Bar Harbor / Oceanside KOA

136 County Road

Bar Harbor, ME 04609

Reserve: 888-562-5605

Info: 207-288-3520

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

Tent Reviews

Aug 29, 2015
Love the natural terrain
Aug 29, 2015
Nice facility. Showers and restrooms are clean and had hot water. The tent only non ocean sites are right next to a swampy area so they are very buggy. Very pleasant stay.
Aug 29, 2015
Nice to see the bathrooms tidied up in the evening - thanks - see u next year
Aug 28, 2015
The campground was well maintained, accessible and clean. However, we are tent campers, and this campground is more geared to RV's. The tents are more of an afterthought. I would also have liked a pool. I did the like kids area and the café.
Aug 27, 2015
Excellent all around. Beautiful location, close to Bar Harbor & Acadia. Great cafe & friendly staff.
Aug 26, 2015
This was our second trip and it was great. Very accomodating to our 2 little kids. Loved Lou at the cafe and people at the office so nice. Gorgeous natural area with nice facilities. Can't wait for next year! ;)
Aug 26, 2015
Bathrooms were clean. I found tent sites to be very close together, was thankful we didn't have any neighbors. But would definitely camp here again.
Aug 26, 2015
The stay was fine. $50 was steep for all we used the site for. Also I was disappointed in how close together all the tent sites were- a little elbow room/privacy would have been nice. However the employees were nice and we really only were there to sleep for one night and then use the bathroom and go, so it worked out alright.
Aug 24, 2015
Nous avons apprécié la propreté des salles de bain, des douches et de la buanderie.
Aug 24, 2015
Felt comfortable allowing my 10 year old to roam. Family orientated.Pricey, but the comforts and cleanliness of the campground were worth it.
Aug 24, 2015
Campsite was great. I've never been camping before, so I was happy how there was a general store and cafe. Also, the bathrooms were very clean.
Aug 24, 2015
The ladies in the office/store were very pleasant and very helpful. This made for a great first impression. The bathrooms were very clean as well. Quality stay!
Aug 23, 2015
It was good clean bathrooms- only thing I didn't like is where our tent site was which as first timers at KOA I didn't realize that if u made reservation online that it just picked the site for you. Other than that stay was good
Aug 23, 2015
Unfortunately our tent campsite was right on the main roa through the camp so it was not peaceful at all. Otherwise the amenities were very nice! Would recommend it, but only if you make sure your tent site is somewhere more private and secluded
Aug 23, 2015
Great site! I had a great pitch right by the water and found the staff extremely helpful and the facilities beautifully clean and maintained!
Aug 23, 2015
Beautiful stay on the water!
Aug 22, 2015
Very well done.very scenic!
Aug 22, 2015
Great facilities - clean and well lit. Loved the box with gravel for the camp site. That helped with the bugs. We'll be back!
Aug 22, 2015
Outstanding staff! Lovely campground, clean, lots of trees, right on the water, and no bears!! :).
Aug 20, 2015
Tenting sites were very poor, very small and close to other sites and poorly laid out. We asked for a site big enough for two tents but were only able to setup one tent. The site we had was also not anywhere close to level despite being a prepared site with an platform. It made for an uncomfortable night with little rest. I would not recommend this campground for anyone who is tenting.
Aug 18, 2015
Had a great time. The campground is well kept and well run. The ocean sites are fantastic.
Aug 17, 2015
The people and the service was fantastic. They had some extra things all set to be taken care of when we arrived. Example two extra picnic tables already to be placed at our sites. Above and beyond.
Aug 12, 2015
Aug 12, 2015
Stayed just one night after preparing a resident for a move to Pittsburg,Pa.Pricey..but expected it! Nice showers and bathrooms and quiet.I really have no complaints.
Aug 11, 2015
Very clean tent site area. Very clean bathrooms. Very friendly staff. Showers lacked water pressure and did not deliver hot water on two of the three mornings of my stay. One shower I was unable to turn off. KOA might consider stepping up efforts to have visitors recycle their trash: aluminum, glass, plastic, paper, etc.
Aug 10, 2015
We loved it, the site was beautiful, everyone was exceptionally & helpful
Aug 09, 2015
It's the worst campground I have ever been. The campground is located in woods, the water besides the campground was smelly. Besides, there are a lot of mosquitoes. I booked two nights, I just lived there for one night and cancelled another night.
Aug 08, 2015
Aug 07, 2015
Great experience! Staff was helpful and friendly, great little café in camp ground, beautiful location of course. Only issue was with the crowding of sites. Wished our site was tittle more private. Deffinatly planning on returning next year. Thanks KOA.
Aug 06, 2015
We tented. I thought the site would have ocean view and a pool. We were surrounded by rvs, couldn't see the view, and the pool was a mile down the road (literally). The Koa was difficult to get into because its right on a one way split. A map would have been helpful. Also the site map showed a cafe where the wasn't any. Inconvenient when you have a screaming hungry toddler.
Aug 05, 2015
Great amenities & friendly staff. The breakfast, dinner, and lobster guy are all keepers. Thank you!
Aug 04, 2015
Great site with good facilities had a great time with my family at this KOA. My only complaint the kids had was the free wifi in that they could never get logged on to it from our tent site.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

In response to your input we have reviewed the wi-fi access and are upgrading the tent area.
Aug 03, 2015
We have been coming to Bar Harbor KOA for years. Our extented family come with us every time. We all really appreciated the new showers - we are tent campers so it was extra important!
Aug 03, 2015
Ants!!! Every where! This was our biggest problem. Beautiful clean quiet camping, but the ants were a problem. I'd really think about moving the fire pit in site #400. We'll be back, but at a different site.
Aug 03, 2015
The rez was for oceanside for a certain price, but when we arrived they had put us wood side. But they fixed it and honored their price, which is SO rare these days with customer satisfaction. Good map supplies. The one bath house has more showers indoors, so if you go to the one with 3 showers that opens to the outside, try the other bathhouse. Very pretty water views. Need more firewood!
Aug 03, 2015
Great location
Aug 03, 2015
Wonderful camping experience, we got in late & planned on going out early for a hike, it was easy for us to make that happen. I will be staying there again next time I am in the area.
Aug 03, 2015
The staff were SO nice and very helpful, the bathrooms were clean, and the location was very nice for us. Acadia is very close.
Aug 03, 2015
Tent sites are way to close together.
Aug 03, 2015
We had a nice stay! Clean grounds, bathrooms, and my kids loved swimming at the pool.
Aug 02, 2015
My boyfriend and I give this campground 5 stars! The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. One staff member, Allison, was able to communicate with us using American Sign Language since we are Deaf. The facilities are kept clean. We definitely will come back again and recommend this campground to our families and friends! It was great to have the cafe on the site. The meals were delicious!! &#
Aug 02, 2015
A great campground with nice and private tent sites, directly located at the beach. The staff is friendly and very helpful. We also took opportunity of washing some clothes at the laundry room for reasonable prices.
Jul 30, 2015
Jul 30, 2015
Too cozy for tent camping, not enough privacy, heard a guy snoring all night and couldn't sleep. Internet didn't work yet staff claimed it should. Camp sites laid out all wrong for convenience. All else was great.
Jul 28, 2015
Staff was welcoming and helpful. Facilities clean and in good working order. Tent sites calm and beautiful. Qu8te close to national park and other attractions.
Jul 28, 2015
The only downside was that the campsites are too close together. We could hear our neighbors speaking softly on their tent.
Jul 27, 2015
The customer service was good but the campsite was awful and expensive. I will not be staying here again.
Jul 27, 2015
As a tenter, the campground was pleasant. The walk to the restroom/showers was long and the path needs to manicured. The tent area feels like a mini village with tents nearly on top of each other.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We appreciate your input and are taking your advice. We are widening the path to the facilities as well as looking at revising the tent village layout to make it more comfortable.
Jul 26, 2015
Great folks. Clean showers and restrooms. Excellent location!
Jul 26, 2015
Have stayed at Bar Harbor KOA Oceanside before though its been years. We returned for a couple nights and it was great. Clean and well run.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.