Charleston KOA

9494 U.S. Highway 78

Ladson, SC 29456

Reserve: 800-562-5812

Info: 843-797-1045

Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11

RV Reviews

Nov 19, 2014
No cable TV. Non-functional Internet. No dog run, though one was apparently recently built and roped off for whatever reason. Laundry closed before we got there, opened at 8 a.m. as we left. "Pull-through" space had a big oak tree that forced me to unhook towed car to leave. Not up to the usual standards we expect from KOA, and definitely overpriced.
Nov 19, 2014
The KOA was full due to an OA convention but the staff and guests were very nice and the sites were very quite and restful.
Nov 19, 2014
I can't believe this is a KOA. There was litter all over the campground which was unkept and shabby. This was the worst KOA we have ever stayed at. The wifi did not work. There was a nice newer dog park which we did not see on the site map. This place is rundown and shows no pride of ownership by the owners. We were not taken to our site only told it was by the big tree.
Nov 19, 2014
it was a stop over on our way south. owners are great and park is clean. will stay again next year or if we are back in the area
Nov 17, 2014
We were placed right up front in the very front corner of the entrance so our experience is probably going to be much worse. There was quite a bit of traffic noise from the entrance to the campground, the trailer park next door and the highway. This included the normal diesel trucks as well as the rice burners. It was dry while we were there but I could see it being pretty muddy when it rains.
Nov 16, 2014
A previous camper had a fire on the ground on our site and it was never cleaned up. There was a crushed can on the road near us when we arrived and still there 3 days later! Staff was nice. Overall facility pretty nice.
Nov 15, 2014
Nov 13, 2014
Thanks again for a great stay.
Nov 13, 2014
Not well maintained sites: dirt sites. Our site was not suited to our trailer. We had a pull through site, but had to back out because we could not pull forward without hitting tree at front of site. Cut our stay short in order to move out of this KOA.
Nov 10, 2014
Nov 10, 2014
The staff was extremely friendly and very very nice. But I did not like the location of the site. It was behind a gas station and next to full time trailer park. I was expecting a really great location and it was the complete opposite
Nov 07, 2014
Staff was great and friendly. Campground was clean
Nov 06, 2014
Check in went very smoothly. We were given our requested site. The staff was very friendly. The park was well maintained.
Nov 06, 2014
Nov 05, 2014
Not professional at all. No cable offered. KOA next to a mobile home park. Looks like campers live there all year. We did not feel safe.
Nov 05, 2014
We weren't happy with this campground, it was not what we've come to expect from KOA. Besides being right next to a trailer park and having way to much through traffic, it was very noisy, the playground was difficult for my children to find and missing swings, the sites were very small and the trailers were shoe-horned in and the whole lot was gravel with no where for my dogs to use the bathroom.
Nov 03, 2014
Good location. Poor facilities. Low standards and cleanliness.
Nov 03, 2014
Oct 31, 2014
The campground and staff were great! Convienent to Charleston, clean and well kept, and an excellent staff. Only issue was location on a major highway with limited ability to make left turns. Constant plane traffic overhead, very frequent trains, and sirens. Still, we would stay again!
Oct 30, 2014
Oct 29, 2014
We truly enjoyed your campground, came with a 5th wheel and had a nice level pull in spot. Beautiful trees and very quiet even though it was quite busy. Also enjoyed having a campfire every night. Would definitely come again.
Oct 29, 2014
Oct 28, 2014
Friendly and helpful staff. Fit all our needs.
Oct 28, 2014
We only stayed one night...it was very nice, very quiet.
Oct 27, 2014
We enjoyed ourselves. Heard the train and the plane, no big deal. Only complaint, I was charged two dollars a day extra for my son. :(
Oct 26, 2014
The bathrooms were not cleaned on the weekend, the busiest time of the week, but the showers were good. It's close to the highway, train tracks, and airport so was very noisy. I had to run my fan all night so I could sleep. There was no dog run at this park. I would stay again, but might also look for others in the area. The price was right compared to the KOA in Mt. Pleasant.
Oct 26, 2014
Enjoyed the stay
Oct 25, 2014
Campground spaces are really crammed together. Very tough to maneuver through to park and pull out.
Oct 23, 2014
Enjoyed our stay, especially liked having an escort tour our site.
Oct 22, 2014
Location is close to Charleston Southern University for us to attend ball games when Presbyterian College plays them.
Oct 22, 2014
This campground was located inside of a run down mobile home park. I was very uncomfortable that people who were not campers were cutting through the property in the early morning hours. There wasn't a fence on at least one side of the property, allowing people to walk through. I didn't feel safe, so I left.
Oct 21, 2014
Bath house was very clean and modern. Odd to have a code to get in to bath house. Not so good a neighborhood.
Oct 16, 2014
I am very disappointed in the KOA! We came from WA State and plan to stay here for 6 months. In looking at the site for the KOA it looked great. Well it is when you drive in but to go back where the sites are they are not taken care of at all. There are big dips in the road that is paved and the fire ants were unreal! We decided to leave! It could be a nice camp ground if they would clean the camp
Oct 15, 2014
Very nice overnight stay. Thanks for being at your location.
Oct 15, 2014
never got used to the airplanes coming overhead.noisy at night and early in the morning!
Oct 09, 2014
Very good service and smiles!
Oct 09, 2014
compared to the other koa'S I thought it was a bit more money for the same things
Oct 08, 2014
Although it was very short, it is a quiet and homey place to stay. Thank you to a staff that cares about their campground.
Oct 08, 2014
was not given site choice. many better sites were available during stay that sat empty. was parked on lot with sanitary drain 40 ft away . i had to purchase 20 addition feet of hose to make connection work. next lots sanitary drain was under our picnic table. could not build a fire because site was so small.
Oct 07, 2014
Surprised at the shabby conditions.
Oct 04, 2014
The staff was cordial and helpfull. Long-term residents were particularly helpful.
Oct 03, 2014
We've stayed at this KOA in the past and I enjoyed this stay very much. I have a great site with a cement pad, easy to get into and out of and the people at the front desk were very friendly. What I do not like and this applies to most campgrounds is permanent or extended stay campers. The sites are dirty, unkept, with unwashed campers in most of them. I realize this produces consistant income.
Sep 28, 2014
not a good place in the rain---could use some stone in the parking spots and roads.
Sep 27, 2014
This is the worse KOA that I've stayed at. This was the most unfriendly place and uncleared KOA. Our campsite was in a swamp.there was no handle on the water ,when I went up to find out what they were going to do they told me that I should try a wrench. Also then I needed to find someone to fix my camper they didn't have any suggestions . I will never go back to this KOA.
Sep 25, 2014
NO Cable . NO Wifi. Poor laundry facilities. Roaches in the yard of my lot.
Sep 23, 2014
Friendly staff and quiet park.Did miss not having cable TV.
Sep 22, 2014
Site #C12 had a lot of water on it. I would of liked another spot but it was OK.
Sep 19, 2014
Sep 17, 2014
Good location for visiting Charleston and the surrounding area. The sites are a little tight to get into, but nice and shady. The laundry room needs work and A/C. The internet was good. People helpful and friendly as always.
Sep 16, 2014
This park is a fairly good location but my main complaint is it is so trashy. The staff is very pleasant, the manager is nice but there is trash and cigarette butts all over the park. It could be nice, always rustic, if it didn't have trash and cigarette butts all over the park.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.