Charleston KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-5812

Info: 843-797-1045

Email

9494 U.S. Highway 78

Ladson, SC 29456

Get Directions

All Sites

Camper Rating 3.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Apr 26, 2017
It was a great cabin and a great location. The staff was very willing to help and make my stay that much better.
Apr 25, 2017
Great location, close to the maid roads but secluded. Thank you for having recyclable bins and daily trash pick-up. The 8ft deep pool was a nice addition with the hammocks and cornhole :) We'll be back!
Apr 25, 2017
Clean campground that's well maintained by a curtiuos staff
Apr 25, 2017
Apr 24, 2017
Friendly staff, decent park. My site, B14was too small for my 39 ft fifth wheel and too tight pull thru when leavin. There were other sites vacant the entire time we were there that were more appropriate for my size camper.
Apr 24, 2017
My stay was great. I wasn't at the campground much because of other obligations but the cabin was nice, the pool was clean and the bath houses were clean.
Apr 24, 2017
Apr 24, 2017
Great place, great staff.
Apr 24, 2017
The staff was inattentive in monitoring illegally parked vehicles near the Rec Hall.The staff blocked access to Camp K9 by placing a barrier across the walkway during published hours stating Camp K9 was open The staff did not exercise positive controls to ensure that only vehicles belonging to registered guests were present by failing to issue vehicle passes.This KOA resembled a mobile home park.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Camp K9 is reached by footpath and is open dusk to dawn as indicated on the campground map. The maintenance drive-thru (located next to the footpath) is cabled off after 4pm daily. Parking places are provided, but at busy times people will ignore the rules. We try to get them moved quickly.
Apr 24, 2017
Loved it and will be returning soon. My only complaint is the bathrooms are not very child friendly. I had to lift my 4 year old up to the sink for him to brush his teeth. I think as KOA is family orientated it would have some way the children can wash hands etc in the bathrooms without having to be lifted by an adult.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the suggestion! This has not been brought up before. We are looking into a solution. We do offer a "family restroom" that is ADA compliant with a lower sink.
Apr 23, 2017
The staff were incredible! Friendly, professional and very accommodating. We are from the Charleston area and have stayed at all the camp grounds here and by far the KOA Charleston in Ladson is our absolute favorite! We will continue to stay here when we are in the area. Its also the easiest location to see all of Charleston and so many of the other attractions the lowcountry has to offer.
Apr 23, 2017
Very nice. The gardens and the gardener made our stay special.
Apr 22, 2017
Good campground near Charleston and beaches. Full and busy. Tight spaces. I'd get a deluxe site next time with patio etc. Nice staff friendly and helpful.
Apr 22, 2017
Very trashy in some areas, not just a campground, too many people living there accumulated junk. Will not be back.
Apr 22, 2017
Nice friendly staff and the campground is clean and well layed out. The pool was sparkling clean!!! I look forward to camping there again.
Apr 22, 2017
Very poor for tent campers. It's too close to the road and an airport. The site we were in was too far away from the bath house. Need another bath house on far side of campground. Good water pressure and clean bath house. Would be fine if in an rv, but would not recommend for tent campers. Also, there was not a fire ring in most of the tent sites.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Fire rings are standard at deluxe sites (which are also closest sites to the bath house). Regular sites allow for 'boy scout' style campfires or rings can be requested at the front desk on a first come, first serve basis. We hope you will try us again, perhaps in a deluxe to better suit your needs.
Apr 21, 2017
Staff so helpful to help us find a church for Easter Sunday. Dog play area and around it needs work. 3:30am trash pickup, woke us up every morning, airplane noise, sirens, close to attractions. Need more dog areas.
Apr 21, 2017
Apr 21, 2017
Simpel Campground. Good for RV's,come in the evening and leave in the morning. Not for tenting. Compliments for the GardenLady, beautiful
Apr 20, 2017
Location very convenient but tent sites have to contend with very loud traffic noise. Our site was quite muddy, too. Staff very friendly and helpful. Bathrooms clean, but there aren't enough of them. Pool area beautiful, but only accessible until 8 pm.
Apr 19, 2017
Cabin was better than expected, stocked well above expected. Staff was friendly when we arrived only things I would recommend is roads should have speed bumps and made one way. Vehicles seem to travel at a high rate of speed when they shouldn't.
Apr 18, 2017
The staff was super friendly and helpful. We liked that the sites was easy to find even at 10pm. Plus the shade was great for helping keeping the RV cool so we didn't have to run the ac. The downside was the site was filled with cigarettes butts and beer lids. Plus the dog park and the field by the horseshoes was dog poo heaven. It was safer to just walk your dog on the road.
Apr 18, 2017
Only problem is the sewage of the neighbor being very vlose of our door.
Apr 18, 2017
We had a good stay and would stay there again. Downsides were lots of sand in our camping site that could use some gravel or something else to cut down on the tracking inside of the motor home. Not all sites wee narrow but ours was right next to the entrance to the dog park and was very narrow. Dog park was nice. Pool was very nice and the kids really enjoyed it.
Apr 18, 2017
We stayed in a couples cabin it was clean, comfortable, close to the bath house the location was great for visiting Charleston it's about a 15 minute drive to Charleston we elected to park in mount pleasant and ride the water taxi to the city. We will definitely be staying there again,as we visit the area at least once a year we wanted to do different things this time and had one of the best vacat
Apr 18, 2017
We loved the deluxe cabin! It was cozy & perfect for our family of 4. We loved having the convenience of the full kitchen and bath in the cabin and cooking on the gas grill, while still feeling like we were getting away and going "camping"! The kids loved the pool, playground and the oversized chess set. The staff was very kind & helpful. Thank you KOA for making our spring break a great vacation
Apr 18, 2017
The employees were all kind and friendly. The grounds were clean and our kids LOVED the KOA Easter Egg Hunt they put on. We were so impressed by their service that I made sure to thank the manager before we left. Most of the employees were young and were super professional and friendly. We will be back in the future.
Apr 18, 2017
We were surprised to find that pillows and sheets,blankets were not included which created a hardship and a poor mites sleep. Now we know.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Linen rentals are available at the front desk.
Apr 17, 2017
Nice campground Friendly staff. Wish there was someway to report loud music at night. Our neighbors were doing this at 2 am.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

An after hours number is printed on the Campground Map that everyone receives at check-in.
Apr 17, 2017
Overall we enjoyed our stay. Seemed to be a lot of. Sand fleas out. Showers were hard for my arthritic hands to manage. Shower walls could need cloroxed and cleaned better too. Easter egg hunt was great for the children although the area should have been checked for dog poop before it began. Sand box needs to be covered from cats. Would not let children play there for all the cats roaming about.
Apr 17, 2017
Very noisy at night if u are a light sleeper. Workers remind me of state highway workers, one working three watching. Will not go back as can't get any rest.
Apr 17, 2017
We will definitely be back to stay here! Loved every minute of it!
Apr 17, 2017
Nice clean Kampgroung.
Apr 17, 2017
If this campground was in a different location it would be great very noisy and the tent spots are to close to the main Rd and the street lights shine into your tent and lights it up like it's daylight
Apr 16, 2017
This KOA was close to Charleston and the sights. There was plenty to do for the kids (12,13) - between playing basketball and the pool (which warmed up nicely as the week went on), they were not bored! We are still pretty new to RVing and wish we had brought our bikes.
Apr 15, 2017
Loud music plaid into the late night and the motorcycles. One was left runnuing for no reason , another did a burn out and the kids in the office did nothing about it.
Apr 15, 2017
Apr 15, 2017
Apr 14, 2017
Apr 14, 2017
Apr 14, 2017
Stayed 2 nights - April 7 and 8, 2017. Very quiet! Excellent washrooms! Very reliable WIFI! A very happy camper!
Apr 14, 2017
Sanitary is poor.
Apr 14, 2017
Friendly and fast service. No issues.
Apr 13, 2017
Supporting Team. Friendly.
Apr 13, 2017
Lots of long time tennants who have a lot of things around their older trailers. Neighbor had 5 cats that was roaming free, even though the rules says no pets off leash.
Apr 13, 2017
Very nice campground. It was clean, quiet and easy access to/from I-26. Downtown Charleston was about 20 minutes away. We didn't use the pool but it looked nice as well. We will definitely stay here again.
Apr 13, 2017
Only complaint was too noisy, road noise and airplanes landing pattern.
Apr 13, 2017
Power problems at site A31 for whole 3 day stay.
Apr 12, 2017
Great campground! Abraham, a young man the office, was very helpful to us. Our car wouldn't start so he jumped it with hispersonal car. When offered a gratuity for helping us he would not accept it. Said it was his job he was happy to do it. He is exemplary young man. KOA Is fortunate to have him as an employee.
Apr 12, 2017
Will be back with the Grandkids
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals

Camp for $10 on May 13!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps