Charleston KOA

9494 U.S. Highway 78

Ladson, SC 29456

Reserve: 800-562-5812

Info: 843-797-1045

Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14

Campground Reviews

Oct 26, 2014
The bathrooms were not cleaned on the weekend, the busiest time of the week, but the showers were good. It's close to the highway, train tracks, and airport so was very noisy. I had to run my fan all night so I could sleep. There was no dog run at this park. I would stay again, but might also look for others in the area. The price was right compared to the KOA in Mt. Pleasant.
Oct 26, 2014
Enjoyed the stay
Oct 25, 2014
Campground spaces are really crammed together. Very tough to maneuver through to park and pull out.
Oct 23, 2014
Enjoyed our stay, especially liked having an escort tour our site.
Oct 22, 2014
Location is close to Charleston Southern University for us to attend ball games when Presbyterian College plays them.
Oct 22, 2014
This campground was located inside of a run down mobile home park. I was very uncomfortable that people who were not campers were cutting through the property in the early morning hours. There wasn't a fence on at least one side of the property, allowing people to walk through. I didn't feel safe, so I left.
Oct 21, 2014
Bath house was very clean and modern. Odd to have a code to get in to bath house. Not so good a neighborhood.
Oct 21, 2014
The cabin was clean and the staff was friendly. Enjoyed the weekend.
Oct 16, 2014
I am very disappointed in the KOA! We came from WA State and plan to stay here for 6 months. In looking at the site for the KOA it looked great. Well it is when you drive in but to go back where the sites are they are not taken care of at all. There are big dips in the road that is paved and the fire ants were unreal! We decided to leave! It could be a nice camp ground if they would clean the camp
Oct 15, 2014
Very nice overnight stay. Thanks for being at your location.
Oct 15, 2014
never got used to the airplanes coming overhead.noisy at night and early in the morning!
Oct 14, 2014
It was a lot further from the beach than indicated on the website and the camp sites were very close to one another so there wasn't much privacy.
Oct 12, 2014
campground gave us an uncomfortable feeling whilst here. couple 2 tent sites from us had a domestic incident at 1am threatening to kill each other with a knife. not overall as friendly as other KOAs we stayed at on our trip. mosquitos were also rampant, as is expected in humid summer weather, ensure you bring lots of mosquito repellant of some kind!
Oct 12, 2014
We booked our cabin online but before we did we called and talked to some and they said it was $57 and a $50 deposit to book it. We asked so when we get there we will only have to pay the $7 difference and they said that right. So we book it for $50 and when we get there they want the whole $57 and said they would refund the $50.We didn't have gas $ to get home because it hasn't gone back on card
Oct 09, 2014
Very good service and smiles!
Oct 09, 2014
compared to the other koa'S I thought it was a bit more money for the same things
Oct 08, 2014
Although it was very short, it is a quiet and homey place to stay. Thank you to a staff that cares about their campground.
Oct 08, 2014
was not given site choice. many better sites were available during stay that sat empty. was parked on lot with sanitary drain 40 ft away . i had to purchase 20 addition feet of hose to make connection work. next lots sanitary drain was under our picnic table. could not build a fire because site was so small.
Oct 07, 2014
Great time at your campground, staff was very friendly and helpful, Campground was well taken care of, bathrooms were very clean and well taken care of, Thank you for a Real Good Time!
Oct 07, 2014
Surprised at the shabby conditions.
Oct 04, 2014
The staff was cordial and helpfull. Long-term residents were particularly helpful.
Oct 03, 2014
We've stayed at this KOA in the past and I enjoyed this stay very much. I have a great site with a cement pad, easy to get into and out of and the people at the front desk were very friendly. What I do not like and this applies to most campgrounds is permanent or extended stay campers. The sites are dirty, unkept, with unwashed campers in most of them. I realize this produces consistant income.
Sep 30, 2014
Sep 28, 2014
not a good place in the rain---could use some stone in the parking spots and roads.
Sep 27, 2014
This is the worse KOA that I've stayed at. This was the most unfriendly place and uncleared KOA. Our campsite was in a swamp.there was no handle on the water ,when I went up to find out what they were going to do they told me that I should try a wrench. Also then I needed to find someone to fix my camper they didn't have any suggestions . I will never go back to this KOA.
Sep 25, 2014
NO Cable . NO Wifi. Poor laundry facilities. Roaches in the yard of my lot.
Sep 23, 2014
Friendly staff and quiet park.Did miss not having cable TV.
Sep 22, 2014
Site #C12 had a lot of water on it. I would of liked another spot but it was OK.
Sep 20, 2014
Not clean. Grass not cut. If KOA allows permanent occupants they should keep all their belongs inside & not piled up on the front porch. There was also a bucket near back of cabin with dirty dishes in it.
Sep 19, 2014
Sep 17, 2014
Good location for visiting Charleston and the surrounding area. The sites are a little tight to get into, but nice and shady. The laundry room needs work and A/C. The internet was good. People helpful and friendly as always.
Sep 16, 2014
This park is a fairly good location but my main complaint is it is so trashy. The staff is very pleasant, the manager is nice but there is trash and cigarette butts all over the park. It could be nice, always rustic, if it didn't have trash and cigarette butts all over the park.
Sep 14, 2014
Rustic cabin damp, moldy, bad smell, blinds in cabin in poor condition . restrooms needed attention.. Had stayed there last October and it appeared no upkeep since that time..
Sep 05, 2014
Sep 04, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
It was clean, friendly and very nice. The staff was very friendly & nice. Enjoyed our stay
Sep 02, 2014
Wifi, you wish. Doesn't reach most of the grounds apparently. Also, the quite hours aren't enforced. Forget asking the emergency manager to help deal with an issue because they will just brush you off and hang up the phone in your ear.
Sep 01, 2014
Aug 28, 2014
needs better wifi and water pressure should install cable but very clean and staff was eager to help also needs a fenced dog area was quiet
Aug 27, 2014
We had a wonderful time. Friendly Staff, Saturday activities, super clean restrooms and pool. So close to everything we came to see!
Aug 23, 2014
Aug 23, 2014
Thanks again for the great service
Aug 21, 2014
There was theft at this campground. The office was broken into while we were there and also my dish satellite (tailgator) was stolen from my campsite. Which is about $350 dollars!! The site I had doesn't have enough room to accommodate my camper and truck. I had to park in another spot. All together bad experience especially for the $250 a week rate.
Aug 21, 2014
Sites far too close together, tight spaces everywhere including roads, no TV hookups. Floods when it rains. Good location, close to shopping and Charleston Metro, but won't stay again.
Aug 19, 2014
Cramped, tight,un-level spots. Almost no outdoor night time lighting. Several Rv's and tent in disrepair. Terrible traffic at this location.
Aug 19, 2014
Disappointed. Site next to us had a significant black tank leak. Reported it to the office and there was no response. Sketchy long term tent campers too.
Aug 18, 2014
Not what I expected, but the staff were friendly and helpful. Park was a bit on the dirty side, but generally quiet.
Aug 17, 2014
Aug 17, 2014
Location good for our visit (family & tourist activities). Most of the quiet, out or the way sites taken up by monthly rentals, not available to us visitors.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.