Carbondale / Crystal River KOA

7202 Highway 133

Carbondale, CO 81623

Reserve: 970-963-2341

Info: 970-963-2341

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Sep 14, 2013
1st time at this KOA, we enjoyed ourselves-despite all the rain. Crystal river ran red then mud-still nice campground-only disappointment was no individual sewer connections at this point in building this extremely nice KOA.
Sep 11, 2013
Sep 10, 2013
Showers in men's bathrooms not arranged very well...need to have hooks to hang change of clothes, towels, etc. Site was uneven..requiring wheel blocks to level rv. Otherwise enjoyed our stay and will stay again in the future.
Sep 10, 2013
Sep 09, 2013
Very nice location for exploring the region.
Sep 09, 2013
River sites are very nice. NEEDS an area for tent campers to wash dishes and get potable water. Also needs more trash (dumpster) locations.
Sep 09, 2013
Beautiful camping along the Crystal River! We stayed here to ride the bike trail to Carbondale. All facilities were very nice and well kept. Cynthia was also very helpful.
Sep 08, 2013
Sep 08, 2013
When I wanted to use my KOA gift certificate the person at the counter said " oh we are not an official KOA " but we will use your card and we do have signs all over the property and even in the cabin that state KOA , if your not a KOA don't advertise as one.We took a ten day vacation and only used KOA's but won't be back here and won't recommend it because it's not an official KOA, whatever that
Sep 07, 2013
We reserved RV site #8 in Jan. but when we arrived we were put in RV site #1 with no view of the river that I was paying extra for. Also the bath house was under construction, so we had to use a port-a-pot or a cabin that there was a line to use. We talked to Cynthia about not getting the site we had reserved, her answer was "YOU DON'T ALWAY GET WHAT YOU WANT" We won't be back. Leonard
Sep 07, 2013
Lovely campground with very nice owners who are putting a lot of work into improving it even more.
Sep 06, 2013
Always a great time at the BRB
Sep 06, 2013
Sep 06, 2013
Thank goodness for the sound of the river! There were screaming children and a dad who loved to chop his wood in the EARLY AM hours! Too much traffic. The 'new' bath house is nice, but IT NEEDS TO BE CLEANED! There was poop on the carpet matt, soap dripped all over the counter and hair balls in both shower stalls! Both doors 'stick' trying to get out of the toilet stall. The pool was freezing!
Sep 05, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
Very nice bathhouse and nice swimming pool however the Wi-Fi never worked.
Sep 03, 2013
Great place! Shady sites. Car noise from Highway 133, but not irritating.
Sep 03, 2013
Had a nice large premium pull thru site with a concrete patio and picnic table. The new bathhouse was a joy. Will appreciate when they have a sewer system, but they do pump you out except on Sunday and Mondays. Beautiful scenery. Without a satelite dish, TV limited to 2 channels and no wifi at this time. River sites would be the best if available. A pleasant stay!!
Sep 03, 2013
Had a wonderful time. Everything was clean and people were very friendly. Loved all the trees at this KOA site.
Sep 03, 2013
Our cabin, #9 was just perfect for my son, daughter, and I. We were comfortable and just had a marvelous time at your facility and with our family. I hope we can come back before too long. Thank you
Sep 03, 2013
Terrible stay. The road kept us up all night. The river bank was muddy, the river brown with mud. The sites were crammed together, we had no privacy. The pool was the size of a hotub. The only redeeming feature was the bathroom. We paid for three nights, but only stayed for two . I wouldn't recommend this koa to anyone.
Sep 03, 2013
The K tent campsite was very nice, and the owners were very helpful. We enjoyed the bathhouse. The problem was that the campground is incredibly close to Rte 133, which I did not realize when I reserved the site. The traffic noise really takes away from the nature experience. A soundproof barrier would vastly improve the campground. Still, the nice amenities were appreciated.
Sep 03, 2013
Carbondale is a great mountain town and with the KOA here it is even a better place to camp.
Sep 02, 2013
We loved the location and the level of quiet compared to other campgrounds. The main disadvantage was the lack of sewer hookups but with the changeover to a KOA, we realize that might be in the works. Loved the fire pits at each site, the concrete pads, the table and chairs were a very nice touch and of course, the sound of the river outside our door!
Sep 02, 2013
Our stay was a lot better than we thought it would be. We would like to see better office hours. New matresses is a must. Bake ware is needed. Otherwise, once improvements are made it will be a great addition to the KOA Family.
Sep 02, 2013
Sep 02, 2013
Place being remodeled but campground looks good. Heated pool turned off at night and they forgot to turn it on next day, water very cold. Manager told my son about issues with guest on phone, very improper. Store almost had nothing stocked few days before Labor Day, likely losing a lot of sales. Near town, 5 miles was nice. Bike path to town also new. Cabin 9 ++. Manager not guest focused.
Sep 02, 2013
Sep 01, 2013
Of all the RV parks in the Aspen Valley / Glenwood Springs area, this is, by far, the BEST! While they are in their infancy as a KOA, they provided a high level of customer service and a comfortable place to live. I'm certain that we will return next year and look forward to seeing their growth as a KOA. Thanks to all the staff for a great job!
Sep 01, 2013
Beautiful area. Nice rv spots. Nice new bathroom. No activities or things to do at the actual site other than a pool. 2 washers and dryers. Only 1 working.
Aug 31, 2013
Everything was great, new and perfect
Aug 31, 2013
Host was friendly. Only one complaint was the fire pits were full of ashes. the bath house was clean.
Aug 31, 2013
good experience, nice bathhouse, easy accessability to good biking
Aug 30, 2013
We stayed in an "off-river mid-sized" cabin that had not been refurbished. The cabin was clean however the musty stench was awful. It smelled as if there's a water leak & rotting wood. After leaving everything we brought into the cabin wreaked as well. This cabin should not be used until the stinky problem is fixed. Grounds were nice, mature trees. Pool looked nice but we didn't use it.
Aug 29, 2013
THe cabin we rented had a weird smell in it. The beds were so old and beyond uncomfortable. My body still aches. No lamps for reading in either of the bedrooms.
Aug 28, 2013
We took a gs troop capming & were told that there WOULD be bathrooms and showers. Got a call on Wed before we were there & were told they were not ready but cabin 7 was. We only used cabin 7 once, and took all 6 girls there. A lady came in and complained that we were loud and messy, a man came in any yelled at us I dont know who they were, but we left and went back to our spot. Wont be back ever.
Aug 28, 2013
friendlu, famley oriently
Aug 28, 2013
Beautiful setting. Hopefully owners will continue to improve facility. Need sewer hookups and some night time lights throughout facility. Trailers in disrepair should be moved from campground.
Aug 26, 2013
Very clean. Friendly welcoming workers. Beautiful scenery. We had an awesome time and will return in the future. A+++++!!!!!
Aug 26, 2013
very relaxing, clean facility
Aug 23, 2013
Very lovely spot and getting better. It is a work in progress. The bath house opened while we were there. It is very nice. Remarkable inprovement over 2 years Go when we were there. Will be back!
Aug 23, 2013
It's still under construction in some parts. No sewer but there's a dump site easily accessible. We back up to a river that is beautiful. Gorgeous mountain view from our cement patio. It's a smaller KOA with lots of nice cabins. A work in progress but I will come back.
Aug 23, 2013
Kampground has good potential when upgrade finished. Need to pay attention to details, cleaning sites between customers, trimming trees from roadways and turns, etc. Curious why couldn't use KOA Gift Certificates since KOA is already supporting through the KOA site, signage and this survey.
Aug 22, 2013
Aug 22, 2013
Aug 20, 2013
This campground is being renovated and I am sure it will be fine after renovations are complete. Owners are nice, helpful and accommodating. The sleep sofa in our large cabin needed to be replaced and springs fixed. Other beds were comfortable. There was a slight sewer smell outside the cabin. If these things were fixed, I would give this place a higher rating.
Aug 20, 2013
The 2 bedroom cabin was great, not the typical basic KOA cabin of my memory, very much enjoyed the accommodations; I did have two concerns: I was unable to obtain a total cost figure in writing before our stay, complicating figuring out costs for the varied individuals sharing the cabin. Plus, the cabin had nothing in writing in the cabin about checking out...??
Aug 19, 2013
Very pretty and clean. You can tell a lot of maintenance keeps it clean.
Aug 19, 2013
To everyone I know!! We loved it!!?
Aug 19, 2013
Had a great time, new bath house, right on the Crystal river. We live not far away but it was a great getaway!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.