Carbondale / Crystal River KOA

7202 Highway 133

Carbondale, CO 81623

Reserve: 970-963-2341

Info: 970-963-2341

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Jul 10, 2013
Friendly, helpful staff. Making a lot of improvements to the campground. Beautiful spots on the river.
Jul 09, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
False advertising. Our cabin was not in good shape nor anything like what the picture showed on the website. The kitchen was not fully stocked to cook meals. There were no window coverings in the bathroom meaning no privacy when showering. Very disappointed. Too pricey. Could have had just as good of a time in a tent.
Jul 08, 2013
The location of this campground is fantastic, but the campground as a whole has a long way to go to be a KOA. The cabins need updating and are unbearably hot in the late afternoon and most of the night.
Jul 08, 2013
As usual I had a great stay at BRB. They had a few challenges due to construction delays but the owners and specifically Cynthia made the process seamless. With the new additions this will be a 5 star location soon. Thanks again BRB staff.
Jul 08, 2013
What a great place! They were undergoing some improvements, but were so helpful to offer alternatives so that everyone could be comfortable! We will definitely be back!
Jul 08, 2013
Very friendly and welcoming at the front office. Wished we could have stayed longer........our dog loved meeting new friends and spending time at the beautiful Crystal River.
Jul 07, 2013
A diamond in the rough. Once they have everything built and working it should be a great place. I will visit them again.
Jul 07, 2013
We were not told that the pool and the bath house would not be available for our stay. When we booked three months ago, we were quaraunteed three sites together, upon arrival we were told that our sites were broken up due to management, upon refusal to stay, we were given our three sites together. Very poor service by front office staff. Management staff was helpful and tried to resolve issues.
Jul 07, 2013
Will be a wonderful campground when they get all their "new" stuff completed .. as in the bathhouse, etc. And no sewer hookups can be a pain. Our site, we could not get satellite reception because of the trees, but maybe that was an OK thing!
Jul 07, 2013
This is a very pretty spot. Once the bath-house is complete, it will be a really nice place to stay.
Jul 06, 2013
I enjoyed my stay at this KOA site also known as BRB Campgrounds. The owners are very nice and the setting is great. They are in the process of renovation and I see great possibilities for them. I didn't have cell reception there which was both, a + & - . LOTS of stars and right on the Crystal River.
Jul 05, 2013
This vacation was a complete disappointment. My family has been staying at the BRB for over 40 years and we planned a family reunion with 20 people. Terrible customer service and no showers or bathrooms available. No swimming pool. We wish the old owners were still around and we will never stay there again. Very disappointing.
Jul 05, 2013
Beautiful location, looking forward to when all construction is completed. Great Stay!!
Jul 04, 2013
only reason i only gave it 4 stars out of 5 was due to the construction going on while staying there and the pool not being open. Was not told that would be the situation when booking and not offered any discount because of. Otherwise it was a beautiful spot and the staff was friendly and helpful. I would stay there again.
Jul 04, 2013
The Manager was deplorable. She was unkind and unhelpful. I have been staying at this site for years and will no longer be going. The bathroom facilities were not completed and we had to use dirty porta potties. It was a disappointment.
Jul 04, 2013
The location was very far off the Interstate, and the cabins were not at all what we were expecting thanks to our other stays at KOA. Impossible to even get the smallest signal on our phone, although that's not their fault. Having said that, the location is beautiful, the staff helpful. The campground is undergoing work,I would be willing to try again next season. Ideal for hunting trips
Jul 04, 2013
We stayed in a 2 bedroom cabin and enjoyed our stay there.This is the second time in a month that we have stayed there. Ray and his wife Erin have made great strides in the improvement of the park. We will definitely be back next year
Jul 04, 2013
nice area, beautiful river area. Asked for a site by the river, was told they didn't have any, but there were some and we just didn't get one, they were left empty the night we were there. They also had much nicer sites than we were in with concrete patio areas, but we didn't get offered one of those either. Our area was just dirt, no concrete patio.
Jul 04, 2013
Very scenic area, very nice clubhouse. Will be one of best KOAs when done, bath houses and pool under construction and wasnt notified of this. Very nice people and amazing area.
Jul 04, 2013
Our stay was great! It's in a perfect location right next to the river. Once the construction is finished it will be beautiful. Nice tent spot as well.
Jul 04, 2013
Jul 02, 2013
Was a perfect place for us to stay and ride to Aspen.
Jul 01, 2013
The campground was under construction specifically the small swimming pool. The staff was very friendly. The site was great but a little dirty was small bits of broken glass that we cleaned up. Not sure why the staff prohibited a campfire, since we had drenching rains in the late afternoon.
Jul 01, 2013
The campground was in a nice location and the desk clerk was very nice, but the campground was not up to the KOA standards. The showers and restrooms were under construction and not available. There were no sewer hook ups. We paid a higher rate for this campground than any other on this trip and felt it should have been much less for the inconvenience. We did not have any other choices.
Jun 29, 2013
The location of this KOA is great and the surrounding scenery is beautiful. There were no paper towels or kleenex provided so I bought them and left them for the next person. Also, the outlet in the bathroom did not work.
Jun 29, 2013
Understand going through remodeling stage. Should be nice when done. Staff very friendly. To bad city takes so long in granting permits for upgrades. Would stay again. Real nice spots by the river, will be great when have full hook-ups.
Jun 29, 2013
No restroom services, save that in an unoccupied cabin. No trash cans anywhere. Worst KOA experience I have ever had.
Jun 28, 2013
Beautiful, spectacular location. Camp site backed up to river. Making lots improvements in this campground. I predict this campground will get harder and harder to get into.
Jun 28, 2013
Jun 27, 2013
Its a great campground things still need to be completed. Though they need more things to do but overall it is a very nice place .=)
Jun 27, 2013
Jun 26, 2013
Facility under reconstruction and not all facilities are operating. Location in outstanding right on the banks of the Crystal River close to many attractions.
Jun 25, 2013
I like the campground area and when the facilities are up to the KOA standard it will be a favored stop for our camping group.
Jun 25, 2013
We've been staying at this beautiful campground each summer for several years and it gets better each time.
Jun 24, 2013
A number of advertized amenities were not available.
Jun 24, 2013
This was my 3rd stay at Crystal River, but 1st since it was purchased & changed to a KOA. Being an experienced tent camper & big KOA fan I was excited to bring my family. I can't describe my disappointment in 400 characters. They over-promise & under-deliver. I would only stay again in a few YEARS once they get their act together. Please tell them to update their website! No pool. No bathhouse.
Jun 23, 2013
Cynthia (our hostess) was wonderful, professional and knowledgeable
Jun 23, 2013
Jun 23, 2013
Cynthia in the office was wonderful! She was a delight to talk with, extremely helpful, and fun to spend time with! She deserves a raise :)
Jun 23, 2013
Our camp site was under renovation. The web site never mentioned it would not have a functioning bath house or swimming pool. We had one shower and one flush toilet for the entire campground and had to use nasty porta-potties. We should have received reduced rates since the amenities advertised where not available. I'm sure it will be nice NEXT YEAR
Jun 23, 2013
We throughally enjoyed our stay there. We found the campground to be clean, well kept and the staff very friendly. In fact we expect to make this be where we take our yearly family trip!
Jun 22, 2013
While the campground is upgrading their facilities, it is still quite functional and in a wonderful location.
Jun 22, 2013
Friendly staff, nice spot on the Crystal River. Only complaint was trash left from previous campers, and limited office hours. Thanks!
Jun 22, 2013
The campground is under reconstruction on many fronts, so it's a little inconvenient currently. The work that has been completed is great and we look forward to coming back when everything is completed. We love the place and the new owners are super nice folks. It was pretty hard to use the sewer dump as it's far enough from the road that it takes some fancy maneuvering to get close enough to it.
Jun 22, 2013
Enjoyed staying at this Campground, when upgrades are completed this will even be a better park. Would definitely stay here again!
Jun 21, 2013
For a KOA,disappointing. No one told us(nor did the web site)that the pool was non-operational.They did tell us the bath house was under construction and we had to figure out on a daily basis which cabin to use for showers. Never saw anyone take care of sites. Same garbage was there for 3 days,no one cleaned out fire pits,no one groomed sites.No fire ban,but they had one anyway.Not worth $$.
Jun 21, 2013
Will be really good to get the spring construction finished. Otherwise it was lovely and owners were very accommodating.
Jun 21, 2013
I understand that they were building a new bath house, but one flush toilet and one shower for the whole camp ground in my opinion is not satisfactory. The campground has a long way to go to meet the standards of a KOA.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.