Carbondale / Crystal River KOA

7202 Highway 133

Carbondale, CO 81623

Reserve: 970-963-2341

Info: 970-963-2341

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Tent Reviews

Sep 20, 2013
Sep 17, 2013
The office staff was very helpful with my multiple weather cancellations. The new bath house is wonderful and I am glad things aren't spiffed up too much as I like the fact that it is the same BRB atmosphere.
Sep 11, 2013
Sep 09, 2013
River sites are very nice. NEEDS an area for tent campers to wash dishes and get potable water. Also needs more trash (dumpster) locations.
Sep 06, 2013
Thank goodness for the sound of the river! There were screaming children and a dad who loved to chop his wood in the EARLY AM hours! Too much traffic. The 'new' bath house is nice, but IT NEEDS TO BE CLEANED! There was poop on the carpet matt, soap dripped all over the counter and hair balls in both shower stalls! Both doors 'stick' trying to get out of the toilet stall. The pool was freezing!
Sep 03, 2013
Terrible stay. The road kept us up all night. The river bank was muddy, the river brown with mud. The sites were crammed together, we had no privacy. The pool was the size of a hotub. The only redeeming feature was the bathroom. We paid for three nights, but only stayed for two . I wouldn't recommend this koa to anyone.
Sep 03, 2013
The K tent campsite was very nice, and the owners were very helpful. We enjoyed the bathhouse. The problem was that the campground is incredibly close to Rte 133, which I did not realize when I reserved the site. The traffic noise really takes away from the nature experience. A soundproof barrier would vastly improve the campground. Still, the nice amenities were appreciated.
Sep 03, 2013
Carbondale is a great mountain town and with the KOA here it is even a better place to camp.
Aug 31, 2013
good experience, nice bathhouse, easy accessability to good biking
Aug 28, 2013
We took a gs troop capming & were told that there WOULD be bathrooms and showers. Got a call on Wed before we were there & were told they were not ready but cabin 7 was. We only used cabin 7 once, and took all 6 girls there. A lady came in and complained that we were loud and messy, a man came in any yelled at us I dont know who they were, but we left and went back to our spot. Wont be back ever.
Aug 19, 2013
To everyone I know!! We loved it!!?
Aug 12, 2013
Beautiful location and great staff!
Aug 11, 2013
We liked it so much last time we came back.BRB Crystal river resort is in transition and that made some of our stay harder. Our cabins weren't together, so we did a lot of schlepping back and forth. One cabin that was between us was being used as a bathhouse for the tents. I wish they would have switched us to that cabin and let the tents use our cabin. Lour reservation was lost,but worked out
Aug 05, 2013
Great owners and very accomodating. The campground is beautiful right on the Crystal River.
Jul 29, 2013
While the staff was friendly, I found the bathroom situation unacceptable. Nothing was posted on the website before our trip that there were no bathroom facilities. The port a potties they had set up were extremely full and smelled terrible.
Jul 29, 2013
Would have enjoyed our stay more if it hadn't rained so much. Loved the campsite next to the river. Next time, might take a dip in the pool. Also, I understand that the newly remodeled bath houses will be very accomodating.
Jul 23, 2013
From the surprise lack of a bathhouse to the smell of port-a-potties permeating the campground, to the missing dishes in the cabins, to the trash lying around our campsite upon arrival, to the full trash cans everywhere that weren't emptied once, it was rather disappointing.
Jul 17, 2013
I stayed 1 night at this campground in a tent while on a M/C trip. The campground is being upgraded and did not have a shower house ready. A cabin with a single washroom was being used for all tenters. The cabin and washrooms were clean and well maintained, line ups were lengthy at times. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Jul 16, 2013
As the KOA is now, it is unsuitable to tent camping & caters to cabin rentals and RVs. Crystal River was recently purchased by KOA and is being renovated to meet the current standards of your typical KOA. Currently, there is no communal bathrooms or showers and no water for those with tents. The traffic noise is horrid for those in tents & the campsites were littered with previous campers items
Jul 16, 2013
I might come back when the restrooms & showers are finished. Until then, no thanks. Using the porta potty a half mile away was not fun. At least the staff were nice.
Jul 15, 2013
The place was in a total transformation,which fine as long as the issues would be disclosed prior to arrival.I was very bitter.Only ONE restroom/shower for the KOA users and is very frustrating for the children waiting over 1 hour to use it.No pool, not really kid friendly.Why is it in the KOA book if not meeting standards?I had to cut my stay.Good location for Springs and nice desk service only.
Jul 10, 2013
Friendly, helpful staff. Making a lot of improvements to the campground. Beautiful spots on the river.
Jul 08, 2013
As usual I had a great stay at BRB. They had a few challenges due to construction delays but the owners and specifically Cynthia made the process seamless. With the new additions this will be a 5 star location soon. Thanks again BRB staff.
Jul 06, 2013
I enjoyed my stay at this KOA site also known as BRB Campgrounds. The owners are very nice and the setting is great. They are in the process of renovation and I see great possibilities for them. I didn't have cell reception there which was both, a + & - . LOTS of stars and right on the Crystal River.
Jul 05, 2013
This vacation was a complete disappointment. My family has been staying at the BRB for over 40 years and we planned a family reunion with 20 people. Terrible customer service and no showers or bathrooms available. No swimming pool. We wish the old owners were still around and we will never stay there again. Very disappointing.
Jul 04, 2013
only reason i only gave it 4 stars out of 5 was due to the construction going on while staying there and the pool not being open. Was not told that would be the situation when booking and not offered any discount because of. Otherwise it was a beautiful spot and the staff was friendly and helpful. I would stay there again.
Jul 04, 2013
The Manager was deplorable. She was unkind and unhelpful. I have been staying at this site for years and will no longer be going. The bathroom facilities were not completed and we had to use dirty porta potties. It was a disappointment.
Jul 04, 2013
Very scenic area, very nice clubhouse. Will be one of best KOAs when done, bath houses and pool under construction and wasnt notified of this. Very nice people and amazing area.
Jul 04, 2013
Our stay was great! It's in a perfect location right next to the river. Once the construction is finished it will be beautiful. Nice tent spot as well.
Jun 27, 2013
Jun 24, 2013
This was my 3rd stay at Crystal River, but 1st since it was purchased & changed to a KOA. Being an experienced tent camper & big KOA fan I was excited to bring my family. I can't describe my disappointment in 400 characters. They over-promise & under-deliver. I would only stay again in a few YEARS once they get their act together. Please tell them to update their website! No pool. No bathhouse.
Jun 23, 2013
Our camp site was under renovation. The web site never mentioned it would not have a functioning bath house or swimming pool. We had one shower and one flush toilet for the entire campground and had to use nasty porta-potties. We should have received reduced rates since the amenities advertised where not available. I'm sure it will be nice NEXT YEAR
Jun 23, 2013
We throughally enjoyed our stay there. We found the campground to be clean, well kept and the staff very friendly. In fact we expect to make this be where we take our yearly family trip!
Jun 22, 2013
While the campground is upgrading their facilities, it is still quite functional and in a wonderful location.
Jun 22, 2013
Friendly staff, nice spot on the Crystal River. Only complaint was trash left from previous campers, and limited office hours. Thanks!
Jun 21, 2013
I understand that they were building a new bath house, but one flush toilet and one shower for the whole camp ground in my opinion is not satisfactory. The campground has a long way to go to meet the standards of a KOA.
Jun 20, 2013
Jun 17, 2013
The setting at this camp ground is amazing. While we were there, the new building for showers, etc, was being built, and the pool was being rebuilt, so we didn't get to enjoy those things, but I'm sure they'll be great when ready. The staff is SO friendly. Would definitely stay here again.
Jun 03, 2013
This KOA will be great once all the renovating is finished. We really had a good time and having use of one of the cabins during the construction phase of the bath house was nice. The river is so close to the tent sites and it's very peaceful. The road is close too, but luckily not very busy. Overall a great place for a family camping trip.
May 29, 2013
May 28, 2013
This CG is very old and wasn't taken care of. The picnic tables are extremely old and the paint on them is curled and falling off.The store is nothing more than a few snacks.There is a complete lack of maintenance here.The location is beautiful though and you are next to a river but overgrowth prevents you from enjoying it. Note the Owners are updating but are a couple years off being KOA quality.
May 28, 2013
We stayed here two years ago Memorial Day weekend before KOA. It was empty. It has since changed to a KOA and it was nearly packed. It was more expensive and the old bathhouse was gone and a new one was under construction and unavailable. We were given access to one port-a-potty and one single-shower cabin for showers. We waited on others for hours each night just to potty and to shower.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.