Carbondale / Crystal River KOA

7202 Highway 133

Carbondale, CO 81623

Reserve: 970-963-2341

Info: 970-963-2341

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 23, 2013
Jul 23, 2013
From the surprise lack of a bathhouse to the smell of port-a-potties permeating the campground, to the missing dishes in the cabins, to the trash lying around our campsite upon arrival, to the full trash cans everywhere that weren't emptied once, it was rather disappointing.
Jul 22, 2013
The property where I stayed is currently undergoing renovations/remodeling. Due to this fact there were a lot of amenities, etc. that were unavailable. the oven in my cabin did not work, and the electrical outlet in the bathroom did not work. The kitchen was poorly stocked with cooking utensils, etc. A working broom and dustpan would be a great addition to the cabin. Enjoyable but needs improvemen
Jul 22, 2013
too many things not working in cabin, such as stove, oven, electrical outlet. accomodations were disappointing. Cabin kitchens were poorly equipped.
Jul 22, 2013
wonderful new cabin..clean, quiet, really nice staff...will recommend and b back ourselves...thank u....
Jul 22, 2013
We had a short, but sweet, visit at this KOA. It was close and convenient to the shops, grocery stores, etc. Staff was very courteous and helpful. Would go there again - definitely.
Jul 21, 2013
Thoroughly pleasant in every way. Nice patios, pool, and the river was right there. I can recommend this park to anyone.
Jul 19, 2013
This KOA will be a great place once all the construction of the bathhouse and bathrooms is complete and improvements are done. Hopefully they will be able to improve getting to the dump station as you have to do some maneuvering now especially with a 40' 5ver
Jul 17, 2013
Beautiful place to stay! Host were great and made us feel at home. Best part was being on the river and enjoying the beautiful views.
Jul 17, 2013
I stayed 1 night at this campground in a tent while on a M/C trip. The campground is being upgraded and did not have a shower house ready. A cabin with a single washroom was being used for all tenters. The cabin and washrooms were clean and well maintained, line ups were lengthy at times. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
As the KOA is now, it is unsuitable to tent camping & caters to cabin rentals and RVs. Crystal River was recently purchased by KOA and is being renovated to meet the current standards of your typical KOA. Currently, there is no communal bathrooms or showers and no water for those with tents. The traffic noise is horrid for those in tents & the campsites were littered with previous campers items
Jul 16, 2013
We loved staying 10 feet from the river and the nice pool was a great depth for our 5 and 8 year old to enjoy (3-4 ft). Our cabin was in a shady spot with a great view. The only thing lacking was firewood for us to use/purchase.
Jul 16, 2013
Absolutley beautiful spot.The only down fall was the shower/bath house was not completed. But other wise we had a wonderful stay and will be returning.
Jul 16, 2013
I might come back when the restrooms & showers are finished. Until then, no thanks. Using the porta potty a half mile away was not fun. At least the staff were nice.
Jul 15, 2013
Very enjoyable. Looking forward to seeing the future upgrades.
Jul 15, 2013
The place was in a total transformation,which fine as long as the issues would be disclosed prior to arrival.I was very bitter.Only ONE restroom/shower for the KOA users and is very frustrating for the children waiting over 1 hour to use it.No pool, not really kid friendly.Why is it in the KOA book if not meeting standards?I had to cut my stay.Good location for Springs and nice desk service only.
Jul 15, 2013
Very nice to pull in late and be all set for then night! Thanks!
Jul 15, 2013
A great weekend getaway! Our cabin was right on the river. It was recently renovated inside, new concrete patio and firepit area outside. Very very clean, cozy and welcoming. Peaceful at night, courteous staff. Thank you!
Jul 15, 2013
host were great, work on new showers made it not fun. dump was bad, found another place too dump
Jul 15, 2013
Great time, no fish in the river but Erin was very helpful!
Jul 14, 2013
Great service and a lovely location.
Jul 14, 2013
They are making wonderful improvements. Our site was great with trees and plenty of space.
Jul 14, 2013
Jul 13, 2013
Cute and Family oriented cabins, it is close to great hiking trails and bike path for the outdoor enthusiasts. Price is right I would recommend the stay.
Jul 12, 2013
Nice roomy cabin with all facilities in a beautiful spot by the side of the Crystal River & mountains in the background.Site owners and other campers very helpful and friendly.Just great!!
Jul 12, 2013
It will be very nice once management finishes the bath house, gets sewer hookups, moves out some undesirables along with their trashy things & and expands wireless access.
Jul 11, 2013
They "do what they say", and were very accomodating to provide showers in the cabins while their bathrooms were being updated. One improvemenmt to suggest might be larger, more visible signage along the main road. The river sites are beautiful and the owners friendly and helpful.
Jul 11, 2013
The sites are good, and giving more distance to 'neighbour sites' than in some other KOA campgrounds we stayed in! But the general facilities (e.g., shower and restrooms) are still being developed. We expect that, once these are completed, it will be a very pleasant campground to stay!
Jul 10, 2013
Stayed on the Crystal River in a shaded spot. Nice concrete patios and wrought iron table and chairs. Will be much better when sewer lines are working. Honey wagon solved disposal problem.
Jul 10, 2013
Jul 10, 2013
Friendly, helpful staff. Making a lot of improvements to the campground. Beautiful spots on the river.
Jul 09, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
False advertising. Our cabin was not in good shape nor anything like what the picture showed on the website. The kitchen was not fully stocked to cook meals. There were no window coverings in the bathroom meaning no privacy when showering. Very disappointed. Too pricey. Could have had just as good of a time in a tent.
Jul 08, 2013
The location of this campground is fantastic, but the campground as a whole has a long way to go to be a KOA. The cabins need updating and are unbearably hot in the late afternoon and most of the night.
Jul 08, 2013
As usual I had a great stay at BRB. They had a few challenges due to construction delays but the owners and specifically Cynthia made the process seamless. With the new additions this will be a 5 star location soon. Thanks again BRB staff.
Jul 08, 2013
What a great place! They were undergoing some improvements, but were so helpful to offer alternatives so that everyone could be comfortable! We will definitely be back!
Jul 08, 2013
Very friendly and welcoming at the front office. Wished we could have stayed longer........our dog loved meeting new friends and spending time at the beautiful Crystal River.
Jul 07, 2013
A diamond in the rough. Once they have everything built and working it should be a great place. I will visit them again.
Jul 07, 2013
We were not told that the pool and the bath house would not be available for our stay. When we booked three months ago, we were quaraunteed three sites together, upon arrival we were told that our sites were broken up due to management, upon refusal to stay, we were given our three sites together. Very poor service by front office staff. Management staff was helpful and tried to resolve issues.
Jul 07, 2013
Will be a wonderful campground when they get all their "new" stuff completed .. as in the bathhouse, etc. And no sewer hookups can be a pain. Our site, we could not get satellite reception because of the trees, but maybe that was an OK thing!
Jul 07, 2013
This is a very pretty spot. Once the bath-house is complete, it will be a really nice place to stay.
Jul 06, 2013
I enjoyed my stay at this KOA site also known as BRB Campgrounds. The owners are very nice and the setting is great. They are in the process of renovation and I see great possibilities for them. I didn't have cell reception there which was both, a + & - . LOTS of stars and right on the Crystal River.
Jul 05, 2013
This vacation was a complete disappointment. My family has been staying at the BRB for over 40 years and we planned a family reunion with 20 people. Terrible customer service and no showers or bathrooms available. No swimming pool. We wish the old owners were still around and we will never stay there again. Very disappointing.
Jul 05, 2013
Beautiful location, looking forward to when all construction is completed. Great Stay!!
Jul 04, 2013
only reason i only gave it 4 stars out of 5 was due to the construction going on while staying there and the pool not being open. Was not told that would be the situation when booking and not offered any discount because of. Otherwise it was a beautiful spot and the staff was friendly and helpful. I would stay there again.
Jul 04, 2013
The Manager was deplorable. She was unkind and unhelpful. I have been staying at this site for years and will no longer be going. The bathroom facilities were not completed and we had to use dirty porta potties. It was a disappointment.
Jul 04, 2013
The location was very far off the Interstate, and the cabins were not at all what we were expecting thanks to our other stays at KOA. Impossible to even get the smallest signal on our phone, although that's not their fault. Having said that, the location is beautiful, the staff helpful. The campground is undergoing work,I would be willing to try again next season. Ideal for hunting trips

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.