aug 17, 2014
Aug 17, 2014
Location good for our visit (family & tourist activities). Most of the quiet, out or the way sites taken up by monthly rentals, not available to us visitors.
Aug 15, 2014
This older campground certainly does not uphold the KOA reputation. I usually don't do much checking, if it is in the KOA book I expect quality. Guess I will have to change that habit and be more careful. For details on my thoughts you are welcome to call (919)818-7914. Mud, broken asphalt, poorly placed utilities, low A/C utility, rate too high for amenities offered, etc, etc, etc.
Aug 12, 2014
Unfortunately this KOA has seen better days. Dark, dank, untended flower beds, fire ants, grass had not been mowed, flies. Can not comment on facilities, did not use. The attendants were helpful and courteous.
Aug 11, 2014
Traffic is terrible trying to get in or out in the early morning and late afternoon between 3 and 6pm. The campground is situated between two traffic signals.
Aug 11, 2014
pool was good. playground was not real safe for kids. The steps going to slide was slippery.
Aug 09, 2014
"Camp Swampy" Numerous sites swamped out during rain storms. Need to resurface (re-rock) the sites and fix the interior road. Had to purchase additional sewer hose extensions to reach the ground sewer connection point. Okay and convenient for overnight stay.
Aug 08, 2014
Aug 08, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
Quick trip. Very well kept, shady, Quite, & wifi was excellent.
Aug 06, 2014
Aug 05, 2014
We were disappointed with this campground. The sites were small and crowded. Very little gravel was on the sites, and since there was a rain shower most of the 9 days we stayed there, these sites were muddy and had standing water much of the time.
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
No cable tv. site not level could level rv. Price to high
Aug 03, 2014
Aug 03, 2014
Aug 02, 2014
We have stayed in MANY KOA Kampgrounds and have learned that usually that first impression is accurate. The entrance was just normal with no particular curb appeal. The entrance through another trailer park was very unappealing. The trees and shrubs were overgrown and very weedy. No cable tv was offered and trees were overgrown so antennae was not usable. Poor drainage on sites.
Jul 29, 2014
The staff was awesome, very friendly and extremely helpful.
Jul 28, 2014
Lots of campers seem to be extended stay. Very muddy (no poured pads). Bathroom/shower area was nice and clean.
Jul 28, 2014
I would NEVER Stay at the Charleston,SC KOA again!Made reservation over 4 wks prior and was told I would be on site B4. They put me on C2 which turned on to be a FLOOD ZONE. B4 stayed DRY! I have pics 3-4 inches of water on ENTIRE SITE. Ruined many items stored under our camper. Mgr, when told of situation, had nothing to say and did NOTHING to compensate me for our loss.NEVER stay on C2!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Customer was, in fact, comped 1 night for inconvenience.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.