Bar Harbor / Oceanside KOA

136 County Road

Bar Harbor, ME 04609

Reserve: 888-562-5605

Info: 207-288-3520

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 30, 2015
Friendly Staff for a busy KOA
Jul 30, 2015
Great, would stay again.
Jul 30, 2015
We made reservations well in advance and were traveling with another couple. When we made the reservations, we were assured that we could camp next to each other. When we reached Bar Harbor KOA, we were put in sites on opposite sides of the campground. The site that our companions had was muddy and terribly unlevel. I would not recommend this KOA to anyone.
Jul 30, 2015
I found the staff to be friendly and helpful with regard suggestions about local attractions. We had full confidence that we were in good hands with the staff. The staff was always visible and it was evident that campground maintenance was a high priority and we loved our cabin. Thanks!
Jul 30, 2015
Very friendly staff! "Lobster man" right in the campground was so very cool! And not to mention, delicious! We were in the back part of the campground & had a beautiful ocean view!! Bath-house was very clean & well kept! Hated to leave but ABSOLUTELY loved our stay & would recommend 100%!!
Jul 30, 2015
Jul 30, 2015
Too cozy for tent camping, not enough privacy, heard a guy snoring all night and couldn't sleep. Internet didn't work yet staff claimed it should. Camp sites laid out all wrong for convenience. All else was great.
Jul 30, 2015
This KOA was very nice. Great amenities and kept very clean. We had a great stay, our dog did too!
Jul 30, 2015
Nice place to visit.
Jul 29, 2015
Sites were a little close for my liking. Staff were wonderful, friendly, and very helpful. Would of liked to have cable for the price of the site. Already booked here for next year. Heres hoping they have cable by then.
Jul 29, 2015
It's a beautiful place. Everyone is extremely helpful and friendly. We loved the blueberry pancake breakfast. We stayed in a deluxe studio cabin. It was very clean. I appreciated that linens were provided. The only drawback was not having any cutlery in the cabin, and a couple of cups and plates would've been appreciated.
Jul 29, 2015
It was nearly impossible to have an adequately warm shower. The water was consistently cold or lukewarm. Some of the staff operating the golf carts drove too fast making for unsafe conditions.
Jul 29, 2015
Great campground and location.
Jul 28, 2015
Jul 28, 2015
Staff was welcoming and helpful. Facilities clean and in good working order. Tent sites calm and beautiful. Qu8te close to national park and other attractions.
Jul 28, 2015
ce fut un beau séjour. MERCI
Jul 28, 2015
The only downside was that the campsites are too close together. We could hear our neighbors speaking softly on their tent.
Jul 28, 2015
Great campsite. Very friendly staff. Hard to find a bathroom shower that had warm water. Plumbing could be updated. Rec room could use ping pong table and more stuff for smaller kids.
Jul 27, 2015
The waterfront sites are wonderful however we found that upon arrival, parts of the site could have been mowed. The firepit could have been reaaranged and freshen up! More importantly, your bathrooms need a much needed uplift! The stalls are so dirty, including the walls. There was a lack of hot water, that was very disappointing to say the least. For little over $100.00 a night I expect way more.
Jul 27, 2015
Our second time staying with you all and it was as pleasant as the first. We don't get up to Bar Harbor often as we live in PA, but it is always put planned stop when we go.
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
Not as good as we expected after our great stay in green mountains.
Jul 27, 2015
The view we had was spectacular. Wish the k9 park had higher fencing. Staff was knowledgeable and quick with check in. Also, very pleasant. Will be back again!
Jul 27, 2015
Everyone was very friendly. The site was great.
Jul 27, 2015
People were great... Very friendly and helpful!! Sites were clean. Store had what you needed. (Heated pool would be nice for the price you pay)
Jul 27, 2015
The customer service was good but the campsite was awful and expensive. I will not be staying here again.
Jul 27, 2015
This was our first KOA stay anywhere and were very impressed! Staff were very nice and helpful when we needed to make a last minute site switch. Our "neighbors" were friendly and fun. Then there was the sunset over the ocean..... We will definitely be back!
Jul 27, 2015
Very clean and helpful staff
Jul 27, 2015
This is not what we expected when we booked this campground. The price was far far too high (more than 90 dollars for a RV per night) and the quality of the facilities whas too low. Cold showers, dirty toliets, bad lights at night and not the promised view on the bay.
Jul 27, 2015
great - wish I had cable
Jul 27, 2015
As a tenter, the campground was pleasant. The walk to the restroom/showers was long and the path needs to manicured. The tent area feels like a mini village with tents nearly on top of each other.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We appreciate your input and are taking your advice. We are widening the path to the facilities as well as looking at revising the tent village layout to make it more comfortable.
Jul 26, 2015
Great folks. Clean showers and restrooms. Excellent location!
Jul 26, 2015
We have been going to this friendly, quiet campground for over 20+years, clean bathrooms, new showers and great help. Have made friends with many people over the years, now their grand kids. Hope to see cable next year and a better Wi-Fi
Jul 26, 2015
We had a site oceanside. The view was great, but the site was very tight and not very level. Interior sites seemed very crowded. The pancake breakfast was reasonable and good.
Jul 26, 2015
Perfect location and the shuttle picked us up right in the campground and took us into town and the park.
Jul 26, 2015
Personnel courtois,bloc sanitaire propre,vue imprenable sur l'eau si on a un bon site sinon un peu à l'étroit.On peut acheter du homard sur le camping et le manger à notre site,navette gratuite vers Bar Harbour environ 45 minutes un must car ça évite de chercher un stationnement qui est limité de 2 à 3 hres.
Jul 26, 2015
Have stayed at Bar Harbor KOA Oceanside before though its been years. We returned for a couple nights and it was great. Clean and well run.
Jul 26, 2015
Very. Clean but sites too crowded with no privacy
Jul 26, 2015
I am rating my stay low because, the bath house with showers located on the water side are not safe for women and children. Men can enter from the woods into mens restroom and walk past the shower into women's restrooms with out ever going out side.. Showers should be separated so men can't enter into ladies restrooms from inside.
Jul 26, 2015
Staff was great. Very friendly and always helpful. Location is perfectly located near to things to do and see. We will be back!
Jul 26, 2015
Very quiet even though a busy park. There are great views from many of the sites.
Jul 26, 2015
Jul 26, 2015
Stay was great shuttle service excellent. Grounds aren't maintained very well. Firewood terrible. A bit out ofthe way from things.
Jul 26, 2015
I have really enjoyed all my KOA experiences - except for this one. Staff was not overly nice and most importantly, the price was almost double of another really good campground near this site. (74 vs. 44 per day) Additionally, I was charged $ 4/gal for propane when it was available 1 mile away for 2.19/gal. Overall quality of the place is average and the price is very very high.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry that you do not place the same value on the only oceanfront camping on MDI that we do; perhaps Woodlands KOA would have been more inline with what you had in mind. Additionally, the propane price you saw is reserved for propane propelled vehicles and is not available for tank refills.
Jul 25, 2015
This KOA is ready for a major bathroom overhaul For the price we pay bathrooms should be updated with plenty of hot water . You should also be able to apply 10% discount to more then one site a stay if you are paying for it. This KOA needs a larger rec area for rainy day activities. Swings for children and benches for adults in play area would be nice. Carolyn is great!
Jul 25, 2015
Staff was very friendly and helpful during my stay. Showers and restrooms were veyr clean. We stayed at lot 273 and pretty much relaxed for the 3 days we stayed. Great place.
Jul 25, 2015
Julie was very helpful
Jul 24, 2015
Love our cabin but would suggest more hooks to hang things. The new patios are very nice. See you next year.
Jul 24, 2015
We love coming to this koa for the views and sunsets. Great place to getaway and see nature.
Jul 24, 2015
My family and I had a wonderful vacation. The staff was awesome.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.