Carbondale / Crystal River KOA

7202 Highway 133

Carbondale, CO 81623

Reserve: 970-963-2341

Info: 970-963-2341

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2

Tent Reviews

Jul 16, 2014
I ended up staying one night. Nothing wrong, just felt like moving on. Weather wasn't the greatest. I was a tent camper. Nice lady in the office.
Jul 16, 2014
I brought a group of 25 people for a camping/rafting adventure and stayed at the Crystal River KOA. We rented cabins and tent sites on the river. The soothing sound of the river as well as a full moon weekend in July made the trip extra special. Erin our KOA Host is wonderful and did a lot to help us feel welcome and comfortable. I like the improvements they have made there and will return soon.
Jul 10, 2014
Everything was clean and functional. Staff was polite and helpful. The location is beautiful and great for daytime adventures in any direction. Kid friendly environment made me feel safe to let the kids explore and enjoy the trip.
Jul 08, 2014
Such a difference from last year! Great bath house, clean. The pool is a little shallow, narrow as well. I wish they would have more spaces for tent camping right on the river
Jul 07, 2014
Loved being close to the river!! Campground was clean and spacious!
Jul 06, 2014
We arrived late and had to leave early, which was a shame. We wish we could have stayed a few days. This was true camping--beautiful location with paths for walking or biking, the hum of the river through the night. The bath house was a lovely addition, and the entire campsite was very well maintained. The staff was friendly as well. We hope our travels take us back to this campsite!
Jul 03, 2014
Great Kampground, beautiful tent site next to the river. Clean restrooms, close to great hiking and other activities and the staff was friendly and helpful.
Jul 01, 2014
a short stay.love your new bath house.friendly,slept well under the mountain,with the river roaring by. Thanks for the comfort.
Jul 01, 2014
Jane went out of her way to accommodate us and a special request. The bathhouse was the nicest campground bathroom I have ever seen. The noise from highway 133 was a little loud at night, but overall we had a wonderful time.
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Great shower room. Place was quiet. Very nice location.
Jun 30, 2014
One of the best and cleanest campgrounds I have been to, very kid friendly, we had a ball!!!!
Jun 29, 2014
This place was more than I expected. I wish I could have stayed longer. Very peaceful, quiet and friendly. Also, the owners were AWESOME. Loved it.
Jun 26, 2014
Great place to get away. So many things to do close by. Return home to the sounds of the river for a great night's sleep.
Jun 25, 2014
Jun 23, 2014
It's not bad, but there is some road noise. Our tent site was small with a sloped tent pad. Other sites were better but they were not cooperative in switching us. The Wifi was so slow as to be unusable even to check e-mail.
Jun 23, 2014
Great accommodations and very good prices. It is close to town, but still feels like camping. I love the fact that it is by the river.
Jun 23, 2014
The actual campsites were not cared for. A simple visit every couple of days would improve the chances that new customers would not arrive to a totally messy dirty site (i'm not referring to natural dirty). The new bathhouse is nice (only thing nice). Road noise is very loud, I heard the desk person describe over phone as secluded. No Wi-Fi at all, advertising it is simply lying. Dishonest place
Jun 23, 2014
Jun 21, 2014
For us this was luxury camping. Clean bathrooms with flush toilets, warm water & showers. Swimming pool, sports courts, tot lot ... all in excellent condition. Pleasant and helpful staff. We had three days of relaxation and fun.
Jun 15, 2014
Jan is great!
May 31, 2014
Great camping site! Nice new bathhouse! A little Close to the road but no traffic and night time.
May 28, 2014
Wifi availability throughout camp would be big bonus for days when rain keeps you indoors. I like the new restroom facility, very nicely done. The staff were friendly & efficient. However I noticed that some stream side spots were available the first night, just not all the nights I stayed. A gr8 customer service move would've been to offer 1 of those sites to us for at least that 1st night
May 27, 2014
The staff were very friendly and accommodating! The grounds and amenities made for a relaxing weekend (except the rain and hailstorms natures surprises)but the office was an excellent retreat during those! Thank you so much!
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
Beautiful sites, great staff, new pool and baths, spectacular views. There is a bike trail that goes to Carbondale and all the way to Aspen. Who could ask for more.
May 23, 2014
Love the renovations! Very clean and friendly :) Would highly recommend!
Apr 28, 2014
We camped right next to the river in a very nice site. The brand new bath house was wonderful! The best thing happened to us: A severe storm came into camp and the camp staff offered to place us in a cabin for the night when the heavy rain started to turn to snow. They were so kind to make this offer! We ended up staying in the tent as the storm abated but we appreciated their kindness very much.
Sep 20, 2013
Sep 17, 2013
The office staff was very helpful with my multiple weather cancellations. The new bath house is wonderful and I am glad things aren't spiffed up too much as I like the fact that it is the same BRB atmosphere.
Sep 11, 2013
Sep 09, 2013
River sites are very nice. NEEDS an area for tent campers to wash dishes and get potable water. Also needs more trash (dumpster) locations.
Sep 06, 2013
Thank goodness for the sound of the river! There were screaming children and a dad who loved to chop his wood in the EARLY AM hours! Too much traffic. The 'new' bath house is nice, but IT NEEDS TO BE CLEANED! There was poop on the carpet matt, soap dripped all over the counter and hair balls in both shower stalls! Both doors 'stick' trying to get out of the toilet stall. The pool was freezing!
Sep 03, 2013
Terrible stay. The road kept us up all night. The river bank was muddy, the river brown with mud. The sites were crammed together, we had no privacy. The pool was the size of a hotub. The only redeeming feature was the bathroom. We paid for three nights, but only stayed for two . I wouldn't recommend this koa to anyone.
Sep 03, 2013
The K tent campsite was very nice, and the owners were very helpful. We enjoyed the bathhouse. The problem was that the campground is incredibly close to Rte 133, which I did not realize when I reserved the site. The traffic noise really takes away from the nature experience. A soundproof barrier would vastly improve the campground. Still, the nice amenities were appreciated.
Sep 03, 2013
Carbondale is a great mountain town and with the KOA here it is even a better place to camp.
Aug 31, 2013
good experience, nice bathhouse, easy accessability to good biking
Aug 28, 2013
We took a gs troop capming & were told that there WOULD be bathrooms and showers. Got a call on Wed before we were there & were told they were not ready but cabin 7 was. We only used cabin 7 once, and took all 6 girls there. A lady came in and complained that we were loud and messy, a man came in any yelled at us I dont know who they were, but we left and went back to our spot. Wont be back ever.
Aug 19, 2013
To everyone I know!! We loved it!!?
Aug 12, 2013
Beautiful location and great staff!
Aug 11, 2013
We liked it so much last time we came back.BRB Crystal river resort is in transition and that made some of our stay harder. Our cabins weren't together, so we did a lot of schlepping back and forth. One cabin that was between us was being used as a bathhouse for the tents. I wish they would have switched us to that cabin and let the tents use our cabin. Lour reservation was lost,but worked out
Aug 05, 2013
Great owners and very accomodating. The campground is beautiful right on the Crystal River.
Jul 29, 2013
While the staff was friendly, I found the bathroom situation unacceptable. Nothing was posted on the website before our trip that there were no bathroom facilities. The port a potties they had set up were extremely full and smelled terrible.
Jul 29, 2013
Would have enjoyed our stay more if it hadn't rained so much. Loved the campsite next to the river. Next time, might take a dip in the pool. Also, I understand that the newly remodeled bath houses will be very accomodating.
Jul 23, 2013
From the surprise lack of a bathhouse to the smell of port-a-potties permeating the campground, to the missing dishes in the cabins, to the trash lying around our campsite upon arrival, to the full trash cans everywhere that weren't emptied once, it was rather disappointing.
Jul 17, 2013
I stayed 1 night at this campground in a tent while on a M/C trip. The campground is being upgraded and did not have a shower house ready. A cabin with a single washroom was being used for all tenters. The cabin and washrooms were clean and well maintained, line ups were lengthy at times. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Jul 16, 2013
As the KOA is now, it is unsuitable to tent camping & caters to cabin rentals and RVs. Crystal River was recently purchased by KOA and is being renovated to meet the current standards of your typical KOA. Currently, there is no communal bathrooms or showers and no water for those with tents. The traffic noise is horrid for those in tents & the campsites were littered with previous campers items
Jul 16, 2013
I might come back when the restrooms & showers are finished. Until then, no thanks. Using the porta potty a half mile away was not fun. At least the staff were nice.
Jul 15, 2013
The place was in a total transformation,which fine as long as the issues would be disclosed prior to arrival.I was very bitter.Only ONE restroom/shower for the KOA users and is very frustrating for the children waiting over 1 hour to use it.No pool, not really kid friendly.Why is it in the KOA book if not meeting standards?I had to cut my stay.Good location for Springs and nice desk service only.
Jul 10, 2013
Friendly, helpful staff. Making a lot of improvements to the campground. Beautiful spots on the river.
  1. 1
  2. 2

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.