Bar Harbor / Oceanside KOA

136 County Road

Bar Harbor, ME 04609

Reserve: 888-562-5605

Info: 207-288-3520

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Tent Reviews

Sep 15, 2014
Very helpful service and clean facility. Nice overall stay.
Sep 04, 2014
Incredibly friendly staff. Ultra convenient location. Super affordable. Online booking! I liked it all.
Sep 03, 2014
If I had one complaint it would be that the campsites are a bit close together. Other than that, the location is beautiful, the facilities are kept up very well, and the staff is extremely helpful and courteous. Also the available on-site lobster dinner is awesome!
Sep 02, 2014
Not quite three stars, but not quite two. The staff were awesome - very friendly, and available to help. Our stay was a little less enjoyable than it should have been due to incorrect pictures being used for the campsite we reserved. It showed a wooded site, but when we showed up, we were right on a corner of the main road in between all of the RVs. All and all still a decent trip.
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 01, 2014
The people were great and were very nice and welcoming. It's the perfect location to go out and do everything. Buses take you to Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor for Whale watching, lunch, nightlife, etc. A perfect crescent moon over the ocean and a night filled with stars - an incredible stay. Pack a tent that can withstand wind if ocean side camping in the fall.
Sep 01, 2014
need better wi-fi
Sep 01, 2014
Hi Everything would be perfect except for there are so many mosquitoes in the area. This is the 4th time in this year that my family go camping. In all the places we went, this is the only camp site where my family and I got a lot of mosquito bites. I even saw a small creek with stagnant water which is (for sure) perfect breeding place of the mosquitoes.Hopefully not any one of us will get dengue

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Bar Harbor KOA is a family oriented campground. We do not have a single mosquito... they are all married with children.
Aug 31, 2014
Aug 31, 2014
Aug 30, 2014
My girlfriend and I enjoyed our stay at the Koa campground. The personnel was very friendly and came to our assistance when we had a question concerning the use of the campground. The place wasn't crowded and the people around us were respectful of the rules and regulations of the site. It was a very enjoyable stay and I do believe we will be repeat customers in the future.
Aug 29, 2014
Nice spot with ocean views and friendly staff
Aug 28, 2014
Aug 26, 2014
Not much privacy, our neighbor's tent was only about 4feet away from our tent! Would not recommend that tent site!
Aug 26, 2014
Excellent bathrooms, wonderful sunset beach, great staff..we had a great stay here.
Aug 26, 2014
The staff was very friendly on arrival. A staff member escorted us to our campsite. Our stay was in a our tent right next to the ocean. It was beautiful! The bathrooms were clean. My kids could easily ride their bikes around the grounds. We didn't use the WiFi or cable, because for us, camping is camping. We'll definitely be back.
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
We got the reservation at the last minute about 4 days prior to our arrival. Unfortunately, our tent site was on the main access road with lots of traffic, shuttle buses til late, so it wasn't peaceful. Looking around the campground, we thought it was too cramped, sites too close together, even the waterfront sites, no privacy. Paid $60/night for a tent site, far from restrooms. Staff was nice.
Aug 24, 2014
Great stay, clean rest rooms and showers, wonderful service!
Aug 23, 2014
I wish we had been given a site near the ocean. Those sites would be ideal for the children. We had 5 small kids in our party and we were put near a swamp. The mosquitos made a meal out of us. Other than that the people were very friendly and helpful. We would certainly go back as long as we were not put in the swamp.
Aug 22, 2014
Tiny tiny tiny showers. Campsite was very nice. Firewood wouldn't burn.
Aug 22, 2014
Aug 22, 2014
Love the natural coast line- please don't pave the sites
Aug 20, 2014
Clean campsites,friendly service
Aug 20, 2014
Very nice place . We tent camped . Very hard working staff
Aug 20, 2014
Our site was in the open, cabins in front of us roads all around us. This was noisey.Not much for kids, not much of a beach, Might of been better at Woodlands for Us. When we arrived it was RAINING !!!so hard. They said there was 1 cabin open for only 1 nite I wanted it, that night because of the rain ,they wouldn't rent it for just one nite.told us we could to sit in the reck hall, Thanks,
Aug 19, 2014
The staff were excellent all around. The facilities were clean and the hot water never ran out. Our site (409) was fine, as expected, tho somewhat pricey for what it is. The only "cons" that come to mind were the occasional smells of sewerage or something that would be present in certain areas, and a couple somewhat loud neighbors after 10:00.
Aug 19, 2014
Aug 19, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
Site 429 (and from what I saw at the sites around us and people's reactions) was extremely buggy. The bathrooms, while clean, regularly smelled bad and hot showers were hard to come by unless you took your shower at night.
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 15, 2014
Désolé mais les terrains sont très petits; on est trop proche des autres campeurs; les stationnements sont aussi très serrés. Vous n'offrez pas une qualité que l'on retrouve habituellement dans les campings américains surtout que vous chargez 42$ par jour. C'est vraiment trop cher pour ce que vous offrez. Désolé! J'aimerais être remboursé svp! Maurice Carrier
Aug 15, 2014
Bathrooms not very clean, they put us next to a main highway and a railroad track that when a train went by sounded its horn every few seconds at 3:00am!!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

So sorry for the noise... but there must be some confusion on campgrounds. There is no train on the island or anywhere near this KOA.
Aug 14, 2014
too expensive for too small space!
Aug 14, 2014
Aug 13, 2014
Great place close to everything. Crammed parking in tent area. Not much space per site. Too many sites in one small place. But all together, a great place. Very friendly staff and grounds are clean.
Aug 13, 2014
Aug 13, 2014
The staff were friendly and so helpful, they made our experince pleasant with information about the area.
Aug 12, 2014
Stayed in a deluxe tent site with ocean view. Map misleading making you believe beach in front of site, actually marsh that you couldn't walk on. No real view with lots of trees in the way. Only water at site no electric! Deluxe at all sites I've stayed included electric, especially for the high price! Not told site has a tent box which tent did not fit in and no other area at site to place tent!
Aug 12, 2014
Making our reservation was a breeze. Pam was super helpful with all of my questions when I called (being 8 months pregnant I had a lot!) she found us a tent space to suit our needs just a stones throw away from the ocean! When we arrived, the staff was super friendly and they show you right where your campsite is, vs handing you a map and letting you figure it out!
Aug 12, 2014
The campsite we were in was a little close to the one next to us, but we loved the location on the ocean and it's proximity to Acadia and bar harbor! The staff was wonderful! The bathrooms being closed from 8-10 am was an inconvient time we would suggest somewhere during mid afternoon!
Aug 12, 2014
love the natural setting - if you want paved roads go somewhere else cuz we like it the way it is! lumps, rocks, and smelly sea air
Aug 11, 2014
I Liked : Personnel was great and very helpful. My tent site was great, all evened up, with running water. I disliked : The dry wood was really wet, to the point that it was impossible to make a decent fire. Some days there was a stench from the dumpsters. The one right beside the bus stop should really be relocated. The garbage could be collected more often at times.
Aug 11, 2014
Pretty clean bathrooms and very helpful staff. We got a great tent spot on the ocean but not all spots are as scenic. It would be nice to reserve spots given the commute we had, but we got lucky! Thanks for a great stay, we will be back. Chris
Aug 10, 2014
Great location. We were tenting in the stand of pines. Sites very, very close and very far from bathrooms. People were very respectful/quiet though so for our short stay it was ok
Aug 10, 2014
Really no complaints about our stay other than getting the impression on the phone the our site was a little more private than it actually was. The other tents were very close to us and the price seemed a little high for that site.
Aug 10, 2014
Aug 10, 2014
Guaranteed electricity when registered over phone. No electricity when we arrived. Dirty. Lots of weeds. Grass needed to be mowed. Site was small. Advertised park activities not frequent. Pool in a different park 1 mile away. Beach full of seaweed. Next to noisy road. Incredibly expensive for what we got.
Aug 07, 2014
We booked an ocean view tent spot. The view was mostly blocked by trees, so I am not sure it is worth the extra price. WIFI did not work at campsite or in the Recreation Hall. Showers, bathrooms, and laundry were 500 feet away from our site - very convenient. The location is fine. However, you are still 20-30 minutes away from Acadia.
Aug 06, 2014
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.