Carbondale / Crystal River KOA

7202 Highway 133

Carbondale, CO 81623

Reserve: 970-963-2341

Info: 970-963-2341

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9

Campground Reviews

Jul 21, 2014
Best night sleep with the river noise.
Jul 21, 2014
Not KOA quality.No cable,wifi unless you stand in the office,no cell service,no grey/black water hookups,dirty bath,they will perform a dump ONLY every two days which does not work for more than two people.KOA workers had the premium sites,we counted at least 4 diff workers sites in small campground.Talked negatively about campers while we were using wifi in office trying to work.Won't be back.
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Nice and quiet. Love the river and shade. We had a great site.
Jul 20, 2014
Loved the area. Almost all were helpful at front desk with the exception of one. No complaints otherwise. Very beautiful area.
Jul 18, 2014
Jul 17, 2014
You couldn't ask for a better located camp site: beautiful setting, bike path access from camp, 5 minutes to town. The camp is nice and clean. Sufficient amenities: pool, volleyball court, billiards, but missing the nightly kids activities and pancake breakfast. Cabins are a bit run down, but Mgrs. Ray & Erin strive to make your stay great.
Jul 17, 2014
Dish washing facilities could be better and the wifi was not working. Campsite was dirty. Beautiful location and the ladies in the office were very nice!
Jul 17, 2014
Beautiful campground. The facilities were very clean. The staff was courteous and very helpful. The only reason I didn't give it stars is the lack of sewer hookup. The honey wagon comes every two days but its pretty stinky when they are dumping.
Jul 17, 2014
over all the property is very beutiful. we have used the RV section seveal times. we used the caben for the first time. the show controler wasnt working properly. and the eletrical igniter didnt work on the ccok stove. its a little pricy but we would come back.
Jul 16, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
I ended up staying one night. Nothing wrong, just felt like moving on. Weather wasn't the greatest. I was a tent camper. Nice lady in the office.
Jul 16, 2014
I brought a group of 25 people for a camping/rafting adventure and stayed at the Crystal River KOA. We rented cabins and tent sites on the river. The soothing sound of the river as well as a full moon weekend in July made the trip extra special. Erin our KOA Host is wonderful and did a lot to help us feel welcome and comfortable. I like the improvements they have made there and will return soon.
Jul 14, 2014
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the campground. Our cabin had everything we needed was very clean. The cabin location was perfect, we were right on the river and fell asleep nightly to the sound of the water rushing by. The office staff was very helpful from the first phone (one of many) to the time we checked out.
Jul 14, 2014
Staff is friendly & there when needed. Wash house, pool, play ground/volleyball courts well cared for & enjoyable to use. We have stayed now 2yrs in a row for 10+days each time, simply not disappointed. RV sites by the river are fabulous with great patio area including nice table & chairs. With MT Sopris as your backdrop & enjoying the soothing sound of the Crystal River what could be better!?!
Jul 14, 2014
Cabin was small, yet cozy. Very relaxing. Linens and curtains could use an update, but overall had a good time. Wi-Fi advertised, but non existent. (Tried for three days) Pool is cold but clean. Lots of activities for kids. Equipment sometimes provided (basketball, volleyball, horse shoes, etc.) Already planning for next year.
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 12, 2014
Worst KOA experience ever, as a KOA member- very disappointed. We had to leave 1 day early as our gray water was full and they refused to empty us without a 24 hour notice. internet only at office impacted ability to work or check email in quiet space. The laundry hours are too late in the am, people waiting in line, not enough washers. Man doing transmission job on his car in his space- crazy
Jul 11, 2014
Would be 5 stars if they had sewer hookup available.
Jul 11, 2014
Most unfriendly staff people I ever met at a KOA - preferred personal phone calls to helping customer. New bath house would be impossible for a wheelchair bound person with steepness and tight turn. No drains in shower mean the floor is wet everywhere. Wifi only at office - code not volunteered. Hand dryer didn't work. No paper towels.
Jul 11, 2014
We actually stayed four nights and hated to leave. Everyone on the staff were like family. New improvements made the stay great!
Jul 10, 2014
Old campground being renovated by new owners. They have done well - pool, concrete pads, new bath house, other upgrades. The customer service is lacking. Despite booking months in advance we had to move sites to off-river despite asking to be added to cancellation list, etc., so we didn't have to move. We talked to 2 groups that booked well after us staying all nights on the river. Disappointing
Jul 10, 2014
Everything was clean and functional. Staff was polite and helpful. The location is beautiful and great for daytime adventures in any direction. Kid friendly environment made me feel safe to let the kids explore and enjoy the trip.
Jul 10, 2014
The cabin was substandard and we had plumbing problems. The smell was pretty bad off and on for the the last 2 days.
Jul 09, 2014
We loved being by the river and enjoyed the beautiful view. The only downside was the number of bugs that found their way into the cabin through gaps in the door and screens. Carbondale was a beautiful area and we would love to come back!
Jul 08, 2014
It was our first time there but we loved it in spite of the rain and we will definitely return and spend more than one night.
Jul 08, 2014
Such a difference from last year! Great bath house, clean. The pool is a little shallow, narrow as well. I wish they would have more spaces for tent camping right on the river
Jul 07, 2014
Loved being close to the river!! Campground was clean and spacious!
Jul 07, 2014
Beautiful park, really friendly staff, just a perfect place to stay!
Jul 07, 2014
Jul 07, 2014
Jul 06, 2014
We arrived late and had to leave early, which was a shame. We wish we could have stayed a few days. This was true camping--beautiful location with paths for walking or biking, the hum of the river through the night. The bath house was a lovely addition, and the entire campsite was very well maintained. The staff was friendly as well. We hope our travels take us back to this campsite!
Jul 03, 2014
Great Kampground, beautiful tent site next to the river. Clean restrooms, close to great hiking and other activities and the staff was friendly and helpful.
Jul 03, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
Everything is great except the total lack of internet.
Jul 02, 2014
Great updated facility. Nice new & clean bathrooms, and great site with cement pad for cooking and picnic table -- much nicer site than we usually get with our pop-up. A little distant off the interstate was the only negative of this place.
Jul 01, 2014
If your staying any length of time, go to dollar store and buy some ice trays. They are not provided. We were there 10 days and ice was $4 a bag. At $162. a night, I feel ice should be complimentary, or cheaper or at least provide ice trays. Otherwise everything was great!
Jul 01, 2014
Need instructions for the heaters. Door lock did not work well. Beautiful setting. Will be terrific after upgrade is completed.
Jul 01, 2014
I know this KOA is in the process of upgrading, and I'm sure it will be lovely when finished. Minor details missing for the price they charge for a deluxe cabin(same price as a hotel!). Broken screen door, missing screen on bedroom, posessed (cold/ hot/ help!) shower w head full of lime buildup. You have to beg for an extra roll of TP, even for a 5-day stay. Dish soap missing in kitchen.
Jul 01, 2014
This KOA seems to be recently converted. Campground is nice but needs more updates like cable and sewer at sites. People are friendly. Brand new restroom. WIFI only available in the office.
Jul 01, 2014
a short stay.love your new bath house.friendly,slept well under the mountain,with the river roaring by. Thanks for the comfort.
Jul 01, 2014
Jane went out of her way to accommodate us and a special request. The bathhouse was the nicest campground bathroom I have ever seen. The noise from highway 133 was a little loud at night, but overall we had a wonderful time.
Jul 01, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
The Bed was VERY BAD to sleep on as you felt the SPRINGS even when you pushed your hand down. They Changed Bedding for my 4th night stay. Which made 4th night worth it. Other than that it was a very nice place. Over $300. and 3 night bad sleeping not worth the stay there.
Jun 30, 2014
Beautiful campground right on the river - If you are planning a night of camping or staying in a rustic cabin near Carbondale, just stay here. Friendly and helpful hosts. Really wish I could have stayed longer, but we were just riding through. Thanks!
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Great shower room. Place was quiet. Very nice location.
Jun 30, 2014
One of the best and cleanest campgrounds I have been to, very kid friendly, we had a ball!!!!
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.